Antics

  • Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 192

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. shooh
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    this album i so beautiful!! *sigh*
  2. Rico
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    Sweet! No sophmore slump with this band. Now let's see some videos from this. I already look forward to the next release.
  3. nashaq
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    A brilliant follow up to TOTBL although I still prefer their debut. I few listens to this album and you will be hooked!
  4. AN
    Oct 1, 2004
    9
    an excellent second album, with a feeling in the vein of TOTBL but a sound all of it's own.
  5. PeterM
    Sep 27, 2004
    9
    A great album. Different from "bright lights" in mood but just as addictive a few listens later.
  6. mahonrim
    Sep 27, 2004
    8
    granted, this could never be "brightlights," but it's a great album and brings the hits. take a deep breath and inhale the evolution.
  7. Matt
    Mar 1, 2005
    9
    This was the first Interpol CD i bought and i am STILL in love with it. It has catchy riffs and great lyics. I was going to give it an 8.5, but i since I can't, I'll round up (it deserves it)
  8. evanC.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    From front to back, one of the 5 best albums ive ever listened to. There are no weak songs and each seems to fill a purpose. This album is amazing and sounds as fresh today as it did when it first came out.
  9. MC
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Simply stunning. Every song is amazing and worthy of its place. And after a few listens, the album as a whole takes shape and you realise the brilliance of it all.
  10. EricJ
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Another marvelous record by the boys of NY, filled with tons and tons of musical gems. Really looking forward to there third album.
  11. benfear
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    one of the best ever.Depth and awesome guitar playing.Perfection if perfection ever existed.
  12. joaop.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. one of the most complete rock album from the last 15 years.
  13. KyleL
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Not as good as the first album, but still gets a 9 from me.
  14. JulesT.
    Oct 1, 2004
    9
    This is better than Turn on the Bright Lights but I couldn't choose between both the Lps if I had to. Excellent and Elaborate!
  15. Randeh
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    Fantastic album, wouldn't say that its totally and completely better than Bright Lights, but thats only because of how good that was, and damn slow hands is a good track
  16. DeeK
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    I can't imagine anyone who likes the melancholic half of 80s post-punk / new wave bands not being absolutely impressed by the fresh and unique way in which Interpol interpretes this part of the genre. There's still so much under the surface... To me the greatest record since???
  17. MarylinD.
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    Is there a song much better than Take u on a cruise? I dont think so...this album is perfect...
  18. LouH
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    a finely crafted album. Their song writing has improved in leaps and bounds. absolutely love it.
  19. Mack
    Oct 7, 2004
    10
    Just forget the lazy Strokes comparisons and listen to the music for what it is. All 10 tracks are strong, leaving the album without any filler. Grouping this band in a particular "sound" is useless because they've crafted their own unique style. Should be on every top 10 list this year.
  20. KyleB
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    I personally preferred TOTBL, but I am definitely not disappointed by this album, Take You On A Cruise and Slow Hands in particular!
  21. Tom
    Sep 27, 2004
    9
    There is no filler on this album, every song is at least *good.* And there are 4 classics on this one (Not Even Jail, Take you on a Cruise, C'mere, and Evil). The NYC best band debate is officially closed.
  22. AaronR
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    Considering the immense pressure on Interpol after their near perfect debut, Antics is a miracle. Infinitely more complex then TOTBL, it's also denser, more subtle, more musically varied, and much more melodic. Not only is Antics more consistent track for track, it should also put to rest all of the inaccurate comparisons with Joy Division and the Chameleons UK. (As an enormous fan Considering the immense pressure on Interpol after their near perfect debut, Antics is a miracle. Infinitely more complex then TOTBL, it's also denser, more subtle, more musically varied, and much more melodic. Not only is Antics more consistent track for track, it should also put to rest all of the inaccurate comparisons with Joy Division and the Chameleons UK. (As an enormous fan of these early post-punk bands I have to say, honestly, that Interpol really does NOT sound like Joy Division; their music is the opposite of JDs sparse sound and circular structure) If you want a musical comparison, I think Echo and the Bunnymen's "Heaven Up Here" or the Sounds "Heads and Hearts" might be closest. Anyway, Antics somehow improves on the debut, paul Banks vocals are mixed up front this time, and the quality of the guitars is almost on par now with the ridiculously precise rythym section. This is one of the most gorgous sounding albums I can remember hearing in LONG time. Expand
  23. AshleyF.
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    This is the best album in the world and i'm totally OBSESSED WITH THEM!!!!
