Arular Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This short but wildly eclectic debut album from Maya Arulpragasam, a Sri Lankan-born, London-based artist and daughter of a Tamil Tiger revolutionary, is preceded by enormous buzz in both the U.K. and the U.S.

Top Track

Bucky Done Gun
London Quieten down and I need to make a sound New York Quieten down and I need to make a sound Kingston Quieten down and I need to make a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Spin
    100
    Will likely be the best political album this year. [Mar 2005, p.88]
  2. Uncut
    90
    M.I.A.'s vivid debut already sounds like a booty-shaking milestone to rank alongside The Streets and Dizzee Rascal. [May 2005, p.98]
  3. It's an accessible album, but one containing challenging contrasts. In the end, what's most impressive is how Arulpragasam powerfully weaves a consistent theme of rootlessness throughout the record, drawing on her experiences in both the third world and modern London, from civil war to Western urban culture, and her own, highly unique, bastardized form of pop music is the extraordinary end result.
  4. Shrapnel-sharp dance music that demands to be heard.
  5. The Wire
    80
    A thrilling affair. [#252, p.63]
  6. As an MC, M.I.A. sounds brash and sassy, a party-starter first and a polemicist second.
  7. Q Magazine
    60
    M.I.A.'s style mag-cool pop-rap doesn't have the substance to carry the dark subtext of the title. [May 2005, p.107]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 144
  1. JM
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    One of the essential albums of the year...
  2. JohnD
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    Let's get some things straight here. First of all, I am not some dude who goes out and buys the latest thing on the market; my money is Let's get some things straight here. First of all, I am not some dude who goes out and buys the latest thing on the market; my money is very valuable to me, and I spend it sparingly. I also do not like to dance all that often (or, I like to spare people around me the sight of me dancing whenever possible). Now, I happen to think that this is one of the best albums of the year so far, so my opinion could be seen as unusual. If you were expecting production values rivaling those of 50 Cent's albums, you would probably be dissappointed here, since M.I.A. would rather create a true product than an instant hit. Don't expect this to be a rap album, either; this is dance-hall music through and through. If you don't like it, then maybe its just not your taste. I'm not quite sure why I like this album so much, but the fact is that I do like it. Expand
  3. TyeN.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    This is one of the finest debut albums ever made. Even made on a small budget it contains some of the catchiest beats ever created. And as an This is one of the finest debut albums ever made. Even made on a small budget it contains some of the catchiest beats ever created. And as an artist M.I.A. slings political lyrics and even social ones that are so mind blowingly simple yet amazingly clever (like the line "Lolita was a man eater/Clocked him like a taxi meter/Fuck glod she's pltinum digger/She can dance, makin' moves on the mover/Visa then a plane ride to ya/peace out she'll kill you like Uma"- from the song 10 Dollar). M.I.A. is an outstanding new artist that deserves your attention. I can't wait to here what she can do in a real studio with bigger producers. I'll be first in line when her second album drops. Expand
  4. Dana
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    This is an exceptional album. Up until the past couple months I really didn't listen to this type of music (I was more of an alternative This is an exceptional album. Up until the past couple months I really didn't listen to this type of music (I was more of an alternative rock/trip-hop listener). I'm glad I've broadened my musical horizons. Expand
  5. NicholasT
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    There are very few albums that I listen to and love immediately. Arular is one of them. This album is simply put, fun. It begs to be listened There are very few albums that I listen to and love immediately. Arular is one of them. This album is simply put, fun. It begs to be listened to and danced to but there is also so much depth to be found beneath the pop/hip-hop surface. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    One look at the cover and you know that this album isnâ
  7. Buck65
    Mar 22, 2005
    0
    This album is not good and overrated. There are so many albums just like this and are for some reason rated differently.

See all 144 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century

    The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century Image
    Published: October 19, 2017
    These are the 30 highest-scoring hip hop albums released since 2000.