Are We There Yet?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. nikoe
    Oct 10, 2004
    0
    horrible piece of drivel
  2. Robert
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Tremendous stuff!
  3. AmileS
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    I love the whole thing, but my favorite is King Cong!
  4. JoniL
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    Even us old farts over 50 can enjoy the divesified range songs. This Album really grows on you. The more you play it and listen to it, the more it becomes a part of you.
  5. Brian
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    Finally, the Citizens are getting the recognition they deserve. "Are We There Yet?" is the most eclectic and ambitious CD I've heard this year. The range is incredible - everything from ironic, Brit-style psych-pop to ecstasy-infused ballads to mad, driving rock n roll. Hooray for The Citizens.
  6. MarikoS
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    Are We There Yet is an album you can listen to all the way through, following the arc, while always learning something fresh and new. Fantastic musicianship and songwriting. Blusher is a particular favorite, along with Clementine, which is lovely. I love this album. I only wish there were more Citizens songs out there.
  7. AnthonyR
    Sep 30, 2004
    8
    The Citizens CD is rock-solid with a great combination of driving pop-rock and beautiful atmospheric pieces. Blusher sends me soaring.
  8. DougP
    Oct 17, 2004
    9
    When I first bought this I thought it was a bit too ambitious. After about 3 or 4 spins I realized I was wrong. This record works on every level, and is one of the better CDs released this year.
  9. SocorroL
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    This really grew on me. The record draws from a very diverse range of influences (new wave, show tunes, brit-pop and even garage rock) in an extremely skillful way. -Rewards the attentive listener
  10. MikeL
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    Loved it. Had no idea what to expect. Bought the album after happening on the website by chance. Loved the first song I heard and expected the whole album to sound similar. Low and behold how experimental (in a good way) it was. And "Deck Full of Jokers" has got me reading philosophy again.
  11. ConnyB
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    Mark Lesseraux is the greatest singer on the planet! and Clementine makes me melt!
  12. Camille
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Great from start to finish. Kong, Are We There Yet?, Blusher & Clementine are my favorites. The vocals, lyrics and musical complexity are truly amazing.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. The unpredictable song structures are fresh and innovative, too, twisting off in unexpected directions mere seconds before you can remember what they remind you of.
  2. Despite its strong focus and development, the album still has its weak moments.
  3. The Citizens have a clear knack for arranging and a commendable ability to tackle a series of genres and combine them into an enjoyable full-length. The only real problem here being that the actual songs aren't nearly as good as their talent might hint at.