Arular

Arular Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This short but wildly eclectic debut album from Maya Arulpragasam, a Sri Lankan-born, London-based artist and daughter of a Tamil Tiger revolutionary, is preceded by enormous buzz in both the U.K. and the U.S.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Spin
    100
    Will likely be the best political album this year. [Mar 2005, p.88]
  2. Uncut
    90
    M.I.A.'s vivid debut already sounds like a booty-shaking milestone to rank alongside The Streets and Dizzee Rascal. [May 2005, p.98]
  3. It's an accessible album, but one containing challenging contrasts. In the end, what's most impressive is how Arulpragasam powerfully weaves a consistent theme of rootlessness throughout the record, drawing on her experiences in both the third world and modern London, from civil war to Western urban culture, and her own, highly unique, bastardized form of pop music is the extraordinary end result.
  4. Shrapnel-sharp dance music that demands to be heard.
  5. The Wire
    80
    A thrilling affair. [#252, p.63]
  6. As an MC, M.I.A. sounds brash and sassy, a party-starter first and a polemicist second.
  7. Q Magazine
    60
    M.I.A.'s style mag-cool pop-rap doesn't have the substance to carry the dark subtext of the title. [May 2005, p.107]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 144
  1. JM
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    One of the essential albums of the year...
  2. kammie
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    Bliss!!!! This is the most addictive album I ever heard in my whole entire life!!!! They get stuck in your head and you need more, you Bliss!!!! This is the most addictive album I ever heard in my whole entire life!!!! They get stuck in your head and you need more, you absolutely need it!!! It's like giving an 80 dollar sample of crack cocaine to a crackhead!!! This is the best cd I ever heard in my life!!!! Pure joy!!! Bliss!!!!!!!!! Collapse
  3. BrooklynK
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Awesome Album! I really enjoy it. Crazy beats and heavy thoughts. Totally worth the 25$ Hah
  4. RichardR
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    This record is great. My only complaint is why no more pictures of her! She's way beyond sexy... More than half of the songs are as This record is great. My only complaint is why no more pictures of her! She's way beyond sexy... More than half of the songs are as catchy and creative as can be. Expand
  5. NADIAG
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    read a review on her and decided to buy the album.. One of the best albums i have ever heard. If i need to get hyped up or motivated for read a review on her and decided to buy the album.. One of the best albums i have ever heard. If i need to get hyped up or motivated for anything,thats the cd i grab..totally addictive. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    One look at the cover and you know that this album isnâ
  7. Buck65
    Mar 22, 2005
    0
    This album is not good and overrated. There are so many albums just like this and are for some reason rated differently.

See all 144 User Reviews