ARTPOP

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2234 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    I gave it a few points because there are a handful of songs that qualify as "pop" and are decent... though probably just good, not great. I generally like GaGa as an entertainer, but this album is a disappointment and definitely doesn't live up to the name in my opinion. It's overproduced, and the lyrics are uninteresting and not shocking. GaGa's voice could be replaced with just aboutI gave it a few points because there are a handful of songs that qualify as "pop" and are decent... though probably just good, not great. I generally like GaGa as an entertainer, but this album is a disappointment and definitely doesn't live up to the name in my opinion. It's overproduced, and the lyrics are uninteresting and not shocking. GaGa's voice could be replaced with just about anyone's on most of the tracks and it wouldn't make a bit of difference. Sadly, GaGa hasn't lived up to her own hype on this one. Maybe on her next album, she'll return to her roots--a voice & lyrics-driven album. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    You will not find a bigger Gaga fan than me. I will buy a magazine just because it has her face on it and I can add it to my collection. I will annoy my Facebook friends with more news than they would ever care to hear. I will buy the most expensive concert ticket possible to be up close.

    Which is why it pains me to say ARTPOP isn't very good. We've been waiting 2 1/2 years for a
    You will not find a bigger Gaga fan than me. I will buy a magazine just because it has her face on it and I can add it to my collection. I will annoy my Facebook friends with more news than they would ever care to hear. I will buy the most expensive concert ticket possible to be up close.

    Which is why it pains me to say ARTPOP isn't very good. We've been waiting 2 1/2 years for a new Gaga album and what we got instead was Zedd's new album featuring Gaga.

    She showed in "Born This Way" that she wasn't purely going to be a pop princess. She began showing her rock n' roll side, started to venture into more aggressive beats and showed growth as an artist. This approach was met with mixed reactions. Many people felt betrayed because she was no longer focused on just making pop music with catchy hooks, where others felt it was her growing into what she was meant to be.

    ARTPOP takes a step backward and is almost purely a techno/trance album. You get overpowering beats that just come off as messy. When you hear the lyrics, they are boring and the same across nearly every song. So much of the album is a plea to the listener "I am super sexual and I want you to see me as a sex icon". I encourage female artists to explore their sexuality, lord knows American society needs women in control of it, but I don't want every song to be about it.

    There is very little this album offers to fans or non fans alike. I personally think Aura, Applause and Swine are strong entries but most everything else is forgettable.

    Pay close attention to the reviews you read. Many reviews are just hatred of Gaga without any substance and others are pure love that would never think anything Mother Monster do could be bad. I still love Gaga but this album just doesn't do her talent justice.

    2 1/2 years until the next try I guess.
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    Lady Gaga is good at writing catchy, generic hooks, but her songs and lyrics lack substance. ARTPOP is very disappointing, dreary and overproduced.

    I'm waiting for her to proove her claims and grace us with something truly artistic, adventurous and less contrived than this uninspired, generic album.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    2
    The record just seems an extension of her previous album, Two years developing an album which already sounds outdated is just not interesting. The crazy outfits and talking about other artists is the only thing that would help to promote the album out of her fan-base. The album simply didn't reach the expectations Gaga herself created. You can't heavily promote an album as "art" when theThe record just seems an extension of her previous album, Two years developing an album which already sounds outdated is just not interesting. The crazy outfits and talking about other artists is the only thing that would help to promote the album out of her fan-base. The album simply didn't reach the expectations Gaga herself created. You can't heavily promote an album as "art" when the lyrics are simple and shallow. Better luck next time. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Pretentious. Don't have quality enough to cause an effect on pop. Repetition of her own previous works. A fail. A mess of sounds, non-sense lyrics, some good moments lost in a bunch of crap, more fillers than real good songs, maybe the only exception is Artpop track. Fashion is a stupid rip off from Let's dance.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    This album is terrible. I have all the previous albums AND went to both concerts and have to express my sincere apologies to the credit card for purchasing this contrite and terribly noisy album. Putting the word 'art' in the title doesn't mean you can take the world for granted. There are 3 (hence 3/10) okay songs but even those are very average and lacking much depth. Poor gaga isThis album is terrible. I have all the previous albums AND went to both concerts and have to express my sincere apologies to the credit card for purchasing this contrite and terribly noisy album. Putting the word 'art' in the title doesn't mean you can take the world for granted. There are 3 (hence 3/10) okay songs but even those are very average and lacking much depth. Poor gaga is struggling under the weight of her own fame and ego...has to wear Versace and confesses she is a drug head...have pity on her...the main themes of the album. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    Beats generic and over, two words to define "artpop" certainly this was by far the worst job and will be Lady Gaga's, and Zedd's as a producer was not to be expected a good job as it was "The Fame", very noisy and dirty, all tracks or talk about sex or drugs, a bad example, this would be the kind of album that would not buy even for 0.99.
  8. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This album is just another proof that Lady Gaga is losing her touch. The hooks are weaker, the melodies are slimmer, the lyrics are at their peak meaninglessness. A complete disappointment and a sign of regression of a fading star.
  9. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    Simply put this album is a mess, i couldn't find the "art" of it ,its just a pretentious title for an album with just normal music ,i would've given a 1 if the title was different
  10. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    I gave it a 1 because sometimes my foot tapped in spite of itself. Otherwise I've heard it all before. A monkey in silk is a monkey no less. She and her little monsters can dress her sound up as much as they want but at the end of the day it's just the same (if not worse) than the stuff Katy and Miley and Britney are doing. And thats the most disappointing part.
  11. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    Expected innovation, got a lame club record from another decade. Lyrics are beyond cringelicious, really bad. She should go into a different area of the arts, she's not a good fit for music. DWUW would be a great record with different lyrics and singers, fails as is.
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    A 90 min electropop song, this album is worthless I can't even stand it, all the songs sound exactly the same outside from Gypsy wich is the only decent stuff there, if this is really Lady Gaga best work then it sucks HARD.
  13. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Gone are the days when Gaga was named the final heir to the throne of Queen of Pop Today, the press and the critics take their statements with suspicion which exaggerates its music and its importance in the art world, while Twitter and Facebook begs his Little Monsters to buy multiple copies of their albums and singles.I have not fallen into that game, for me she is overrated.His talent isGone are the days when Gaga was named the final heir to the throne of Queen of Pop Today, the press and the critics take their statements with suspicion which exaggerates its music and its importance in the art world, while Twitter and Facebook begs his Little Monsters to buy multiple copies of their albums and singles.I have not fallen into that game, for me she is overrated.His talent is of course debatable. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    Waste, spoil, filth, manure, impurity, excrement, dirt, summarizes what gaga did in this work. No where to hold this grotesque Album. Gaga wanted to cover the entire mainstream of the time and got lost along the way.
  15. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This album contains no music contains noise, for speakers that will revoluncionar pop, this is truly ridiculous, an album completely despicable and without any support. I would take a minor note but I can not!
  16. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    I'm so disappointed. This album is disjointed with atrocious lyrics and the same style and production of her previous records, most notably the Born This Way album. The songs sound messy and unfinished, her "operatic" style vocals are cringeworthy and it's just too much of nothing. I'm not sure what has happened to Gaga but whatever it is, I hope she takes a step back and stops takingI'm so disappointed. This album is disjointed with atrocious lyrics and the same style and production of her previous records, most notably the Born This Way album. The songs sound messy and unfinished, her "operatic" style vocals are cringeworthy and it's just too much of nothing. I'm not sure what has happened to Gaga but whatever it is, I hope she takes a step back and stops taking herself so seriously that it clouds her artistic judgement with embarrassing songs like Venus and Swine. North a big fan of Applause and that turned out to be the best song on the album and that is really quite shocking when she mentioned this would be the album "of the Millenium." That, it is not. Maybe not even the album of the week. Can't even get through the whole thing... Expand
  17. Nov 12, 2013
    1
    Artpop is as scatty as Lady Gagas wardrobe yet far less interesting it simply fails to resonate.

