Apocalyptic Love

  • Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    Pretty good but never outstanding.
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    60
    In reality, [the album] is another sampling of ridiculous guitar riffs, and for Slash, it's a way to keep playing at a level he can dominate. Is it a new chapter in his career? No. It's just a continuation of previous chapters. But maybe that's OK.
  3. May 22, 2012
    60
    Apocalyptic Love never tries too hard, so it winds up satisfying on its own limited scale.
  4. May 22, 2012
    60
    Slash and Kennedy rely on formula rather than chemistry and yield some thin songs tucked into the record's second half.
  5. There's potential here but it's sadly unrealized.
  6. Jun 18, 2012
    40
    Best avoided if you're not a Guns N' Roses completist.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2012
    9
    A well composed plethora of great hard hitting songs, from the titular song to the added extras this album just keeps on giving. Each songA well composed plethora of great hard hitting songs, from the titular song to the added extras this album just keeps on giving. Each song with it's own personal touch of LA badass that is slash with blues driven hard rock at it's finest and the breathtaking voice of Miles Kennedy, this is one album that doesn't disappoint.

    Favourite song: We will roam, bad rain and No more heroes
    Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2012
    10
    Best Hard-Rock Record I've been listen in years. Great work for Slash and Myles again.
    The band has to grow even more. But has great songs and
    Best Hard-Rock Record I've been listen in years. Great work for Slash and Myles again.
    The band has to grow even more. But has great songs and compositions that will make people fall in love common to the genre of it.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    This could've bee a great album, but I think the problem here is that Myles Kennedy's voice just isn't a right match for Slash's guitarThis could've bee a great album, but I think the problem here is that Myles Kennedy's voice just isn't a right match for Slash's guitar playing. Kennedy's voice is too clean and "wimpery" and doesn't have enough power or personality to blend with the vibe of Slash's guitar. Kennedy's voice can sound a little too whiny with not enough texture, like a balloon with the air being let out of it. I loved Rod Jackson's singing on the 2nd Slash's Snakepit album Rod Jackson had a booming, powerful voice with a soulful "growl" to it that really meshed with Slash's vibe. I wrote a review earlier in which i criticized the album for lacking in soul or personality, but at the time I couldn't quite put my finger on why. Having come back and listened to it again, it's clear that Kennedy's voice and vocal melodies are the culprit. Slash needed a bigger voice with more texture and SOUL to really bring out the best in his guitar playing. Full Review »