  24. SteveF
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    This album is amazing. i listen to it pretty frequently. Interpols music is so cool and inspiring. I would of gave this album a ten but I liked Turn on the bright lights a little better.
  25. PaulBanks
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant! The guitar sound and Carlos fantastic basslines mixed with weird lyrics and awesome melodies.
  26. adim
    May 21, 2005
    10
    a perfect album
  27. MarkT
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    This album gets better with every listen and is a true classic. It's on a par with Turn On The Bright Lights but is very different to its predeccesor. Buy It!
  28. Nataliec
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    Interpol has proved themselves worthy, and they are here to stay.
  29. DisMantler
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    An almost perfect rock album. Fantastic melodies accompanied with beautiful lyrics, all played and sung immaculately. A worthy successor to 'Turn on the Bright Lights', maybe even better.
  30. MusicMaven
    Aug 29, 2005
    8
    Turn On The Bright Lights was better, but there's a lot of great music here to enjoy. I detect a little more Echo & The Bunnymen influence and a little less Joy Division, but Interpol have really developed their own sound now. There's a raft of new post-punk revivalists that are being compared to THEM now (i.e. Editors).
  31. AlexC
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    A magnificent album which grows and grows on you (bit like Bloc Party album). Lyrically, Banks has improved considerably and tracks like "Slow Hands" and "C'mere" take the band in a new, more hopeful direction which serves to counter the darker moments on the album. I saw them in Byron Bay and Sydney and they were amazing live.
  32. joe
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    This has been out for some time now and it is probably my favourite album of all time, spine tinglingly good
  33. TrekD
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This is one of those albums you can't stop listening to, no matter what. It's so addictive! A true work of art. Hopefully, there third album can be as good as this.
  34. DontrelleM
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    Not quite as good as TOTBL but still a worthy follow-up to it. Songs such, Not Even Jail, Take You On a Cruise, Evil, A Time To Be Small, Next Exit are bound to be classics someday. Solid effort by the boys of NY.
  35. MT
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Best album of 04 and in my top 10 of all-time.
  36. LJ
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Just as good as there classic debut. Which is a good thing, considering TOTBL is one of my all time favorite albums. So, you know my expectations for there follow-up were pretty high, like through the roof high. And they delivered in all the areas. The album is beautiful, complex, powerful, upbeat and uplifting. "Antics" is a fine masterpiece and if you don't like it...I feel very Just as good as there classic debut. Which is a good thing, considering TOTBL is one of my all time favorite albums. So, you know my expectations for there follow-up were pretty high, like through the roof high. And they delivered in all the areas. The album is beautiful, complex, powerful, upbeat and uplifting. "Antics" is a fine masterpiece and if you don't like it...I feel very sorry for you. Cause, this is true work of art. I'm counting down the days to there third LP. June can't get here any sooner. Expand
  37. RonnieL
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! On par with TOTBL.
  38. Ronnie
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    Terrific! Pure brilliance all the way through. Definitely lives up to the hype and it's a worthy follow-up to TOTBL and Antics.
  39. DeathG.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Never heard them before and didn't have much expectations. I was wrong. This album is truly a masterpiece!
  40. XY
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    Great follow-up to a classic debut. "Not Even Jail" is one of the best songs of all-time.
  41. HC
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Antics plays like a lighter, livelier Interpol, and it's great.
  42. MHochwald
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    I bought Turn On The Bright Lights July 2003 and have listened to it about 300 times up until September. I bought Antics September 28th. It is now November 2nd. I have listened to Antic about 50 times since then. I have listened to Turn On The Bright Lights maybe 5 times since then. Interpol have an incredible ability erect monuments of epics proportions . This album is going to be in my I bought Turn On The Bright Lights July 2003 and have listened to it about 300 times up until September. I bought Antics September 28th. It is now November 2nd. I have listened to Antic about 50 times since then. I have listened to Turn On The Bright Lights maybe 5 times since then. Interpol have an incredible ability erect monuments of epics proportions . This album is going to be in my top 10 this year. Perhaps right behind Arcade Fire's Funeral. Expand
  43. Jo
    Nov 6, 2004
    9
    I saw them at the Curiosa and they rocked. I just got Antics and the whole cd is great from beginning to end. Fave songs: "take you on a cruise", " Not even Jail", "PUblic pervert". My only beef with this cd is that I was expecting a bit more challenging melodies (and "lenght of love" does sound in parts like Joy Division :guitar and vocals). Overall, Antics is one of my favorite cds this year.
