Anniemal

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 73
  2. Negative: 3 out of 73

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    OMG!!! I love this album, it's the best pop album I heard in my whole life!! thaks annie for give us this masterpiece. Always too late is my favorite.
  2. Drake
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    The best album of it's kind since Madonna's classic "Like a Virgin" album came out back in the 80's. The Tiny Mix Tapes review says it best "Perfect pop bliss".
  3. George?
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    One of the best pop albums I've ever heard. Absolutely sincere, flowing with emotion and still almost instantly accessible. And Heartbeat is the most beautiful song this side of god knows what, I've just listened a million times...
  4. Brian
    Aug 12, 2005
    9
    This album is exactly what I needed, something simple, catchy, origonal, and yet still pop. As good as Madonna's Madonna. Keep it coming, I can dig it.
  5. jong
    Apr 16, 2006
    9
    Absolutely listenable!!!! over and over. It perfectly balances mellow vocals with fun pop sinister synths. Love it
  6. epleremindmepoorleno
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    The best pop album of the noughties. Simply stunning, fantastic sugarcoated-melancholic-electro-disco-hiphop-funk-pop!
  7. ToddG
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    Annie is a wonderful singer. Her voice and melodies are well done. As a bonus she is really cute.
  8. SamuelB
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    What a pop album should be : funny, well produced, various,... Pretty well done! Heartbeat is easily one of the best song by a newcomer this year!
  9. VitoC
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    The definitive pop album. A must-have for fans of any genre. One of very few albums to appeal to the indie kids, the ravers, the pop junkies, and everyone else for that matter. Earns a spot on my "top ten albums of all time" list without a doubt.
  10. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    It's not only as good as Kylie's best albums - it's better!
  11. Adam
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    Some great, fun tracks on hear with great beats. Gets a little cheesy at times, but definitely worth checking out!
  12. PoolsideRico
    Aug 1, 2005
    8
    anyone who bemoans this brilliant combination of röyksopp's instrumental genius and annie's voice is a wastrel. a boisterous, good-for nothing wastrel!
  13. matta
    Aug 12, 2005
    8
    About solid as straight pop music gets. Some reviewers said that, even though most of us wouldn't like to admit it, this is pretty much like Brittney or the equivalent over here. I totally disagree. I'll admit that Brittney has made a few catchy songs, but she's never had an album as solid as this. Her production and lyrics usually just suck too much. This is great pop About solid as straight pop music gets. Some reviewers said that, even though most of us wouldn't like to admit it, this is pretty much like Brittney or the equivalent over here. I totally disagree. I'll admit that Brittney has made a few catchy songs, but she's never had an album as solid as this. Her production and lyrics usually just suck too much. This is great pop music that anyone can appreciate. Expand
  14. SeyHaS
    Aug 13, 2005
    7
    A wonderful pop album that is sugar coated with youthfull energy and wacky kinetic electrics. Annie's voice is thin, but she can interact with the music like none of her contemporaries can. This is good stuff.
  15. DBag
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    This is a pop sensation! One of the biggest surprises of 05. Great album, plain & simple.
  16. AC
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    Let me just say that "Heartbeat" is one of the best pop songs I have ever heard, is just so damn catchy & beauiful, can't get enough it. Anyway, Anniemal is truly a fantastic listen from start to finish, anyone can enjoy it, is fun album. Songs like--My Best Friend, Always Too Late, Me Plus One, The Greatest Hit, Happy Without You, & Anniemal, will definitely keep you coming back for Let me just say that "Heartbeat" is one of the best pop songs I have ever heard, is just so damn catchy & beauiful, can't get enough it. Anyway, Anniemal is truly a fantastic listen from start to finish, anyone can enjoy it, is fun album. Songs like--My Best Friend, Always Too Late, Me Plus One, The Greatest Hit, Happy Without You, & Anniemal, will definitely keep you coming back for more and more. Annie is the next big thing! Expand
  17. Lucky
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Pop hasn't been this good in ages. A stunning album! You will definitely fall in love with Annie!
  18. JMac
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    The best pop album in the last 10 years. This girl is very talented and she knows what she's doing. "Hearbeat" and "The Greatest Hit" are amazing songs and destined to be pop classics. Can't wait for her second album!
  19. siljes
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    it's just great!
  20. CatFight
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    I love it! You can dance to it, drink to it, sleep to it, wake up to it. Annie is supercool and kind of sexy.
  21. ChrisR
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    This album is very, very good.
  22. LHamer
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    first rate!
  23. Marcus
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    Totally perfect.
  24. MarkC
    Jun 22, 2005
    9
    Sleater-Kinney over this? you have got to be kidding me...you could not possibly be dissappointed by this album...if you are i will personally give you your money back (and then re-distribute your copy to someone with good taste, and a soul)
  25. Vishaal
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    This is a great album. When I first heard the single Heartbeat in a little singles shop in West Hollywood, I absolutely fell in love with it. Luckily the shop also had the single Chewing Gum...which was absolute pop! I bought the album the day after and am totally in love with Annie and can't wait for more albums!
