User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2288 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 1, 2017
    10
    It might not be an album you are expecting at the first listen, but if you get into it, you notice that it really is a great piece of work. It has metaphoric lyrics which are written in an interesting way and Gaga's amazing voice is very present and pointed out in all of the songs.
  2. Nov 17, 2017
    7
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.
  3. Nov 11, 2017
    3
    Esse o "álbum do milênio? Decepcionante, um trabalho tão igual aos outros, acho melhor Gaga fazer um marketing melhor da próxima vez.Poucas músicas se salvam nesse álbum.
  4. Oct 23, 2017
    10
    Un àlbum que té art, és fet pur artíticament, la producció electrónica és bona més les lletres i temes que descriu cada cançó i les fan originals, és acceptable.
  5. Sep 22, 2017
    10
    este álbum es realmente arte no puedo creer que la gente fuera tan estúpida de no valorar esto que es tan bueno, espero que gaga vuelva hacer un álbum tan bueno como este
  6. Aug 15, 2017
    6
    its my least favorite gaga's album, its kinda of mess, there are really great songs on it like "venus", "GUY", "dope" and "gypsy", but there are so many bad songs :/
  7. Jul 30, 2017
    5
    ARTPOP is an electronic and electropop album, that made Gaga a better artist. For me the best songs of ARTPOP are Applause, Dope and Mary Jane Holland. But the album does not have a feeling of good quality and it seems that Gaga made it in a hurry. It is great that it has 15 songs, but I heard a lot of filler material
  8. Jun 24, 2017
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best album I've ever listened to. She's so creative when she mix art and pop together and I really love it. Keep on the great work Gaga.
  9. Jun 20, 2017
    8
    Aura - 9
    Venus - 10
    G.U.Y. - 9
    Sexxx Dreams - 10
    Jewels N' Drugs - 6
    Manicure - 7
    Do What U Want - 8
    Artpop - 9
    Swine - 5
    Donatella - 7
    Fashion! - 7
    Mary Jane Holland - 6
    Dope - 8
    Gypsy - 7
    Applause - 9

    score: 7,8
  10. Jun 19, 2017
    10
    ¿El álbum del milenio?
    ARTPOP no estuvo tan lejos de ser el álbum del milenio. Es uno de los mejores trabajos del artista y representa el nacimiento de un nuevo género de electronic/dance-pop. El concepto artístico detrás de disco es de los mejores del siglo 21, solo basta con enternder bien el mensaje que Gaga desea transmitir. ARTPOP es la ironía musical que disfraza de "arte" para
    ¿El álbum del milenio?
    ARTPOP no estuvo tan lejos de ser el álbum del milenio. Es uno de los mejores trabajos del artista y representa el nacimiento de un nuevo género de electronic/dance-pop. El concepto artístico detrás de disco es de los mejores del siglo 21, solo basta con enternder bien el mensaje que Gaga desea transmitir. ARTPOP es la ironía musical que disfraza de "arte" para bufarse de la música pop comercial y vacía. Lo mejor del álbum es la evolución musical que representa para Gaga.
    Expand
  11. Jun 17, 2017
    9
    A high quality, well produced electronic album that is definitely under rated. With the exceptions of Jewels N' Drugs and Dope, this album could be kept on repeat and still keep the interest of listeners.
  12. Jun 16, 2017
    4
    ARTPOP, o que seria arte para Lady Gaga e onde podemos localizar pop em arte?
    Neste material, é indiscutível falarmos de "Regressão" por parte de Lady Gaga.
    Em trabalhos anteriores, (Born This Way) vemos a autenticidade de ser uma estrela pop sem pretensão de mostrar algo que todos já sabem, foi um trabalho ardu não é mesmo mesmo? Com ARTPOP, Gaga viu o declínio em suas mãos, podemos
    ARTPOP, o que seria arte para Lady Gaga e onde podemos localizar pop em arte?
    Neste material, é indiscutível falarmos de "Regressão" por parte de Lady Gaga.
    Em trabalhos anteriores, (Born This Way) vemos a autenticidade de ser uma estrela pop sem pretensão de mostrar algo que todos já sabem, foi um trabalho ardu não é mesmo mesmo? Com ARTPOP, Gaga viu o declínio em suas mãos, podemos dizer que neste trabalho Lady Gaga perdeu as mãos, a qualidade deste album foi desastrosa, boa só para seus alienados fãs, onde viram arte no suposto "Pop" de Lady Gaga. Lady Gaga é muito mais que ARTPOP, eu sei... Mas músicas e um álbum tão genérico a fazem regredir, ai é que entra a regressão dela como artista, O pop é localizável, mas a arte só está presente em seu encarte, não encontro arte em suas músicas eu realmente fiquei perdido quanto a isso. Nem a própria sabe distinguir isso quanto ao assunto. ARTPÓP tem faixas destaques como "Venus, MANiCURE e Marry Jane Holland" que sangram de tão pop e profundo que são. ARTPOP sem dúvidas é o pior trabalho de Lady Gaga até hoje.
    Expand
  13. Jun 14, 2017
    8
    This album is CRIMINALLY underrated. Loads of people always say that Born This Way was one of Gaga's best album, but it was awful. If anything, ARTPOP is her second best album (let's be honest, nothing will ever compare to The Fame Monster).
