Anti-Pop Consortium Vs. Matthew Shipp Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thirsty Ear's Blue Series continues with the unlikely pairing of avant-garde jazz pianist (and Blue Series curator) Matthew Shipp with the experimental New York hip-hop outfit Anti-Pop Consortium. This is also the very last album to be released by APC, who have officially disbanded.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    The loose song structures will lose less dedicated listeners, but those seeking hip-hop on a higher level need look no further. [7 Mar 2003, p.73]
  2. What emerges is not necessarily either jazz or hip-hop, even though the component parts of both genres are readily discernable.
  3. The fireworks do not ignite the way they might have, but that is the nature of experimentation. Nevertheless, this is all great fun, a function of Shipp's slippery mind, and the results are not only danceable but disconcertingly so.
  4. While this is a step forward for Shipp, for APC, it's a side-step from their gleamingly tricked-out, beat-tweaked and freaky Arrhythmia.
  5. For the most part, words and music are woven together in interesting and convincing ways.
  6. 70
    The end product falls short of being synergistic. Neither contender in this sonic duel really lets loose; both Shipp and Anti-Pop Consortium seem too passive and deferential toward each other.
  7. The big downer about “Vs.” tends to be its sporadic hinting at the greatness that could have been: small pockets of significance surrounded by many mediocre passages.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. nicolem
    Jun 19, 2003
    kick ass
  2. mungrorahnimsintoofu
    Mar 10, 2003
    utter excrement. if you desire boredom and outright shitty instrumentation, then this is the album for you.

See all 3 User Reviews