• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Aphrodite Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Australian pop singer returns with more dance-floor slammers and pure pop hits that have kept her career going for over twenty years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. The diminutive Australian diva is still delivering disco thunder from Down Under.
  2. Aphrodite is the work of someone who knows exactly what her skills are and who to hire to help showcase them to perfection.
  3. The new set casts a spell with Stuart Price's signature preternatural touches, Minogue's breathy chirp and the hooky melodies of a varied crew of dance pop-focused songwriters and producers.
  4. 70
    Her return to electro-pop form on Aphrodite–Minogue's 11th studio record in 23 years–is on point, maybe even better, than much of her discography.
  5. Sometimes dance pop with this much gloss and unabashed glee is relegated to the realms of guilty pleasure, but Aphrodite is that rare representation of perfect production that is just pleasure, pure and simple.
  6. There aren't many new ideas here, just more of the old reliable - which, from such a believer, is still finely executed.
  7. 40
    Despite her vaguely regal poise, and a songwriting crew including Jake Shears, Calvin Harris and Tim-from-Keane, Aphrodite is dismayingly anonymous pop-trance. [Aug 2010, p.84]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    This album is proof positive that one can do perfect pop, or as close to him. In times when Pop has become extremely commercialized, MinogueThis album is proof positive that one can do perfect pop, or as close to him. In times when Pop has become extremely commercialized, Minogue arrives with a proposal dancepop in fact nothing much up there, but listening to him you realize what is possible dancepop for your headphones, without any aggression by strikes very heavy. Generally speaking, Aphrodite is one of the best pop albums of 2010. Highlighting the "All The Lovers" and "Get Outta My Way. " Worth a listen. Collapse
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    Pure pop perfection! That's how POP must sound! Kylie at her best! Though album becomes a little bit boring at the end, Kylie still rocks! ThePure pop perfection! That's how POP must sound! Kylie at her best! Though album becomes a little bit boring at the end, Kylie still rocks! The best songs for me are All The Lovers, Get Outta My Way and Closer. Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Kylie is amazing on this album! All the Lovers is my favorite track along with "Illusion". You never can get enough of Kylie! I wouldKylie is amazing on this album! All the Lovers is my favorite track along with "Illusion". You never can get enough of Kylie! I would suggest listening to this album over and over Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    Kylie Minogue is one of the biggest DIVAS of the universe. The best album of her to me, is Aphrodite. This album is amazing, it can't get anyKylie Minogue is one of the biggest DIVAS of the universe. The best album of her to me, is Aphrodite. This album is amazing, it can't get any worse or better. Better Than Today's wonderful, my favorite from the album. Too bad he had been wronged in the estimated sales of 800k to 1 million copies. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Its a good album I have to say. I like the tracks Too Much, Put You Hands Up, Cupid Boy, Get Outta My Way and All The lovers. And the DVD isIts a good album I have to say. I like the tracks Too Much, Put You Hands Up, Cupid Boy, Get Outta My Way and All The lovers. And the DVD is good abit also. New Zealand should get it back to the charts to NO. 1. Its a amazing electropop and dance-pop album Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2015
    8
    A great album being faithful to a theme. Great production full of good songs, but has a defect: the choice of the song "Better Than Today" forA great album being faithful to a theme. Great production full of good songs, but has a defect: the choice of the song "Better Than Today" for single. This song is not good enough for that, and the album was much better songs. Expand
  7. May 25, 2011
    6
    All the songs are very good pop-dance songs - very Kylie - but there's not one song that stands out. It's too cohesive - I don't know is thatAll the songs are very good pop-dance songs - very Kylie - but there's not one song that stands out. It's too cohesive - I don't know is that such a bad thing, though. In conclusion - it tends to get boring... Expand

See all 11 User Reviews