  14. Jun 14, 2017
    10
    É um disco maravilhoso repleto de músicas boas, instrumentais bem trabalhadas, letras fortes e super produção. Eu super recomendo vocês a ouvirem o álbum.
  15. Jun 10, 2017
    5
    Pra mim é um álbum extremamente forte em batidas, e eu sinceramente não gosto muito disso, então não foi muito do meu agrado. Porém esse conceito que a Gaga queria de "Art" e "pop" pra mim foi alcançado, no geral é um bom trabalho. Minha faixa favorita é Venus, e minha faixa que eu não gostei foi Swine.
  16. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    Uma mistura de vocais poderosos com produções eletrônicas maravilhosa, mais uma vez Gaga mostra seu talento e criatividade. Uma pena que houve confusões de escolhas de singles e desentendimentos com a gravadora, embora não tenha interferido na qualidade do álbum acabou prejudicando seu desempenho comercial.
  17. Jun 10, 2017
    9
    AMazing in my opinion the best album gaga has made so far catchy songs slow song I feel like there’s a song for any ocasión. Great job gaga great songs great collars I don’t thing there would be a song I would skip and some are heart touching and spitting for some.
  18. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    I really enjoy this album, Gaga is art, she is the best pop artist in the world.......................................................................
  19. Jun 9, 2017
    1
    No tengo nada bueno para decir, lo unico rescatable es MANiCURE
    Zo
    Horrible, I just can't believe it that she called this **** as album of decade WTF?
  20. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Sorry guys, but this is not her worst album. But it had the WORST promotion ever. But the album is good. G.U.Y, Venus (omg, venus), Do What U Want, Gypsy, ARTPOP (the song). Listen this songs or Donatella while you're walking on the street and you'll feel like you're on a runway!
  21. Jun 8, 2017
    7
    Melhores músicas ''ARTPOP'' ''Sexxx Dreams ''Gypsy'' ''G.U.Y. ''
    ..............................................................................................................................
  22. May 22, 2017
    9
    One of the most misunderstood and underrated albums of the last ten years. ARTPOP might not be as polished as Lady Gaga's other works, but it is indeed true. It's a true representation of herself in that period. It has everything that takes to be a great album: strong lyrics, strong concept, great production, an amazing voice, variety but coherence, and above all courage to do somethingOne of the most misunderstood and underrated albums of the last ten years. ARTPOP might not be as polished as Lady Gaga's other works, but it is indeed true. It's a true representation of herself in that period. It has everything that takes to be a great album: strong lyrics, strong concept, great production, an amazing voice, variety but coherence, and above all courage to do something unconventional.
    It is such an amazing job.
    Expand
  23. May 6, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. perfect
    Come to me, in all your glamour and cruelty
    Just do that thing that you do
    And I'll undress you
    Give it time, sometimes the simplest move is right
    The melody that you choose, can rescue you
    Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2017
    9
    After having rapidly established herself as the biggest pop artist in the world during "The Fame," "The Fame Monster," and "Born This Way" eras, Gaga's subsequent critical and public downfall was inevitable. Unfortunately, it occurred during the release of yet another fantastic pop album by Mother Monster. Admittedly, the album isn't as cohesive as it could be, and it arguably contains theAfter having rapidly established herself as the biggest pop artist in the world during "The Fame," "The Fame Monster," and "Born This Way" eras, Gaga's subsequent critical and public downfall was inevitable. Unfortunately, it occurred during the release of yet another fantastic pop album by Mother Monster. Admittedly, the album isn't as cohesive as it could be, and it arguably contains the single worst track she's ever recorded ("Jewels N' Drugs.") However, for its few missteps, ARTPOP overwhelmingly consists of experimental pop perfection in the form of "Venus," "G.U.Y.," "Sexxx Dreams," "Gypsy," and the #4 and #20 Billboard Hot 100 hits "Applause," and "Do What U Want," respectively. With the passage of time and Gaga's post-Superbowl comeback to the top, I firmly believe this severely underrated album will retroactively receive the "applause" it's due. Expand
  25. Apr 11, 2017
    10
    Não esperava menos da RAINHA DO POP NÉ MORES. Crazy dance-syth album! so fun at parties. great lyrics, even better musicality. this album combined with her high energy stage shows result in one successful artist.
  26. Mar 26, 2017
    0
    There's nothing good to be said about this album. It's so goddam awful I don't even have words to express.

