• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Oct 22, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    There is no doubt that Scattergood is deeply connected to the journey that she voyages through on Arrows, and it's clear that only a small future refinement would result in more songs like the shimmering electro-pop of "Subsequently Lost."
  2. Uncut
    Sep 23, 2013
    Scattergood's voice may be an acquired taste, but she works it skillfully. [Jul 2013, p.80]
  3. Q Magazine
    Sep 23, 2013
    This is a patterned Wellington boot of a record, more suited to looking boho at a festival then actually having a splash around in the swamp of the human soul. [Aug 2013, p.104]
  4. Mojo
    Sep 23, 2013
    Not a bad song on the album. [Oct 2013, p.96]
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    The 10 tracks that make up Arrows will wrap you up, hug you close and tell you stories before placing you back gently, where they left you.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    There are not enough personal elements on this album and too many invented ones. It's frustrating, too, because the honest snippets that occasionally poke through really shine.
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    There are glints of light here and there, and some saving humour in the 26-year-old's lyrics.
  8. Oct 22, 2013
    Despite those candid confessions, Arrows never bows to Scattergood’s self-indulgence, given the swooning synths and other cosmic confections.
  9. 80
    Arrows may also be trying for anyone tired of Welch/Goulding/Houghton orchestral overdrive. But it's worth fighting through that for the cacophonies of prettiness.

There are no user reviews yet.