• Record Label: EMI
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2012
    5
    I was pretty disappointed with this album. Save for a few great songs (You're A Lie, We Will Roam, Anastasia), this album is very middling and somewhat dull. The lyrics in the songs are very cliche, though Myles has a great voice. From a musician as legendary as Slash, I expected more than a standard rock record which took no risks in the making.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    This could've bee a great album, but I think the problem here is that Myles Kennedy's voice just isn't a right match for Slash's guitar playing. Kennedy's voice is too clean and "wimpery" and doesn't have enough power or personality to blend with the vibe of Slash's guitar. Kennedy's voice can sound a little too whiny with not enough texture, like a balloon with the air being let out ofThis could've bee a great album, but I think the problem here is that Myles Kennedy's voice just isn't a right match for Slash's guitar playing. Kennedy's voice is too clean and "wimpery" and doesn't have enough power or personality to blend with the vibe of Slash's guitar. Kennedy's voice can sound a little too whiny with not enough texture, like a balloon with the air being let out of it. I loved Rod Jackson's singing on the 2nd Slash's Snakepit album Rod Jackson had a booming, powerful voice with a soulful "growl" to it that really meshed with Slash's vibe. I wrote a review earlier in which i criticized the album for lacking in soul or personality, but at the time I couldn't quite put my finger on why. Having come back and listened to it again, it's clear that Kennedy's voice and vocal melodies are the culprit. Slash needed a bigger voice with more texture and SOUL to really bring out the best in his guitar playing. Expand
  3. May 31, 2012
    6
    Whenever you may hear the album "Apocalyptic Love" one can not help feeling that really the best thing has to offer are vocal by Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge. But the problem lies in the fact that the most important figure here should be a guitarist, which only confirms that Slash has his best years behind him. The fact isthat the artist regales us fancy solos, when in fact no of theWhenever you may hear the album "Apocalyptic Love" one can not help feeling that really the best thing has to offer are vocal by Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge. But the problem lies in the fact that the most important figure here should be a guitarist, which only confirms that Slash has his best years behind him. The fact isthat the artist regales us fancy solos, when in fact no of the songs remain in the memory for longer. Album is at best average position. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    20
    A load of rubbish. [Jul 2012, p.110]
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Apocalyptic Love, the album, is at its best when Slash is operating within the team. [9 Jun 2012, p.52]
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Carolina's use of a talk box a la Frampton stuck in this listener's craw, but elsewhere the urgency and uncensored filth of Slash's playing is a joy. [Jul 2012, p.82]