• Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Apocalyptic Love Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second solo album from Slash features Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge on vocals and was produced by Eric Valentine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Apocalyptic Love, the album, is at its best when Slash is operating within the team. [9 Jun 2012, p.52]
  2. May 22, 2012
    80
    This one is cohesive and feels like a band affair, feels like an album, feels like it has the chemistry Velvet Revolver frustratingly didn't quite have but a certain other band had once upon a time when Slash was in that crew.
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    80
    Carolina's use of a talk box a la Frampton stuck in this listener's craw, but elsewhere the urgency and uncensored filth of Slash's playing is a joy. [Jul 2012, p.82]
  4. May 22, 2012
    60
    Slash and Kennedy rely on formula rather than chemistry and yield some thin songs tucked into the record's second half.
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    60
    In reality, [the album] is another sampling of ridiculous guitar riffs, and for Slash, it's a way to keep playing at a level he can dominate. Is it a new chapter in his career? No. It's just a continuation of previous chapters. But maybe that's OK.
  6. May 22, 2012
    60
    Apocalyptic Love never tries too hard, so it winds up satisfying on its own limited scale.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    20
    A load of rubbish. [Jul 2012, p.110]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    At first I was somewhat skeptical of this album, and was unimpressed. As I kept listening to it, I have grown to like it more and more. There are enough catchy riffs and lyrics to keep you listening over and over. Yes, there is no Paradise City or Sweet Child O'mine, but still some very good tunes. We have to try not to compare this, to one of the best records ever made. Good Cd, worth buying. Collapse
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    This album is truly amazing and reminds me a lot of the old gnr. Songs like Anastasia are one of slash's best songs ever. The album proves that rock and roll still exists. Yet again myles' vocals are flawless and in my opinion, has the best rock and roll voice in these modern times. The album was all recorded live so it has that raw feel to it. A must have for any rock fan! Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    Best Hard-Rock Record I've been listen in years. Great work for Slash and Myles again.
    The band has to grow even more. But has great songs and
    compositions that will make people fall in love common to the genre of it. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    I completely think that the 68 metascore that this site has rated this album is BS. This album is absolutely amazing. I'm gonna do a track-by-track review. 1. Apocalyptic Love- The title track. Has a really slow intro, that starts into an amazing riff. This was one of the first songs I heard off the album, and it's one of the best.
    2. One Last Thrill- This song is a fast, heavy, punk influenced track. I love this song, and even 4 months after the album's been out, I still don't know the lyrics all the way through. 3. Standing in the Sun- This is one of my all time favorite Slash and Myles Kennedy songs. When I first heard this song, I found myself pausing the song and smiling about the lyrics ("So keep your cloud of darkness and doom off my parade" being one of my favorite lyrics off the album). 4. You're A Lie- The First single off the album. This song really shows the power of Jesus, ahem Myles Kennedy's voice. The solo and the breakdown made me really love this song. 5. No More Heroes- This song is great. I don't really know how to explain why it's so good, other than it's great.
    6. Halo- Epic lyrics, epic riff, epic vocals, epic solo. My 2nd favorite off the album. 7. We Will Roam- Never listened to this song all the way through (I don't know why)
    8. Anastasia- Beginning with a classical guitar riff, that kicks into a heavy melodic verse and chorus combination, ending with a 2 minute solo. What more can you ask for in a song?
    9. Not For Me- Slow epic ballad that is about drugs. I could really relate to this song, and it is the only song (so far) that I can play on bass. 10. Bad Rain- I really don't know how to describe this song. It's a heavy melodic love song, I really like it though. 11. Hard & Fast- This is like a heavier version of One Last Thrill. This song has an amazing solo. This song is absolutely great. 12. Far and Away- Never heard this song all the way through.
    13. Shots Fired- Great song to close a great album

    Myles Kennedy and Slash combined make an amazing band. If these two had formed a band in 1985 (When GNR was formed), I would still be happy. These guys are two GODS in hard rock and I can't wait until their next album comes out. (Next Year im hoping)
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    This album didn't stick with me at first, which was disappointing. With each additional listen I liked it more and more and eventually decided it was great. The problem here is that the songs just don't have catchy hooks or big choruses to really catch fire, but the craftsmanship is fantastic. My favorite album so far this year. Standouts: Anastasia and Bad Rain. Duds: none. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    Collaboration of great guitarist and one of the best vocals I've ever heard gave us one of the best rock - albums in 2012. Some of the songs have such a great story, solos, and it's all covered with Myles's voice. And the favourites are: Anastasia, Bad Rain, Shots Fired, We Will Roam and You're a Lie. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    This could've bee a great album, but I think the problem here is that Myles Kennedy's voice just isn't a right match for Slash's guitar playing. Kennedy's voice is too clean and "wimpery" and doesn't have enough power or personality to blend with the vibe of Slash's guitar. Kennedy's voice can sound a little too whiny with not enough texture, like a balloon with the air being let out of it. I loved Rod Jackson's singing on the 2nd Slash's Snakepit album Rod Jackson had a booming, powerful voice with a soulful "growl" to it that really meshed with Slash's vibe. I wrote a review earlier in which i criticized the album for lacking in soul or personality, but at the time I couldn't quite put my finger on why. Having come back and listened to it again, it's clear that Kennedy's voice and vocal melodies are the culprit. Slash needed a bigger voice with more texture and SOUL to really bring out the best in his guitar playing. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews