Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    The loose song structures will lose less dedicated listeners, but those seeking hip-hop on a higher level need look no further. [7 Mar 2003, p.73]
  2. The fireworks do not ignite the way they might have, but that is the nature of experimentation. Nevertheless, this is all great fun, a function of Shipp's slippery mind, and the results are not only danceable but disconcertingly so.
  3. What emerges is not necessarily either jazz or hip-hop, even though the component parts of both genres are readily discernable.
  4. Drawing notions of rhythm, tonality and structure akin to the work of avant-garde greats Roscoe Mitchell, Sun Ra and Kool Keith, Antipop vs. Matthew Shipp is an inventive, spaced-out fusion of classical free jazz and futuristic electro hip-hop.
  5. This is a carefully nuanced collaboration, with stepping stones of surprising convention leading listeners slowly into deeper waters.
  6. Mojo
    Surprisingly much more accessible than the idea first sounds. [May 2003, p.106]
  7. While this is a step forward for Shipp, for APC, it's a side-step from their gleamingly tricked-out, beat-tweaked and freaky Arrhythmia.
  8. For the most part, words and music are woven together in interesting and convincing ways.
  9. 70
    The end product falls short of being synergistic. Neither contender in this sonic duel really lets loose; both Shipp and Anti-Pop Consortium seem too passive and deferential toward each other.
  10. There’s plenty to recommend this album, but rarely do Shipp and Antipop ever really come together.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. nicolem
    Jun 19, 2003
    kick ass
  2. mungrorahnimsintoofu
    Mar 10, 2003
    utter excrement. if you desire boredom and outright shitty instrumentation, then this is the album for you.