    Highlight for me is the Gaga penned Venus (i love Zombie Zombie)

    There are many contenders for the lowlight- but ill go for Donatella one of the worst concepts for a song ive ever heard.
  18. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    More like ARTPOOP. Pretentious, misleading, poorly completed piece of ear pain.I heard it more than 3 times and every time sounded worse than the previous. Her low sales are actually a sign of her failed career that has yet to take the last piece of fame she holds.
  19. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    I followed Gaga's career, I have all their albums and remixes. But I have to be honest with this their new album, repeats past formulas and she copy styles of other artists, Giorgio Moroder, Madonna, Skrillex, and more. Do not bring anything new, Gaga should make a spiritual retreat, off drugs and make an honest work to herself and to her fans.
  20. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Terribly poorly produced, embarrassing lyrics, it sounds a mess from start to finish and it even manages be pretentious to the max. There is no art in Artpop. It is a forgettable experience that has the depth of a saucer. It sounds like a last minute rushed effort from a woman unable to deliver an acceptable pop experience. It could be very well the end of her career.
  21. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. IS THE WORST ALBUM I HEAR IN MY LIFE!!, The lyrics and the chorus is very repetitive, is disgusting for all the gay people!! Lady Gaga needs re conciliate whit Madonna, because her album is horrible, Do not buy this album, and if you love Lady Gaga, please, goint to see in the concerts and BUY her tickets. The album is bad, but if her tour is a flop RIP Lady Gaga. Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    I loved born this way but sorry Gaga this album is just junk. Gaga looks more like reality TV then a singer and I think reality TV is killing real music.
  23. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    "Because having a good voice and be the queen of the costume party does not mean that your songs are wonderful. Nobody explained it to Lady Gaga? All is not gold that glitters like not every painting, sculpture and photography is art. And the same applies to the songs and the music, though she did not seem to be very clear: no, Stefani, this is not the album of the millennium."
  24. Nov 12, 2013
    1
    Another album, another year but same old garbage !

    Lady Gaga came to a fork in the road with this album. She'd built up this image as a some kind of uber-artiste, but her musical output has always been a bit pedestrian, a fact almost everyone agrees to, including her biggest delusional fans. With this Artpoop album, she could have proved herself a credible musician, or she could
    Another album, another year but same old garbage !

    Lady Gaga came to a fork in the road with this album. She'd built up this image as a some kind of uber-artiste, but her musical output has always been a bit pedestrian, a fact almost everyone agrees to, including her biggest delusional fans. With this Artpoop album, she could have proved herself a credible musician, or she could continue to do the same old thing. She's not only chosen the latter path, she has also lost her ability to construct a decent pop song. It's all gone up her nose because she is too egoistic with fame and ratings. Universal Music should ask her leave Twitter and let music speaks for itself.The album is too over HYPED. It's her 'Look At Me' album. Now I begin to understand why Katy Perry's new single outsold her. Simple fun pop song nothing self-absorbed with ugly makeup to make her point. US Billboard Hot 100 is full of stories just like Lady Gaga's songs.

    Last but not least, Billboard should be ashamed for including her discounted sales in her 1st week sales.

    Sad era we live in...
    Expand
  25. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    SO MANY THINGS wrong with this album. It's way too bloated and I had a bit of a headache towards the end. Dope is incredibly disappointing. Could have been really good if it weren't for the "I love you more than dope" line. horrible.

    Easily explained she was a corporate, manufactured pop product from the beginning. The early years only look decent because all the right people
    SO MANY THINGS wrong with this album. It's way too bloated and I had a bit of a headache towards the end. Dope is incredibly disappointing. Could have been really good if it weren't for the "I love you more than dope" line. horrible.

