Aphrodite - Kylie Minogue
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 2 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    Though the singles are excellent the rest of the album leaves a little something to be desired. Perhaps if there was more lyrical detail rather than focus on the theme this may have been stronger. Download: All The Lovers, Aphrodite, Better than Today
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    Pure pop perfection! That's how POP must sound! Kylie at her best! Though album becomes a little bit boring at the end, Kylie still rocks! The best songs for me are All The Lovers, Get Outta My Way and Closer.
  3. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This is a brilliant pop album. It's pure Kylie pop - hummable, sensual, fun & euphoric. It contains fantastic goddess-like dancefloor anthems like All The Lovers, Put Your Hands Up (If You Feel Love), Cupid Boy and Can't Beat The Feeling as well as elegant chants like Illusion, Everything is Beautiful and Looking For An Angel. All in all, I think it's Kylie's best album, especially because of the amazing production work by Stuart Price, who successfully manages to put the album together as 'a whole piece' of music. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    It might not be X. But it's certainly got something. It offers current music, classis pop music, beautiful music and sometimes alternative sounding music. Yes Kylie might take a little too much insiration from the artists she works with at times, but you cannot deny the woman knows what she's doing. If you want a good electro/pop album, this is definalty for you, and even if you don't, you are bound to like at least one track from this rather good album. Expand
  5. May 25, 2011
    6
    All the songs are very good pop-dance songs - very Kylie - but there's not one song that stands out. It's too cohesive - I don't know is that such a bad thing, though. In conclusion - it tends to get boring...
  6. May 24, 2011
    10
    Kylie Minogue does her best at staying current in todays electronic climate with an album of summery breezy disco-pop which works 100%. Amazingly produced and well timed. A fresh alternative to the caustic and angry Gaga.
  7. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    This album is proof positive that one can do perfect pop, or as close to him. In times when Pop has become extremely commercialized, Minogue arrives with a proposal dancepop in fact nothing much up there, but listening to him you realize what is possible dancepop for your headphones, without any aggression by strikes very heavy. Generally speaking, Aphrodite is one of the best pop albums of 2010. Highlighting the "All The Lovers" and "Get Outta My Way. " Worth a listen. Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Kylie is amazing on this album! All the Lovers is my favorite track along with "Illusion". You never can get enough of Kylie! I would suggest listening to this album over and over
  9. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Its a good album I have to say. I like the tracks Too Much, Put You Hands Up, Cupid Boy, Get Outta My Way and All The lovers. And the DVD is good abit also. New Zealand should get it back to the charts to NO. 1. Its a amazing electropop and dance-pop album
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Aphrodite is the work of someone who knows exactly what her skills are and who to hire to help showcase them to perfection.
  2. Aphrodite is pure Kylie magic. Everything that made you fall in love with her all over again before is present and correct here.
  3. The new set casts a spell with Stuart Price's signature preternatural touches, Minogue's breathy chirp and the hooky melodies of a varied crew of dance pop-focused songwriters and producers.