ARTPOP

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2228 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    An amazing album from an amazingly talented artist.

    Lady Gaga proves once again that she is one of the biggest players in the world of pop music. Excellent work.
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.

    ARTPOP is a truely epic pop release this year, far beyond every other
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.

    ARTPOP is a truely epic pop release this year, far beyond every other release by a "high class artist".
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so infectious and fun, you can't help but want to strap on a pair of dancing shoes and hit the club.

    Lyrically speaking, ARTPOP is a mixed bag. While not always Gaga's
    ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so infectious and fun, you can't help but want to strap on a pair of dancing shoes and hit the club.

    Lyrically speaking, ARTPOP is a mixed bag. While not always Gaga's strongest material, you will find many influences spanning Leonoard Cohen in Dope and the B52s, (and an amazing nod to Sun Ra,) in Venus. Donnatella seems to be the weakest lyrically, but taking that song too seriously would be foolish; it's about as tongue and cheek as it gets.

    I would have loved to give this album a perfect 10, but Gaga's only misstep was Jewels N Drugs; a track that I have deleted from my ARTPOP playlist and will simply pretend never happened. Please never do rap again, Miss Gaga! It is not your strong suit!

    Overall, ARTPOP is a sonic confection and should be enjoyed by many, especially those of us who have been so fond of her antics for so long.
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    After 2 years Lady Gaga is back and better than ever! This album includes hints of all kinds of different genres but it all adds up to a perfect combination of ART and POP! Some songs you can dance forever to (Venus and Aura), some are some nice slower songs (Dope), and then there's songs that just get you all fired up (G.U.Y and Sexxx Dreams)! Zedd's touch to songs like Aura and SexxxAfter 2 years Lady Gaga is back and better than ever! This album includes hints of all kinds of different genres but it all adds up to a perfect combination of ART and POP! Some songs you can dance forever to (Venus and Aura), some are some nice slower songs (Dope), and then there's songs that just get you all fired up (G.U.Y and Sexxx Dreams)! Zedd's touch to songs like Aura and Sexxx Dreams is just perfect! And as always DJ White Shadow adds his perfection on songs like Gypsy and ARTPOP. In general the album is well rounded with a little of everything that creates an album worth putting on repeat for hours. This is a definite buy for your music collection!
    My most favorite songs: G.U.Y, Sexxx Dreams, Swine, Donatella, Venus, Aura, Do What U Want, MANiCURE, and the rest of the album! :D
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Gaga at her best. Back to the fun dance tracks of The Fame Monster, catchy melodies and good lyrics. (GUY, Applause, Donatella) Also new style for her as the R&B flavoured Do What U Want with R. Kelly.
    Great ballads and Gypsy as the Jewel of the album that will be a perfect single choice.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Love it!! Don't know why it is receiving all the hate! It may not be her best album but it is still very good!! My favourite songs are G.U.Y. And sexxx dreams
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Great Album, Probably Her Best, I can't Believe That Some People Would Give it a score Below 7.
    Keep on the Great work GaGa.
    .........................
  8. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    ARTPOP, a record name that sounds both intriguing and worrying at the same time. At first i feared an overly pretentious or self-indulgent record la born this way. But i can happily confirm that is none of those things. The album dances on a fine line in between euro-pop, electro and house, yet it manages to not come of as overly cold or distant. The production of this record is simplyARTPOP, a record name that sounds both intriguing and worrying at the same time. At first i feared an overly pretentious or self-indulgent record la born this way. But i can happily confirm that is none of those things. The album dances on a fine line in between euro-pop, electro and house, yet it manages to not come of as overly cold or distant. The production of this record is simply mesmerizing, Madeon, Zedd and DJWS actually did a great job. (especially DJWS who proved me wrong after all the misfires on BTW). I'll give you a short track by track review:

    1) aura: messy, disjointed and sounds like it isn't finished nor polished... Great chorus though. 4/10
    2) venus: great hooks, yet it feels like they tried to put too much into one song, yet i don't hate it! 8/10
    3) G.U.Y: lush production, excellent clubbing song and great bridge. 9.5/10
    4) sexxx dreams: sounds like an instant hit and a classic gaga song. 9/10
    5) jewels and drugs: i'm still trying to process this one, yet i think i kind of like it?! not sure though 7/10
    6) manicure: great song, great hooks, great verses this is pop music done right. 10/10
    7) Do what you want: smooth, tropical and juicy hooks. 9/10
    8) ARTPOP: Mysterious, and a little bit boring... 6/10
    9) Swine: clubbing anthem, overall great, but at times a bit clunky. 8.5/10
    10) Donatella: cool jam, great chorus, however lyrics tend to be a bit cringe-worthy.: 9/10
    11) fashion!: a record filler, not a terrible one at that, but filler nonetheless.: 5/10
    12) Mary Jane Holland: High, trashy and brilliant. 9.5/10
    13) Dope: excellent, toned-down power ballad in the way only she could do. 9/10
    14) Gypsy: pure and utter euphoria.: 10/10
    15) applause: weak, boring and overly narcissistic.: 5/10

    - album pro's: excellent vocals, powerful hooks, beautiful production and overall a fun dance record!
    - album contra's: it's hit-or-miss lyrics and the name... this is excellent pop but let's face it, this isn't art.
    Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This album gives me a BRAND NEW,FRESH experience about ART and POP! I'm not dare to say a breakthrough in POP music but it is certainly something fresh and an absolutely great experience in listening to this album... Suggested that the lyrics of ARTPOP(song) is amazing and the other songs' lyrics are also inspiring!!! I just dance with the tracks!!!!!
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Many reviews tend to judge Lady Gaga according to her past they have this expectation that she's supposed to release conventional pop music as she did with her first two albums. ARTPOP however, according to Gaga, is an attempt to step out of the box that the pop music genre forces you into. I am here to tell you that this album is the most daring album yet by Lady Gaga and achieves thatMany reviews tend to judge Lady Gaga according to her past they have this expectation that she's supposed to release conventional pop music as she did with her first two albums. ARTPOP however, according to Gaga, is an attempt to step out of the box that the pop music genre forces you into. I am here to tell you that this album is the most daring album yet by Lady Gaga and achieves that very thing she has set out to do which is step out of that conventional pop genre box!

    The album starts off with Aura just the first 20 seconds will assure you that there's absolutely no song in the history of pop music that has dared to go where this song has gone! You have Gaga laughing along to some kind of guitar chromatic scale which screams insanity but it is exciting and sure to displace you to an Art Rave dance floor in Egypt while sexy Burqa clad ladies dance along to the beat!

    Other notable mentions in this album include the title track, Artpop, which feels like it starts off underwater and gradually progresses to take you to the stars. This has become a song that Gaga's fans listen to in the dark and with their eyes shut it is simply beautiful! Think tender soothing beats that makes you want to shift from an external presence to a deep internal presence.

    Swine is the epitome of Electronic Dance Music (EDM) as pop! While many typical pop fans might not get it, or even understand this type of music, the usual raver, or EDM lover will simply love it! It is exciting and definitely one of the best EDM tracks ARTPOP has to offer that will definitely rock the dance floor! Catchy insane lyrics include "I know, I know, I know you want me You're just a pig inside a human body".

    Dope, a song about addiction and love, is beautifully written and produced by legendary Rick Rubin. The song has undoubtedly become one of Gaga's best ballads to date up there with Speechless and You and I. This song describes a need for someone, a true love, even more than your strongest addiction i.e. dope. This song is definitely amongst the top three tracks on this album. Haunting, raw and imperfect!

    Whatever said and done, Gaga will always be the subject of criticism. Everyone wants her to be what they think she should be but ARTPOP shows us yet again, you can never truly define her. The critics, the charts, the Pop genre, all of these things as culture, cannot cue her. She cues culture!

    I give this album a 10/10, or a 0/10, or an undefined number 10. This album cannot be judged as a Pop album. It simply cannot! It is multi-genre and simply more than just a music album. I give it a 10/10 for courage and what it is doing for pop music!
    Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    While Born This Way may have been a more cohesive pop album, clearly trying to blend 80s rock and electronic pop to varying degrees of success, for some, it just didn't hit the same pleasure center of her earlier albums.

    Born This Way featured some of Gaga's best songs, and best songwriting to date (Marry the Night, Schiesse, Hair, Edge of Glory) but was seen as being dragged down by
    While Born This Way may have been a more cohesive pop album, clearly trying to blend 80s rock and electronic pop to varying degrees of success, for some, it just didn't hit the same pleasure center of her earlier albums.

    Born This Way featured some of Gaga's best songs, and best songwriting to date (Marry the Night, Schiesse, Hair, Edge of Glory) but was seen as being dragged down by all of its artistic pretensions and messaging.

    Gaga herself stated that her previous record was an attempting at being mature, and ARTPOP is her allowing herself to be a bit immature. Through that lens it is easy to understand ARTPOP's mission: to make you dance.

    And so ARTPOP comes with a much higher ratio of outright bangers, all reminding us of the dizzying diversity of her musical influences as she genre-trips through the album's 60 minutes.

    This is a fun, immature pop album which, while perhaps empty of meaningful commentary, was designed to be exactly that. They are vague allusions to high art, but she really just wants you to dance again.

    Is it a musical regression? Not quite. Gaga experiments with a far broader spectrum of genres than before (even a respectable attempt at electro-trap) and has incorporated new influences that should fuel interesting developments in her future albums, when her career is in a place that allows for even more musical experimentation.

    Meanwhile, she has added another batch of career defining jams to her cannon, and has shown that even though she is clearly moving in a direction that responds to some of her more recent criticisms, she is still, without a doubt, her own woman.
    Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    "ARTPOP" is the biggest album we had this year!! It is complete pop music album released in a very long time! IT SCREAMS ICONIC! Obviously, It's Gaga's best album in her 5-year long career! The album is a masterpiece and I am here to tell you how!

    Starting with the first track of the album i.e. "Aura"...This song is one of the most iconic EDM songs ever! The reason of it being an
    "ARTPOP" is the biggest album we had this year!! It is complete pop music album released in a very long time! IT SCREAMS ICONIC! Obviously, It's Gaga's best album in her 5-year long career! The album is a masterpiece and I am here to tell you how!

    Starting with the first track of the album i.e. "Aura"...This song is one of the most iconic EDM songs ever! The reason of it being an iconic EDM track is that it's the most unique EDM track I've ever heard! Lyrically, yes a bit controversial, but the lyrics are fine! Vocally, it's one of Gaga's best Zedd has done an amazing work on the production!

    From "Aura"..The album moves to one of the weakest moments in the album. The second song on the tracklist "Venus" which was earlier rumoured to be Gaga's second single from the album. The best thing in the song is it's production and the amazing thing is that Gaga produced the track herself. Though, I loved the production only. Lyrically Vocally, it's not as good as other tracks on the album. But still it's filler at it's best!

    Moving towards the 3rd track on the playlist.."G.U.Y." The opening intro to the song alone suggests us that it's the best track on the album! The song is one of the highlights of the album one of Gaga's best so far! The verses are amazing, pre-chorus is amazing and the chorus is superb! Lyrically, the song is great..you would love to sing it! Vocally, also, it's great! Good production too!

    After "G.U.Y."...album takes us to the best track on the record!..Sexxx Dreams.... Even the best track out of Gaga's discography! The reason it's the best is the song's lyrics..it's production..Gaga's vocals. With all it's Janet-esque, the song becomes a legendary masterpiece! A few day earlier..I was really depressed that where the pop music has lost. Even "Born this way" failed to do so. the only complete pop song in the album is "The Edge Of Glory". But Sexxx Dreams tells us that Lady Gaga is the best popstar alive we have today! The music is different..and that's what makes it ICONIC...totally!

    Then "Jewel N' Drugs" where Gaga makes her debut effort in hiphop! The song is good but not that good as compared to the rest of the album

    The next on the tracklist is MANiCURE...A bit of pop A bit of rock Gaga's rockstar vocals A ROCKING ROCK SONG! The song has good production good lyrics but the best thing in the song is Gaga's vocals!! Good Song!

    "Do What U Want", the 7th track on the album! Among the top 4 tracks on the albumVocally, It's Gaga's best song! Lyrically, it's great! and production is fine!! It reminds me of MJ!!! Thank God! It's the second single and "Venus" is not!

    The album leads us to the title track of the album!! "ARTPOP" It's thrilling and pulsating! A good title track for the album.

    "Swine" a crazy pop song with great synths Gaga's killing vocals! Gaga has done a good job on the track vocally!! GOOD!

    "Donnatella" is amazing too, Vocally and Lyrically! Production could have been a little more good! Otherwise..it's good and can be treated as a single!

    "Fashion!" This also one of the weakest on the album..but it's still good! this is the only will.i.am production I like! It's different from others! Lyrics are good! Will.I.Am's vocals in the song are also good!!

    "Mary Jane Holland"..One of the highlights on the album with it's crazy production and tasty Gaga vocals! Bridge is also good! Chorus is catchy!

    "Gypsy"..This song is among the top 4 on the album! It's Gaga's best ballad in my opinion! Gaga has shown her lyrical geniusness on the song!! Catchy!!! Should be treated as a single with a memorable video!!

    "Applause" The last track on the album which was released as album's lead single!! Good Song!! But still comes in the bottom 5 on the album...Though it's really good pop song with a catchy chorus!!

    Top 5 Sexxx Dreams, Gypsy, Do What U Want, G.U.Y., Aura/ARTPOP
    Bottom 5 Jewel N' Drugs, Fashion!, Venus, Applause..and sorry Dope too but it's one of Gaga's best piono ballad!!

    Crazy Album! It sets an example for other pop singers who are creating that same old Lady Gaga may or may not be redefining Pop music with this album but she's definitely setting an example before other popstars!!
    Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Unlike Lady Gaga's previous albums, ARTPOP aims not to establish universal ideas but aims at a more personal approach. The removal of generics from the album makes the album less accessible but it shows Gaga at her most personal. The EDM influenced album will get you dancing, but strays away from the mainstream. Top tracks include the dominating G.U.Y., the power anthem Gypsy, the sleazyUnlike Lady Gaga's previous albums, ARTPOP aims not to establish universal ideas but aims at a more personal approach. The removal of generics from the album makes the album less accessible but it shows Gaga at her most personal. The EDM influenced album will get you dancing, but strays away from the mainstream. Top tracks include the dominating G.U.Y., the power anthem Gypsy, the sleazy Sexxx Dreams and the homage track Donatella. But the album does suffer minor hiccups such as the title track which placed in the centre of the track list throws the pace of the record swerving the thumping banger beats to a slow psychedelic one. All together Lady Gaga has produced a body of work that reigns over fellow popstress Katy Perry, in the fact that each track is an experiment where new things and ideas are brought to the table. Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I was very anxiously for ARTPOP and it definitely did not disappoint. It is an amazing album...one of the best of the year. Lady Gaga is back and better than ever and even though its not what she called as 'album of the millennium' or very different from her previous effort, Born This Way, i still love it and have each and every track on replay. Along side PRISM, Yours Truly and a fewI was very anxiously for ARTPOP and it definitely did not disappoint. It is an amazing album...one of the best of the year. Lady Gaga is back and better than ever and even though its not what she called as 'album of the millennium' or very different from her previous effort, Born This Way, i still love it and have each and every track on replay. Along side PRISM, Yours Truly and a few others, ARTPOP is surely one of my favorite albums of 2013. I am a huge fan of Gaga and this album really lives up to my expectations. My personnel favorites include Mary Jane Holland, G.U.Y, MANiCURE, Gypsy and Fashion. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    By naming this album something as pretentious and grandiose as "ARTPOP", Gaga is already setting herself up to be bashed, and on this album I don't think she has enough "ART" in the music to match the "POP". But what I did when listening to this album was ignore the pretense and her ham-fisted attempt to be viewed as pop's answer to Salvador Dali, and I really enjoyed it.
    Sure, there are
    By naming this album something as pretentious and grandiose as "ARTPOP", Gaga is already setting herself up to be bashed, and on this album I don't think she has enough "ART" in the music to match the "POP". But what I did when listening to this album was ignore the pretense and her ham-fisted attempt to be viewed as pop's answer to Salvador Dali, and I really enjoyed it.
    Sure, there are a few and fillers (Donatella, Jewels and Drugs), but when listening from start to finish, the album has a surprising coherency and makes more sense. The decision to put Aura as the opening track was something that I immediately worried about, but it worked as an opener, and Applause, which might seem like a mediocre pop song as a standalone track, worked phenomenally well as an album closer.
    Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    The best pop album I have heard all year. It's loud, bold, risky and for me it totally pays off. In fact, it's one of the few albums that I can listen to from start to finish without skipping a single song. I can't wait to see what she does next!
  17. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Haters please forget Gaga, why you keep on stalking her and commenting in very page she figures, why why why !!if you don't like her then stop following her, it's your oppinion we all respect ok..no one will force you like her but at least be respectful, polite reasonable and conscious...
    i hope god will punish yo for your lack of honesty, ok you you don't like the album... but puting
    Haters please forget Gaga, why you keep on stalking her and commenting in very page she figures, why why why !!if you don't like her then stop following her, it's your oppinion we all respect ok..no one will force you like her but at least be respectful, polite reasonable and conscious...
    i hope god will punish yo for your lack of honesty, ok you you don't like the album... but puting 0/10 is so not true..
    also 10/10 from me is exagerated, but i have to do that to equalise the balance.. are you getting paid to spend 24/24 hours on every site where her name figures to say sh*t about her??
    you honestly are not normal people you all suffer from a mental disorder that's obvious, hating an aritst is fine but a normal equlibred person will NEVER spend the day commenting and rating 0/10 saying false things, a normal person will not post an article to encourage people not to buy album but to download it illegally just pretexting to put her down, your dream will never be true dears, you're just some dirty parasites i hope you wake up one day ...
    and P.S he album is good except 2 or 3 songs, i play it entierly, and i really think it contains better music than other pop albums this year i would gibe it 8.5/10
    Expand
  18. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed listening to this album. I even replayed this several times this day, and I still get the same excitement I got the first time I listened to it. This is purely an art mixed with music.

    I doubt it if this one flops (which is so impossible). Lady Gaga did really unveil the girl behind the Aura. She delivered every song with thrill and passion. Congratulations Mother
    I really enjoyed listening to this album. I even replayed this several times this day, and I still get the same excitement I got the first time I listened to it. This is purely an art mixed with music.

    I doubt it if this one flops (which is so impossible). Lady Gaga did really unveil the girl behind the Aura. She delivered every song with thrill and passion. Congratulations Mother Monster. May ARTPOP be the album of the year.....
    Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    It seems Gaga has gathered up a lot of haters and they seem to be giving a 0 based on their critique of her rather than the album, its a shame but i guess this is the price paid for being the biggest pop star on the planet. This is album is amazing, the way she has combined different genres and combined different sounds within one concept really shows effort on her part. ParticularlyIt seems Gaga has gathered up a lot of haters and they seem to be giving a 0 based on their critique of her rather than the album, its a shame but i guess this is the price paid for being the biggest pop star on the planet. This is album is amazing, the way she has combined different genres and combined different sounds within one concept really shows effort on her part. Particularly enjoyed Gypsy which way be one of her best songs to date. Expand
  20. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    ARTPOP is the celebration of everything that Gaga did. And I am so proud about the tracks =) My favorite's:
    1 - Venus
    2 - G.U.Y
    3 - Sexxx Dreams
    4 - Do What U Want
    5 - Gypsy
    6 - Applause
    7 - MANiCURE
    8 - Mary Jane Holland
    9 - Aura
    10 - Fashion!
    11 - Donatella
    12 - Dope
    13 - ARTPOP
    14 - Swine
    15 - Jewels 'N Drugs
  21. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Es un gran album, muestra toda la electronica en su mejor produccion no tan exagerada en sonidos fuertes, no es como Born This Way, este album es mas electronico.
  22. May 21, 2014
    7
    Gaga's unique way of mixing parallel genres proves her denial to be compared with any other pop singer, even though ARTPOP's pretentious nature results in a superficial yet well-structured sequel to Born This Way.
  23. Aug 11, 2014
    9
    By fist listen you might be thinking "some of the tracks are amazing, some are not so amazing, right?" That's what I felt the first time I heard all of ARTPOP. Being a major fan of Gaga's other work I was pumped and ready to listen to her most current album. Now when I listen to ARTPOP I realize that it's very easy to misjudge as I and many other critics did. ARTPOP truly is somethingBy fist listen you might be thinking "some of the tracks are amazing, some are not so amazing, right?" That's what I felt the first time I heard all of ARTPOP. Being a major fan of Gaga's other work I was pumped and ready to listen to her most current album. Now when I listen to ARTPOP I realize that it's very easy to misjudge as I and many other critics did. ARTPOP truly is something different from Gaga but it's not a bad album. It still has so much creativity and amazing songs. Below is a track listing of ARTPOP with my score out of 10 for each song:
    1. Aura, 7/10
    2. Venus, 10/10
    3. G.U.Y, 10/10
    4. Sexxx Dreams, 10/10
    5. Jewels N' Drugs, 9/10
    6. MANiCURE 10/10
    7. Do What U Want Feat. R. Kelly, 10/10
    8. ARTPOP, 9/10
    9. Swine, 4/10
    10. Donatella, 10/10
    11. Fashion!, 10/10
    12. Mary Jane Holland, 8/10
    13. Dope, 10/10
    14. Gypsy, 10/10 (My favorite song off ARTPOP)
    15. Applause, 10/10
    Expand
  24. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    The best album of Gaga! I love all the songs, are amazing! I love Artpop, i listen to artpop everyday! Thank you Gaga!!!! She did one great album, great songs, and it's really sad to know that people don't like, because is really good!
  25. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    One of the best albums ever. Most of the songs are very original and experimental (particularly Aura, Venus, G.U.Y., Sexxx Dreams, ARTPOP, Swine), but it also contains some catchy light pop songs and some beautiful ballads. Much better than Born This Way.
  26. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a truly perfect album starts with a catchy song that Aura is for sure these songs are a masterpiece, and one of the best CDs of the decade, Lady Gaga and her team are to be congratulated. Expand
  27. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    Album incrível, como a própria "Lady Gaga" disse: o álbum pode ser ouvido do início ao fim sem a necessidade de pular uma faixa. Na minha opinião, qualquer faixa do álbum pode ser single. MANiCURE é minha favorita.
  28. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    ARTPOP is very underestimated, this album is a complete album, Gaga ranges over more genres, each track is very different, again i have to say it great job Lady Gaga
  29. wuh
    Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Excelent album with innovating sounds. Gaga's voice is awesome here. ARTPOP is so amazing and underrated album. There are so much variety on it, and however is so cohesive!
  30. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    I was very anxiously for ARTPOP and it definitely did not disappoint. It is an amazing album...one of the best of the year. Lady Gaga is back and better than ever and even though its not what she called as 'album of the millennium' or very different from her previous effort, Born This Way, i still love it and have each and every track on replay. Along side PRISM, Yours Truly and a fewI was very anxiously for ARTPOP and it definitely did not disappoint. It is an amazing album...one of the best of the year. Lady Gaga is back and better than ever and even though its not what she called as 'album of the millennium' or very different from her previous effort, Born This Way, i still love it and have each and every track on replay. Along side PRISM, Yours Truly and a few others, ARTPOP is surely one of my favorite albums of 2013. I am a huge fan of Gaga and this album really lives up to my expectations. My personnel favorites include Mary Jane Holland, G.U.Y, MANiCURE, Gypsy and Fashion. Expand
  31. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    This album is just fantastic, Gaga proved to be versatile on her job, proving, even more, that she is the best singer of this time, not only she sings, but she also writes and produces her songs, which is very difficult to find these days. Congartulations to our queen!
  32. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    I love the diversity of this album, there's hip-hop, electronic, trap, rock-pop, pop, R&B, and even a piano ballad. I believe that if the album had sold 1 million first week or the first single had gone #1, the album would've got great reviews from "fans" and critics alike, and that's sad. The quality of an album or any piece of work should not be judged by the success or seemingly lackI love the diversity of this album, there's hip-hop, electronic, trap, rock-pop, pop, R&B, and even a piano ballad. I believe that if the album had sold 1 million first week or the first single had gone #1, the album would've got great reviews from "fans" and critics alike, and that's sad. The quality of an album or any piece of work should not be judged by the success or seemingly lack of, the judgment of an album should be based on the quality and the material. This album is great and it is obvious how much work went into the album on some songs like "Venus", "G.U.Y.", "ARTPOP", "Mary Jane Holland", and "Applause". Great album Expand
  33. Feb 19, 2015
    8
    There would be much to say about this album. Summarizing, it could be considered a bold experiment of power synth approached to the equally powerful Gaga's voice.
    A journey starting from the exclaquestion mark of 'Aura' and ending in the predictable dancefloor of 'Applause'; probing various stylistic experiments, from the tearjerker 'Dope' to the psycho-rapped 'Jewels N Drugs', and from
    There would be much to say about this album. Summarizing, it could be considered a bold experiment of power synth approached to the equally powerful Gaga's voice.
    A journey starting from the exclaquestion mark of 'Aura' and ending in the predictable dancefloor of 'Applause'; probing various stylistic experiments, from the tearjerker 'Dope' to the psycho-rapped 'Jewels N Drugs', and from the 'MANiCURE' rock solo to the 'Mary Jane Holland' heavy trance. There are definitely more and less successful tracks, but they all come together in an overall, extremely brave projection of what Lady Gaga is as an artist and as a living artwork.

    Highlights include the reigning 'Venus', the futuristic title track 'ARTPOP' (where the instrumental is strangely and cleverly moderate) and of course the beautiful sparkling 'Gypsy'.
    Expand
  34. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    When I first heard of ARTPOP I was excited. The iTunes festival was brilliant and the snippets were amazing. The album as whole is consistent and satisfying. I get the fact she's trying to bring the art to her pop music, instead of making the pop culture her art. But let's face it, it's just too pretentious. So pretentious that it's really unsettling. If she had to promote it as being aWhen I first heard of ARTPOP I was excited. The iTunes festival was brilliant and the snippets were amazing. The album as whole is consistent and satisfying. I get the fact she's trying to bring the art to her pop music, instead of making the pop culture her art. But let's face it, it's just too pretentious. So pretentious that it's really unsettling. If she had to promote it as being a good pop album, then by all means it is. It's better than Bangerz. But no, she stated this was the "album of infinite". Over-hype killed the album... This is just the music, the actual idea of ARTPOP and the execution is perfect. But then again, it's the music that's important. Not Jeff Koons mixed with Botticelli on an album cover.

    Best Tracks:
    Aura
    Gypsy
    Applause
    Mary Jane Holland
    Dope
    Venus

    Worst Tracks:
    There is no "bad" tracks really. They are all mediocre to great. But I would have to say Jewels N Drugs.

    Overall:
    I'm a little monster but I have to say, Katy killed it with PRISM. The music was great. Her idea of rebirth was also brilliant and then again, brilliantly executed. Here's ARTPOP, great music, great idea, great execution. But too unsettling of a combination.
    Expand
  35. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    She created an album of possibilities. The best part of ARTPOP is the way Gaga joined art + pop. The art cover is stunning and she invited Jeff Koons to make a sculpture statue in order to immortalize her image in the music's world. The album has a mix of Pop, R&B, Electro and Hip Hop, showing the diversity of Gaga as artist and songwriter. Another note to make about ARTPOP is that sheShe created an album of possibilities. The best part of ARTPOP is the way Gaga joined art + pop. The art cover is stunning and she invited Jeff Koons to make a sculpture statue in order to immortalize her image in the music's world. The album has a mix of Pop, R&B, Electro and Hip Hop, showing the diversity of Gaga as artist and songwriter. Another note to make about ARTPOP is that she produced one song, called "Venus" and directed the video of G.U.Y.

    Gaga is a true artist!
    Expand
  36. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    After play the rocker in Born This Way, ARTPOP brings the dance and more pop than ever Gaga. The tracks are all uniques, from the effervescent MANiCURE to exciting Gypsy, all with wonderful lyrics and the unique and booming voice of Gaga. Was a shame that it has flopped, I really loved this album, one of the best of 2013.
  37. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    An attention-freak's manifesto, ARTPOP stands as the artist's vision of how the fame absolved the pop star of her monsters through her creative and dedicated mission for self-expression. Lady GaGa takes us through her creation, the Kingdom of Fame, and underneath the curtain that Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta has cast upon herself. Each listen is the ride through our own ambitions:An attention-freak's manifesto, ARTPOP stands as the artist's vision of how the fame absolved the pop star of her monsters through her creative and dedicated mission for self-expression. Lady GaGa takes us through her creation, the Kingdom of Fame, and underneath the curtain that Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta has cast upon herself. Each listen is the ride through our own ambitions: self-acceptance, confidence, faith and love; and our darker sides our shone the light: insecurity, fear, addiction and death. May ARTPOP be experienced as our own minutes of fame, ourselves in the spotlight so gracefully cast over us by the enigmatic superstar, with her love as big as her voice. A phenomenal album. Expand
  38. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best album of 2013, but was not the best of Gaga, but despite not being their best album, the beats are great, very enjoyable to listen and especially to dance. Expand
  39. Aug 4, 2014
    9
    ARTPOP delivers the futuristic-pop sound that you expect from none other than the Lady herself. From the individual songs themselves, ARTPOP fails to deliver the successful chart-worthy singles that were seen from The Fame and The Fame Monster, much the same as Born This Way did. As an album itself, Gaga offers probably her best yet. The songs are able to beautifully transition to theARTPOP delivers the futuristic-pop sound that you expect from none other than the Lady herself. From the individual songs themselves, ARTPOP fails to deliver the successful chart-worthy singles that were seen from The Fame and The Fame Monster, much the same as Born This Way did. As an album itself, Gaga offers probably her best yet. The songs are able to beautifully transition to the next, even despite the often sharp contrast at times. It doesn't matter who you are, there will at least be one song off of the album that you will like. Whether you're a fan of rap, ballads, dance, there is a song for you on ARTPOP.

    If you're looking for a crazy album rearing to explode in a magnificent ejaculation of art, the album will no doubt be perfect for you. If you're looking for a few chart worthy songs then I might direct you to previous albums of hers. I hope Gaga in her next album can incorporate her sometimes basic, but timeless songs like 'Poker Face' and 'Bad Romance' in a real experimental album such as ARTPOP, to please both kinds of people. ARTPOP was my favourite album out of the pop divas in 2013, smashing Prism and Beyoncé's self titled album. Whilst the album may have its imperfections, it's definitely ones to be remembered amongst the greatest albums of all times.
    Expand
  40. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Amazing album and I think it's my favorite.Gaga sounds great.My favorite songs would be Sexxx Dreams, Aura, Mary Jane Holand, Applause, Do What U Want
  41. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    The worst was hers, that we are confident but not the worst album, ARTPOP have there good points, great music, a whole story within it, makes you fall for it easily, her vocals are great, and most of the songs has quality.
    Highlights: Venus and Gypsy
    Lows: Fashion! and Jewels & Drugs
  42. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Certainly Mother Monster's best work to date. As a close-up fan, my expectations were raised after the 2 year wait, and were fulfilled entirely. Some songs showcase vocals, while some others make you want to dance. A dance/electronic/edm album that is certainly underrated; definitely and without doubt one of the best releases of 2013.
  43. Feb 2, 2015
    10
    Amazing queen of pop yass slay the best album of 2013 completely amazing and iconic Gaga always does the best ones shes a true artist and performer......
  44. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    It could have been another 9 out of 10 like Born This Way, but there are like 3 songs among the 15 she offers here that are really hard to swallow. Still, the rest are great, with great vocals and lots of energy. She welcomes a slightly lighter sound compared to Born This Way, but without falling into The Fame simplistic era. Many good songs which prove once again no one is releasing theIt could have been another 9 out of 10 like Born This Way, but there are like 3 songs among the 15 she offers here that are really hard to swallow. Still, the rest are great, with great vocals and lots of energy. She welcomes a slightly lighter sound compared to Born This Way, but without falling into The Fame simplistic era. Many good songs which prove once again no one is releasing the type of music she is releasing and that she is a real artist. It contains one of her best singles ever ("Do what you Want").
    Standout tracks: Aura, Sexxx Dreams, Manicure, Jewels and Drugs, Do what you Want, Dope and Applause.
    Expand
  45. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    álbum muito bom,Gaga compôs muito bem suas faixas e a produção por parte de Zedd e Gaga não deixam a desejar. melhores faixas são Dope,Gypsy e Do What U Want e até o remix com Aguilera não deixa a desejar,chego a pensar que seria melhor esta faixa com a cantora aguilera,a extensão vocal é percepitível em ARTPOP.
  46. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    This album is gorgeous! I really love every song, Lady Gaga did amazing, this is why I'm her fan, she is different, unique. She can do a lot of different things and be the same Gaga that we know. I wish s lot of success for her on the new Jazz album.
  47. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    ARTPOP is something hard to define, as Gaga say "My ARTPOP could mean anything", but I know that's easy to criticize something new, that all of us think "charts don't like this album", but she didn't it to the charts. ARTPOP could mean that Lady Gaga's career was hard and ever will be, but she will be a strong woman, and nothing will crush her. ARTPOP could mean "live your sexuality as ifARTPOP is something hard to define, as Gaga say "My ARTPOP could mean anything", but I know that's easy to criticize something new, that all of us think "charts don't like this album", but she didn't it to the charts. ARTPOP could mean that Lady Gaga's career was hard and ever will be, but she will be a strong woman, and nothing will crush her. ARTPOP could mean "live your sexuality as if you were to die tomorrow, be free to do what you like, don't be scared, I ALWAYS will support you, Little Monster!", and this words are everything that fans need to hear. She don't make musics, albums, for the charts, she really care about you fans. Expand
  48. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    Great album..It's really fun,the melodies are amazing,the lyrics are amazing too.I can't understand why some people hate it ...No fillers on this album
  49. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    Overall it's a good album that combines all kinds of musical genres. Besides being one of the most complete albums Gaga from its predecessor "Born This Way" . Although I expected better , overall it is an outstanding album with tracks like " GUY ", " Do What U Want " , "Gypsy " , "Dope " and the track that names the album " ARTPOP " . I look forward to your next album is much better. IOverall it's a good album that combines all kinds of musical genres. Besides being one of the most complete albums Gaga from its predecessor "Born This Way" . Although I expected better , overall it is an outstanding album with tracks like " GUY ", " Do What U Want " , "Gypsy " , "Dope " and the track that names the album " ARTPOP " . I look forward to your next album is much better. I leave you wanting something better made ​​, produced and best lyrics . Expand
  50. Feb 2, 2015
    10
    Aura:✩✩✩
    Venus:✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩
    G.U.Y:✩✩✩✩✩✩ Sexxx Dreams: ✩✩ Jewel N' Drugs: ✩ MANiCURE:✩✩✩✩✩ Do What U Want: ✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩ ARTPOP:✩✩✩✩✩ Swine:✩✩✩✩✩ Donatella:✩✩✩✩✩ Fashion!:✩✩ Mary Jane Holland: ✩✩✩✩✩✩ Dope:✩✩✩✩ Gypsy:✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩ Applause: ✩✩✩ Nota Final: 7,0
    Aura:✩✩✩
    Venus:✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩
    G.U.Y:✩✩✩✩✩✩
    Sexxx Dreams: ✩✩
    Jewel N' Drugs: ✩
    MANiCURE:✩✩✩✩✩
    Do What U Want: ✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩
    ARTPOP:✩✩✩✩✩
    Swine:✩✩✩✩✩
    Donatella:✩✩✩✩✩
    Fashion!:✩✩
    Mary Jane Holland: ✩✩✩✩✩✩
    Dope:✩✩✩✩
    Gypsy:✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩✩
    Applause: ✩✩✩
    Nota Final: 7,0
  51. Feb 9, 2015
    7
    Um álbum,um tanto diferente,com mistura de ritmos,letras,e um vocal no mínimo surpreendente da Lady Gaga,infelizmente o único ponto negativo do álbum é a cantora não estar na sua melhor forma...Tachada como "flopada" e até mesmo "esquecida",Lady Gaga nos dá um albúm experimental maravilhoso,mesmo assim não recebeu os louros do seu trabalho,muito isso devido a má divulgação de ARTPOP,elaUm álbum,um tanto diferente,com mistura de ritmos,letras,e um vocal no mínimo surpreendente da Lady Gaga,infelizmente o único ponto negativo do álbum é a cantora não estar na sua melhor forma...Tachada como "flopada" e até mesmo "esquecida",Lady Gaga nos dá um albúm experimental maravilhoso,mesmo assim não recebeu os louros do seu trabalho,muito isso devido a má divulgação de ARTPOP,ela errou em não divulgar certo,mas enfim um bom álbum...Não é um trabalho inesquecível,mas é bem interessante! Expand
  52. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.

    ARTPOP is a truely epic pop release this year, far beyond every other
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.

    ARTPOP is a truely epic pop release this year, far beyond every other release by a "high class artist".
    Expand
  53. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    Gaga combined ART with POP in the album and truly created a timeless masterpiece. It's her least successful album but it sounds like her best. The songs are crafted masterfully and sound brilliant with a modern pair of headphones - they open up like this huge world of synths and layers of melody.

    It's not very serious like the title would suggest but it's a brilliant and ephemeral pop
    Gaga combined ART with POP in the album and truly created a timeless masterpiece. It's her least successful album but it sounds like her best. The songs are crafted masterfully and sound brilliant with a modern pair of headphones - they open up like this huge world of synths and layers of melody.

    It's not very serious like the title would suggest but it's a brilliant and ephemeral pop record that murdered Katy Perry's career. Definitely buy this.
    Expand
  54. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    The bigger artist of pop! This album shows Gaga doing somethin new, again! The songs are amazing and we can see Gaga coming back with all the forces ever! She did something incredible again! She deserves all sucess ever!
  55. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    Artpop is Lady Gaga's most sincere album. It's an album full of amazing melodies and hooks mixed with fierce Edm insane beats. Not an easy-listening pop album.It's an album for open-minded listeners. Her best
  56. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    An amazing album from an amazingly talented artist.

    Lady Gaga proves once again that she is one of the biggest players in the world of pop music. Excellent work. ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so
    An amazing album from an amazingly talented artist.

    Lady Gaga proves once again that she is one of the biggest players in the world of pop music. Excellent work.

    ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so infectious and fun, you can't help but want to strap on a pair of dancing shoes and hit the club.

    Lyrically speaking, ARTPOP is a mixed bag. While not always Gaga's strongest material, you will find many influences spanning Leonoard Cohen in Dope and the B52s, (and an amazing nod to Sun Ra,) in Venus. Donnatella seems to be the weakest lyrically, but taking that song too seriously would be foolish; it's about as tongue and cheek as it gets.

    I would have loved to give this album a perfect 10, but Gaga's only misstep was Jewels N Drugs; a track that I have deleted from my ARTPOP playlist and will simply pretend never happened. Please never do rap again, Miss Gaga! It is not your strong suit!

    Overall, ARTPOP is a sonic confection and should be enjoyed by many, especially those of us who have been so fond of her antics for so long.

    This album gives me a BRAND NEW,FRESH experience about ART and POP! I'm not dare to say a breakthrough in POP music but it is certainly something fresh and an absolutely great experience in listening to this album... Suggested that the lyrics of ARTPOP(song) is amazing and the other songs' lyrics are also inspiring!!! I just dance with the tracks!

    "ARTPOP" is the biggest album we had this year!! It is complete pop music album released in a very long time! IT SCREAMS ICONIC! Obviously, It's Gaga's best album in her 5-year long career! The album is a masterpiece and I am here to tell you how!

    Starting with the first track of the album i.e. "Aura"...This song is one of the most iconic EDM songs ever! The reason of it being an iconic EDM track is that it's the most unique EDM track I've ever heard! Lyrically, yes a bit controversial, but the lyrics are fine! Vocally, it's one of Gaga's best Zedd has done an amazing work on the production!

    From "Aura"..The album moves to one of the weakest moments in the album. The second song on the tracklist "Venus" which was earlier rumoured to be Gaga's second single from the album. The best thing in the song is it's production and the amazing thing is that Gaga produced the track herself. Though, I loved the production only. Lyrically Vocally, it's not as good as other tracks on the album. But still it's filler at it's best!

    Moving towards the 3rd track on the playlist.."G.U.Y." The opening intro to the song alone suggests us that it's the best track on the album! The song is one of the highlights of the album one of Gaga's best so far! The verses are amazing, pre-chorus is amazing and the chorus is superb! Lyrically, the song is great..you would love to sing it! Vocally, also, it's great! Good production too!

    After "G.U.Y."...album takes us to the best track on the record!..Sexxx Dreams.... Even the best track out of Gaga's discography! The reason it's the best is the song's lyrics..it's production..Gaga's vocals. With all it's Janet-esque, the song becomes a legendary masterpiece! A few day earlier..I was really depressed that where the pop music has lost. Even "Born this way" failed to do so. the only complete pop song in the album is "The Edge Of Glory". But Sexxx Dreams tells us that Lady Gaga is the best popstar alive we have today! The music is different..and that's what makes it ICONIC...totally!

    Then "Jewel N' Drugs" where Gaga makes her debut effort in hiphop! The song is good but not that good as compared to the rest of the album

    The next on the tracklist is MANiCURE...A bit of pop A bit of rock Gaga's rockstar vocals A ROCKING ROCK SONG! The song has good production good lyrics but the best thing in the song is Gaga's vocals!! Good Song!

    "Do What U Want", the 7th track on the album! Among the top 4 tracks on the albumVocally, It's Gaga's best song! Lyrically, it's great! and production is fine!! It reminds me of MJ!!! Thank God! It's the second single and "Venus" is not!

    The album leads us to the title track of the album!! "ARTPOP" It's thrilling and pulsating! A good title track for the album.

    "Swine" a crazy pop song with great synths Gaga's killing vocals! Gaga has done a good job on the track vocally!! GOOD!

    "Donnatella" is amazing too, Vocally and Lyrically! Production could have been a little more good! Otherwise..it's good and can be treated as a single!

    "Fashion!" This also one of the weakest on the album..but it's still good! this is the only will.i.am production I like! It's different from others! Lyrics are good! Will.I.Am's vocals in the song are also good!!

    "Mary Jane Holland"..One of the highlights on the album with it's crazy production and tasty Gaga vocals! Bridge is also good! Chorus is catchy!

    "Gypsy"..Th
    Expand
  57. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    A plethora of experimental sounds and beats that contribute to the electronic genre more so than pop. Lady Gaga shows us that she knows how to make carefree music that not only stems from a place of meaning and emotion, but can still make us dance. Though lacking more than one commercial hit, Gaga is letting us know that it's alright to break free of the industry's boundaries and thatA plethora of experimental sounds and beats that contribute to the electronic genre more so than pop. Lady Gaga shows us that she knows how to make carefree music that not only stems from a place of meaning and emotion, but can still make us dance. Though lacking more than one commercial hit, Gaga is letting us know that it's alright to break free of the industry's boundaries and that she's trying to find a new sound that will give us the hits we know and love in the future. Expand
  58. Oct 20, 2016
    10
    Underrated album! Alot of critics are bashing it because it underperformed (not really it sold 2.5M WW).

    It deserves more love because this is Gaga going into a new genre in her musical career.
  59. Oct 19, 2016
    10
    ARTPOP, sin lugar a dudas un gran lanzamiento del '2013', uno de los discos mas esperados del año, Lady Gaga supo realizar bien el album, mezclas de sonido 'Motown', 'EDM', 'Pop'. Sin lugar a dudas uno de los mejores del 2013. Gypsy, Applause, Fashion!, Venus, Donatella, G.U.Y, Dope! las mejores del album!
  60. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    ARTPOP is such a great album, definitely underrated. She has great dance songs and she just keeps me guessing. Love to be part of this fan base! Lady Gaga has great things coming for her!
  61. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing album. Very happy to have fun Gaga back. She is carefree and fearless. Very happy to see preachy religious Gaga gone. The highs of the album are Gypsy, G.U.Y. ARTPOP, Applause. Lows are Donatella, Jewels & Drugs.
  62. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Não sei o que dizer, só sei que mais uma vez Gaga pisou na Britney massacrando o Britney Jean, Gaga rainha do pop, Britney nem rainha, nem princesa, nem pop.
  63. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Definitely, not Gaga's best, but surely one of the best albums of 2013 so far. You can feel and recognize Zedd's touch in tracks such as "Aura" and "Swine". But Gaga doesn't take risk and got out of her "comfort zone" as she said she would, the only tracks you can feel something different are "Do What U Want (ft. R. Kelly) and "Jewels n' Drugs (feat. T.I., Too $hort & Twista)".
  64. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    O melhor album de 2013, Lady Gaga tem o poder de se superar a cada projeto. Nenhuma cantora nos dias atuais representa tão bem o pop como Lady Gaga. Cheio de batidas muito bem sintetizadas e com vozes de efeito duplo e triplo, ARTPOP nos leva a uma viagem indescritível. ARTPOP fechou 2013 com chave de ouro, o cenário musical agradece.
  65. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    I really enjoyed this album. There are a lot of tracks that stand out to me- my favorites being Venus, Mary Jane Holland, and Gypsy. What makes this album special is that the artist truly put herself into this project and it doesn't feel like it came from anyone's mind but Gagas. You have to respect an artist who keeps the creative control.
  66. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect, perfect.
  67. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    I've always had a love-hate relationship with Lady Gaga. She is a brilliant artist, not in a musical sense, but in the field of fame. To me, she excels in the art of celebrity for she knows how to generate adoration as much as she does spite. It is quite effortless to hate her, yet no so to ignore her completely. Unlike the 90 percent in the mainstream music industry today, Lady GagaI've always had a love-hate relationship with Lady Gaga. She is a brilliant artist, not in a musical sense, but in the field of fame. To me, she excels in the art of celebrity for she knows how to generate adoration as much as she does spite. It is quite effortless to hate her, yet no so to ignore her completely. Unlike the 90 percent in the mainstream music industry today, Lady Gaga proves that she still cares and she still tries. Unlike them, she actually holds the potential to change pop music forever. She's interesting, offensive, lovable, annoying, smart, stupid, pretentious, relatable, genuine and fake, all at the same time. The woman herself can be called PopArt, the carrier of Warholian legacy: loud crass and in your face but still catches our attention and turns our heads. This album, the so called "reverse Warholian experience" ArtPop is pretty much the same embodiment of herself: meaningless and beautiful. A true guilty pleasure.

    The thing is, Lady Gaga failed to deliver Artpop to me the way she intended to. She claimed that this work of hers will bring art and pop together. No it does not, and I am pretty sure nothing she does ever will. Gaga is pretty clueless about this art of hers. Is it the colorful banal kitsch-turned-art movement of Warhol or Koons, the latter with whom she is working with? Then why is it that she incorporates Venus and Botticelli all on her album cover, Applause video and numerous appearances? She furthermore embarassed herself, and me, when she mistook the "Birth of Venus" and the "Venus de Milo" during an interview. It is true, she is desperate to cling into this art movement of hers and failed on every note. To be honest, this is the only thing that hindered her album from great heights: Her stupid art pretension leading people to expect non-existent thing from her. The album's name is her death bell. Had this work been simply called "Venus" it would pretty much spells her next The Fame's success.

    That aside, the album itself is a fascinating musical journey. The fact that she mainly employs EDM on 70 percent of the tracklist does not hinder its enjoyability at all. Gaga's strongest point has always been dance pop and powerballad and she really knows how to bring them out here. Furthermore, her delving into other genres is not so right, as proven in the disastrous "Jewels n Drugs", the only true disposable track with no redeeming feature from Gaga. Sexxx Dreams, G.U.Y and MANiCURE: the sex crazed trinity yet ironically have the best shot for an international hit. Each of those three embraces a different prospect of lust, more than just what many people simply like to generalize as sex. Whereas G.U.Y has a submissive, begging, hailing tone to it, MANiCURE, with its strong vocal delivery and rock influence, commands, not asks, for love.
    Sexx Dreams, on the other hand, has the singer torn between fantasy and truth, as she previously stated herself, with its surreal 80s disco feel thanks to the mid-tempo thumping bass and her mouthing the lines. Another trinity of Artpop I would like to call out is the "i am not sure about this" trinity, including Aura, Swine and Venus. Here I just want to bring back my feelings towards Gaga, how I love her and hate her just as I love and hate these songs. There are moments in these three songs that can almost bring forth an, sorry for the tacky term, eargasm. Mainly, the choruses of Aura, Venus and the Swine's hook. Yet there are moments that can make you cringe and face palm. The horrible laughing of Aura, the annoying 10 second long rising beat before the drop in Swine that sounds like a malfunctioning printer, and the disjointed pre chorus pre pre chorus of Venus. Clearly these are very experimental and that's commendable but they fail short as a whole package. They are still on my jam list, my little guilty pleasures.

    The other half of Gaga's third full LP shows a little more diversity from her usual electro pop, with Fashion chanelling Madonna's Fashion (in a good way) but still fails to leave any lasting impression, another song from Artpop that fails to stay in my head is Donatella, with Gaga trying for a celebrity caricature sarcastic piece, a smart self parody move, yet her delivery is awkward and annoying, not to mention the fact that the lyrics are on par with Rebecca Black's Friday. With those bads out of the way, tthere leaves the vocal show" trinity. Clearly that would include Dope, Do what you want and Gypsy. Dope, a brutally honest and painful confession, delivered in all rawness of her voice, is one of the few songs that brings back her Fame Monster vibe: the struggle with fame and its deadly consequences: drugs. Gypsy is another story of my life, Marry the night kinda song that flawlessly unfolds both on accoustic and dancepop.

    In conclusion, Artpop is far from prefect. But that is why it is so remarkable. It is the self portrait of a polarizing figure who both builds up and destroys herself in front of everyone.
    Expand
  68. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Basically best pop album this year, I mean really compared to other pop records this is out of the world. Yes TFM is still better but compared to PRISM for example this one is far superior
  69. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Billboard's Rating (8.4) is the one that most describes the album. All the songs are great, but there are some that falls short: some that you first like and, after listening more times, it gets worse.

    At first, the album may sound too noisy, I admit, but you should give it some time. Listen to it for a while. You'll see that it isn't bad, and you'll like the songs. Myself, I didn't
    Billboard's Rating (8.4) is the one that most describes the album. All the songs are great, but there are some that falls short: some that you first like and, after listening more times, it gets worse.

    At first, the album may sound too noisy, I admit, but you should give it some time. Listen to it for a while. You'll see that it isn't bad, and you'll like the songs. Myself, I didn't like Aura at first glance. But I listened to it more and more and I started to like it. Now, it's one of my favorites songs on the album.

    See, what I'm trying to say is: you shouldn't listen to the album just one time and say that it is lame. You need to give it some time, listen to it, and THEN judge it. Everytime I did this, I caught myself listening to the thing I said I would never listen to.

    Now, some are saying that the album has no meaning. What? Did you search for that meaning? EVERYTHING that Gaga does (and I'm saying EVERYTHING), has a meaning. It may take some time for you to see, but you will. Just give it some time.

    Some of my favorite songs (not in order): Donatella, Aura, Gypsy, DOPE, G.U.Y, Do What You Want and Jewels N' Drugs.

    Ps.: sorry if this sound a little bit confused, I really tried to explain.
    Expand
  70. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Não esperava menos desse jesus do pop

    Misturou arte e música como jamais havia sido feito e mesmo com tropeços esta com uma tour impecável .... SEM DUVIDAS ESTE ALBUM DIZIMOU QUALQUER DUVIDA SOBRE O TALENTO DE LADY GAGA
  71. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    ARTPOP - The magical creation. I love Gaga. This album truly brings out EVERYTHING. From Aura to Applause, I loved every single track. You should really listen to it. 10/10 for Gaga!
  72. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This is what Lady Gaga is all about. ARTPOP is the perfect balance of ART and POP and she's better than ever! There are NO bad songs. ARTPOP is Gaga's best offering yet! Perfection!

    MUST DOWNLOAD: G.U.Y., Sexxx Dreams, MANiCURE, Do What U Want, ARTPOP, Donatella, Gypsy
  73. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    Definitely the most exciting and greatest pop albums of 2013. Pretty brilliant work, with some fantastic ideas, full of wild creativity and unique lyrics, and most of the songs are superb. Best songs include: Aura, Venus, G.U.Y, Manicure, Do What U Want, Artpop, Swine, Fashion!, Mary Jane Holland, Gypsy and Applause. One word Amazing.
  74. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Despite all the haters, despite BTW not doing very well on the charts, despite all this stupid competition ppl created around charts, with ARTPOP Lady Gaga proves that talent and hard work overcome anything. It's not a perfect álbum, but the flaws are minimal compared to the incredible hooks and compelling beats. I'd actually give it an 8.5, but just to balance out comments made out ofDespite all the haters, despite BTW not doing very well on the charts, despite all this stupid competition ppl created around charts, with ARTPOP Lady Gaga proves that talent and hard work overcome anything. It's not a perfect álbum, but the flaws are minimal compared to the incredible hooks and compelling beats. I'd actually give it an 8.5, but just to balance out comments made out of pure hatred and prejudice, I'm giving it a 10. Expand
  75. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    Gaga never sounds the same and that's awesome! Track by track is a true experience. Experimental songs and she's not afraid of do whatever she believes.
  76. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing album, with a little something for everyone. Its a mix of commercial and experimental, and she also really shows off her vocal talent on tracks like "Gypsy" and "DOPE". She explores different genres and sounds, like on Jewels & Drugs. Its just a fun album from front to back and incredibly enjoyable.
  77. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    While half of the tracks of this album will only entertain her fans, Little Monsters. ARTPOP lives up to its title as POP, which today is a mixture of pop and electronic music, is mixed with ART, which is according what kind of ART Lady Gaga is looking for. This album is clearly a tribute to pop music from Gaga, without being compared with her musical rival, Madonna.

    Highlights: Venus,
    While half of the tracks of this album will only entertain her fans, Little Monsters. ARTPOP lives up to its title as POP, which today is a mixture of pop and electronic music, is mixed with ART, which is according what kind of ART Lady Gaga is looking for. This album is clearly a tribute to pop music from Gaga, without being compared with her musical rival, Madonna.

    Highlights: Venus, Manicure, Do What U Want, Artpop, Donatella, Dope and Gypsy
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Venus, Jewels N' Drugs, Donatella, Mary Jane Holland and Gypsy.
    Personal Favorites: Aura, Venus, Manicure, Do What U Want, Artpop, Gypsy and Applause.
    Expand
  78. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    Amazing album, finally she's back to her roots. Way better than that horrible album called Born This Way, but not SO good as her debut album, but almost in the same level. This is (very) good pop, b*tches.
  79. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Gaga returns triumphantly with an album full of EDM dance/pop perfection! After 2011's BTW and it's empowering message it's also refreshing to see her return to making Pop music for the sake of Pop music!
  80. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    In all her alleged pretentiousness and self-absorbed persona, Lady Gaga is also one of the 21st century's most dedicated entertainers in the music industry and certainly one of the quirkiest. From the unexpected success of her 2008 debut album The Fame, she set the bar for fellow female pop musicians to reach, which has proven to be quite difficult in terms of originality. ButIn all her alleged pretentiousness and self-absorbed persona, Lady Gaga is also one of the 21st century's most dedicated entertainers in the music industry and certainly one of the quirkiest. From the unexpected success of her 2008 debut album The Fame, she set the bar for fellow female pop musicians to reach, which has proven to be quite difficult in terms of originality. But unfortunately, in 2013, a year when folk and indie have also unexpectedly risen up the charts and more experimental youngsters such as New Zealand hailing Lorde have topped the charts for more than a month, Lady Gaga has also challenged herself when it comes to headlining the spotlight in mainstream music. According to Gaga, ARTPOP has a "reverse-Warhol" concept in which she wishes to merge art with commercial pop, and while that concept is certainly unique (although many artists have already achieved this), it's not exactly so. ARTPOP is, for the most part, simply a EDM-influenced pop record that's musically less diverse than previous entry Born This Way and not nearly as catchy as the pop masterpiece The Fame Monster. Expect more or less from ARTPOP, but it's simply not equivalent to that of Gaga's talent. Many have accused her of emulating musicians such as Madonna, David Bowie, and even Bruce Springsteen in the past, but little did we understand, emulation is almost what made Gaga such a memorable performer. Its opening Middle Eastern-esque EDM thumper, "Aura", starts the album off strong and of course, sparked controversy with the Muslim community, which might not be all too surprising, but that's just Gaga. In fact, the first half of ARTPOP is promising enough for Little Monsters or really anyone that adores pop music in general: "Venus", although lyrically nonsensical, can be taken as poorly written or enjoyed as a fun camp song that Gaga claims to have produced all on her own (cite "Uranus/Don't you know my ass is famous" as one of the most memorable moments in AP); "G.U.Y.", which was co-produced by current EDM highlight of 2013 Zedd, could very well be hit-single material; "Sexxx Dreams" flashbacks to Gaga's adoration of 80s synthpop and rock-tinged compositions and will light up the fires in her Little Monsters hearts. But somewhere in the middle, ARTPOP begins to sound unexpectedly generic in its songwriting and musicianship with faceless entries such as "MANiCURE", which could have easily been given to the "motherf-cking princess" (whatever that means) Avril Lavigne, and "Fashion!" (no, not her unreleased 2008 song), a boring nod to 80s disco that features writing credits from David Guetta and will.i.am, which explains why it sounds so damn underwhelming in comparison to Gaga's previous entries. "Gypsy", the only nod to Born This Way on an album filled with pre-Fame material, can be taken or left. Either way, expect it on the radio as soon as early next year. Overall, while we can certainly see the effort Gaga has put into ARTPOP mentally and vocally, it's a disappointment when compared to the hype Little Monsters have been force fed since early 2012. That's not at all saying ARTPOP is a bad album nor is it even mediocre, there are some chart worthy songs here that would make anyone with a functioning heart move in the clubs. Lady Gaga has stated that ARTPOP will apparently be a 2-part album (similar to that of Justin Timberlake's The 20-20 Experience) and that all the experimental songs will be saved for the second part. Let's hope that's a legitimate fact. We're not holding our breaths, but we're also not done with Mother Monster quite yet. Wonder if we'll ever hear from alter-ego Mary Jane Holland again. Expand
  81. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    Artpop, when ranked against Gaga's previous albums, is indeed very much a disappointment. The Fame was wild, sexy, and provocative; The Fame Monster was pop at its best; Born This Way was powerful, club-banging, and most importantly moving. However, Artpop fails to excel and, ironically, push either artistic or pop boundaries. It regurgitates familiar EDM and pop sounds, and cruisesArtpop, when ranked against Gaga's previous albums, is indeed very much a disappointment. The Fame was wild, sexy, and provocative; The Fame Monster was pop at its best; Born This Way was powerful, club-banging, and most importantly moving. However, Artpop fails to excel and, ironically, push either artistic or pop boundaries. It regurgitates familiar EDM and pop sounds, and cruises through inane lyrics from song to song. You will find no beats as unforgettable as Heavy Metal Lover (from Born This Way), vocals as compelling as The Edge of Glory (from Born This Way), tunes as addictive as Poker Face (from The Fame), or lyrics as lustrous as Speechless (from The Fame Monster).

    However, when judged by itself, Artpop can be considered a good album. Gaga is always at her best when she moves away from her pop formula that created the successes of Bad Romance and its ilk. Jewels n' Drugs is very possibly the best hip-hop record this year, as Gaga mixes industrial rock sounds to create a perfect blend of pop and rap. Do What U Want is undoubtedly the best duet and R&B song of 2013. Venus, produced by Gaga herself, sounds so strange it is awesome. For fans who would have heard Sexxx Dreams, Manicure, and Swine at the iTunes Festival, there is bound to be some disappointment in the huge disparity between the quality of her live and recorded vocals: Manicure was much better with the 'heaaaaal me' line in the chorus, while Sexxx Dreams sounds overly autotuned in studio. But this is why you pay to watch Gaga live; just like how Adele's Someone Like You sounds so much better live, the greats always sound better live. As such, though Artpop may be disappointing when compared to Gaga's illustrious history, it is still, overall, a good album.
    Expand
  82. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I particularly love this album and the order the songs are placed on it. Opens the show with "Aura" and we fly to space on "Venus" passing from "the goddess of love" thru "Himeros" on "G.U.Y" that marks the opening of the "sexual parade" that bring us "Sexxx Dreams", "Jewels & Drugs", "Manicure" and "Do What u Want". Then when have the midpoint of this art deployment "Artpop" a quite butI particularly love this album and the order the songs are placed on it. Opens the show with "Aura" and we fly to space on "Venus" passing from "the goddess of love" thru "Himeros" on "G.U.Y" that marks the opening of the "sexual parade" that bring us "Sexxx Dreams", "Jewels & Drugs", "Manicure" and "Do What u Want". Then when have the midpoint of this art deployment "Artpop" a quite but attractive song which tells us that this "artpop could be anything". Just after this one comes "Swine"and psychedelic catchy tune which let us vent our anger in order to enjoy the glam and stylish songs coming up "Donatella" and "Fashion" (one of my favorites due the retro-dance sounds), songs that marks the prelude of the climax of the ARTPOP story. "Mary Jane Holland" comes to tells us Gaga's guilty pleasure and to opens the way for a soft and lovely ballad with amazing vocals and incredible meaning: no matter how much she loves the Mary Jane Holland, she needs her fans mode that "Dope". After this comes the "closing act" which continues the description of the singer but now telling us she is a "Gypsy" that lives for our "Applause".

    I suggest everyone to stop the hate, forget for a while all the polemics and critics around the creator of this piece, Lady Gaga, and simply listen to her album with no prejudgement. You will see its quite a good job and that independently you may have a disagree with the singer personality, she does make good music
    Expand
  83. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    The biggest Pop Blockbuster of 2013 delivers on ALL platforms on a Space Funk trip around the cosmos...and the mind! and the body...this ARTPOP means anything and means everything...Bravo Lady gaga!
  84. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Gaga knows how make different music in every album that her create. ARTPOP its simple different to others singers' music. Gaga is visionary, Gaga is from other galaxy.
  85. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Bloody amazing album, Not sure what the bad ratings are She shows distinct diversity and versatility throughout the album, someone who doesn't pay attention to pop music, gaga pulled me in and didn't let me go tilll the end of the album! Mary Jane Holland Has the traditional Netherlands sounding, GUY, donatella, gypsy sexxx dreams, dope, aura are some of the perfect and effortlesslyBloody amazing album, Not sure what the bad ratings are She shows distinct diversity and versatility throughout the album, someone who doesn't pay attention to pop music, gaga pulled me in and didn't let me go tilll the end of the album! Mary Jane Holland Has the traditional Netherlands sounding, GUY, donatella, gypsy sexxx dreams, dope, aura are some of the perfect and effortlessly flawless tracks of there. Gaga didn't resort to make generic easy pop music as some other artists to get high sales. She stayed true to herself and delivered a MASTERPIECE. Expand
  86. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This album is a pop masterpiece in my opinion. If you dislike the songs Do What U Want, Dope and Gypsy you are lying to yourself. Gaga creates a hybrid of all things she loves into one album. Just because it isn't promoting a strong message like Born This Way doesn't mean the album is terrible. She's revisiting what got her famous... fun, pop music.
  87. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Venus AMAZING... DWUW AMAZING... applause AMAZING.... ARTPOP (SONG) AMAZING. I cant believe the hate towards this album. it is such an amazon work ...
  88. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    The most underrated album of the year. A beautiful mix of all types of music to bring together true art and beauty. Gaga delivers once again. Check out tracks like Aura and ARTPOP that truly define Gaga's style.
  89. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    "In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different." Coco Chanel said. Lady GaGa is different in many ways:

    - She takes inspiration from a lot of artists from the past (Bowie, Madonna, Grace Jones, Debbie Harry) for trying to create something new and different (One could say she is the Quentin Tarantino of Pop) - She surely is different from the 90% of the Pop Stars that are or
    "In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different." Coco Chanel said. Lady GaGa is different in many ways:

    - She takes inspiration from a lot of artists from the past (Bowie, Madonna, Grace Jones, Debbie Harry) for trying to create something new and different (One could say she is the Quentin Tarantino of Pop)
    - She surely is different from the 90% of the Pop Stars that are or were popular since Madonna created the "Pop Diva" public figure as we know it, mainly because she is one of the few (the only one?) that is a trained musician, and a good singer.
    - Her two latest albums shows a effort to give something coherent and different to the public, not just to do an album with different styles and genres in order to please everyone. It's like Gaga says "I am the artist, I do the music I like as best as I can in hope you may like it, I do not do as you want just because YOU want it". That should be the difference between an artist and a Pop Star.

    I enjoyed this album very much, a little less than Born This Way, but I reckon it's a very good album anyway.

    I did not want to give it a 10/10 because I think it's a ridiculous score as perfection does not exist, but in consideration that there are a lot of people so full of hate to disrespect a work of an artist just because they do not like the artist herself (or, worse, because they love some other artist, which is childish at its worst), rating it with a even more ridiculous 0/10 (I mean... REALLY?), I put a 10/10 in it, sure that a lot of intelligent people (and music lovers) could make their own opinion.
    Expand
  90. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    An amazing and solid pop album. Although there are tracks that I find cringe-worthy, ARTPOP is definitely one of the albums that I can listen to without skipping any tracks. As a fan of Gaga and pop music in general, I can say that she has topped her previous works with this record.

    The album may be Gaga's least acclaimed album today but I can see this being praised by many in the near
    An amazing and solid pop album. Although there are tracks that I find cringe-worthy, ARTPOP is definitely one of the albums that I can listen to without skipping any tracks. As a fan of Gaga and pop music in general, I can say that she has topped her previous works with this record.

    The album may be Gaga's least acclaimed album today but I can see this being praised by many in the near future provided she and her team can showcase the 'art'. Many people, including but not limited to haters and critics, find the album pretentious because Gaga combined "art" and "pop" without providing 'explicit' evidences of the former. Here's to hoping she can exhibit art by giving her audience visually-stunning and artistic performances this era.
    Expand
  91. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    The album can be overwhelming but it is not far from what Lady Gaga has accustomed their fans to hear. It contains the catchy hooks and the earworms that are expected to be found in her work. The albums starts with "Aura" a reminescent of Judas's bass. "Venus" tries to take you to another planet with a fresh sound. "G.U.Y." follows the line of what could have been Bad Romance Part IIThe album can be overwhelming but it is not far from what Lady Gaga has accustomed their fans to hear. It contains the catchy hooks and the earworms that are expected to be found in her work. The albums starts with "Aura" a reminescent of Judas's bass. "Venus" tries to take you to another planet with a fresh sound. "G.U.Y." follows the line of what could have been Bad Romance Part II noding with Alejandro. "Sexxx Dreams" is a sexy song, far from nasty, and with cool electronic beats. "Jewels N' Drugs" is the first hip-hop experiment of Gaga in collaboration with T.I. and Too Short. The hook "Don't want your jewels, I want your drugs. Don't want your money, want your love" throws Gaga in the arena and she doesn't even have to make an effort to be perfectly bonded with the rappers' game. "Do What You Want" is one of the most outstanding songs in the album. R. Kelly and Gaga lead you into a pleasant tune with evocative lyrics. "Artpop" is another good song with a catchy chorus: "we could, we could, we could belong together", and a smart bridge: "I tried to sell myself but I am really laughing
    Because I just love the music, not the bling". "Swine" is the electronic highlight in the album with crazy beats and methapor that easily gets into your mounth after a couple times of listening: "You're just a pig inside a human body, squealer, squealer, squeal out, you're so disgusting! You're just a pig inside." "Donatella" a kind of homage to Donatella Versace turns from a confusing song at the beginning "why did she included it?" into a runway anthem."Fashion!" (this time with a mark) has a nice piano intro, but since Gaga already has a song named Fashion ("Confessions of a Shopaholic" soundtrack) and it is better elaborated that this new one, I think it was unnecessary to include it on the album. "Mary Jane Holland" an ode to marijuana is also a unnecessary song in the album with a simple chorus and a flat tune. "Dope" is an interesting song what can be a continuation of "So Happy I Could Die" and "Yoü and I" but with a lowest rhythm. "Gypsy" is probably the best song in the album with a structure almost identical to "The Edge of Glory", but this time without a saxophone solo and with a more empahisized chorus ending in an inevitable chorus "Cuz I'm I'm I'm I'm I'm I'm a gypsy, gypsy, gypsy I'm". The album ends with its first single "Applause" which is probably the best club song on it.
    Expand
  92. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Lady Gaga has finally released a new album after two years since the brilliant Born This Way, and I'm happy to say that after much deliberating, I think overall the album is a success. What had me a bit unsure of at first was the seemingly preponderance of 'pop' over 'art', but as Gaga calmly breathes out the lyrics to title track ‘ARTPOP’: “[her] ARTPOP could mean anything”.Lady Gaga has finally released a new album after two years since the brilliant Born This Way, and I'm happy to say that after much deliberating, I think overall the album is a success. What had me a bit unsure of at first was the seemingly preponderance of 'pop' over 'art', but as Gaga calmly breathes out the lyrics to title track ‘ARTPOP’: “[her] ARTPOP could mean anything”.

    Thematically, I really like this album. The album serves as a nice contrast to 2011’s Born This Way, which was an album of ballads and power-anthems focused on universal acceptance and self-expression, urging its listeners to be free and thrive in their own creativity. ARTPOP is concerned with similar ideas of the ‘self-expression’ but this album is a lot more egocentric and whilst before, Gaga was singing for everyone, now she’s singing about herself, and it feels a lot more honest than The Fame The Fame Monster did. Both of those albums focused on the life of the popstar, but, as Gaga tells us on the opening track ‘Aura’, this time we’re being given insight into the “girl who lives behind the aura”. Presumably the aura is the barrier between the famous popstar’s outer façade and the normal girl beneath. She tells us to ignore the popstar’s life for now, to leave it in ‘Hollywood’ while we step away from that public image and get to know the girl beneath, hidden ‘protected’, even by a veil.

    In ‘Venus’ the themes of love and sex emerge as Gaga is embodying the Roman/Greek Goddess of Love Venus, as represented by the Italian Renaissance painter Sandro Botticelli. The lyrics “garden panty” allude to either side of Venus in the painting: ‘garden’ (the right hand side) representing the wise and intellectual aspect of love; and ‘panty’ (the left hand side), representing sexuality and lust. Gaga, in the centre, seems to be striking a balance between the two. Gaga demands to be taken to the ‘leader’ of these powerful emotions (“I can’t help the way I’m feeling”) Venus. As the second song on the album, the emergence of the theme of love indicates how important this is in Gaga’s life. This theme continues on with two more songs about sex and lust, the ‘panty’ side of the painting (which contrast with the more pure and ‘intellectual’ love expressed in Venus, where she’s simply overcome with a deeply personal love for whoever the song is addressed at probably her fans, as seems to be a central idea in the album: that the love of her fans is all she needs).

    ‘G.U.Y.’ also expresses something else which interests Gaga feminism. The point of the song is that while she is prefers to be subversive and dominated in the bedroom, the fact that she chooses to do so indicates that she still holds power in the relationship “I don’t need to be on top to know I'm worth it Cause I'm strong enough to know the truth”. The tale of deviance in ‘Sexxx Dreams’ finishes off the love trilogy with some infidelity probably the lowest form of sexual love. She is singing about two different lovers she has, one with whom she has a ‘lover’s quarrel’ and one whom she’s fantasizing about, separated by her singing and her speaking: “Last night, I was thinking about you, and it was kinda dirty” is intertwined with “Our lover’s quarrel hurts more than I can say” etc. before eventually the cheating side, the “criminal of thought” takes over and she focuses on her fantasy.

    In “Jewels N’ Drugs” Gaga explores another important aspect of her life fame. She tells us she doesn’t want money or jewels, simply the ‘love’ of her fans, which she likens to a ‘drug’ (which is brought up again in ‘Applause’). Her habit (i.e. fame) may be expensive, both financially (she’s previously discussed how she didn’t care how much her Fame Monster tour cost) and physically (e.g. her broken hip), and while some people may see it as some ‘offensive’ fame-whoring, the strong relationship she has with her fans indicated by her ‘family’ metaphor is too overbearing and she refuses to “die” just because some people don’t like it; she is like a “mother, sister, father, brother” to her fans and won’t change it for anything. T.I. and Too $hort’s verses concern themselves with things like drugs and hookers and dangerous living, which may indicate that while Gaga loves her fame and the connection that brings to all of her fans, it’s not without its dangers.

    Gaga turns back to the theme of love in ‘MANiCURE’ which details what seemingly is a lesbian affair. She begs to be healed “Heal me, ‘cause I’m addicted to love’. There is a preponderance of the imperative tense in this song “put some lipstick on”, “Perfume your neck”, “touch me in the dark”, “throw me on the bed” etc., again suggesting Gaga’s inner feminist is shining through.

    Read the rest: reviewing
    Expand
  93. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    While Born This Way may have been a more cohesive pop album, clearly trying to blend 80s rock and electronic pop to varying degrees of success, for some, it just didn't hit the same pleasure center of her earlier albums.

    Born This Way featured some of Gaga's best songs, and best songwriting to date (Marry the Night, Schiesse, Hair, Edge of Glory) but was seen as being dragged down by
    While Born This Way may have been a more cohesive pop album, clearly trying to blend 80s rock and electronic pop to varying degrees of success, for some, it just didn't hit the same pleasure center of her earlier albums.

    Born This Way featured some of Gaga's best songs, and best songwriting to date (Marry the Night, Schiesse, Hair, Edge of Glory) but was seen as being dragged down by all of its artistic pretensions and messaging.

    Gaga herself stated that her previous record was an attempting at being mature, and ARTPOP is her allowing herself to be a bit immature. Through that lens it is easy to understand ARTPOP's mission: to make you dance.

    And so ARTPOP comes with a much higher ratio of outright bangers, all reminding us of the dizzying diversity of her musical influences as she genre-trips through the album's 60 minutes.

    This is a fun, immature pop album which, while perhaps empty of meaningful commentary, was designed to be exactly that. They are vague allusions to high art, but she really just wants you to dance again.

    Is it a musical regression? Not quite. Gaga experiments with a far broader spectrum of genres than before (even a respectable attempt at electro-trap) and has incorporated new influences that should fuel interesting developments in her future albums, when her career is in a place that allows for even more musical experimentation.

    Meanwhile, she has added another batch of career defining jams to her cannon, and has shown that even though she is clearly moving in a direction that responds to some of her more recent criticisms, she is still, without a doubt, her own woman
    Expand
  94. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Dois longos anos se passaram, Lady Gaga está de volta, e mescla seus antecessores albuns de uma forma incrivelmente radiofônica, levada desde as mais cobiçadas casas noturnas aos botequins da esquina.
  95. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    The greatest female pop album of the year. No doubt! Here we can see a happier Gaga. A colorful and joyful moment after the dark (but great) 2011 Born This Way.
  96. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    It's her best work to date. Probably one of the best pop albums in years.
    The album itself is the journey of the artist: it starts with a song (Aura) daring you to know the artist behind the covers. It's a shame the critics and the haters are not even trying to do so. It seems trendy to bash Gaga these days, even though she's probably the most interesting pop artist out there.
  97. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    THE ALBUM OF THE YEAR, GAGA BROUGHT POP BACK, THANK YOU FOR SAVING POP MUSIC. THIS IS THE NEW QUEEN OF POP, WITHOUT A doubt.........................................................................................
  98. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    ARTPOP is definitely Lady Gaga's best work so far. This is an outstanding album, with many solid and cohesive songs. Art is defined as "the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination" and Lady Gaga perfectly mixed it with phenomenal and brilliant pop records. Best songs: Sexxx Dreams, Mary Jane Holland and Gypsy.
  99. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    An album to do what you want. Again Lady Gaga brought several different, brought content styles. You may love it or hate it, but I loved from start to finish. Congratulations! I think you deserve applause, Gaga.
  100. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Track by track:

    AURA: Como abreboca para el disco es idónea, porque establece ciertos parámetros de lo que podemos esperar del nuevo proyecto musical de Gaga: diversión, experimentos electropop, coros infecciosos, dobles sentidos picantes, reflexiones en torno a la identidad de Gaga como mujer/artista mientras se propone camuflar nuevos manifiestos estéticos. Y posee una de las letras más inquietantes de la carrera de Gaga, porque aquí ella nos pregunta si estamos dispuestos a verla en su forma más honesta (viniendo de ella, una apasionada creyente del artificio escapista, resulta un poco irónico tal cuestionamiento).

    VENUS: Autoproducida por Lady Gaga “sin intervención de penes”, la canción es una muestra de los talentos y excesos que hacen de ella una de las mejores compositoras/productoras de la música pop en la actualidad: una estructura “caótica” que desafía las convenciones del pop clásico (4 ganchos inconexos que se repiten incluyendo un puente juguetón a través del cual enumera los 9 planetas del sistema solar), una letra absurda que combina motivos planetarios con emotivos versos que confunden el amor con el sexo, y una demostración geek de referencias pop (notoria la influencia de Bowie y la cultura glam, con cierto toque a lo Nina Hagen, más la inclusión de un sample del jazzista Sun Ra con los versos Rocket#9 take off to the planet Venus).

    GUY: Una canción de amor que termina siendo sobre sexo (esto abundará a lo largo del disco), y en este caso con versos peligrosos que cuestionan la fiabilidad de roles aparentemente fijos como hombre/mujer, dominación/sumisión, actividad/pasividad y los trastoca indistintamente entre sí. Gaga declara que ella es el tipo (guy), cuyas siglas hacen referencia a la Chica Debajo de Ti (Girl Under You) que te hará llorar.

    SEX DREAMS: Resulta curiosa la mención de un “novio”ausente, lo cual hace pensar en tres alternativas: una relación lésbica un amante bisexual o Gaga como hombre gay tras otro hombre. De cualquier manera no se trata de una canción heterosexual en ninguno de los casos, y eso hace de esta una oda a la naturaleza maleable y oscura de los deseos marginados por la norma.

    JEWELS & DRUGS: He aquí el primero y único paso en falso del disco. Que Gaga quiera explorar otros géneros musicales está muy bien. Pero esta clase de experimentos pueden derivar en resultados dudosos y eso es lo que pasa aquí.

    MANiCURE: En este caso si hay una fusión de géneros que funciona para que Gaga y su voz resulten vencedoras. Una canción pop-rock que remite un poco a Joan Jett y Bruce Springsteen, demostrando esa alma punk que identifica a Gaga como un ídolo musical agresivo, poderoso y rebelde que actúa desde las bases del pop tradicional.

    DO WHAT U WANT: ¿qué se entiende por cuerpo? El cuerpo físico, en primer lugar, pero luego Gaga hace referencia a lo que se dice y se escribe sobre ella. Entonces cuerpo será todo aquello susceptible de ser vendido, manipulado, criticado y mancillado. El cuerpo inmaterial de la “obra” incluso puede ser sometido a juicio, ya que después de todo también es un producto. Pero hay algo esencial y único que no puede ser humillado ni mucho menos poseído. Nuevamente la integridad personal y la dignidad como artista no serán menoscabadas por nadie.

    ARTPOP: La canción homónima del disco le hace justicia a su nombre: un hermoso manifiesto estético y declaración de intenciones acompasados por unos ritmos que funden lo místico con lo carnal.

    SWINE: esta es la canción con la cual se desolla el alma en la pista de baile para entregar todo lo que somos y quedarnos con lo peor de nosotros: la oscuridad, la violencia y el deseo sin control. Canción para escenificar el vómito y las convulsiones que dejarán atrás a nuestra moribunda humanidad.

    DONATELLA: Todo el disco se presta a la perfección para una noche ininterrumpida de baile desenfrenado en un club, pero de entre todas las canciones de ARTPOP no queda duda de que Donatella fue concebida específicamente para ese propósito.

    FASHION: Las letras son algo vagas, pero queda una canción bonita con una producción correcta en torno al amor de Gaga hacia la moda y que no es mera fascinación por las superficies.

    MARY JANE HOLLAND: Afortunadamente es una canción que provoca bailar y corear aun cuando disienta de sus intenciones. Para mí, ARTPOP es suficiente como droga.

    DOPE: Funciona y cumple su cometido de ser el único corte trágico y doloroso dentro de un disco que se presenta despreocupado y con ganas de sonar a entretenimiento sin fisuras.

    GYPSY: Esperanzadora balada encubierta por sutiles ritmos electrónicos. Cuando Gaga se desentiende de todos sus gimmicks, y solo se sienta frente a un piano simplemente para cantar, todas las críticas en su contra pierden importancia para siempre.

    APPLAUSE: Los aplausos van al final, y Gaga se los ha ganado al crear una travesía de arte pop (música, vanguardia y entretenimiento) que suena espectacular en cualquier lugar, solo o en una gran fiesta.
    Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    The melodies here are fine, they do a job, but nothing backs up Gag's Warholian rhetoric or scales the barmy heights of Bad Romance. [Jan 2014, p.116]
  2. 60
    While it’s stronger than the messy ‘Born This Way’, Artpop feels little more culture-quaking than a good collection of fun, silly, well-crafted pop songs.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    50
    This is two albums in a row now that were basically a bit boring, and she needs to sort it out soonish please.