  44. michaeld
    Dec 14, 2004
    9
    perfectly balanced 'evil' is outstanding. from start to finish the album is amazing
  45. Celso
    Oct 23, 2004
    7
    I disagree to the common opinion that Antics' better than Turn on... I think it has taken only the succesful commercial 'side' from Turn on, becoming a 'monotone', eternal PDA.
  46. mariant
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    I love the whole album thats it !!:)
  47. ShaunM
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    Who the hell would read the New York Times for music reviews anyway? This is a great album from a great band.
  48. DonnyDon't
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    I'm going to say this, piss off the nay-sayers, and proclaim that 2004 is the best year music has had since 77. And the beauty is, unlike those popular and social changes, this revolution is soley for the music fan. It is ours to relish, worship, and feel superior to those with bad taste everywhere. I mean, look at some of the innovation coming out with LPs from Franz Ferdiand, The I'm going to say this, piss off the nay-sayers, and proclaim that 2004 is the best year music has had since 77. And the beauty is, unlike those popular and social changes, this revolution is soley for the music fan. It is ours to relish, worship, and feel superior to those with bad taste everywhere. I mean, look at some of the innovation coming out with LPs from Franz Ferdiand, The Streets, Modest Mouse, Hope of the States, and... c'mon, 37 years late we even got Smile. But as far as more modern music, Interpol deserves enough credit for it to possibly be considered their year. Not since the Smiths has a bands sense of musical style been so completely reflected by their image. We get 10 gems on this disc, and compared to their debut, this one is certainly more of an acquired taste. I appreciate it more and more with each listen, and it's even beaten out the debut in terms of immediacy. (I think I'll admit to TOTBL being a better album, but I think I persoanlly prefer Antics). Buy it. Love it. Kick your signficant lover out of bed and in their place put a CD player playing in the said space. All night long. Expand
  49. AramisG
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    I find it hard to write a good review for something nearly perfect. I guess I should just come out and say this album rocks. Totally rocks. It gets my vote for best of the year. I downloaded Antics in July (& bought it yesterday) and have been listening to it regularly since then. In many ways the big miprovement here over TOTBL is that the mood of many of these songs isn't as I find it hard to write a good review for something nearly perfect. I guess I should just come out and say this album rocks. Totally rocks. It gets my vote for best of the year. I downloaded Antics in July (& bought it yesterday) and have been listening to it regularly since then. In many ways the big miprovement here over TOTBL is that the mood of many of these songs isn't as reminiscent of Script of the Bridge or Ian Curtis. The only beef I have with Antics is that the last song is a marginally better/different version than the original and that the album is too short (meaning I just want more new Interpol songs as soon as possible). I hope I don't have to wait too long for their next one. Expand
  50. BradfromCanada
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    I was surprised by this album. I loved TOTBL, moodyness and all, and honestly expected more of the same. I wouldn't have been disappointed if Antics were like the first album but it isn't. Its more upbeat, the tracks flow together better, and the songwriting is still top notch. Its everything that made TOTBL great plus it doesn't leave you with a bleak sense of depression. I was surprised by this album. I loved TOTBL, moodyness and all, and honestly expected more of the same. I wouldn't have been disappointed if Antics were like the first album but it isn't. Its more upbeat, the tracks flow together better, and the songwriting is still top notch. Its everything that made TOTBL great plus it doesn't leave you with a bleak sense of depression. Great record all around! Expand
  51. PedroD
    Nov 10, 2005
    8
    both NARC and Public Pervert are two of the greatest songs i've heard this year. Way up there with Arcade Fire's 'Funeral'..