    Easily explained she was a corporate, manufactured pop product from the beginning. The early years only look decent because all the right people (LaurieAnne Gibson, Troy Carter, etc.) were pulling her strings. Now that everyone has jumped ship, and she's on her own, she's being revealed for the utter crap she ALWAYS was.

    "ArtPop" Gaga herself is really just the prime example of how utterly dead our culture is.

    Bought out and sold by corporations... easily fooled with stupid costumes and crazy antics... devoid of any soul, meaning, perspective... re-hash and cheapen the past and sell it to those who don't know any better... BUT marketed to us as "ART" or "I struggled, I'm the real deal", etc... And far too many have been dumbed down to actually buy into it.

    Sad statement on our state of culture...esp. when the actual 'real deal' is still wiping the floor with all of them 30+ years on but people have been brain-washed to dismiss her because she's "old"
    Expand
  26. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    Probably the dumbest album ever recorded, this should win an award for most cringe worthy lyrics ever. This album also lacks originality, Aura is Judas part 2, Venus is another sad attempt at recreating Bad Romance and so on.
  27. Nov 13, 2013
    3
    To be honest, I just bought 3 songs separately on iTunes.
    My favorite is Artpop the title track. Quite disappointing if you ask me. Nothing compares her 1st album. Certainly not the album of the millennium.
  28. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    There is no focus here, no art (good art anyway)...there aren't even any remotely good songs this time. This is one of the worst albums that a major (formerly major now) pop star has ever made. I wouldn't normally give anything such a low rating, but this really is embarrassing and awful.
  29. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    The worst album released this year and one of the worst this decade. I gave it 0 because it really deserved nothing more. It's trash and she's ruining pop music.
  30. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    this record is so boring obviously i can hear madonna inspiration but failed none the less to live up to the little press her album it has gotten but lady gaga has lost her spark all the same nothing really diverse just up beat pop beats with ego and fame drug and sex inspired records all superficial nothing special little press because everyone stopped caring about the gimmicks and thethis record is so boring obviously i can hear madonna inspiration but failed none the less to live up to the little press her album it has gotten but lady gaga has lost her spark all the same nothing really diverse just up beat pop beats with ego and fame drug and sex inspired records all superficial nothing special little press because everyone stopped caring about the gimmicks and the ripping off of other artist like david bowie and madonna yet again i feel like she needs to stop and actually be herself but drugs can make you delusional so i guess she probably thinks it is amazing it was leaked for like 2 weeks now so thanks i did not have to waste my money on an album i knew that was not going to impress me too bad i use to be a big fan now i found better artist like madonna who always impresses me and does not pretend to exploit her fans or espcially the gay community but all in all not suprised it would suck i mean just like every album inspirations from the artist and sings about sex fame drugs blah blah blah so sad she cant just stop doing drugs and copying other artist maybe rehab would do
    this album is not amazing does not bring anything new to pop music she tries so hard to blow smoke up everyones ass how amazing it will be yet again as a ex fan i was disappointed all shallow and superficial and just more non original visuals and lyrics and melodies im like falling asleep while listenign to the record
    Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This is not even close to as good as her last album, all I hear is noise and autotune, the girl just does not have it anymore and that is sad since her last album was pretty good
  32. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Well to begin with this is an awful album since day 0. By now it is a very commonplace to know Stefani aka LG has a recurrent tendency to recicle or copy without any restrictions the work of other to make her own, nevertheless this time she made sure to let us know she was using other people's creations deliberately, why? afraid? conformism? both? who cares, the final product stinks bigWell to begin with this is an awful album since day 0. By now it is a very commonplace to know Stefani aka LG has a recurrent tendency to recicle or copy without any restrictions the work of other to make her own, nevertheless this time she made sure to let us know she was using other people's creations deliberately, why? afraid? conformism? both? who cares, the final product stinks big time. This is not only her worse delivery since BTW but an awful creation and recreation of other people's works with no purpose at all, just giving generic sounds on top of generic lyrics. Definately not worth even the 99 cents they ask you to pay for this piece of rubbish. Expand
  33. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This is what you can call a mess of an album. Two years in the making and this is what they came up with? Repetitive mess, chaotic beats, bad lyrics and there you have it. And I used to like her before. Such a shame indeed. I guess with this album she can only expect some more cancelled tours in the future.
  34. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    The good songs are outweighed by the bad and the lyrics are badly written and mostly meaningless attempts at the avant-garde. This is her worst album; Gaga has been going downhill since The Fame Monster.
  35. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    The bubbles, as we know, tend to explode. And not that it is new, Gaga was already deflating from Born This Way, proving that The Fame was little more than a flower a day .Gaga con artpopo shows what she can do, trash for your little monsters.
  36. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    'Dope' is the one and only good song in this terrible album. No ART in this ARTPOP. It could call "ARTPOOP" because it's more like that.
  37. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    waited two yrs for the album got bored after two listens ...gaga lost her way ...not 1 stand out track ...nothing new or original ...a very boring album ...where is the gaga that made good music gone ..caught up in herself
  38. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    In my opinion, Artpop is the most album weaker in your career... This album is totally the opposite of The Fame Monster, Born This Way. That in my opinion, had great potential.
  39. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    where is the true gaga? this realy no is artpop, the maximum it can be is a mixture of styles together without any characteristic, where are songs like Bad Romance? POKER FACE? it does seem that the power goes gaga dropping each album tha fame monster 9 born this way 6 and now artpop? for me is 0
  40. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    This album sounds like something totally generic, very loud, without many options rhythms. Just another worthless product commercial pop music. Lady Gaga needs to learn how to make real music.
  41. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    O pior album do ano, nada superará PRISM da Katy Perry. A gaga queria lançar algo com "ART", mas a única coisa que fez foi lançar uma merda. POP? isso pop? Lady Gaga melhor você acabar sua carreira por aqui e não lançar mais nenhuma poluição sonora, a única coisa boa nele Gypsy e talvez Do What You Want!
  42. Dec 4, 2013
    2
    Pretentious filthy, generic pop pieces trying to be art, the lyrics are dumb and repetitive as hell, and the production could be much better. There are 2 or 3 good tracks as much.
  43. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    Artistic value- 1 out of 10
    Shocking value- 8 out of 10
    Originality- 3 out of 10
