• Record Label: Hannibal
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2005
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. andyc
    Jul 6, 2005
    0
    I found this latest offering from the self proclaimed professor of modern music as irritating and vacuously pretentious as the man and his writing have become in recent years. The music is an uninspired soulless debacle, as Brian audibly struggles to keep up with recording techniques he helped to seed.
  2. janem
    Jul 19, 2005
    0
    a load of old up your arsenik eno type of detritus. wwho does he think he is? sorry, he's past it. roll on the new novelty acts. he should retire with his zimmer frame.
  3. JefC
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Yep, this is an absolute classic. Spine tingling stuff for eno fans.
  4. drovduek
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Beautiful.
  5. MichaelE
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    in ten years this will be a classic!
  6. RobH
    Jul 9, 2005
    9
    I love the calm serenity of this album and the meaning and poetry in the lyrics. Very moving.
  7. StephenJ
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    When you have created masterpieces like Before and After Science, Music For Films and Music for Airports, not to mention Apollo...well I did anyway), It's extremely difficult to continue to produce works of a similar stature that will please the critics and the fans.No artist working with sound or images can churn out 'perfect' pieces of work on demand. I7m sure Brian would When you have created masterpieces like Before and After Science, Music For Films and Music for Airports, not to mention Apollo...well I did anyway), It's extremely difficult to continue to produce works of a similar stature that will please the critics and the fans.No artist working with sound or images can churn out 'perfect' pieces of work on demand. I7m sure Brian would love to sit down at his synthesiser and say..".and now I'm going to produce another masterpiece." It just doesn't work like that..the nature of things is that you have success ,failure and .."well, I nearly did it!" situations. So it's unreasonable for us to expect perfection just because it's Brian Eno. (and Jane, if when the time comes,as it surely will, for you to hobble around with your own zimmer frame, i wonder if you will be able to look back on your accomplishments in life and find anything as significant and creditable as Eno's recording catalogue? Well, it's just a thought! ) I always thought the best thing about Eno's music is that ( if you allow it to) it allows your mind to wander where it will. It suggests and creates possibilities of thought and feeling without shouting at you like most Pop mush these days, I for one am happy that I have the option to listen to this as opposed to the often tuneless and repetitive noise of most modern day artists. in this light, I think Another Day On Earth is quite wonderful, it doesn't try too hard, it just is.It's not the best Eno, but it doesn't have to be. It is good enough...and after a hard day's work, a good meal and a hot bath is a perfect antidote to the stresses and strains of the day. Good stuff! Expand
  8. AnthonyK.
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    I love this album. It blends so many sounds together with Eno's voice and is majestic.
  9. jyotirmaya
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    I have been waiting for Brian Eno to put out a CD like this since I first heard his song "Horse to Water" song on the hip-hypnotic Married to the Mob soundtrack (1988). There have been mentions of his first CDs in the early 70s, and I checked them out but didn't like them. Finally, a Brian Eno CD for me. It is always interesting, often gorgeous and, quite frankly, it sounds better on I have been waiting for Brian Eno to put out a CD like this since I first heard his song "Horse to Water" song on the hip-hypnotic Married to the Mob soundtrack (1988). There have been mentions of his first CDs in the early 70s, and I checked them out but didn't like them. Finally, a Brian Eno CD for me. It is always interesting, often gorgeous and, quite frankly, it sounds better on ear phones. This is the CD Moby's latest "Hotel" was trying to be, but fell short of a couple of notches. j.t. Expand
  10. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    A beautifully produced album. I just wish it was longer. I love the way "And Then So Clear" builds. "This", "Under", and "Caught Between" are also among my favourites, though that list tends to change with each listen. Please sir, can I have more?
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. In a pop world where everything feels amped up, who could have imagined that this once-chilly music could sound so comforting. [17 June 2005, p.79]
  2. While there’s no disputing the attractiveness of its well-polished recording... it’s patchy and... in places, disturbingly adult-contemporary.
  3. Another Day on Earth is a more personal album from the ambient avatar, a recording of rare and meticulous maturity.