ARTPOP

ARTPOP Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third studio release for the dance pop artist features guest appearances from R. Kelly, T.I., Too Short and Twista as well as production from David Guetta, Infected Mushroom, Madeon, Rick Rubin, DJ White Shadow, will.i.am, Zedd, and Zisis.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    84
    Coherently channeling R&B, techno, disco and rock music as a pop artist while discussing sex, drugs, lust, God, fame and creativity, Lady Gaga has offered fans her most sonically and lyrically diverse album to date.
  2. 80
    She doesn’t do anything wildly original with them [musical genres], but she has fun.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    The concept is artful and logical, yet ARTPOP never insinuates or settles in the subconscious; it always assaults, determined to make an impression even when all it has to say is that it doesn't have much to say.
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    60
    It's no instant classic, then, but neither is it the calamity that some have foreseen, being a typically mixed Gaga outing with some ludicrous highs, questionable digressions (Jewels 'N' Drugs, in which three rappers add little to the mix; or Donatella, a charmless ode to the equally charmless Versace supremo) and plenty of not-unpleasant filler.
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    60
    ARTPOP wants to hide that it doesn’t have much to say.
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    50
    This is two albums in a row now that were basically a bit boring, and she needs to sort it out soonish please.
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    40
    Throughout ARTPOP signifier upon signifier is piled on top of sometimes brilliant melodies, creating enough room for breathless readings of Gaga’s ‘art’ certainly, but failing on the more basic level as engaging pop music.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    I love Lady Gaga, she's amazing. I love so much ARTPOP, I miss this era! I love Lady Gaga, she's amazing. I love so much ARTPOP, I miss this era!!!!!!
  2. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Amazing album and I think it's my favorite.Gaga sounds great.My favorite songs would be Sexxx Dreams, Aura, Mary Jane Holand, Applause, Do What U Want
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was releasedThis record is amazing. I can't stand the mixed or negative reviews this album gets when compared to the artistical "crap" that was released by Katy Perry, Miley Cyrus or anybody else. The entire album is written, (co-)produced and "done" by the artist not by a dozen of different songwriters or producers per track.

    ARTPOP is a truely epic pop release this year, far beyond every other release by a "high class artist".
    Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2014
    9
    ARTPOP delivers the futuristic-pop sound that you expect from none other than the Lady herself. From the individual songs themselves, ARTPOPARTPOP delivers the futuristic-pop sound that you expect from none other than the Lady herself. From the individual songs themselves, ARTPOP fails to deliver the successful chart-worthy singles that were seen from The Fame and The Fame Monster, much the same as Born This Way did. As an album itself, Gaga offers probably her best yet. The songs are able to beautifully transition to the next, even despite the often sharp contrast at times. It doesn't matter who you are, there will at least be one song off of the album that you will like. Whether you're a fan of rap, ballads, dance, there is a song for you on ARTPOP.

    If you're looking for a crazy album rearing to explode in a magnificent ejaculation of art, the album will no doubt be perfect for you. If you're looking for a few chart worthy songs then I might direct you to previous albums of hers. I hope Gaga in her next album can incorporate her sometimes basic, but timeless songs like 'Poker Face' and 'Bad Romance' in a real experimental album such as ARTPOP, to please both kinds of people. ARTPOP was my favourite album out of the pop divas in 2013, smashing Prism and Beyoncé's self titled album. Whilst the album may have its imperfections, it's definitely ones to be remembered amongst the greatest albums of all times.
    Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    It's easy to say, as a huge Lady Gaga fan that ARTPOP is the best pop release of 2013, which it might be, but it isn't 'perfect', especiallyIt's easy to say, as a huge Lady Gaga fan that ARTPOP is the best pop release of 2013, which it might be, but it isn't 'perfect', especially in comparison to her other work.
    From start to finish, it is evident that Mother-Monster worked her ass off, both as a vocalist and a producer, she polished all 15 tracks to true 'Gaga-ness'. I must thank her for that. But I feel, to be completely honest that the lyrical content is not up to par, with what Lady Gaga is completely capable of.

    I feel that this is a great dance album for all of Mother Monsters 'Little Monsters', from 'Aura' to 'Swine'. Then after that its starts to get slow. From 'Donatella' to 'Dope' it slows down completely, not saying they are bad songs, just not the songs you jam to at a party. Then with the last two songs 'Gypsy' and 'Applause' Gaga tries to bring back that dance party back and sort of achieves it. (Very smart to place 'Applause' at the end of the album btw!)

    Must download: 'Aura', 'Venus', 'G.U.Y.', 'Sexxx Dreams', 'Do What U Want (ft. R.Kelly)', 'ARTPOP', 'Swine', 'Gypsy' and 'Applause'
    Expand
  6. IGa
    Jan 30, 2016
    4
    Is here wrongly, full of promises he could not keep, "ARTPOP" sounds like an attempt not very successful innovation, which ended up being moreIs here wrongly, full of promises he could not keep, "ARTPOP" sounds like an attempt not very successful innovation, which ended up being more confusing beats and lyrics without much sense. The Pop Art vein was completely left aside here, and ended up making him a pop music album undefined. Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2015
    0
    Pior álbum da carreira, merece ser esquecido. Flopado em todos os sentidos, singles, vendagens e etc. Esperava mais de Lady Gaga, na verdadePior álbum da carreira, merece ser esquecido. Flopado em todos os sentidos, singles, vendagens e etc. Esperava mais de Lady Gaga, na verdade nem espero mais, já sei que caiu no abismo sem volta. Expand

See all 599 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.