  52. JasparC.
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    This album is so awesome. Better than TOTBL in the sense that you can listen to this with other people around and not feel weird. I'm not sure which album is better, but in my book, they're both a 10. My favourite songs are Next Exit, Evil, Not Even Jail (one of my favourite songs of all time), C'mere, and A Time to be so Small (a brilliantly crafted song). I'd This album is so awesome. Better than TOTBL in the sense that you can listen to this with other people around and not feel weird. I'm not sure which album is better, but in my book, they're both a 10. My favourite songs are Next Exit, Evil, Not Even Jail (one of my favourite songs of all time), C'mere, and A Time to be so Small (a brilliantly crafted song). I'd recommend this to anyone who likes to listen to music when they're doing something else, or just like listening to music on their own. Expand
  53. DavidF
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    awesome a brilliant masterpiece
  54. weltact
    Feb 24, 2005
    7
    a very good album, but on a totally different level then turn on the bright lights, eventho they look the same at first
  55. StoP
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Right from the get go does Interpol shine. With an ear assulting barrage of dual guitars and unrelenting drums, Interpol drive the music into your head. Like Turn on the Bright Lights, Interpol creates atmospheres with each song but in a varied sense. Each song is a soundtrack to specific situations where their debut captures the sounds of a generation. Antics is may not be their debut Right from the get go does Interpol shine. With an ear assulting barrage of dual guitars and unrelenting drums, Interpol drive the music into your head. Like Turn on the Bright Lights, Interpol creates atmospheres with each song but in a varied sense. Each song is a soundtrack to specific situations where their debut captures the sounds of a generation. Antics is may not be their debut but is nonetheless fabulous. Expand
  56. JacquesDerrida
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    No, its manifestly not as good as TOTBL, but how could it be? What is very encouraging is Interpol's willingness to depart from the sound of that record in search of something new. And while the major features remain the same, there is compelling evidence that the future might be even brighter than bright lights.
  57. christab
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    I can listen to this over, and over, and over, and over....you get the picture.
  58. P.B
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Damn!!!!!!!!! i wanna cry!!
  59. SusanB
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    A truly great album. Dark, mysterious, melodic and intriguing. I can't get enough of it
  60. AlexV
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    Beautiful as it can be, still the same band, but with different sounds 9outof10
  61. FearghalL
    Feb 16, 2006
    9
    took me a few listens to get into this album but after my initial doubts i became adicted to it a realy great album
  62. marks
    Jun 18, 2006
    8
    ANTICS is, mostly, a fantastic record.
  63. philn
    Sep 23, 2006
    9
    not even jail and pubilc pervert are genius songs
  64. Shes_soLoose
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    I must amend what I wrote about this on my Our Love to Admire comment. Like I said, I never liked Turn on the bright lights. So I dismissed Antics after an inattentive listen, but now that I've thoroughly given it its time, I must say this is the best Interpol album and one of my absolute favourite CDs in the '00s. It really is that good. Evil, Slow Hands, NARC, C'mere, I must amend what I wrote about this on my Our Love to Admire comment. Like I said, I never liked Turn on the bright lights. So I dismissed Antics after an inattentive listen, but now that I've thoroughly given it its time, I must say this is the best Interpol album and one of my absolute favourite CDs in the '00s. It really is that good. Evil, Slow Hands, NARC, C'mere, Take you on a cruise are all awesome tracks, and the record on the whole is just fantastic. Wow. Expand
  65. Billb
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Believe it or not, take you on a cruise is my favorite track, but others like slow hands and narc and public pervert are absolutely awesome and I would have to say that Antics is even better than turn on the bright lights.
  66. Mike
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    This and Arcade Fire's The Funeral were the two classics are 04.
  67. Kirby
    May 12, 2007
    10
    A beauiful second album by Interpol.
  68. ShaunB
    May 6, 2007
    10
    My 2nd favorite album of all-time behind TOTBL.
  69. PierreM.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Every song is amazing in this perfect follow up.
  70. VincentH.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    A new classic. There are so many people I know around my age who consider this one of their very favorite albums. Seriously it's that good. One of the best indie-rock releases since 2000, probably 2nd IMO after "Funeral". There are no bad songs on here. Every song sounds like a single. Every melody is catchy and incredibly tuneful. The bass playing and drumming are spectacular. The A new classic. There are so many people I know around my age who consider this one of their very favorite albums. Seriously it's that good. One of the best indie-rock releases since 2000, probably 2nd IMO after "Funeral". There are no bad songs on here. Every song sounds like a single. Every melody is catchy and incredibly tuneful. The bass playing and drumming are spectacular. The lyrics are very emotional. Besides the last song, this is a perfect album. GET IT!!! Expand
  71. RushanMV
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Good album that swing you to old sound to new with reminding you with doors to R.E.M.
