ANThology

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. thesillymofo
    May 26, 2002
    10
    people who rate this album simply because of 'smooth criminal' are dumb. far more better material on this cd.
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    One of my all time favorites, the lead singer is a witch string a kick ass potion that has taken centuries to perfect. Contains very serious and honest emotion yet very ballsy.
  3. AndrewE.
    Dec 9, 2001
    2
    A bunch of fat posers with a pathetic excuse for an album. They only have one good song, and it wasn't even written by them.
  4. ChrisF.
    Oct 2, 2001
    0
    This cd sucked and was not worth the money I spent for it
  5. SierraG.
    Jun 25, 2001
    10
    I love Alien Ant Farm's new album "ANThology". It's like Michael Jackson joined a punk rock band! I love it! Rock on!!!
  6. SierraG.
    Jun 25, 2001
    10
    I love Alien Ant Farm's new album "ANThology". It's like Michael Jackson joined a punk rock band! I love it! Rock on!!!
  7. MikeB.
    Jul 2, 2001
    10
    These guys simply rock. They took a great Michael Jackson song and turned it into another hit, just another style/genre. Smooth Criminal goes way beyond being described as a 'cover'.
  8. MikeB.
    Jul 2, 2001
    10
    These guys simply rock. They took a great Michael Jackson song and turned it into another hit, just another style/genre. Smooth Criminal goes way beyond being described as a 'cover'.
  9. TommyB.
    Jul 27, 2001
    10
    It Kicks ASS!!!!!!!!!
  10. JeffR.
    May 26, 2002
    8
    lots of catchy vocals and solid guitars make up most of what you'll get here - but dont fast forward to the choruses just yet. clever lyrics and strong words based on true past experiences are waiting for you the third or fourth time you listen to it. the album is also very enjoyably themed - with all the references to the different seasons, its surprising they didnt name the album lots of catchy vocals and solid guitars make up most of what you'll get here - but dont fast forward to the choruses just yet. clever lyrics and strong words based on true past experiences are waiting for you the third or fourth time you listen to it. the album is also very enjoyably themed - with all the references to the different seasons, its surprising they didnt name the album something to accentuate it. key tracks are #2, #4, #5, #7, and #10. Expand
  11. Tuffy
    Jul 26, 2002
    8
    One of the best CD's in the world.
  12. ShaunT.
    Apr 14, 2003
    2
    Alien Ant Farm is a fine example of how a seemingly promising band can bite the dust. Not only is AAF's debut boring, but it is monotonous and oddly textured. I admit, their cover of Smooth Criminal is fun, but when it comes to original material, it's time to grab the bug spray. Instead of picking up this glitzy, garbled mess, check out Incubus' "Make Yourself". You'll Alien Ant Farm is a fine example of how a seemingly promising band can bite the dust. Not only is AAF's debut boring, but it is monotonous and oddly textured. I admit, their cover of Smooth Criminal is fun, but when it comes to original material, it's time to grab the bug spray. Instead of picking up this glitzy, garbled mess, check out Incubus' "Make Yourself". You'll be doing your ears and your wallet a big favor! Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2004
    8
    Some pretty good songs, but some not so as much. Could have been better but still good debut.
  14. CharlesH.
    Jan 16, 2002
    7
    Not breaking any new ground, or doing anything that hasn't been done a thousand times before, but an album this relentlessly tuneful and entertaining is nothing to sneeze at!
  15. JasonE
    Nov 20, 2003
    9
    I'm always welcoming a new sound, and AAF definitely has that. Awesome debut.
  16. DME
    Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Despite some minor issues, such as lack of vocal editing (echoes and overlaps), ANThology is an all-around good album. It's diverse, unique, and satisfying. Please don't judge the album on "Smooth Criminal" as there are far better tracks to be found on here. I recommend "Courage", "Sticks and Stones", and my favorite track "Wish".
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Lyrically, they've got a ways to go.... That said, Alien Ant Farm shows some real potential.
  2. More diverse than you might think...
  3. Where the 'Farm break new ground is by exploring far more than the quiet-loud-rage-quiet formula with real singing and everything and a fair does of pop melody that place them more on a radio-friendly rock keel than no holds bared metal.