    Audience response- 2 out of 10
    Fashion faux pas- 10 out of 10
    Message conveyed- NONE!
  44. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    I expected better of Lady Gaga, I think she Could offer more With This his new job, but she Repeated old cliches, preferred to take refuge in her first album, she wanted to disappoint? she managed.
  45. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    the worst job of gaga, pretentious, ill-conceived. Hardly is pop because his boundless ego makes the album unbearable experience, and the thought of returning it to hear just tiring.
  46. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Gaga thinks she makes art. Poor Gaga. That's definitely not art. She used to be awesome, but now she's so boring. Please Gaga, don't be a boring singer, you can be more than this. This is definitely her worst album. Try again "wannabe" Madonna!
  47. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    ArtPop? Pretentions from the beggining to the end... I just listen to the new Lady Gaga album, I might say. What is wrong with this girl?, what's with the pretentions dumb lyrics?, why most of the tunes on the album seems like recycled tunes from 80's and 90's?... I just couldn't finish listening each song in full. A couple of songs are kinda fun, but most are cringe worthy. Sorry but thisArtPop? Pretentions from the beggining to the end... I just listen to the new Lady Gaga album, I might say. What is wrong with this girl?, what's with the pretentions dumb lyrics?, why most of the tunes on the album seems like recycled tunes from 80's and 90's?... I just couldn't finish listening each song in full. A couple of songs are kinda fun, but most are cringe worthy. Sorry but this chick has lost it. This album it's not worth of my money. Expand
  48. Nov 14, 2013
    3
    A few "heard it before moments-nothing new here": Gypsy (Edge of Glory), Fashion (davide bowie, madonna lite), A couple gems: Do what you want, Dope, Applause and Donatella. A few misses: Aura, Venus, Swine, and Jewels & Drugs. The rest pretty average.
  49. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I cannot feel art,just full of hype, grandstanding,I am sick of that.ArtPop is a recycled garbage, from a person, who need to be mainstream all the time. I'm sad for that behavior from Gaga but if you listen to the album there is a few good songs on that Expand
  50. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Gaga proves yet again she has nothing substantial to say as an "artist". She smugly promised a "revolutionary" album of artistic statements, and delivered a tribute to sex, drugs and materialism. Don't ask me how there are no negative reviews listen on the critics side of this website, because a simple Google search will show you plenty. The album is just choppy, rehashed, generic danceGaga proves yet again she has nothing substantial to say as an "artist". She smugly promised a "revolutionary" album of artistic statements, and delivered a tribute to sex, drugs and materialism. Don't ask me how there are no negative reviews listen on the critics side of this website, because a simple Google search will show you plenty. The album is just choppy, rehashed, generic dance and EDM beats that say nothing of substance, are easily forgettable and don't show off her one true talent: Her voice. She clearly peaked at The Fame Monster. it's all been downhill from there. Her hardcore fans might forgive anything, but people with actual musical knowledge, see through everything she's done. If you listen to more than Top 40, you realize this album, and she herself are nothing special. I can't say I'm disappointed, because I've yet to be truly impressed by her. I give the album a complete zero. If for no other reason than the album failing at its own concept. There is no art, and it's subpar pop. If she hadn't made no many absurd promises about the album, things might be different. Expand
  51. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    How is it possible that someone with a brain, say that this album is brilliant? bright as a piece of what happened to gaga? many ask?. I will I have the answer, gaga is a single working woman, with her ​​first album "the fame" gave everything she had. Next time, she must leave to the producers, by the way how many are? thousand? do their job and she should be limited to only do what sheHow is it possible that someone with a brain, say that this album is brilliant? bright as a piece of what happened to gaga? many ask?. I will I have the answer, gaga is a single working woman, with her ​​first album "the fame" gave everything she had. Next time, she must leave to the producers, by the way how many are? thousand? do their job and she should be limited to only do what she know, move as a clown and make the ridiculous. artpopo with lowercase is not music, only is noise suitable unbearable for torture Expand
  52. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    One huge disappointment. It's hard to believe that it took her 2 years to make this album, when it sounds like bunch of unreleased tracks from her previous albums reworked with new producers two months before release. Also it;s nothing what gaga said it will be: it's not futuristic, it's not outstanding or original.
    Actually it's opposite of that, nothing on this sounds fresh. Also one
    One huge disappointment. It's hard to believe that it took her 2 years to make this album, when it sounds like bunch of unreleased tracks from her previous albums reworked with new producers two months before release. Also it;s nothing what gaga said it will be: it's not futuristic, it's not outstanding or original.
    Actually it's opposite of that, nothing on this sounds fresh. Also one of biggest gaga flaws are her lyrics, she just can't write good, decent lyrics. Album is full if lyrically dumb songs like: Venus, Donatella or MJH. Actually MJH sounds really good, but her lyrics ruin that song.
    Also I will never understand why on earth she decided to put JnD and Dope on this album?! I'm not even gonna write anything about JnD because it doesn't deserve any attention. And about Dope: it's really hard to listen to it, not only of course because of lyrics, but also because of her really annoying voice & singing, she try so hard in this song, that she oversings it, and it's just bad.
    From whole artpop i kind of liked only: Sexxx Dreams, Swine and GUY, the rest is not worth my time.
    Also the idea of calling album like this ART is pretentious, and big understatement.
    Expand
  53. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    I really do not like her music anymore. Terrible. It's almost like what the heck is she thinking. Getting too desperate for money, and there is not talent underneath a bunch of overplayed dance beats. There is an unnecessary duet with R. Kelly. Utter garbage, really. She does have a lot of fans that stay true to her, called "Monsters". Sorry, Ms, Gaga.
  54. Dec 26, 2013
    1
    A piece of the worst thing i ever heard. Lady Gaga should be ashamed of herself, she's just Madonna's copycat.
    Beats generic and over, two words to define "artpop" certainly this was by far the worst job and will be Lady Gaga's, and Zedd's as a producer was not to be expected a good job as it was "The Fame", very noisy and dirty, all tracks or talk about sex or drugs
  55. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Gaga is left with no choice but to return to the ranks of mainstream mediocrity that should never have left, and that seems to have excelled only by their styles. This is not pop is trash.
  56. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    By far her worst album to date, sounds just like her "Born this way" album, no artistic growth or creativity and don't get me started on the basic pre- school lyrics and the over produced vocals. Simply the worst album of the Millennium, I want my money back.
  57. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    You are doing something quite wrong when you go from having one of the most acclaimed and successful pop records like The Fame Monster was, to something like ARTPOP. This record is highly overproduced and sounds dated, it seems like she has no aim to evolve, she's stuck with cheap EDM music beats.