  72. OliviaC
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    I think Antics is fabulously composed lyrically and sonically. If anything, Antics confirmed for me their ability to continue writing good music. Let's not compare Antics to Turn on the Bright Lights and in turn trash Antics because it didn't seem to meet the gusto that emerged from their first album. The first will always set certain expectations because that's how one has I think Antics is fabulously composed lyrically and sonically. If anything, Antics confirmed for me their ability to continue writing good music. Let's not compare Antics to Turn on the Bright Lights and in turn trash Antics because it didn't seem to meet the gusto that emerged from their first album. The first will always set certain expectations because that's how one has come to know the band. However, there are many sides of the band still to explore. Expand
  73. HairP
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    To me, this album was the biggest highlight of my listening experience in 2004. The melodies will stick with you even if you were to lose this album for a number of weeks. Paul Bank's voice always sounded familiar in the ways of Ian Curtis but it doesn't take any of these song's impact away from the listener. I was expecting a sophmore album as great as 'Closer' To me, this album was the biggest highlight of my listening experience in 2004. The melodies will stick with you even if you were to lose this album for a number of weeks. Paul Bank's voice always sounded familiar in the ways of Ian Curtis but it doesn't take any of these song's impact away from the listener. I was expecting a sophmore album as great as 'Closer' by Joy Division. My expectations were met as soon as I turned to my stereo for a second listen. "Turn on the Bright Lights" this is not. This album has a voice of its own. Expand
  74. ehehehhey
    Nov 6, 2004
    9
    Loved the first cd, after listening to Antics I have no doubts:Interpol is one of the best bands, is not the best, at the moment.
  75. Gazcomsat
    Oct 17, 2004
    9
    If you can imagine the late Ian Curtis of Joy Division fronting the best band to ever come out of Manchester, The Chameleons, you will have a good idea of how Interpol sound. The new Cd is superb and a great follow up to their debut album "Turn on the bright lights". The standout track for me is the quite brilliant "Take you on a cruise" although pretty much all the tracks are excellent.
  76. Peeps21Patsy
    Dec 31, 2004
    9
    If you are an oldish fart like me going through an early-mid-life crisis - this is a brilliant album. REM, Cure and Joy Divison rolled into one. . .re-living my youth has never been some much fun.
  77. DonN
    Dec 4, 2004
    8
    1st Album was much better but this album was still alright.
  78. JoelT
    Sep 25, 2004
    8
    The main question with regards to the follow up of a classic debut is not whether the new album improves upon the first but whether it maintains the illusion. To get the bad news out of the way first, 'Antics' is not an improvement on '....Bright Lights' but the good news is that it has all the moves to dismiss any talk of these boys as one-trick ponies. With The main question with regards to the follow up of a classic debut is not whether the new album improves upon the first but whether it maintains the illusion. To get the bad news out of the way first, 'Antics' is not an improvement on '....Bright Lights' but the good news is that it has all the moves to dismiss any talk of these boys as one-trick ponies. With 'Antics' Interpol have played the card that ensures their position in the big time for some years to come yet. Roll on 2006 and album number three... Expand
  79. SamB
    Sep 25, 2004
    9
    This CD is awesome. Definitely check it out if you like A) Turn on the bright lights B) The Arcade Fire and/or C) Good Music
  80. chrise
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    Its a great album after the darkness from TOTBL, here comes the real "bright light"..100% enjoyable
  81. paulbanks
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    It's interpolerrific!!!!!
  82. maTMOLKROBER
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    excellent, brilliant..
  83. harlequin
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    the best album of the year from the best (alive) band on earth. take you on a cruise is such an epic.
  84. harlequin
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    the best album of the year from the best (alive) band on earth. take you on a cruise is such an epic.
  85. MM
    Sep 29, 2004
    9
    Better than Bright lights.....a tighter more polished album...with real songs rather than meandering durges
  86. PeterS
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    I was in a bar. I heard two tracks. I lost interest in the conversation of my friends. By track four I had found out the name of the band - Interpol. By midday Monday i had the album. Isn't that the way it should be. Now I have both albums and am seeing them in concert next week. I can't wait for the third.
  87. JoseH
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece. Better than TOTBL. "Not Even Jail" is one of the best songs that I have ever listened to. Looking forward for the third album!
  88. LucasH
    Apr 13, 2006
    9
    Superb!! This is very good music.
  89. Apollo
    Jun 17, 2006
    7
    Interpol is one of those bands you find irresistable. While I think "Turn On The Bright Lights" is their best so far, "Antics" is a good solid album. Fans of Joy Division, The Chameleons UK and Kitchens of Distinction will find Interpol quite appealing.
  90. AC
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Wow!! What a fantastic follow-up to a classic debut. Improving in everyway possible way & doing something very different from TOTBL. And for the people who say that "Antics" was a dissapointment, obviously, doesn't know anything about music. Cause, this album is a classic, yeah, I prefer "TOTBL" but this album is right up there with it. I'm counting down the days to there next Wow!! What a fantastic follow-up to a classic debut. Improving in everyway possible way & doing something very different from TOTBL. And for the people who say that "Antics" was a dissapointment, obviously, doesn't know anything about music. Cause, this album is a classic, yeah, I prefer "TOTBL" but this album is right up there with it. I'm counting down the days to there next LP. Best Song: Not Even Jail Expand
  91. JC
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest albums you will ever hear! An incredible rollercoaster ride from start to finish.
  92. MihaiV
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    Not quite on the same level with TOTBL but very close. It's different, more fun, more optimistic. Interpol is one of the best bands in the world today.
  93. SlayJ
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    A really, really different album than TOTBL, which is a good thing. I would of been very dissapointed if they had done something similiar to that but they didn't and I'm happy for it. Instead, they evolved and made an upbeat and enjoyable record while still keeping some of the dark and cryptic elements that made there debut so amazing. What Antics does so well is the fact it A really, really different album than TOTBL, which is a good thing. I would of been very dissapointed if they had done something similiar to that but they didn't and I'm happy for it. Instead, they evolved and made an upbeat and enjoyable record while still keeping some of the dark and cryptic elements that made there debut so amazing. What Antics does so well is the fact it carries some amazingly well crafted songs, some of there strongest efforts to date (Not Even Jail, Evil, Next Exit, Narc, etc) especially NEJ, which is in my opinion one of the greatest songs I've heard in years. Overall, is Antics better than TOTBL? No, but it is another great album by them and will probably end up being a classic in 20 years. Expand
  94. Lucky
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Way better than TOTBL! It's more solid, organic and alot more epic. "Not Even Jail" is the best song they've written so far in there career, it's so goddamn beautiful! This is what great music is all about.
  95. BlakeD
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Another great album by the best band in the world! Brilliantly crafted, delivers in all the areas. Even though, I still prefer TOTBL but Antics isn't too far behind.
  96. ThompsonJ
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Pretty freaking amazing! Antics is another solid effort by Interpol. Proving why there one of the few genuises working in the music industry, right now. All there songs are epic and beautiful especially, Take You on a Cruise and Next Exit. God I love this band! Bring on there third album, already.
  97. SA
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I am in love with the album. I have been listening to it for the past 2 years and I just can't stop. It never happen to be before. some people might call it obsession but It makes me happy.
  98. GregorO
    Dec 31, 2004
    9
    A very impressive second outing from the New Yorkers.
  99. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    Antics is a really good album. The tracks are catchy, the lyrics are dark, and Paul Banks voice is haunting. "Evil" is just a wonderfully dark song about a girl named Rosemary and what not, easily the stand out song on the album. Every other track sounds really good. All In All, Antics is a good punk rock album. B
  100. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Antics is a perfect album. No weak songs whatsoever, it just thumps and pounds in it's own dark way from start to finish without skipping a beat. Most Interpol fans would offer up their debut album Turn On The Bright Lights as the band's masterwork. For me, it's definitely Antics.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    There's something totally irresistible about Antics: The air of mystery, the bleak but hopeful arrangements and the melodies so sharp and moving that they might inspire a night of heroic partying.
  2. An album scored through with a vehement beauty that, with each listen, becomes all the more acute for its unwillingness to shy away from life's bleaker, more painful moments. [25 Sep 2004, p.62]
  3. Antics is ridiculously good. [Oct 2004, p.112]