Astro Coast

  • Record Label: Kanine
  • Release Date: Jan 19, 2010
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    This made my favorite albums of 2010 lists. Just a fantastic debut from the Florida based band. I look forward to hearing more of their work in the future. Early Weezer and the Pixes come to mind when I listen to the record.
  2. Sep 7, 2010
    7
    This album captures the throwback feel while sounding modern. Just because 'surfer' is in the groups name, this sound has little to do with 'surf music'. Love the off kilter arrangements in spots. Lou Reed would be proud of his influences.
  3. MannyF.
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Best damn record this year, and the year is just starting!!! a must listen. the hooks, OMG THE HOOKS!!!
  4. eastside
    Jan 21, 2010
    8
    Nicely done guitar interplay and well put together tunes carry this enjoyable debut from these Florida youngsters. The album blazes out of the gate with four excellent tunes and does not let up. The mood does darken toward the end, but it's no downer. "Anchorage" may well be my favorite tune on this immediate winner. Most of the reviews state it accurately: shades of Shins, Pixies, Nicely done guitar interplay and well put together tunes carry this enjoyable debut from these Florida youngsters. The album blazes out of the gate with four excellent tunes and does not let up. The mood does darken toward the end, but it's no downer. "Anchorage" may well be my favorite tune on this immediate winner. Most of the reviews state it accurately: shades of Shins, Pixies, Pavement and Weezer abound. Recommended to fans of the aforementioned. Expand
  5. TylerI
    Jan 27, 2010
    8
    The 'no ripcord' review of this album is amazing in its complete lack of musical perspective in comparing this music to surf rock. I mean I guess it must be since surfer is in their name... right? The assumption that the author makes, that the musicians in this band are somehow paying homage to a slew of bands they probably don't listen to is wildly amusing.
  6. Movitunes
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    Excellent Stuff! Truly great for 1st timers and I'm excited to see what a major producer will do for them although the slightly "unclean" feel of these songs makes me think Beach Boys. Never a bad comparison! Start listening with Anchorage.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    70
    Astro Coast is a welcome reminder of the youthful vigour and playfulness of early Pavement and Weezer, imbibing the Sixties rule-book of good pop without coming off as a bad pastiche.
  2. He delivers a reprise of the same B part in a more forceful, normal voice: "Why is everything a chore?/I'm too young to be defeated." So far, he isn't. Wish him luck with that riptide.
  3. Their potential is the wrong thing to appreciate: it's their immediacy, their unstudied and unfocused energy, that hits the spot.