    Lady Gaga's lyrics have never been a highlight, however stupid lyrics can get a pass if
    You are doing something quite wrong when you go from having one of the most acclaimed and successful pop records like The Fame Monster was, to something like ARTPOP. This record is highly overproduced and sounds dated, it seems like she has no aim to evolve, she's stuck with cheap EDM music beats.

    Lady Gaga's lyrics have never been a highlight, however stupid lyrics can get a pass if the production and execution of the song is good overall. Not the case this time, the only song that can approach these qualifications is Do What U Want. The rest is overproduced, oversung, oversexualized and poorly executed.

    Let's talk about Gaga's pretentiousness. Wasn't this labeled as the new Thriller by someone in her team? Well, someone should hit that guy's head. The tittle not only is pretentious is also cringeworthy. I wonder if this is really what Gaga's conceive as art mixing with pop culture or she just got lost in the process, as per usual. This is more like Gaga singing about how much she likes to get praised, and talking about meaningless stuff, something she has been doing since record number one. Fame, money, sex, love. How innovative, does she still have something different to offer, besides her obnoxious, ridiculous and desperate costumes? If we take ARTPOP as the answer for this question, is a big no.

    Funny thing, some people thought Born This Way was Gaga's lowest point. What a way to hit the wall.
    Expand
  58. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    "ARTPOP show you how basic and superficial is pop music on [esteroids], but it makes [a artpiece] of it. it's not the best LG work but it [dont] fall to much like the critics say" feliperodx on Nov 11, 2013

    It is funny when her fans state it isn't her best work, yet they give her album a 10. Does that make sense to anyone? Her music has been as faux as a living taxidermy. Get out of
    "ARTPOP show you how basic and superficial is pop music on [esteroids], but it makes [a artpiece] of it. it's not the best LG work but it [dont] fall to much like the critics say" feliperodx on Nov 11, 2013

    It is funny when her fans state it isn't her best work, yet they give her album a 10. Does that make sense to anyone? Her music has been as faux as a living taxidermy. Get out of your bubble and find true inspirational music that pushes you to be you truly are, instead of being a false influence just like Lady Gaga, who is doing it for the M.O.N.E.Y.
    Expand
  59. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This album's utter rubbish.Absolutely no redeeming qualities.Even the one or two somewhat sufferable tracks on the album are destroyed by the singer's pretentious manner and all-around attitude
  60. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    Uno de los peores discos que he escuchado en años. Malas letras, malas melodias. Lady Gaga deberia esforzarse mas en componer, en lugar de intentar estar en la prensa. Le hace falta un poco de humildad. Canciones realmente terribles, da la impresión de saber hacia donde ir. Cada disco es peor que el anterior, pero este es vergonzoso. ¡Lady Gaga devuélveme el dinero!
  61. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    She completely misses whatever point she's attempted to make, here. And DAMN! That must've been a hard thing to do.

    She clearly has no self awareness or originality. The main problems with this album are that the songs lack any intelligent lyrics, in fact they're abysmal. The songs themselves lack any structure it coherence or indeed any tune (the melodies from Born This Way the album,
    She completely misses whatever point she's attempted to make, here. And DAMN! That must've been a hard thing to do.

    She clearly has no self awareness or originality. The main problems with this album are that the songs lack any intelligent lyrics, in fact they're abysmal. The songs themselves lack any structure it coherence or indeed any tune (the melodies from Born This Way the album, have disappeared.)

    The production is dated, messy and all over the place. She just throws things at walls!!

    'Do you want to see me naked, lover' she asks. 'No' would be the answer if the result is anything like this album. Put your clothes back on. And don't come back until you're off the crack and have an actual tune to sing.

