• Band Name: Slash
  • Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Apocalyptic Love, the album, is at its best when Slash is operating within the team. [9 Jun 2012, p.52]
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Carolina's use of a talk box a la Frampton stuck in this listener's craw, but elsewhere the urgency and uncensored filth of Slash's playing is a joy. [Jul 2012, p.82]
  3. May 22, 2012
    80
    This one is cohesive and feels like a band affair, feels like an album, feels like it has the chemistry Velvet Revolver frustratingly didn't quite have but a certain other band had once upon a time when Slash was in that crew.
  4. May 22, 2012
    80
    Apocalyptic Love is at heart a collection of lean, high-octane rock-and-roll tunes built to be blasted out of open-top sports cars or, more suitably, open-air stadiums.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    A solid if not spectacular release from the king of wail.
  6. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    Pretty good but never outstanding.
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    60
    In reality, [the album] is another sampling of ridiculous guitar riffs, and for Slash, it's a way to keep playing at a level he can dominate. Is it a new chapter in his career? No. It's just a continuation of previous chapters. But maybe that's OK.
  8. May 22, 2012
    60
    Apocalyptic Love never tries too hard, so it winds up satisfying on its own limited scale.
  9. May 22, 2012
    60
    Slash and Kennedy rely on formula rather than chemistry and yield some thin songs tucked into the record's second half.
  10. There's potential here but it's sadly unrealized.
  11. Jun 18, 2012
    40
    Best avoided if you're not a Guns N' Roses completist.
  12. May 24, 2012
    30
    Each of the album's thirteen tracks passes by without any fuss or fight; every song blending into one long blob of grey matter that leaves such little impression in spite of repeated listens.
  13. Oct 12, 2012
    20
    A load of rubbish. [Jul 2012, p.110]
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2012
    9
    A well composed plethora of great hard hitting songs, from the titular song to the added extras this album just keeps on giving. Each song with it's own personal touch of LA badass that is slash with blues driven hard rock at it's finest and the breathtaking voice of Miles Kennedy, this is one album that doesn't disappoint.

    Favourite song: We will roam, bad rain and No more heroes
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    At first I was somewhat skeptical of this album, and was unimpressed. As I kept listening to it, I have grown to like it more and more. There are enough catchy riffs and lyrics to keep you listening over and over. Yes, there is no Paradise City or Sweet Child O'mine, but still some very good tunes. We have to try not to compare this, to one of the best records ever made. Good Cd, worth buying. Full Review »
  3. May 24, 2012
    5
    I was pretty disappointed with this album. Save for a few great songs (You're A Lie, We Will Roam, Anastasia), this album is very middling and somewhat dull. The lyrics in the songs are very cliche, though Myles has a great voice. From a musician as legendary as Slash, I expected more than a standard rock record which took no risks in the making. Full Review »