    Lady Gaga isn't only overrated, but a crappy artist.
  27. Mar 4, 2017
    8
    THE MOST UNDERRATED RECORD THIS DECADE.

    I can not get why people judged Gaga for this record. For me, It's fresh and unique. Not Gaga's best but not Gaga's worst. Still mad this record got snubbed at the Grammys.

    MY TOP 5

    1. AURA
    2. DO WHAT U WANT
    3. ARTPOP
    4. FASHION
    5. JEWELS N DRUGS
  28. Feb 28, 2017
    0
    This album is her worst one in my opinion. It's not as good as Born This Way or The Fame/Fame Monster. Only songs that I liked were Applause and maybe Venus.
  29. Feb 24, 2017
    10
    It is unusual album. I love it. It is an art. It is unusual album. I love it. It is an art. It is unusual album. I love it. It is an art. It is unusual album. I love it. It is an art.
  30. Feb 14, 2017
    0
    Pior álbum da carreira, merece ser esquecido. Flopado em todos os sentidos, singles, vendagens e etc. Esperava mais de Lady Gaga, na verdade nem espero mais, já sei que caiu no abismo sem volta.
  31. Feb 13, 2017
    7
    Amo esse album, Sou KatyCat mas o album é maravilhoso, um dos melhores da carreira dela, Venus, G.U.Y, Fashion pra mim sao as melhores, adoro o album muito bom mesmo
  32. Feb 4, 2017
    6
    This is her best album to date (better than Joanne by a bit). She uses EDM very well and there are a few tasteful cuts here: Venus, G.U.Y., Sexxx Dreams, Applause, Fashion! These are very good songs and enjoyable that make me want to dance so hard. However the remaining songs are half way there. They are absolutely above average, they are just not good enough as those singles which makeThis is her best album to date (better than Joanne by a bit). She uses EDM very well and there are a few tasteful cuts here: Venus, G.U.Y., Sexxx Dreams, Applause, Fashion! These are very good songs and enjoyable that make me want to dance so hard. However the remaining songs are half way there. They are absolutely above average, they are just not good enough as those singles which make the album not exciting from the beginning to end. Strong 6. Expand
  33. Jan 4, 2017
    10
    The most favorite era of Gaga. The most "Fresh and juicy" era. Tracks are filled with stories and confessions itself Gaga. the most significant songs: Do What U Want , Sexxx Dreams , Venus 'n' Applause
  34. Jan 1, 2017
    7
    A mix about some good electronic/dance songs like Do what u want, MANiCURE,ARTPOP, a beautiful ballads like Dope and Gypsy with songs absolutelly bad like Donatella or swine. I like ARTPOP, but is'nt the big thing
  35. Dec 21, 2016
    8
    No es el mejor álbum de Gaga pero es muy diferente a "The Fame" y "Born This Way" y explotó distintos sonidos que hicieron de este disco algo fresco, bailable y divertido.
  36. Dec 10, 2016
    8
    OK, so 'Jewels and Drugs' is terrible, let's get that out the way. Some other tracks are little on the weak side too, but overall, this is one of the years (if not decades) most underrated albums. It's an brilliant pop record. It fit into her discography perfectly. It has the fun elements present on the 'The Fame', it has the darkness of 'The Fame Monster' and it has the theatrics of 'BornOK, so 'Jewels and Drugs' is terrible, let's get that out the way. Some other tracks are little on the weak side too, but overall, this is one of the years (if not decades) most underrated albums. It's an brilliant pop record. It fit into her discography perfectly. It has the fun elements present on the 'The Fame', it has the darkness of 'The Fame Monster' and it has the theatrics of 'Born This Way'. From start to finish, it may not flow as well as the others, but there's very little here to dislike. Expand
  37. Nov 21, 2016
    6
    Lady Gaga's ARTPOP is a huge, somehow ambitious project. The production work here is quite colorful, expanding and explosive - which, for the most part can't be said about Gaga's performances. Yes, there is quite a satisfying amount of well-composed pop songs here that could easily stuck with the listener, hadn't there been so many mixed feelings rolling around. It is her most explosive,Lady Gaga's ARTPOP is a huge, somehow ambitious project. The production work here is quite colorful, expanding and explosive - which, for the most part can't be said about Gaga's performances. Yes, there is quite a satisfying amount of well-composed pop songs here that could easily stuck with the listener, hadn't there been so many mixed feelings rolling around. It is her most explosive, well produced and strange release yet, but also her messiest, most tiresome album as well. As great as some of the deeper cuts may be, it is the first half of the tracklisting that contains the most cohesive moments, and in the long run, the whole experience steadily becomes more and more compromised by the hyper colorful instrumentals and huge beats (never mind the horrible lyrics). Had it used some trimming in the seemingly endless tracklisting, ARTPOP could be a very successful pop record, both comercially and... yes, artistically as well. Expand
  38. Nov 8, 2016
    8
    1 – “Aura” 4/5
    2 – “Venus” 4/5
    3 – “G.U.Y.” 4/5 4 – “Sexxx Dreams” 3/5 5 – “Jewels N’ Drugs” (feat. T.I., Too $hort, and Twista) 2/5 6 – “MANiCURE” 3/5 7 – “Do What U Want” (feat. R. Kelly) 4/5 8 – “ARTPOP” 5/5 9 – “Swine” 4/5 10 – “Donatella” 3/5 11 – “Fashion!” 4/5 12 – “Mary Jane Holland” 4/5 13 – “Dope” 2/5 14 – “Gypsy” 4/5 15 – “Applause“ 5/5
    1 – “Aura” 4/5
    2 – “Venus” 4/5
    3 – “G.U.Y.” 4/5
    4 – “Sexxx Dreams” 3/5
    5 – “Jewels N’ Drugs” (feat. T.I., Too $hort, and Twista) 2/5
    6 – “MANiCURE” 3/5
    7 – “Do What U Want” (feat. R. Kelly) 4/5
    8 – “ARTPOP” 5/5
    9 – “Swine” 4/5
    10 – “Donatella” 3/5
    11 – “Fashion!” 4/5
    12 – “Mary Jane Holland” 4/5
    13 – “Dope” 2/5
    14 – “Gypsy” 4/5
    15 – “Applause“ 5/5
  39. Nov 4, 2016
    9
    7,9
    ARTPOP one of my favorite albums. I listen to it every day, day, dancing at the concert at Aura, G.U.Y., Sexxx Dreams, Applause, a fan of him.
    I would not say that all the songs perfect, but all the songs I love.
    During the song I would put eight points plus one point from a fan!
  40. Oct 29, 2016
    10
    This album is wonderful. I'm really fond of it. Gaga is very beautiful in this era. To my mind, ARTPOP is underestimate very very much. Gaga is so amazing. She is pretty talanted.
  41. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    As usual with Lady Gaga, I wasn't entirely sure what to expect for her new album. I knew it was going to be based on rave culture, art, and fashion but wasn't sure about the whole sound she would surprise us with this time. I was pleasantly surprised and amused at the playful lyrics and rhythms, especially with Venus as well as G.U.Y. I love how the album reeks of strong independence, sex,As usual with Lady Gaga, I wasn't entirely sure what to expect for her new album. I knew it was going to be based on rave culture, art, and fashion but wasn't sure about the whole sound she would surprise us with this time. I was pleasantly surprised and amused at the playful lyrics and rhythms, especially with Venus as well as G.U.Y. I love how the album reeks of strong independence, sex, with a bit of shallowness, and vulnerability. Then again, Gaga always tends to show these emotions in her music. Expand
  42. Oct 24, 2016
    9
    Artpop é um otimo album! Com singles com grande potencial como "do what u want" e "venus", o album mostra profundamente o genero pop como uma forma de arte, um dos melhores trabalhos de gaga!
  43. Oct 24, 2016
    10
    A wonderful album! A wonderful artist! Every album released, his talent and his legacy growing and most respected. This only tends to grow. Each person chooses his own Queen, Lady Gaga for me is the true queen of pop.
  44. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    ARTPOP is such a great album, definitely underrated. She has great dance songs and she just keeps me guessing. Love to be part of this fan base! Lady Gaga has great things coming for her!
  45. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    I love Lady Gaga, she's amazing. I love so much ARTPOP, I miss this era! I love Lady Gaga, she's amazing. I love so much ARTPOP, I miss this era!!!!!!
  46. Oct 20, 2016
    10
    Underrated album! Alot of critics are bashing it because it underperformed (not really it sold 2.5M WW).

    It deserves more love because this is Gaga going into a new genre in her musical career.
  47. Oct 20, 2016
    10
    This album is misunderstood and underappreciated. ARTPOP is ambitious and sonically diverse, blending together a wide variety of sounds and genres that hook you instantly. Standout tracks include Venus, Sexxx Dreams, MANiCURE, Do What U Want, Swine, Donatella, Fashion!, Mary Jane Holland, Dope and Gypsy.
  48. Oct 19, 2016
    10
    ARTPOP, sin lugar a dudas un gran lanzamiento del '2013', uno de los discos mas esperados del año, Lady Gaga supo realizar bien el album, mezclas de sonido 'Motown', 'EDM', 'Pop'. Sin lugar a dudas uno de los mejores del 2013. Gypsy, Applause, Fashion!, Venus, Donatella, G.U.Y, Dope! las mejores del album!
  49. Oct 19, 2016
    10
    ARTPOP is definitely an underrated album. What I like about this album is how different and fresh-sounding it is. There is a lot of EDM influence, which is sort of funny since almost ALL pop songs in 2016 are EDM influenced... ARTPOP may have just been ahead of its time. On this album, we see a very provocative side of Lady Gaga on tracks like G.U.Y., Sexxx Dreams, and Do What U Want. IARTPOP is definitely an underrated album. What I like about this album is how different and fresh-sounding it is. There is a lot of EDM influence, which is sort of funny since almost ALL pop songs in 2016 are EDM influenced... ARTPOP may have just been ahead of its time. On this album, we see a very provocative side of Lady Gaga on tracks like G.U.Y., Sexxx Dreams, and Do What U Want. I love these songs because they are very dancy and sexy. The lead single, Applause, is an amazing song and will be one of those songs everyone will remember in 10 years. Other amazing tracks on this album include Mary Jane Holland, Venus, Donatella, and Dope (the best pop ballad of the 21st century honestly). Maybe this album didn't do so great sale-wise, but it sure as hell is a good album. Expand
  50. Oct 15, 2016
    10
    I bought "ARTPOP" on the day when it was released. Usually , I don't listen to all albums ,because I hope that it's gonna surprise me with something. It came true with this album. Gaga wanted to create something different that her previous albums. It really can be called "masterpiece". Every lyrics is unique and clever, if you understand it. Melodies are matched to her voice from diffefentI bought "ARTPOP" on the day when it was released. Usually , I don't listen to all albums ,because I hope that it's gonna surprise me with something. It came true with this album. Gaga wanted to create something different that her previous albums. It really can be called "masterpiece". Every lyrics is unique and clever, if you understand it. Melodies are matched to her voice from diffefent genres. All 15 tracks are incredible:
    Gaga sings about:
    -fame("Applause" , "Donatella" , "Fashion!" and "ARTPOP")
    -love ("G.U.Y" , "Gypsy" , "Venus" and "MANiCURE)
    -sexuality ("Venus" in historical sense , "G.U.Y" "Sex Dreams" , "MANiCURE" and "Do What You Want")
    -overcoming addicts ("Mary Jane Holland" , "Dope")
    -fashion ("Donatella" , "Fashion!")
    -music ("ARTPOP")
    -dreams ("Gypsy" , "Aura", "Jewels N' Drugs")
    -pain from the past ("Swine")
    Mrs.Germanotta created very good music for her album and she's never wanted to compose and write a song without any sense. I am so proud of the record and I think that it deserves more sales. I've listened to the album very often and it's never made me bored since I first heard for all 60 minutes. I really love every song and all the production.
    If i could choose a song for fourth single it would be- "Gypsy" ,and for fifth single- it would be "Fashion!" Hope that album will be appreciated even though it has failed.
    "ARTPOP" is inspiring!!!
    Expand
  51. Sep 18, 2016
    8
    Tiene sonidos muy pegadizos y eléctricos, a veces tan eléctricos que llegan a quemar un poco los oídos... Con este álbum, Gaga perdió buena parte del boom que le había dado su icónico y trascendental estilo dance, pero eso no quiere decir que aún no le quede potencial para mejorar y seguir destacando en la industria.
  52. Aug 31, 2016
    8
    This is definitive not Gaga's best album, but there is something about that "messy EDM" that we really must pay attention. Some songs like "Aura", "Venus", "Do What U Want" and "MANiCURE" are potential hits that deserved more success, by the way, I found a word for this album, a "potential one".
  53. Aug 30, 2016
    10
    One of the worst albums of the year thus far. It shows absolutely no artistic growth, the lyrics are elementary, and the vocals are non-existent. All in all, a terrible album. Collapse
  54. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    PRAYS 4 da PRESSED: opPRESSED, dePRESSED, rePRESSED, & supPRESSED posters.
    Pop: LADY GAGA, Madonna Britney, Adele, U2, Katy, Alanis, JLO, Kelly, George Michael, Bieber, Bruno.
    R&B: Mariah, Toni, MJB, Janet, TLC, Alicia, Maxwell, Sade, Usher, Aaliyah, Ciara, Brandy, Monica, 702. Rap: Nas, Lil Kim, Missy, Drake, Lauryn Hill, Fat Joe, Outkast, DMX, Kendrick, Biggie, Foxy, T.I. Salt n pepa.
    PRAYS 4 da PRESSED: opPRESSED, dePRESSED, rePRESSED, & supPRESSED posters.
    Pop: LADY GAGA, Madonna Britney, Adele, U2, Katy, Alanis, JLO, Kelly, George Michael, Bieber, Bruno.
    R&B: Mariah, Toni, MJB, Janet, TLC, Alicia, Maxwell, Sade, Usher, Aaliyah, Ciara, Brandy, Monica, 702.
    Rap: Nas, Lil Kim, Missy, Drake, Lauryn Hill, Fat Joe, Outkast, DMX, Kendrick, Biggie, Foxy, T.I. Salt n pepa.
    Educate OGHs on why Gaga's a legend and part of the #WINNINGTEAM. Legend Gaga is the Alpha and the Omega of ATRL. Bless yourself with Red & Blue (Genesis), TF (Job), TFM (Psalms), BTW (Proverbs), AP (St. Matthew) C2C (St. Mark) TIHTY (St. Luke), and WATCH. YOUR. GROWTH. Prepare for LG5: Book of Revelation
    Expand
  55. Aug 26, 2016
    0
    Umm, I don't know exactly how to explain how atrocious obnoxious and hideous this album is. The worst album I have ever listened to. Terrified seeing the downgrade from masterpieces like The Fame Monster and Born This Way to Artpop. Lady Gaga really disappointed me.
  56. Jun 12, 2016
    7
    Why do I think ARTPOP deserved a Grammy?

    We can say that ARTPOP is a mistake on Gaga's career but it is not. The album was one of the biggest conceptual works of all time. While Gaga was mixing art and pop, people was critizing her Born This Way era. Obviously, it wasn't a perfect album, Gaga focused a lot on the promotional thing, on the promotional singles(Dope and Do What U
    Why do I think ARTPOP deserved a Grammy?

    We can say that ARTPOP is a mistake on Gaga's career but it is not. The album was one of the biggest conceptual works of all time. While Gaga was mixing art and pop, people was critizing her Born This Way era.
    Obviously, it wasn't a perfect album, Gaga focused a lot on the promotional thing, on the promotional singles(Dope and Do What U Want(feat R. Kelly), and it actually worked, but the real thing was left behind, the concept of the album wasn't promoted. We had an album inspired by the old Romanticism, the art culture of the 1600's, and she had everything to make the ''album of the millenium'', but everything went wrong.
    Start saying that it didn't had a good debut on the charts, the promotion of the songs was a total mess(DWUW video, for example), and then, the media started a big fight with Gaga, and it will be really hard for her to reborn from the pop culture ashes.

    (And it would have been a big battle on the Grammys with Sam Smith)

    HIGHLIGHTS: Venus, G.U.Y, Sexxx Dreams, Do What U Want, Artpop, Fashion!, Dope, Gypsy
    Expand
  57. May 30, 2016
    8
    1. Aura 10/10
    2. Venus 10/10
    3. G.U.Y. 9/10
    4. Sexxx Dreams 9/10
    5. Jewels N' Drugs 7/10
    6. MANiCURE 9/10
    7. Do What U Want 8/10
    8. ARTPOP 8/10
    9. Swine 8/10
    10. Donatella 6/10
    11. Fashion! 10/10
    12. Mary Jane Holland 7/10
    13. Dope 9/10
    14. Gypsy 6/10
    15. Applause 10/10
  58. May 22, 2016
    9
    I think this is the most misunderstood album by Gaga, or even from the '10s. Even if it's not what we all expected, still good. There are so much hits like: Sexxx Dreams, Do What U Want, ARTPOP, Mary Jane Holland, Gypsy. The problem is the hype she made. But still good.
  59. May 12, 2016
    10
    ARTPOP is one of the best albums of 2013 , its purpose of being a celebration of lady gaga's creativity , was fulfilled . We need to commercial musicians to risk write whatever they want and sound as they want, without forgetting to sound good, ARTPOP did it and it sounds better than half of the commercial music sold today , a milestone to the combination of pop and electronic references,ARTPOP is one of the best albums of 2013 , its purpose of being a celebration of lady gaga's creativity , was fulfilled . We need to commercial musicians to risk write whatever they want and sound as they want, without forgetting to sound good, ARTPOP did it and it sounds better than half of the commercial music sold today , a milestone to the combination of pop and electronic references, a great album. Expand
  60. May 6, 2016
    7
    Underrated album. ARTPOP is a very good album, but some songs should've been left out: the anticlimatic and incoherent Jewels N Drugs, the boring MANiCURE, the G.U.Y. remix Donatella, and Fashion!, catchy but too long and not interesting enough.
    A good album that stayed in the shadow of an average lead single that set the tone for the album and the future singles. People weren't
    Underrated album. ARTPOP is a very good album, but some songs should've been left out: the anticlimatic and incoherent Jewels N Drugs, the boring MANiCURE, the G.U.Y. remix Donatella, and Fashion!, catchy but too long and not interesting enough.
    A good album that stayed in the shadow of an average lead single that set the tone for the album and the future singles. People weren't interested. G.U.Y. or Aura would have been better lead singles and maybe the album wouldn't have been so overlooked. You can find the iconic Gaga weirdness in the brilliant Venus and ARTPOP, the catchy choruses in G.U.Y. and Gypsy, and the great writing in the whole album. All that thrown in a blender with crazy production, heavy beats, makeup, vomit, alcohol, and you find yourself with this great explosive and creative album.
    Lady Gaga remains one of the few pop stars actually interested in making good music, not hits, and she is involved in everything about the album. From the writing to the production, to the directing of the videos, ...
    In short, a good album, that should have been 10 songs long, overshadowed by a messy era which prevented people to actually enjoy the music.
    Best songs: Gypsy, G.U.Y., Aura, Venus
    Expand
  61. May 2, 2016
    8
    It was not the best album of Lady Gaga , however, the deeper and perhaps real .
    A rude, fierce and authentic album, is what define the ARTPOP today.
    Gaga is a super songwriter. perhaps our minds are not as evolved as to her . The great salvation of the album are the vocals , gaga has been improving more and more in this direction. We expected more ? perhaps. But gaga gave us what Lady
    It was not the best album of Lady Gaga , however, the deeper and perhaps real .
    A rude, fierce and authentic album, is what define the ARTPOP today.
    Gaga is a super songwriter. perhaps our minds are not as evolved as to her .
    The great salvation of the album are the vocals , gaga has been improving more and more in this direction.
    We expected more ? perhaps. But gaga gave us what Lady Gaga is .
    Expand
  62. Apr 25, 2016
    4
    This is by far the worst record by Lady Gaga. Far away from the incredible 'The Fame' or 'The Fame Monster', Lady Gaga gaves us confusing and mixed feeling towards what was supposed to be an artistic speech through music. Not feeling it.
  63. Apr 25, 2016
    4
    Not very good, but not very bad either. It'snot as good as her previius efforts Born This Way and The Fame Monstre. t's too overproduced. Aura, Artpop, Sexxxxx Dreams, Dope and Applause are standouts
  64. Apr 24, 2016
    10
    OMG!!! It is an album for fans is a good gift for us , is rude, bittersweet , pop , classic , modern, is hard and soft , is religious, is a sinner. It is another world, this is ARTPOP , Gaga the goddess of music !!
  65. Feb 14, 2016
    10
    Um ótimo álbum, um tapa na cara da indústria que esperava um álbum super comercial para render milhões a todos os empresários que só pensam em sugar a maior quantia que conseguir da maior estrela pop da geração. A gaga sabia que aconteceria isso, então ela fez um álbum que ela tinha certeza que não se sairia bem como os outros.
  66. IGa
    Jan 30, 2016
    4
    Is here wrongly, full of promises he could not keep, "ARTPOP" sounds like an attempt not very successful innovation, which ended up being more confusing beats and lyrics without much sense. The Pop Art vein was completely left aside here, and ended up making him a pop music album undefined.
  67. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    This album is so underrated, is literally a masterpiece; all the songs have a meaning and this help us to know Gaga in her most authentic. Just listen it and you will love it!
  68. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    A plethora of experimental sounds and beats that contribute to the electronic genre more so than pop. Lady Gaga shows us that she knows how to make carefree music that not only stems from a place of meaning and emotion, but can still make us dance. Though lacking more than one commercial hit, Gaga is letting us know that it's alright to break free of the industry's boundaries and thatA plethora of experimental sounds and beats that contribute to the electronic genre more so than pop. Lady Gaga shows us that she knows how to make carefree music that not only stems from a place of meaning and emotion, but can still make us dance. Though lacking more than one commercial hit, Gaga is letting us know that it's alright to break free of the industry's boundaries and that she's trying to find a new sound that will give us the hits we know and love in the future. Expand
  69. Dec 28, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Eu pensava que ARTPOP seria um álbum melhor do que é. Me decepcionei um pouco com o trabalho, mas é um bom álbum. Se não fosse pelo exagero de sintetizadores, eu o consideraria melhor do que é. Mas a voz de Gaga está melhor do que nunca e tem músicas que são magníficas.

    Pontos altos: Gypsy, Venus, Dope
    Pontos baixos: Jewels N' Drugs, Sexxx Dreams, Aura
    Expand
  70. Dec 26, 2015
    0
    EXTREMADAMENTE PRETENCIOSO, NO ES UN ALBUM BUENO, PERO TAMPOCO UNO MALO, LE FALTO ESE ALGO... así como ella prometió "el álbum del milenio", las cosas no le salieron como queria
  71. Dec 14, 2015
    7
    Takes a few times to really understand or appreciate, but overall not a bad listen! It has some hits, some misses and some "mehs" but that's how a lot of pop albums are.
  72. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    An amazing album from an amazingly talented artist.

    Lady Gaga proves once again that she is one of the biggest players in the world of pop music. Excellent work. ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so
    An amazing album from an amazingly talented artist.

    Lady Gaga proves once again that she is one of the biggest players in the world of pop music. Excellent work.

    ARTPOP is the spiritual successor to The Fame and The Fame Monster we have all been waiting for! While Born This Way was laden with songs about acceptance and expressing yourself, ARTPOP is jam packed with songs that are so infectious and fun, you can't help but want to strap on a pair of dancing shoes and hit the club.

    Lyrically speaking, ARTPOP is a mixed bag. While not always Gaga's strongest material, you will find many influences spanning Leonoard Cohen in Dope and the B52s, (and an amazing nod to Sun Ra,) in Venus. Donnatella seems to be the weakest lyrically, but taking that song too seriously would be foolish; it's about as tongue and cheek as it gets.

    I would have loved to give this album a perfect 10, but Gaga's only misstep was Jewels N Drugs; a track that I have deleted from my ARTPOP playlist and will simply pretend never happened. Please never do rap again, Miss Gaga! It is not your strong suit!

    Overall, ARTPOP is a sonic confection and should be enjoyed by many, especially those of us who have been so fond of her antics for so long.

    This album gives me a BRAND NEW,FRESH experience about ART and POP! I'm not dare to say a breakthrough in POP music but it is certainly something fresh and an absolutely great experience in listening to this album... Suggested that the lyrics of ARTPOP(song) is amazing and the other songs' lyrics are also inspiring!!! I just dance with the tracks!

    "ARTPOP" is the biggest album we had this year!! It is complete pop music album released in a very long time! IT SCREAMS ICONIC! Obviously, It's Gaga's best album in her 5-year long career! The album is a masterpiece and I am here to tell you how!

    Starting with the first track of the album i.e. "Aura"...This song is one of the most iconic EDM songs ever! The reason of it being an iconic EDM track is that it's the most unique EDM track I've ever heard! Lyrically, yes a bit controversial, but the lyrics are fine! Vocally, it's one of Gaga's best Zedd has done an amazing work on the production!

    From "Aura"..The album moves to one of the weakest moments in the album. The second song on the tracklist "Venus" which was earlier rumoured to be Gaga's second single from the album. The best thing in the song is it's production and the amazing thing is that Gaga produced the track herself. Though, I loved the production only. Lyrically Vocally, it's not as good as other tracks on the album. But still it's filler at it's best!

    Moving towards the 3rd track on the playlist.."G.U.Y." The opening intro to the song alone suggests us that it's the best track on the album! The song is one of the highlights of the album one of Gaga's best so far! The verses are amazing, pre-chorus is amazing and the chorus is superb! Lyrically, the song is great..you would love to sing it! Vocally, also, it's great! Good production too!