    It's a shame that this is the same artist who gave us The Fame Monster and BTW. She likes to play the victim only this time she's the victim of her own oversized ego and overestimated intelligence. There's nothing there. No message. No point.
    Expand
  62. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    Álbum fraco, triste ver o quanto ela decaiu musicalmente, este não chega aos pés do The Fame Monster ou do Born This Way, ela definitivamente perdeu meu respeito com esse álbum genérico e enjoativo, mas não faz muita diferença de álbuns de cantoras como Rihanna e Katy Perry, serve como um divertimento sem compromisso.
  63. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    This album lady gaga is Boring, repetitive, noisy, inconsistent, poorly done, pretentious, nothing new, no song is salvageable. Where is the woman believed to be the true Queen of Pop? seems she died.
  64. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Um album totalmente chato, enjoativo e nada inovador... de art não vi nada, de pop só fragmentos, na maioria são tentativas frustadas de criar algo diferente, mas o que ouço só musica genérica.
  65. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This is quite possibly the worst album I have EVER heard in my life and i'm not exaggerating. Do not listen to her dwindling fanbase that are little monsters who are completely biased about Gaga and will praise her even if she farted into a microphone and released it. None of the songs are single worthy, most of them are just NOISY and overproduced. After I finished the whole album I wasThis is quite possibly the worst album I have EVER heard in my life and i'm not exaggerating. Do not listen to her dwindling fanbase that are little monsters who are completely biased about Gaga and will praise her even if she farted into a microphone and released it. None of the songs are single worthy, most of them are just NOISY and overproduced. After I finished the whole album I was left left with nothing but a screaming headache. 1-2 of the songs are mediocre at best. If you thought Born This Way was bad, this is 10x worst. Do yourself a favour and buy a decent album that doesn't leave you wanting to hurl yourself off the empire state building. Gaga is OVER. Expand
  66. Nov 26, 2013
    2
    ARTpop?! This album could be everything, art is not one of those things. Generic, boring, noisy record will give you only headache. There's nothing innovative about this record. Boring lyrics, generic melodies.
  67. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Worst album of the decade so far. Plain, boring, noisy., ugh and painful. She's becoming a joke of herself, a really bad joke it's not even funny. RIPga.
  68. Dec 30, 2013
    1
    Okay... OVER HYPED and shoddy work by GAGA! ARTPOP?? I wonder where the ART is It's plain bland uninteresting GAGA who is singing non-sense like always..and with no humility! I miss the GAGA from "THE FAME and THE FAME MONSTER" era... This is not ARTPOP but definitely a ARTFLOP... Swine and Dope are what saves the album from completely BOMBING into an oblivion of disastrous FLOPS!!
  69. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. her worst album yet is full of generic songs gaga needs to take a humble pill and comeback down because this is not art, the fame monster perhaps but this is not. Expand
  70. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    with the exception of two songs, so it is always the same, it's good, it's pop, but again where is the revolution, I was so excited and with high expectations, and as in the previous work it was coma feeling it could be something bigger in the sense original and new.
  71. Jan 17, 2014
    0
    Terrible album full of meaningless songs with abysmal lyrics and messy production. Lady Gaga's decline is unbelievable, to think that she was capable of The Fame Monster and is releasing this trash by her third album is just sad.
  72. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    I expected better of Lady Gaga, I think she Could offer more With This his new job, but she Repeated old cliches, preferred to take refuge in her first album, she wanted to disappoint? she managed.
  73. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    So boring, so generic, so pretentious, same thing over and over. In my opinion, Gaga always contradicts herself, she's so thirsty to generate hits and tries to convince us that she's not.
  74. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    The Rolling Stone Says:
    "For better and for worse, Artpop meets the mandate. It's a bizarre album of squelchy disco (plus a handful of forays into R&B) that aspires to link gallery culture and radio heaven, preferring concepts to choruses. It's sexual but not sexy, filled with fashion designers and one-liners like "Uranus/Don't you know my ass is famous?" and "Touch me, touch me, don't
    The Rolling Stone Says:
    "For better and for worse, Artpop meets the mandate. It's a bizarre album of squelchy disco (plus a handful of forays into R&B) that aspires to link gallery culture and radio heaven, preferring concepts to choruses. It's sexual but not sexy, filled with fashion designers and one-liners like "Uranus/Don't you know my ass is famous?" and "Touch me, touch me, don't be sweet/Love me, love me, please retweet." Gaga wants us to believe the LP was inspired by Marina Abramović, Jeff Koons and Sandro Botticelli; at its best, it sounds like it was creatively directed by RuPaul, Dr. Ruth, and Beavis and Butt-Head."
    Expand
  75. Nov 18, 2013
    1
    Fist, for Nyel: Gaga is not the only writer in ARTPOP's songs, "done"? that's not specific.
    It is disappointing that gaga is very pretentious and egocentric: "Pop culture was an art, now art's in pop culture, in me ,saying "ARTPOP" after "Sex" (No sense!) in Aura. And it's more disappointing that the album's name is ARTPOP when there isn't none of the two concepts. It's a overproduced
    Fist, for Nyel: Gaga is not the only writer in ARTPOP's songs, "done"? that's not specific.
    It is disappointing that gaga is very pretentious and egocentric: "Pop culture was an art, now art's in pop culture, in me ,saying "ARTPOP" after "Sex" (No sense!) in Aura. And it's more disappointing that the album's name is ARTPOP when there isn't none of the two concepts. It's a overproduced album and only take the works of different artist to intruduce in her album. About the sound, there's already a lot of DJ's and producers that have made experimental electronic music... Gaga (rather her producers) are not doing something unique. The lyrics and lady gaga's voice could be the only good in the album but is widely overshadowed by the sound and sometimes by Lady Gaga's screams, grunts, weird ways to sing, and, in some parts, her very synthesized voice... ARTPOP it's a bad experiment.
    Expand
  76. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Ja foi bom, atualmente não passa de algo sem sentido, flopada, sem conteúdo e que não mostra realmente a arte que tem no pop. Realmente esta decaída, por isso ninguém mais se importa!
  77. Mar 12, 2015
    0
    She's so concerned with being perceived as unique and creative that she alienated her fans with this album. After overhyping this album on Twitter and during promotion, Lady Gaga set this album up to fail.
  78. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    The worst Gaga album ever, pure noise, I like The Fam Monster, and BTW wasn't that bad, but this record is just awful, overproduced, overated, and without a single good song, all of them are just not well made
  79. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    Generally I am happy with the album, with a few caveats. The music is thumping, but some of the lyrics are lackluster and could use tweaking (maybe working with a lyracist might help?) I would have been happy if "Jewels & Druge" & "Dope" were left off of the album entirely. "Fashion" & "Donatella" have fun moments, but feel like filler. Further, I honeslty prefer the Swinefest vocal onGenerally I am happy with the album, with a few caveats. The music is thumping, but some of the lyrics are lackluster and could use tweaking (maybe working with a lyracist might help?) I would have been happy if "Jewels & Druge" & "Dope" were left off of the album entirely. "Fashion" & "Donatella" have fun moments, but feel like filler. Further, I honeslty prefer the Swinefest vocal on some tracks to those that were laid down for the album ex. "Artpop", "Sex Dreams".

    Still waiting on a true acoustic album from Gaga that's were here voice & talent shine through.
    Expand
  80. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    ARTPOP should have been called ARTFLOP. It fails at both the art and the pop. The songs are not remotely the work of an artist. They sound like a disjointed mess of sounds and ideas that never materialize into a cohesive whole. The album fails on every level. I was a huge fan of Lady Gaga, but when I heard this album I realized she wasn't worthy of my fandom. What a disappointment in soARTPOP should have been called ARTFLOP. It fails at both the art and the pop. The songs are not remotely the work of an artist. They sound like a disjointed mess of sounds and ideas that never materialize into a cohesive whole. The album fails on every level. I was a huge fan of Lady Gaga, but when I heard this album I realized she wasn't worthy of my fandom. What a disappointment in so many ways. She needs to focus more on writing songs and less on coming up with clown suits to get attention. Her flying dress didn't lift off the ground to high and neither does this horrible album. It truly is an #ARTFLOP. She even has a song called Fashion that copies the bass line from Madonna's superior single Holiday. It's probably the most interesting song on the album, but it's not even original. It's a fraud. Swine and Aura are like listening to someone scrape a chalkboard. She needs to go back to the drawing board and try harder. She should check into rehab and get off the Dope and right a better song about it while she's at it. Expand
  81. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    The great thing about this record is that you can count on never having to listen to it again. There's some solid instrumentals and beats here, but the lyrics are...I can't even quantify what they are. It's like the crazy cat lady who never leaves her house wrote an album with a horny sixth grade boy pitching in on lines she couldn't finish.

    The standout is the track with R. Kelly.
    The great thing about this record is that you can count on never having to listen to it again. There's some solid instrumentals and beats here, but the lyrics are...I can't even quantify what they are. It's like the crazy cat lady who never leaves her house wrote an album with a horny sixth grade boy pitching in on lines she couldn't finish.

    The standout is the track with R. Kelly. Great song. Dope is interesting until she hits the titular lyrics: dope. Then the track goes from potentially beautiful to retarded third grader.

    Easily the worst record she's done.
    Expand
  82. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    It's amazing how Lady Gaga can't do anything significant in terms of music.
    Lost within his own aesthetic self-adulation, it simply can't deliver something that has a minimum of consistency for even the already shallow standards of mainstream pop bum that currently prevails. Groups of songs which released in each of their albums really deserves attention, but only by the poor quality of
    It's amazing how Lady Gaga can't do anything significant in terms of music.
    Lost within his own aesthetic self-adulation, it simply can't deliver something that has a minimum of consistency for even the already shallow standards of mainstream pop bum that currently prevails. Groups of songs which released in each of their albums really deserves attention, but only by the poor quality of the final product.
    Even reaching their third album, artpop recently released, this characteristic was not altered. On the contrary! Right off the bat, it's clear that Gaga is confusing.
    The song that opens the album, "Aura", is lost in an attempt to cause awkwardness with a sound "Grace Jones at brazillian samba" in his introduction, amended with a semblance of "pile driver" electronic dance periphery she also features in "Gypsy" which can only cause boredom. Very boredom.
    What follows is even more awkward. "Venus", "Applause" and "GUY" seem soundtracks of drag queens contest imitation Madonna, while "Sexxx Dreams" sounds like a stupid 14 year old girl trying to make a version of a song from the Air
    She still tries pathetically to acquire a 'street credibility' tasteless putting rappers like TI, Too Short and Twista to finish spoil horribly tense "Jewels n 'Drugs'.
    "Manicure" is the 'time rock' album, such a pathetic thing that makes you want to turn Lady Gaga in a cheap and boot it to cross a chicken coop. The same goes for when she approaches the "indie universe" that independent has nothing these days to prepare a pastiche of Cansei de Ser Sexy vocals imitating Christina Aguilera on the up-beat "Fashion".
    The ridiculous partnership with R. Kelly in the dreadful "Do What U Want" is just an emblematic sign of this lack of harmony in his career. Designed to be a "radio hit" with her straight rhythm, keyboard and synth pop jaded middle robotic voices, the song falls apart very weak both by letter and by the way they treated both their voices, as if the pair were seminal in a contest karaoke.
    The title track and "Donatella" are so trampled upon sound of Madonna arriving to confuse the most unwary, especially the vocal, a perfect imitation that makes Lady Gaga Ciccone. Incidentally, this facet 'imitator' also appears in "Swine" in which she tries to sound like Joan Jett with neck pain over an absolutely suck basis of several things that made Fatboy Slim on your disks, and also in Mary Jane Holland, "that looks like a rejected song by Pink. Shame!
    The "Dope" ballad, sung as if Gaga was a housekeeper zombie fan, Meat Loaf, a mansion on the edge of a swamp in some kitschy Broadway musical, is perfect for your Bocos fans dubbed "little monsters" by singer herself continue to believe she is a "sensitive artist". How pathetic ...
    Yes, what matters is to topple Lady Gaga hits on the TV stations and radio programming, appearing in the media and put innocent people to buy tickets for their increasingly empty presentations. Except that there is no point being a 'obsessed', 'perfectionist' and authoritarian, the kind that rules the roost in your team to get the desired worship artist, if your sound is so 'little leg' as we hear in this artpop. There is no "clips with weird visual" to save this record a complete artistic sinking
    Expand
  83. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Álbum lixo igual aos fãs dela, só tem lixo e farofa, até a rihanna já saiu do eletropop e a trava continua to e morta
    artpop pisado até pelo prism da doceira sos
  84. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Entediante do começo ao fim!!! Como alguém consegue ouvir esse CD!? só quem Lirou msm!!! não tem nada de art muito menos de pop... francamente foi a decepção do ano....
  85. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    My final opinion on artpop: Love, but has no songs that will make you remember in the future as Monster, Dance In The Dark, Scheiße. Artpop is just another album any Without any purpose, without content and mostly without art.
  86. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    As a huge Gaga fan I was really waiting for this album, unfortunately I have to admit I was thoroughly disappointed. Her singing voice is is harsh and throaty, she is oversinging and the lyrics are inane. Artpop is boring, predictable and unoriginal yes but most of all it's empty. It's empty as the state of music today. There's no fresh ideas anymore.. anybody is seen as this big artistAs a huge Gaga fan I was really waiting for this album, unfortunately I have to admit I was thoroughly disappointed. Her singing voice is is harsh and throaty, she is oversinging and the lyrics are inane. Artpop is boring, predictable and unoriginal yes but most of all it's empty. It's empty as the state of music today. There's no fresh ideas anymore.. anybody is seen as this big artist be… Expand Expand
  87. Apr 2, 2015
    0
    apenas lixo musical. ninguem gostou dessa coisa, realmente Lady Gaga is over, rainha do flop, espero que flope cada vez mais ou continue escorada no Tony Bennett
  88. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    Is a really bad album, more of the same. I though it was gonna be something epic but no is just more garbage. I can barely safe 2 songs from the album.
  89. Jan 25, 2014
    1
    I guess I just do not understand it. Applause is not all that bad, so I gave a it chance and tried to listen the whole album. I could not finish any of those songs. After a month or so a gave it another try. Still awful.
  90. Sep 23, 2014
    1
    seriously this album is a complete flop from the lame artwork to the desperate lyrics. only highlight is gypsy!
    the fact this cd took forever to be released proves her management knew this would flop and boy did it ever!
  91. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    The only thing impressive about this record is the fact that Gaga somehow manages to come off as pretentious even through her music. Yet again, Gaga just tries way too hard to be "creative" and "artistic." ARTPOP is plagued track after track with stupid and unrelatable lyrics. None of the collaborations have any chemistry. She wails and over-sings on every track. Mess.
  92. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    oh gaga.... how you've changed for the worst. you are not the same person you were with The Fame or the Fame Monster probably not even with Born This Way... what a boring, uninspired joke. this "mix of art and pop" crap is such a joke and has resulted in probably one of the worst pop releases of 2013. so disgraceful.
  93. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    The album is really bad. Songs are only about sex, drugs and money. Instrumentals suck [just like lyrics and voice]. Disappointing after great albums as Born This Way and The Fame Monster.
  94. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    This album from the beginning was stillborn. Critics can not do anything but bury it artpop not is the worst of the year, undoubtedly artpop is the worst of the decade. Lady gaga should quit drugs, the effect is felt in this new album
  95. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    It is FLOP OF THE YEAR! All SONGS ARE AWFUL!!!!!!!!! It is her worst album!!!!!!! I was disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Born This Way BETTER!!!
  96. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    Albom Perfeito!

    Representa tudo que ela e os fãs imundos e humilhados são:

    UM MONTE DE BOSTA

    So espancando mesmo kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  97. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    This is the worst album of 2013. Can't even receive a KCA. How can people buy this? I mean. This is so disgusting. Now I know why this album is such a big flop. THIS ALBUM IS SO HORRIBLE, AND THE LYRICS ARE SO MEANINGLESS. GAGA IS OVER, SORRY.
  98. Sep 9, 2014
    3
    This is another album showing that Lady Gaga aims at the wrong thing. Although some songs in the albums are marvelous (Venus, G.U.Y., MANiCURE, Gypsy & Applause), the rest of the songs are focusing on explicit things, like drugs and sex etc.
    I watched her 2013 iTunes Festival, and her songs were not as good as before. The beats are not attractive at all, and the topics of the songs are
    This is another album showing that Lady Gaga aims at the wrong thing. Although some songs in the albums are marvelous (Venus, G.U.Y., MANiCURE, Gypsy & Applause), the rest of the songs are focusing on explicit things, like drugs and sex etc.
    I watched her 2013 iTunes Festival, and her songs were not as good as before. The beats are not attractive at all, and the topics of the songs are scattered. ARTPOP has no central topic.
    Since 2008, I fell in love with Lady Gaga because of her The Fame and The Fame Monster, mainly because the songs are catchy and the beats are good. However, in ARTPOP, Lady Gaga failed to deliver her message successfully and Zedd (to be honest, although I like him very much) is not as good as RedOne or Fernando Garibay.
    Some of the songs (Jewels N' Drugs, Fashion! & Mary Jane Holland) are really BAD. The are just like CRAP. And I dunno why Lady Gaga intend to put these songs into ARTPOP.
    I am basically dissatisfied with ARTPOP and I hope to see The Fame Gaga or The Fame Monster Gaga in the coming future.
    Expand
  99. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Ok, this CD sucks, omg, Gaga over, shes garbage, Katy, Britney, Madonna and Rihanna can do so much better than her

    shes reductive, shes nothing, in the words of Britney, gone gone gone gone

    Gaga is GONE
  100. Sep 4, 2014
    0
    very poor album she tried to create something for the charts with the wrong formula, she looks desperate to stay in the game and she is clearly falling
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    The melodies here are fine, they do a job, but nothing backs up Gag's Warholian rhetoric or scales the barmy heights of Bad Romance. [Jan 2014, p.116]
  2. 60
    While it’s stronger than the messy ‘Born This Way’, Artpop feels little more culture-quaking than a good collection of fun, silly, well-crafted pop songs.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    50
    This is two albums in a row now that were basically a bit boring, and she needs to sort it out soonish please.