Anywhere I Lay My Head

  • Record Label: Atco
  • Release Date: May 20, 2008
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 56
  2. Negative: 15 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimF.
    Jun 9, 2008
    0
    Scarlett is gorgeous and a pretty good actress. There was no need for this. Her voice puts me off.
  2. JamalaB.
    May 20, 2008
    3
    This is not Scarlett! This is the producers creating a self-indulgent album. Scarlett has a beautiful voice - but it is drowned in the instrumentals. Someone obviously told her to sing that way - there's not an ounce of emotion. Bitterly disappointed, Scarlett ... hopefully next time, you'll sing for yourself.
  3. TiernanS.
    May 22, 2008
    1
    Based on the lead single in front of this album I am vastly unimpressed.
  4. PaulC
    May 22, 2008
    0
    I couldn't make it past track five. This is some of the worst music I've heard in years. Scarlett's voice is an atonal nightmare. There's no way any legitimate music critic should be giving this mess the kind of scores it's been getting. Absolutely horrible!
  5. MilesD.
    May 21, 2008
    1
    Wow! really! I Love Tom Waits and think scarlett is great. This album really sucks though.
  6. mk
    May 22, 2008
    1
    Why won't anyone tell her how bad this is? Not to mention that the idea of doing a cover album of Tom Waits songs.. Holly Cole did it years ago. And she can sing.
  7. [Anonymous]
    May 24, 2008
    1
    At least I haven't hung myself yet. Simply terrible.
  8. EmilyC.
    Jun 14, 2008
    1
    Just because someone is an actress does not mean they should (or can) sing songs written by a legend. People should do themselves a favor, and stay away.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Q Magazine
    60
    The album is fine enough, undeniably modish and much better than you might anticipate. [June 2008, p.136]
  2. Mojo
    40
    Much of this album's re-booting of Waits' back pages in an ambient '80s style is fussy and forgettable. [June 2008, p.112]
  3. Sitek attempts to do Johansson (and us) a favour by burying her monotonous voice deep in the mix, but unfortunately, the musical support isn’t interesting enough to carry the album. Skip it.