Arabia Mountain Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 8, 2011
    90
    From backmasking to know-it-all moralists, Arabia Mountain is sprinkled with themes of human folly, aging, change, and corruption, enacted with humorous efficiency, delivered with instrumental-new word-subtlety, all to show, unsurprisingly, that the Black Lips differ greatly with the PTA over the corrupting agents of everyday life and their antidotes.
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    84
    Awash in trippy reverb and surf-rock riffs, Arabia Mountain is further proof that the Lips have matured.
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    80
    Ultimately, the accord reached between Mark Ronson and the quartet is that there's nothing wrong with the Black Lips formula; merely that their exuberance sometimes needs a calming hand on the shoulder. [July 2011, p. 115]
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    80
    Their sixth sees Mark Ronson step in as producer on all but two tracks, and although he;s resisted the temptation to slather on Stax horns and apply his slick finish, he's given this tough, roughly energetic band focus and finesse. [Aug 2011, p.79]
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    77
    Arabia Mountain may be poised to push this band further over-ground, but they're not going up without a fight.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    They haven't changed their sound much, but more of the same is hardly a problem when it's this enjoyable.
  7. 50
    The Lips' catalog is exhaustingly long, but Arabia Mountain is a fine reassertion that its talents extend far beyond running from venue security.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    A rock record in a modern time with a classic soul: Arabia Mountain, probably bering the Lips finest album, is a true rock n` roll wonder.A rock record in a modern time with a classic soul: Arabia Mountain, probably bering the Lips finest album, is a true rock n` roll wonder. Ronson has been able to capture the intensity and the energy of the Atlanta band, while rendering their sometimes harsh sound as pop as rock would allow it. What we have here then is a catchy and urgent, happy and worried, fun and ecclectic record that makes you dance to a new favorite song every week after you got hooked to it. There`s a song about Spiderman, one about ice cream, one that makes you wanna surf... the diversity is great. I seriously wonder how they will top themselves on the next one... Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Put Mark Ronson and The Black Lips together sounds like an abstract dream. But thats what we got, an abstract beautiful dream. Filled withPut Mark Ronson and The Black Lips together sounds like an abstract dream. But thats what we got, an abstract beautiful dream. Filled with summery garage flower punk music. Mark Ronson is well known for his work in Mainstream production and the Black Lips are well known for their Low Fi D.I.Y punk music. The album still sounds rough like any other Black Lips LP. Something that I really liked on the album was the saxophones that appear on a number of the tracks. The LP has this 60's pop sound to it which is just fun to listen too. The vocals are screechy which matches the distorted guitars. I love the riffs, I love the vocal and lyrics. FAVORITE SONG "Family Tree". Its just an amazing album. 10/10 Collapse
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    The Black Lips create a very upbeat, fun, enjoyable album. It's hard not to listen to this album and not tap your feet and bop your head,The Black Lips create a very upbeat, fun, enjoyable album. It's hard not to listen to this album and not tap your feet and bop your head, maybe even dance a little. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    i thoroughly enjoyed this LP. Black Lips make experimental punk songs that are very catchy, very simple, and extremely effective. The more Ii thoroughly enjoyed this LP. Black Lips make experimental punk songs that are very catchy, very simple, and extremely effective. The more I listen to it, the more I catch onto it and enjoy it more. All In All, Black lips are a great band and this a great record. B+ Expand