    After "G.U.Y."...album takes us to the best track on the record!..Sexxx Dreams.... Even the best track out of Gaga's discography! The reason it's the best is the song's lyrics..it's production..Gaga's vocals. With all it's Janet-esque, the song becomes a legendary masterpiece! A few day earlier..I was really depressed that where the pop music has lost. Even "Born this way" failed to do so. the only complete pop song in the album is "The Edge Of Glory". But Sexxx Dreams tells us that Lady Gaga is the best popstar alive we have today! The music is different..and that's what makes it ICONIC...totally!

    Then "Jewel N' Drugs" where Gaga makes her debut effort in hiphop! The song is good but not that good as compared to the rest of the album

    The next on the tracklist is MANiCURE...A bit of pop A bit of rock Gaga's rockstar vocals A ROCKING ROCK SONG! The song has good production good lyrics but the best thing in the song is Gaga's vocals!! Good Song!

    "Do What U Want", the 7th track on the album! Among the top 4 tracks on the albumVocally, It's Gaga's best song! Lyrically, it's great! and production is fine!! It reminds me of MJ!!! Thank God! It's the second single and "Venus" is not!

    The album leads us to the title track of the album!! "ARTPOP" It's thrilling and pulsating! A good title track for the album.

    "Swine" a crazy pop song with great synths Gaga's killing vocals! Gaga has done a good job on the track vocally!! GOOD!

    "Donnatella" is amazing too, Vocally and Lyrically! Production could have been a little more good! Otherwise..it's good and can be treated as a single!

    "Fashion!" This also one of the weakest on the album..but it's still good! this is the only will.i.am production I like! It's different from others! Lyrics are good! Will.I.Am's vocals in the song are also good!!

    "Mary Jane Holland"..One of the highlights on the album with it's crazy production and tasty Gaga vocals! Bridge is also good! Chorus is catchy!

    "Gypsy"..Th
    Expand
  73. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    It's very innovative. Gaga gave us rock, synthpop, rap and r'n'b... It's amazing how easy she makes different genres of music and how much fun she has.
  74. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    Artpop is Lady Gaga's most sincere album. It's an album full of amazing melodies and hooks mixed with fierce Edm insane beats. Not an easy-listening pop album.It's an album for open-minded listeners. Her best
  75. Nov 4, 2015
    8
    Fearless , this should be the name of this album . Without fear of technological innovations and vocals . A great album, however, far from being the best of it.
  76. Nov 2, 2015
    5
    Incredibly mediocre. She could have made a big thing with this, solidifying her status. On the contrary, GaGa went out for an oddity without heart, bland lyrics and the usual exhausting hyper-sexuality. Definitely, her next records needs a better thoughtness.
    On average, I really had the impression that this record suffered from some rushing production, to keep at peace with the period
    Incredibly mediocre. She could have made a big thing with this, solidifying her status. On the contrary, GaGa went out for an oddity without heart, bland lyrics and the usual exhausting hyper-sexuality. Definitely, her next records needs a better thoughtness.
    On average, I really had the impression that this record suffered from some rushing production, to keep at peace with the period and surfing the big wave of her own fame. And she failed. Some more working and less fillers would have helped a lot. Also, she needs to give up every "ohhh ohhh" "ahhh ahhh" and actually put meaningful words to conceive a "good" song.
    Expand
  77. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    The bigger artist of pop! This album shows Gaga doing somethin new, again! The songs are amazing and we can see Gaga coming back with all the forces ever! She did something incredible again! She deserves all sucess ever!
  78. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    Gaga combined ART with POP in the album and truly created a timeless masterpiece. It's her least successful album but it sounds like her best. The songs are crafted masterfully and sound brilliant with a modern pair of headphones - they open up like this huge world of synths and layers of melody.

    It's not very serious like the title would suggest but it's a brilliant and ephemeral pop
    Gaga combined ART with POP in the album and truly created a timeless masterpiece. It's her least successful album but it sounds like her best. The songs are crafted masterfully and sound brilliant with a modern pair of headphones - they open up like this huge world of synths and layers of melody.

