Another Day On Earth Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Eno sings! And while those words are sure to excite fans of the bald one's 70s classics such as 'Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy),' his first vocal album in 15 years is much closer in sound and mood to more recent efforts as well as the final handful of tracks on 'Eno Box II: Vocals' (theEno sings! And while those words are sure to excite fans of the bald one's 70s classics such as 'Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy),' his first vocal album in 15 years is much closer in sound and mood to more recent efforts as well as the final handful of tracks on 'Eno Box II: Vocals' (the latter's "Under" even appears again on this disc). Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 95
    Another Day... slithers easily into the company of his greatest releases, with jaw-dropping melodies and flawless, Passengers-era production, creating a soundscape as ethereal as Another Green World. [#16, p.90]
  2. In a pop world where everything feels amped up, who could have imagined that this once-chilly music could sound so comforting. [17 June 2005, p.79]
  3. The joy of hearing Eno's hushed, statesmanlike singing voice again is one thing, but the hymnal This and funky Under match anything in his canon.
  4. Another Day is nowhere near as invested with ideas as Eno's name-making work, but its easy pleasures still rub and float away.
  5. A fascinating look at planet Eno. [10 Jul 2005]
  6. 60
    Exceedingly pleasant, if hardly groundbreaking. [Aug 2005, p.104]
  7. Another Day On Earth is more blank than frank, a journey through a hollow land, more discreet than it needs to be. Imagine a recording in which every human error has been scrubbed, like coffee grounds off a formica counter.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    A beautifully produced album. I just wish it was longer. I love the way "And Then So Clear" builds. "This", "Under", and "Caught Between" areA beautifully produced album. I just wish it was longer. I love the way "And Then So Clear" builds. "This", "Under", and "Caught Between" are also among my favourites, though that list tends to change with each listen. Please sir, can I have more? Collapse
  2. MichaelE
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    in ten years this will be a classic!
  3. JefC
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Yep, this is an absolute classic. Spine tingling stuff for eno fans.
  4. AnthonyK.
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    I love this album. It blends so many sounds together with Eno's voice and is majestic.
  5. RobH
    Jul 9, 2005
    9
    I love the calm serenity of this album and the meaning and poetry in the lyrics. Very moving.
  6. StephenJ
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    When you have created masterpieces like Before and After Science, Music For Films and Music for Airports, not to mention Apollo...well I did When you have created masterpieces like Before and After Science, Music For Films and Music for Airports, not to mention Apollo...well I did anyway), It's extremely difficult to continue to produce works of a similar stature that will please the critics and the fans.No artist working with sound or images can churn out 'perfect' pieces of work on demand. I7m sure Brian would love to sit down at his synthesiser and say..".and now I'm going to produce another masterpiece." It just doesn't work like that..the nature of things is that you have success ,failure and .."well, I nearly did it!" situations. So it's unreasonable for us to expect perfection just because it's Brian Eno. (and Jane, if when the time comes,as it surely will, for you to hobble around with your own zimmer frame, i wonder if you will be able to look back on your accomplishments in life and find anything as significant and creditable as Eno's recording catalogue? Well, it's just a thought! ) I always thought the best thing about Eno's music is that ( if you allow it to) it allows your mind to wander where it will. It suggests and creates possibilities of thought and feeling without shouting at you like most Pop mush these days, I for one am happy that I have the option to listen to this as opposed to the often tuneless and repetitive noise of most modern day artists. in this light, I think Another Day On Earth is quite wonderful, it doesn't try too hard, it just is.It's not the best Eno, but it doesn't have to be. It is good enough...and after a hard day's work, a good meal and a hot bath is a perfect antidote to the stresses and strains of the day. Good stuff! Expand
  7. andyc
    Jul 6, 2005
    0
    I found this latest offering from the self proclaimed professor of modern music as irritating and vacuously pretentious as the man and his I found this latest offering from the self proclaimed professor of modern music as irritating and vacuously pretentious as the man and his writing have become in recent years. The music is an uninspired soulless debacle, as Brian audibly struggles to keep up with recording techniques he helped to seed. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews