ARTPOP

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2187 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.

    ARTPOP is a truely epic pop release this year, far beyond every other
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.

    ARTPOP is a truely epic pop release this year, far beyond every other release by a "high class artist".
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    An amazing album from an amazingly talented artist.

    Lady Gaga proves once again that she is one of the biggest players in the world of pop music. Excellent work.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so infectious and fun, you can't help but want to strap on a pair of dancing shoes and hit the club.

    Lyrically speaking, ARTPOP is a mixed bag. While not always Gaga's
    ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so infectious and fun, you can't help but want to strap on a pair of dancing shoes and hit the club.

    Lyrically speaking, ARTPOP is a mixed bag. While not always Gaga's strongest material, you will find many influences spanning Leonoard Cohen in Dope and the B52s, (and an amazing nod to Sun Ra,) in Venus. Donnatella seems to be the weakest lyrically, but taking that song too seriously would be foolish; it's about as tongue and cheek as it gets.

    I would have loved to give this album a perfect 10, but Gaga's only misstep was Jewels N Drugs; a track that I have deleted from my ARTPOP playlist and will simply pretend never happened. Please never do rap again, Miss Gaga! It is not your strong suit!

    Overall, ARTPOP is a sonic confection and should be enjoyed by many, especially those of us who have been so fond of her antics for so long.
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    After 2 years Lady Gaga is back and better than ever! This album includes hints of all kinds of different genres but it all adds up to a perfect combination of ART and POP! Some songs you can dance forever to (Venus and Aura), some are some nice slower songs (Dope), and then there's songs that just get you all fired up (G.U.Y and Sexxx Dreams)! Zedd's touch to songs like Aura and SexxxAfter 2 years Lady Gaga is back and better than ever! This album includes hints of all kinds of different genres but it all adds up to a perfect combination of ART and POP! Some songs you can dance forever to (Venus and Aura), some are some nice slower songs (Dope), and then there's songs that just get you all fired up (G.U.Y and Sexxx Dreams)! Zedd's touch to songs like Aura and Sexxx Dreams is just perfect! And as always DJ White Shadow adds his perfection on songs like Gypsy and ARTPOP. In general the album is well rounded with a little of everything that creates an album worth putting on repeat for hours. This is a definite buy for your music collection!
    My most favorite songs: G.U.Y, Sexxx Dreams, Swine, Donatella, Venus, Aura, Do What U Want, MANiCURE, and the rest of the album! :D
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Gaga at her best. Back to the fun dance tracks of The Fame Monster, catchy melodies and good lyrics. (GUY, Applause, Donatella) Also new style for her as the R&B flavoured Do What U Want with R. Kelly.
    Great ballads and Gypsy as the Jewel of the album that will be a perfect single choice.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Love it!! Don't know why it is receiving all the hate! It may not be her best album but it is still very good!! My favourite songs are G.U.Y. And sexxx dreams
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Great Album, Probably Her Best, I can't Believe That Some People Would Give it a score Below 7.
    Keep on the Great work GaGa.
    .........................
  8. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This album gives me a BRAND NEW,FRESH experience about ART and POP! I'm not dare to say a breakthrough in POP music but it is certainly something fresh and an absolutely great experience in listening to this album... Suggested that the lyrics of ARTPOP(song) is amazing and the other songs' lyrics are also inspiring!!! I just dance with the tracks!!!!!
  9. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    ARTPOP, a record name that sounds both intriguing and worrying at the same time. At first i feared an overly pretentious or self-indulgent record la born this way. But i can happily confirm that is none of those things. The album dances on a fine line in between euro-pop, electro and house, yet it manages to not come of as overly cold or distant. The production of this record is simplyARTPOP, a record name that sounds both intriguing and worrying at the same time. At first i feared an overly pretentious or self-indulgent record la born this way. But i can happily confirm that is none of those things. The album dances on a fine line in between euro-pop, electro and house, yet it manages to not come of as overly cold or distant. The production of this record is simply mesmerizing, Madeon, Zedd and DJWS actually did a great job. (especially DJWS who proved me wrong after all the misfires on BTW). I'll give you a short track by track review:

    1) aura: messy, disjointed and sounds like it isn't finished nor polished... Great chorus though. 4/10
    2) venus: great hooks, yet it feels like they tried to put too much into one song, yet i don't hate it! 8/10
    3) G.U.Y: lush production, excellent clubbing song and great bridge. 9.5/10
    4) sexxx dreams: sounds like an instant hit and a classic gaga song. 9/10
    5) jewels and drugs: i'm still trying to process this one, yet i think i kind of like it?! not sure though 7/10
    6) manicure: great song, great hooks, great verses this is pop music done right. 10/10
    7) Do what you want: smooth, tropical and juicy hooks. 9/10
    8) ARTPOP: Mysterious, and a little bit boring... 6/10
    9) Swine: clubbing anthem, overall great, but at times a bit clunky. 8.5/10
    10) Donatella: cool jam, great chorus, however lyrics tend to be a bit cringe-worthy.: 9/10
    11) fashion!: a record filler, not a terrible one at that, but filler nonetheless.: 5/10
    12) Mary Jane Holland: High, trashy and brilliant. 9.5/10
    13) Dope: excellent, toned-down power ballad in the way only she could do. 9/10
    14) Gypsy: pure and utter euphoria.: 10/10
    15) applause: weak, boring and overly narcissistic.: 5/10

    - album pro's: excellent vocals, powerful hooks, beautiful production and overall a fun dance record!
    - album contra's: it's hit-or-miss lyrics and the name... this is excellent pop but let's face it, this isn't art.
    Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Many reviews tend to judge Lady Gaga according to her past they have this expectation that she's supposed to release conventional pop music as she did with her first two albums. ARTPOP however, according to Gaga, is an attempt to step out of the box that the pop music genre forces you into. I am here to tell you that this album is the most daring album yet by Lady Gaga and achieves thatMany reviews tend to judge Lady Gaga according to her past they have this expectation that she's supposed to release conventional pop music as she did with her first two albums. ARTPOP however, according to Gaga, is an attempt to step out of the box that the pop music genre forces you into. I am here to tell you that this album is the most daring album yet by Lady Gaga and achieves that very thing she has set out to do which is step out of that conventional pop genre box!

    The album starts off with Aura just the first 20 seconds will assure you that there's absolutely no song in the history of pop music that has dared to go where this song has gone! You have Gaga laughing along to some kind of guitar chromatic scale which screams insanity but it is exciting and sure to displace you to an Art Rave dance floor in Egypt while sexy Burqa clad ladies dance along to the beat!

    Other notable mentions in this album include the title track, Artpop, which feels like it starts off underwater and gradually progresses to take you to the stars. This has become a song that Gaga's fans listen to in the dark and with their eyes shut it is simply beautiful! Think tender soothing beats that makes you want to shift from an external presence to a deep internal presence.

    Swine is the epitome of Electronic Dance Music (EDM) as pop! While many typical pop fans might not get it, or even understand this type of music, the usual raver, or EDM lover will simply love it! It is exciting and definitely one of the best EDM tracks ARTPOP has to offer that will definitely rock the dance floor! Catchy insane lyrics include "I know, I know, I know you want me You're just a pig inside a human body".

    Dope, a song about addiction and love, is beautifully written and produced by legendary Rick Rubin. The song has undoubtedly become one of Gaga's best ballads to date up there with Speechless and You and I. This song describes a need for someone, a true love, even more than your strongest addiction i.e. dope. This song is definitely amongst the top three tracks on this album. Haunting, raw and imperfect!

    Whatever said and done, Gaga will always be the subject of criticism. Everyone wants her to be what they think she should be but ARTPOP shows us yet again, you can never truly define her. The critics, the charts, the Pop genre, all of these things as culture, cannot cue her. She cues culture!

    I give this album a 10/10, or a 0/10, or an undefined number 10. This album cannot be judged as a Pop album. It simply cannot! It is multi-genre and simply more than just a music album. I give it a 10/10 for courage and what it is doing for pop music!
    Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    While Born This Way may have been a more cohesive pop album, clearly trying to blend 80s rock and electronic pop to varying degrees of success, for some, it just didn't hit the same pleasure center of her earlier albums.

    Born This Way featured some of Gaga's best songs, and best songwriting to date (Marry the Night, Schiesse, Hair, Edge of Glory) but was seen as being dragged down by
    While Born This Way may have been a more cohesive pop album, clearly trying to blend 80s rock and electronic pop to varying degrees of success, for some, it just didn't hit the same pleasure center of her earlier albums.

    Born This Way featured some of Gaga's best songs, and best songwriting to date (Marry the Night, Schiesse, Hair, Edge of Glory) but was seen as being dragged down by all of its artistic pretensions and messaging.

    Gaga herself stated that her previous record was an attempting at being mature, and ARTPOP is her allowing herself to be a bit immature. Through that lens it is easy to understand ARTPOP's mission: to make you dance.

    And so ARTPOP comes with a much higher ratio of outright bangers, all reminding us of the dizzying diversity of her musical influences as she genre-trips through the album's 60 minutes.

    This is a fun, immature pop album which, while perhaps empty of meaningful commentary, was designed to be exactly that. They are vague allusions to high art, but she really just wants you to dance again.

    Is it a musical regression? Not quite. Gaga experiments with a far broader spectrum of genres than before (even a respectable attempt at electro-trap) and has incorporated new influences that should fuel interesting developments in her future albums, when her career is in a place that allows for even more musical experimentation.

    Meanwhile, she has added another batch of career defining jams to her cannon, and has shown that even though she is clearly moving in a direction that responds to some of her more recent criticisms, she is still, without a doubt, her own woman.
    Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    "ARTPOP" is the biggest album we had this year!! It is complete pop music album released in a very long time! IT SCREAMS ICONIC! Obviously, It's Gaga's best album in her 5-year long career! The album is a masterpiece and I am here to tell you how!

    Starting with the first track of the album i.e. "Aura"...This song is one of the most iconic EDM songs ever! The reason of it being an
    "ARTPOP" is the biggest album we had this year!! It is complete pop music album released in a very long time! IT SCREAMS ICONIC! Obviously, It's Gaga's best album in her 5-year long career! The album is a masterpiece and I am here to tell you how!

    Starting with the first track of the album i.e. "Aura"...This song is one of the most iconic EDM songs ever! The reason of it being an iconic EDM track is that it's the most unique EDM track I've ever heard! Lyrically, yes a bit controversial, but the lyrics are fine! Vocally, it's one of Gaga's best Zedd has done an amazing work on the production!

    From "Aura"..The album moves to one of the weakest moments in the album. The second song on the tracklist "Venus" which was earlier rumoured to be Gaga's second single from the album. The best thing in the song is it's production and the amazing thing is that Gaga produced the track herself. Though, I loved the production only. Lyrically Vocally, it's not as good as other tracks on the album. But still it's filler at it's best!

    Moving towards the 3rd track on the playlist.."G.U.Y." The opening intro to the song alone suggests us that it's the best track on the album! The song is one of the highlights of the album one of Gaga's best so far! The verses are amazing, pre-chorus is amazing and the chorus is superb! Lyrically, the song is great..you would love to sing it! Vocally, also, it's great! Good production too!

    After "G.U.Y."...album takes us to the best track on the record!..Sexxx Dreams.... Even the best track out of Gaga's discography! The reason it's the best is the song's lyrics..it's production..Gaga's vocals. With all it's Janet-esque, the song becomes a legendary masterpiece! A few day earlier..I was really depressed that where the pop music has lost. Even "Born this way" failed to do so. the only complete pop song in the album is "The Edge Of Glory". But Sexxx Dreams tells us that Lady Gaga is the best popstar alive we have today! The music is different..and that's what makes it ICONIC...totally!

    Then "Jewel N' Drugs" where Gaga makes her debut effort in hiphop! The song is good but not that good as compared to the rest of the album

    The next on the tracklist is MANiCURE...A bit of pop A bit of rock Gaga's rockstar vocals A ROCKING ROCK SONG! The song has good production good lyrics but the best thing in the song is Gaga's vocals!! Good Song!

    "Do What U Want", the 7th track on the album! Among the top 4 tracks on the albumVocally, It's Gaga's best song! Lyrically, it's great! and production is fine!! It reminds me of MJ!!! Thank God! It's the second single and "Venus" is not!

    The album leads us to the title track of the album!! "ARTPOP" It's thrilling and pulsating! A good title track for the album.

    "Swine" a crazy pop song with great synths Gaga's killing vocals! Gaga has done a good job on the track vocally!! GOOD!

    "Donnatella" is amazing too, Vocally and Lyrically! Production could have been a little more good! Otherwise..it's good and can be treated as a single!

    "Fashion!" This also one of the weakest on the album..but it's still good! this is the only will.i.am production I like! It's different from others! Lyrics are good! Will.I.Am's vocals in the song are also good!!

    "Mary Jane Holland"..One of the highlights on the album with it's crazy production and tasty Gaga vocals! Bridge is also good! Chorus is catchy!

    "Gypsy"..This song is among the top 4 on the album! It's Gaga's best ballad in my opinion! Gaga has shown her lyrical geniusness on the song!! Catchy!!! Should be treated as a single with a memorable video!!

    "Applause" The last track on the album which was released as album's lead single!! Good Song!! But still comes in the bottom 5 on the album...Though it's really good pop song with a catchy chorus!!

    Top 5 Sexxx Dreams, Gypsy, Do What U Want, G.U.Y., Aura/ARTPOP
    Bottom 5 Jewel N' Drugs, Fashion!, Venus, Applause..and sorry Dope too but it's one of Gaga's best piono ballad!!

    Crazy Album! It sets an example for other pop singers who are creating that same old Lady Gaga may or may not be redefining Pop music with this album but she's definitely setting an example before other popstars!!
    Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Unlike Lady Gaga's previous albums, ARTPOP aims not to establish universal ideas but aims at a more personal approach. The removal of generics from the album makes the album less accessible but it shows Gaga at her most personal. The EDM influenced album will get you dancing, but strays away from the mainstream. Top tracks include the dominating G.U.Y., the power anthem Gypsy, the sleazyUnlike Lady Gaga's previous albums, ARTPOP aims not to establish universal ideas but aims at a more personal approach. The removal of generics from the album makes the album less accessible but it shows Gaga at her most personal. The EDM influenced album will get you dancing, but strays away from the mainstream. Top tracks include the dominating G.U.Y., the power anthem Gypsy, the sleazy Sexxx Dreams and the homage track Donatella. But the album does suffer minor hiccups such as the title track which placed in the centre of the track list throws the pace of the record swerving the thumping banger beats to a slow psychedelic one. All together Lady Gaga has produced a body of work that reigns over fellow popstress Katy Perry, in the fact that each track is an experiment where new things and ideas are brought to the table. Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I was very anxiously for ARTPOP and it definitely did not disappoint. It is an amazing album...one of the best of the year. Lady Gaga is back and better than ever and even though its not what she called as 'album of the millennium' or very different from her previous effort, Born This Way, i still love it and have each and every track on replay. Along side PRISM, Yours Truly and a fewI was very anxiously for ARTPOP and it definitely did not disappoint. It is an amazing album...one of the best of the year. Lady Gaga is back and better than ever and even though its not what she called as 'album of the millennium' or very different from her previous effort, Born This Way, i still love it and have each and every track on replay. Along side PRISM, Yours Truly and a few others, ARTPOP is surely one of my favorite albums of 2013. I am a huge fan of Gaga and this album really lives up to my expectations. My personnel favorites include Mary Jane Holland, G.U.Y, MANiCURE, Gypsy and Fashion. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    By naming this album something as pretentious and grandiose as "ARTPOP", Gaga is already setting herself up to be bashed, and on this album I don't think she has enough "ART" in the music to match the "POP". But what I did when listening to this album was ignore the pretense and her ham-fisted attempt to be viewed as pop's answer to Salvador Dali, and I really enjoyed it.
    Sure, there are
    By naming this album something as pretentious and grandiose as "ARTPOP", Gaga is already setting herself up to be bashed, and on this album I don't think she has enough "ART" in the music to match the "POP". But what I did when listening to this album was ignore the pretense and her ham-fisted attempt to be viewed as pop's answer to Salvador Dali, and I really enjoyed it.
    Sure, there are a few and fillers (Donatella, Jewels and Drugs), but when listening from start to finish, the album has a surprising coherency and makes more sense. The decision to put Aura as the opening track was something that I immediately worried about, but it worked as an opener, and Applause, which might seem like a mediocre pop song as a standalone track, worked phenomenally well as an album closer.
    Expand
  16. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    I gave it a few points because there are a handful of songs that qualify as "pop" and are decent... though probably just good, not great. I generally like GaGa as an entertainer, but this album is a disappointment and definitely doesn't live up to the name in my opinion. It's overproduced, and the lyrics are uninteresting and not shocking. GaGa's voice could be replaced with just aboutI gave it a few points because there are a handful of songs that qualify as "pop" and are decent... though probably just good, not great. I generally like GaGa as an entertainer, but this album is a disappointment and definitely doesn't live up to the name in my opinion. It's overproduced, and the lyrics are uninteresting and not shocking. GaGa's voice could be replaced with just about anyone's on most of the tracks and it wouldn't make a bit of difference. Sadly, GaGa hasn't lived up to her own hype on this one. Maybe on her next album, she'll return to her roots--a voice & lyrics-driven album. Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    The best pop album I have heard all year. It's loud, bold, risky and for me it totally pays off. In fact, it's one of the few albums that I can listen to from start to finish without skipping a single song. I can't wait to see what she does next!
  18. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Haters please forget Gaga, why you keep on stalking her and commenting in very page she figures, why why why !!if you don't like her then stop following her, it's your oppinion we all respect ok..no one will force you like her but at least be respectful, polite reasonable and conscious...
    i hope god will punish yo for your lack of honesty, ok you you don't like the album... but puting
    Haters please forget Gaga, why you keep on stalking her and commenting in very page she figures, why why why !!if you don't like her then stop following her, it's your oppinion we all respect ok..no one will force you like her but at least be respectful, polite reasonable and conscious...
    i hope god will punish yo for your lack of honesty, ok you you don't like the album... but puting 0/10 is so not true..
    also 10/10 from me is exagerated, but i have to do that to equalise the balance.. are you getting paid to spend 24/24 hours on every site where her name figures to say sh*t about her??
    you honestly are not normal people you all suffer from a mental disorder that's obvious, hating an aritst is fine but a normal equlibred person will NEVER spend the day commenting and rating 0/10 saying false things, a normal person will not post an article to encourage people not to buy album but to download it illegally just pretexting to put her down, your dream will never be true dears, you're just some dirty parasites i hope you wake up one day ...
    and P.S he album is good except 2 or 3 songs, i play it entierly, and i really think it contains better music than other pop albums this year i would gibe it 8.5/10
    Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed listening to this album. I even replayed this several times this day, and I still get the same excitement I got the first time I listened to it. This is purely an art mixed with music.

    I doubt it if this one flops (which is so impossible). Lady Gaga did really unveil the girl behind the Aura. She delivered every song with thrill and passion. Congratulations Mother
    I really enjoyed listening to this album. I even replayed this several times this day, and I still get the same excitement I got the first time I listened to it. This is purely an art mixed with music.

    I doubt it if this one flops (which is so impossible). Lady Gaga did really unveil the girl behind the Aura. She delivered every song with thrill and passion. Congratulations Mother Monster. May ARTPOP be the album of the year.....
    Expand
  20. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    It seems Gaga has gathered up a lot of haters and they seem to be giving a 0 based on their critique of her rather than the album, its a shame but i guess this is the price paid for being the biggest pop star on the planet. This is album is amazing, the way she has combined different genres and combined different sounds within one concept really shows effort on her part. ParticularlyIt seems Gaga has gathered up a lot of haters and they seem to be giving a 0 based on their critique of her rather than the album, its a shame but i guess this is the price paid for being the biggest pop star on the planet. This is album is amazing, the way she has combined different genres and combined different sounds within one concept really shows effort on her part. Particularly enjoyed Gypsy which way be one of her best songs to date. Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    You will not find a bigger Gaga fan than me. I will buy a magazine just because it has her face on it and I can add it to my collection. I will annoy my Facebook friends with more news than they would ever care to hear. I will buy the most expensive concert ticket possible to be up close.

    Which is why it pains me to say ARTPOP isn't very good. We've been waiting 2 1/2 years for a
    You will not find a bigger Gaga fan than me. I will buy a magazine just because it has her face on it and I can add it to my collection. I will annoy my Facebook friends with more news than they would ever care to hear. I will buy the most expensive concert ticket possible to be up close.

    Which is why it pains me to say ARTPOP isn't very good. We've been waiting 2 1/2 years for a new Gaga album and what we got instead was Zedd's new album featuring Gaga.

    She showed in "Born This Way" that she wasn't purely going to be a pop princess. She began showing her rock n' roll side, started to venture into more aggressive beats and showed growth as an artist. This approach was met with mixed reactions. Many people felt betrayed because she was no longer focused on just making pop music with catchy hooks, where others felt it was her growing into what she was meant to be.

    ARTPOP takes a step backward and is almost purely a techno/trance album. You get overpowering beats that just come off as messy. When you hear the lyrics, they are boring and the same across nearly every song. So much of the album is a plea to the listener "I am super sexual and I want you to see me as a sex icon". I encourage female artists to explore their sexuality, lord knows American society needs women in control of it, but I don't want every song to be about it.

    There is very little this album offers to fans or non fans alike. I personally think Aura, Applause and Swine are strong entries but most everything else is forgettable.

    Pay close attention to the reviews you read. Many reviews are just hatred of Gaga without any substance and others are pure love that would never think anything Mother Monster do could be bad. I still love Gaga but this album just doesn't do her talent justice.

    2 1/2 years until the next try I guess.
    Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    Lady Gaga is good at writing catchy, generic hooks, but her songs and lyrics lack substance. ARTPOP is very disappointing, dreary and overproduced.

    I'm waiting for her to proove her claims and grace us with something truly artistic, adventurous and less contrived than this uninspired, generic album.
  23. Nov 11, 2013
    2
    The record just seems an extension of her previous album, Two years developing an album which already sounds outdated is just not interesting. The crazy outfits and talking about other artists is the only thing that would help to promote the album out of her fan-base. The album simply didn't reach the expectations Gaga herself created. You can't heavily promote an album as "art" when theThe record just seems an extension of her previous album, Two years developing an album which already sounds outdated is just not interesting. The crazy outfits and talking about other artists is the only thing that would help to promote the album out of her fan-base. The album simply didn't reach the expectations Gaga herself created. You can't heavily promote an album as "art" when the lyrics are simple and shallow. Better luck next time. Expand
  24. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    Pretentious. Don't have quality enough to cause an effect on pop. Repetition of her own previous works. A fail. A mess of sounds, non-sense lyrics, some good moments lost in a bunch of crap, more fillers than real good songs, maybe the only exception is Artpop track. Fashion is a stupid rip off from Let's dance.
  25. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    This album is terrible. I have all the previous albums AND went to both concerts and have to express my sincere apologies to the credit card for purchasing this contrite and terribly noisy album. Putting the word 'art' in the title doesn't mean you can take the world for granted. There are 3 (hence 3/10) okay songs but even those are very average and lacking much depth. Poor gaga isThis album is terrible. I have all the previous albums AND went to both concerts and have to express my sincere apologies to the credit card for purchasing this contrite and terribly noisy album. Putting the word 'art' in the title doesn't mean you can take the world for granted. There are 3 (hence 3/10) okay songs but even those are very average and lacking much depth. Poor gaga is struggling under the weight of her own fame and ego...has to wear Versace and confesses she is a drug head...have pity on her...the main themes of the album. Expand
  26. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    Beats generic and over, two words to define "artpop" certainly this was by far the worst job and will be Lady Gaga's, and Zedd's as a producer was not to be expected a good job as it was "The Fame", very noisy and dirty, all tracks or talk about sex or drugs, a bad example, this would be the kind of album that would not buy even for 0.99.
  27. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    This album is just another proof that Lady Gaga is losing her touch. The hooks are weaker, the melodies are slimmer, the lyrics are at their peak meaninglessness. A complete disappointment and a sign of regression of a fading star.
  28. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Es un gran album, muestra toda la electronica en su mejor produccion no tan exagerada en sonidos fuertes, no es como Born This Way, este album es mas electronico.
  29. May 21, 2014
    7
    Gaga's unique way of mixing parallel genres proves her denial to be compared with any other pop singer, even though ARTPOP's pretentious nature results in a superficial yet well-structured sequel to Born This Way.
  30. Aug 11, 2014
    9
    By fist listen you might be thinking "some of the tracks are amazing, some are not so amazing, right?" That's what I felt the first time I heard all of ARTPOP. Being a major fan of Gaga's other work I was pumped and ready to listen to her most current album. Now when I listen to ARTPOP I realize that it's very easy to misjudge as I and many other critics did. ARTPOP truly is somethingBy fist listen you might be thinking "some of the tracks are amazing, some are not so amazing, right?" That's what I felt the first time I heard all of ARTPOP. Being a major fan of Gaga's other work I was pumped and ready to listen to her most current album. Now when I listen to ARTPOP I realize that it's very easy to misjudge as I and many other critics did. ARTPOP truly is something different from Gaga but it's not a bad album. It still has so much creativity and amazing songs. Below is a track listing of ARTPOP with my score out of 10 for each song:
    1. Aura, 7/10
    2. Venus, 10/10
    3. G.U.Y, 10/10
    4. Sexxx Dreams, 10/10
    5. Jewels N' Drugs, 9/10
    6. MANiCURE 10/10
    7. Do What U Want Feat. R. Kelly, 10/10
    8. ARTPOP, 9/10
    9. Swine, 4/10
    10. Donatella, 10/10
    11. Fashion!, 10/10
    12. Mary Jane Holland, 8/10
    13. Dope, 10/10
    14. Gypsy, 10/10 (My favorite song off ARTPOP)
    15. Applause, 10/10
    Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    The melodies here are fine, they do a job, but nothing backs up Gag's Warholian rhetoric or scales the barmy heights of Bad Romance. [Jan 2014, p.116]
  2. 60
    While it’s stronger than the messy ‘Born This Way’, Artpop feels little more culture-quaking than a good collection of fun, silly, well-crafted pop songs.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    50
    This is two albums in a row now that were basically a bit boring, and she needs to sort it out soonish please.