    It's not very serious like the title would suggest but it's a brilliant and ephemeral pop record that murdered Katy Perry's career. Definitely buy this.
    Expand
  79. Oct 22, 2015
    6
    Expect much MUCH more after Born this Way, BTW was one of the best records of all time and after that i expected much more especially with the hype that was created. But i don't think there was a SINGLE track which deserves recommendation. Venus was probably better but that was probably it.Was very disappointed with Gaga's effort.Maybe next time!
  80. Oct 16, 2015
    7
    While it has its weak moments, ARTPOP is another solid addition to Lady Gaga's discography. Sure, it may not meet typical radio-friendly requirements, as her previous efforts, it stills stands out as one of the best pop records of 2013.
  81. Oct 11, 2015
    10
    hinariooooooooooooooooo do poppppp resta aceitar suas queridinhas amore aceita que e eo melhor oi beijos psiu beijo me liga appaluse dope e aurea hinos e venus tbm
  82. Oct 9, 2015
    10
    Um álbum incrível a frente de seu tempo. A arte pura e fiel. Sem palavras para descrever tamanha genialidade. Lady Gaga se reinventa a cada novo projeto, e isso é um reflexo de sua mente brilhante e coração apaixonado, isso vemos em ARTPOP!
  83. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    A good album but it's obviously not her best work to date, it does has it gems songs like Venus (Which she produced) is a good song, Fashion! is also a stand out track of this album
  84. Sep 9, 2015
    8
    Obviously not Gaga's best work, It doesn't seem as put together as previous album. Some songs should have been cut out. Songs like "Jewels & Drugs" and "Fashion!" don't match up with how amazing songs like Aura, Venus, Do what u want and G.U.Y. Its a fun album
  85. Sep 8, 2015
    3
    This album was a big let down. It did not meet my expectations. Although her efforts to correlate music with art is very commendable, it was futile, as she was able to express but not deliver very well. Her past albums were fantastic, this one brought uniqueness in the industry but thhe music itself was not captivating.
  86. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    Don't let the naysayers get to your head! Lady Gaga is far from over and this album proves it. It's definitely her most energetic release to date, where she commands you to dance on the floor for 14/15 songs on the album. If this album is bad, then Katy Perry is the banana peel I just threw out. She preached her message loud and clear in 2013 and now we're in 2015 with Kanye saying theDon't let the naysayers get to your head! Lady Gaga is far from over and this album proves it. It's definitely her most energetic release to date, where she commands you to dance on the floor for 14/15 songs on the album. If this album is bad, then Katy Perry is the banana peel I just threw out. She preached her message loud and clear in 2013 and now we're in 2015 with Kanye saying the same thing at the VMA's but now he's getting the credit. Anyway, the Queen serves on this album with standouts such as Applause, Do What U Want, Venus, Sexxx Dreams, Gypsy and many more! Expand
  87. Aug 29, 2015
    0
    I was expecting something good from this album. She wants to show her "Artistic" part, but this is literally **** The only saveageable song of the album is Applause. The rest... Not so much
  88. Aug 2, 2015
    8
    A job well done but poorly worked. Despite having very well made songs like "Venus" has other poorly worked as "Applause" and besides that, Gaga decided this last before a good job. Nor gave much effort to their Singles and basically the only downside of this album is its low promotion and their bad Singles (except G.U.Y). But we must praise that Gaga has an excellent voice in this albumA job well done but poorly worked. Despite having very well made songs like "Venus" has other poorly worked as "Applause" and besides that, Gaga decided this last before a good job. Nor gave much effort to their Singles and basically the only downside of this album is its low promotion and their bad Singles (except G.U.Y). But we must praise that Gaga has an excellent voice in this album and what about exploited well. Honestly, this disc is better than its predecessor "Born This Way" Expand
  89. Jul 23, 2015
    3
    This album is a piece of crap. The sounds in most of the songs are annoying. She's just trying to stay relevant because no one pays attention to her anymore. That's why it flopped I guess. Even her clown costumes already bored the media. Good Luck Gaga.
  90. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento merecido.
  91. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    Me encanto, el album es un album electro/dance que llego al #1 en Hot Billboard 200, me enorgullese que Gaga experimente mas con su musica, ame este album
  92. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    This isn't Gaga's best album, but it is still better than other pop albuns released on the same year.

    Best track: Gypsy
    Worst track: Fashion!, Jewels N' Drugs
  93. May 27, 2015
    10
    The reason why ARTPOP is criticised is very clear:personal dislike to Gaga.But this album is very rich with its different pop,EDM,dubstep,disco,electro,R&B,house,rock,techno sounds and with lyrics discussing such themes like love,sex,fame,fashion,self-expression,sexual feelings , submission, gender roles and etc.One thing that did critics is eating s**t. while they criticised album.SoThe reason why ARTPOP is criticised is very clear:personal dislike to Gaga.But this album is very rich with its different pop,EDM,dubstep,disco,electro,R&B,house,rock,techno sounds and with lyrics discussing such themes like love,sex,fame,fashion,self-expression,sexual feelings , submission, gender roles and etc.One thing that did critics is eating s**t. while they criticised album.So that is the album which music industry needed long time.And this album’s songs’ not only choir,but also verses sound very well unlike albums whose songs’ only choirs sound good.In one word:Gaga’ best album! Expand
  94. May 9, 2015
    4
    ARTPOP suffers from too many EDM songs and it makes me feel that Gaga's team was rushing this album, even the lead single "Applause" was almost left off at the least minute. The highlights of the album are "Applause", "Do What U Want", "Dope", "X Dreams", and "Aura".
  95. May 4, 2015
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  96. May 3, 2015
    9
    ARTPOP is a strange balancing act between what Gaga wanted to make and what her fans wanted her to make. The concept was very ambitious and even a bit pretentious and only sometimes accomplished.That being said, ARTPOP is a fresh, new chapter in Gaga's eclectic discography, containing some of her best songs to date. It's also a clear move away from pure pop music and a rebellious musicalARTPOP is a strange balancing act between what Gaga wanted to make and what her fans wanted her to make. The concept was very ambitious and even a bit pretentious and only sometimes accomplished.That being said, ARTPOP is a fresh, new chapter in Gaga's eclectic discography, containing some of her best songs to date. It's also a clear move away from pure pop music and a rebellious musical experiment. Expand
  97. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    é tão mágico, inspirador e te leva a outro planeta de uma forma de tirar o folego.
    É um album que você ouve do inicio ao fim sem pular sequer uma faixa. Apesar de ser mal aproveitado, não tira a qualidade de tal.
  98. Apr 3, 2015
    8
    I really don't understand what critics hate so much about this album. Yes, there are a few weak points, but I think this album as a whole is very artistic (as the title suggests) and less repetitive than Born This way. The production is better than most modern pop music and the lyrics are controversial but interesting. For me this album gets a B+. Highlights: "Aura", "Venus", "S***xI really don't understand what critics hate so much about this album. Yes, there are a few weak points, but I think this album as a whole is very artistic (as the title suggests) and less repetitive than Born This way. The production is better than most modern pop music and the lyrics are controversial but interesting. For me this album gets a B+. Highlights: "Aura", "Venus", "S***x Dreams", "Swine". Worst song: "MANiCURE" Expand
  99. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    ARTPOP is the album of milenium pisa na doceira, vendendo menos ou não , adorei o álbum desde a primeira musica até a ultima, ótimo álbum, hinário incompreendido pela sua geração.
  100. Apr 2, 2015
    0
    apenas lixo musical. ninguem gostou dessa coisa, realmente Lady Gaga is over, rainha do flop, espero que flope cada vez mais ou continue escorada no Tony Bennett
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    The melodies here are fine, they do a job, but nothing backs up Gag's Warholian rhetoric or scales the barmy heights of Bad Romance. [Jan 2014, p.116]
  2. 60
    While it’s stronger than the messy ‘Born This Way’, Artpop feels little more culture-quaking than a good collection of fun, silly, well-crafted pop songs.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    50
    This is two albums in a row now that were basically a bit boring, and she needs to sort it out soonish please.