  26. NickD
    Jun 28, 2005
    9
    Perfect pop, can't really go wrong with this album.
  27. LawrenceP
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    The production on this LP is flawless. The singing is almost perfect. This is sweet, sexy pop without trying too hard.
  28. BenjaminBunny
    Jun 9, 2005
    8
    "Chewing Gum," "Me Plus One" and especially the gorgeous "Heartbeat" are amongst the best songs of the year. If not every other track on this LP matches their brilliance, so what--"Anniemal" contains inarguably remarkable heights, and is the best straight-up POP album these ears have heard in ages.
  29. RezaK
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Best Electro Pop album to come along in years. Every song is a gem that you want to listen to over and over again.
  30. PaulineC
    Aug 10, 2005
    8
    Annie's voice is liquid and the music is electric!
  31. dwightm
    Aug 18, 2005
    8
    This album could have come out all wrong and it didn't. Delivers infectious hooks and beats
  32. juanf
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Pop Perfection, anyone who doesnt agree certainly hasnt been listening to mainstream radio. talk about a breath of fresh air, even her slow tracks are packed with freshness that cant be canned into something other than original. People really ought to know when someone is achieving somethin the Right way.
  33. DamienD
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing, fun, energetic, upbeat and lovely. What more can you ask for in a pop album?
  34. MikeD
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    I love this album with a passion and I've listened to it about at least 50 times.
  35. Cat
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    A solid pop album
  36. PacoE
    May 3, 2007
    10
    A fun, unique pop album with some of the catchiest songs I've heard in ages. Simply perfect!
  37. RicardoC
    Jul 25, 2009
    8
    Though is not excellent its great, and the best pop album in the last years. It is not full of hits, but its smooth and solid (Unlike trashy-easy-katyperry-pop).
  38. TrondT
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    This is a timeless album that deserves credit for the work. It should do really well
  39. MaxB
    Jun 24, 2005
    8
    The person who compares this to Sleater-Kinney - well, it seems like they haven't been listening closely to Sleater-Kinney's lyrics. This album is just as personal and interesting as the new S-K (see my review of that for my reservations). To decry something as the death of art because it is unabashedly pop is ignorant and elitist. Anniemal is a completely sincere, fun, The person who compares this to Sleater-Kinney - well, it seems like they haven't been listening closely to Sleater-Kinney's lyrics. This album is just as personal and interesting as the new S-K (see my review of that for my reservations). To decry something as the death of art because it is unabashedly pop is ignorant and elitist. Anniemal is a completely sincere, fun, hilarious, and eminently danceable record that comes straight from the heart of a young Norwegian girl. That the world can enjoy this is a really amazing blessing. I don't understand why Annie isn't as big as a Britney or Christina or what not, because this album is so accessible. If you are honest with yourself, no matter how pretentious your taste might be, this album will leave you excited and extremely optimistic no matter your mood. Now that is an accomplishment. Expand
  40. DanB.
    Jun 26, 2005
    7
    I don't listen to this style of music much. Maybe that's why I think Annie stands out a bit, cos I don't have much comparison. Anyway, it's a fun listen. A few tracks have to be listened to over and over and over (Heartbeat, Chewing Gum, come to mind).
  41. TerrenceO
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Damn near pop-perfection. If your not in the mood can get irritating but it contains what is easily the best single of last year in "Heartbeat" This is bubble gum pop at its best, and the first great album of the genre since Madona went all wacky on us.
  42. LJ
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome, simply awesome! Terrific album from start to finish. Which is surprising cause I'm not a big fan of the bubble gum crap but...this girl Annie manages to pull it off really well without having the typical pop elements that were so used to by now, thanks to Britney. This is mixture of (80's) Madonna, Kylie Minogue & Debbie Harry (lead singer of Blondie). The songs like Awesome, simply awesome! Terrific album from start to finish. Which is surprising cause I'm not a big fan of the bubble gum crap but...this girl Annie manages to pull it off really well without having the typical pop elements that were so used to by now, thanks to Britney. This is mixture of (80's) Madonna, Kylie Minogue & Debbie Harry (lead singer of Blondie). The songs like Heartbeat, Me Plus One, Helpless For Love, & The Greatest Hit are destined to be pop classics. I can't wait for her follow-up. Expand
  43. Logan
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Solid all the way through. Sensational debut by the lovely, Annie.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Planet
    70
    Kylie Minogue for hipsters. [#10, p.70]
  2. Annie the songwriter is breathless and unsure of herself, her voice barely registering above a church-wafer-thin whisper for most of the record.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    This sugar rush of an album proves Mom right yet again: Candy is best consumed in moderation. [10 Jun 2005, p.107]