Astronaut

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2004
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mozmonk
    Feb 6, 2005
    9
    Would have been a 10 , but for the naffness of Bedroom Toys.
  2. SteveB
    Oct 19, 2004
    8
    Totally accessible and highly enjoyable CD for anyone who has ever listened to DD just for the pure guilty pleasure of their particular brand of pop-rock. Reminds me in the drum-heavy spots of "Hold Back the Rain" -- good thing -- and doesn't try to re-create "Is there something I should know?" or "The Reflex" -- it just stands on its own. Would have been a much better received in Totally accessible and highly enjoyable CD for anyone who has ever listened to DD just for the pure guilty pleasure of their particular brand of pop-rock. Reminds me in the drum-heavy spots of "Hold Back the Rain" -- good thing -- and doesn't try to re-create "Is there something I should know?" or "The Reflex" -- it just stands on its own. Would have been a much better received in the 80's if it had been released instead of the dull "Notorious" album. If you didn't care for DD in any of their incarnations, this CD won't change your mind. But if you like DD, this is worth buying. Expand
  3. NomNam
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Excluding Bedroom Toys, Astrounaut was excelent.
  4. LJDee
    Oct 15, 2004
    4
    This latest DD album is a failed attempt to rejuvenate the style of a band that has clearly run out of ideas. Recasting former band members has not done any magic for a band that stopped delivering quality music since 1993's "Wedding album".
  5. BuntyH
    May 8, 2005
    0
    YAAAAAAAAWWWWWWNNN What Drivel
  6. ZeljkoS
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    The wild boys back on the planet earth! They save the prayer! They have new pop religion! astronauti is youngest brother of planeth earth, still breathing is boyfriend of save a prayer.point of no return is new religion part two.bedroom toys is the best friend of notorious.Sunrise is music genetic enginering of rio and girls on film.Nice is the reflex and echoes from rio and ...tiger. The wild boys back on the planet earth! They save the prayer! They have new pop religion! astronauti is youngest brother of planeth earth, still breathing is boyfriend of save a prayer.point of no return is new religion part two.bedroom toys is the best friend of notorious.Sunrise is music genetic enginering of rio and girls on film.Nice is the reflex and echoes from rio and ...tiger. WANT YOU MORE! REGARDS FROM BELGRADE,SERBIA! Expand
  7. DavidC
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    Loved the return to style
  8. FrankS
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Truly an amazing album!
  9. mairec
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    Quite funky in parts, catchy tunes. A good effort.
  10. FerdinandL
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    An album full of beautiful collisions of groove, beat, rythym and melody. A masterpiece. Although this album is possibly made with a purpose of reminding its audience about the unique sound of Duran Duran, it is nevertheless very fresh and contemporary. This band deserve a lot more credits than they got.
  11. MichaelM
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    I felt the album was everything I remember from my childhood (I had a mid-20s Mother). Its upbeat, catchy, a musical. They use their fair share of syth, but its not the kind of produce you'd get from Likin Park or Brittney Spears. They seemed to have really put thought into the lyrics and the guitar rifs really getting back to their roots and proving they are not dead. I hope their I felt the album was everything I remember from my childhood (I had a mid-20s Mother). Its upbeat, catchy, a musical. They use their fair share of syth, but its not the kind of produce you'd get from Likin Park or Brittney Spears. They seemed to have really put thought into the lyrics and the guitar rifs really getting back to their roots and proving they are not dead. I hope their next album is more ground breaking though. Expand
  12. TraceyM
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    When I first listened to Astronaut it felt shivers it was so good. After repeated playing I now appreciate how much they have matured musically. It was truly fantastic.
  13. MelG
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Great to have these guys back. Stylish, edgy and fun.
  14. missblossmmm
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    higly anticipated was this cd! on first listen i found tracks 4-7 stood out immediately. then after a few more listens the latter part of the cd came alive... every listen and every mood unleashes another song! the track 'nice' is the stand out single.
  15. AdamD
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    I love this CD, it's about time Duran Duran got back down to business and put all the past crap behind them and make some great music. My favorits on this CD are Sunrise, Want you more! Bedroom toys,nice and the best of them all Finest hour.I am and always will be Duranie.
  16. chickflick
    Oct 13, 2004
    10
    brilliant..........superb!
  17. bugsbunny
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    duran at it's best...
  18. FrankO
    Oct 15, 2004
    9
    A fine return to form for the original "Wild Boys" of the 80s!
  19. SBx
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    excellent. the 80s lives again.
  20. CMonti
    Oct 18, 2004
    8
    First 6 tracks are very good. CD loses steam after that. Still, best effort since the "Wedding Album" more than a decade ago. 3rd track stands out.
  21. TobT
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    laughing
  22. charlieh
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    It's wonderful! TASTE THE SUMMER is my favorite, it grows on you. I'm very excited for the band. Good job guys!
  23. missshneak
    Oct 19, 2004
    5
    Songs 1-4 are delicious and worthy of the repeat button. Everything else is good to so-so... Pretty bland after song 4 unfortunately. Some moments make me shake my head wondering who let the "I find it in your mouth" lyrics or "do do dododo..." pass the cheezy detector (they still have those, don't they?).
  24. ShabarO
    Oct 21, 2004
    6
    It feels like this offering is uncomplete. The best mixes with the banalities. Yes they have succeeded in getting of some of the magic back but it looks like they can't keeping it up for long enough. Maybe something to do with age. Get some viagra for the next one! By the way my favorite tracks are in the latter part of the album. 6 for reminding me how old we are.
  25. BitBurn
    Oct 25, 2004
    6
    I was so happy when I heard Duran Duran was reforming nearly 2 years ago but now I'm a bit disappointed by the end result! This new album with the original line-up since 1985, kind of left me numb. It's not entirely bad it's just "ordinary". But then again, isn't this "80s-retro" era over yet? This new Duran-reunion album should've been released 3 years ago! I was so happy when I heard Duran Duran was reforming nearly 2 years ago but now I'm a bit disappointed by the end result! This new album with the original line-up since 1985, kind of left me numb. It's not entirely bad it's just "ordinary". But then again, isn't this "80s-retro" era over yet? This new Duran-reunion album should've been released 3 years ago! Nonetheless, a few songs does spark some cool memories and production is nearly flawless. Expand
  26. JesseS
    Oct 28, 2004
    5
    This is no where near the quality of the first 3 records with Andy & Roger, and about as good as most of the records without Andy & Roger. The songwriting is merely pleasant, always wispy, and very commercial--with the exception of the title track and "Point of No Return". Even if Ragged Tiger was too commercial, it had an overblown dramatic quality and safari eccentricity that was almost This is no where near the quality of the first 3 records with Andy & Roger, and about as good as most of the records without Andy & Roger. The songwriting is merely pleasant, always wispy, and very commercial--with the exception of the title track and "Point of No Return". Even if Ragged Tiger was too commercial, it had an overblown dramatic quality and safari eccentricity that was almost overwhelming and always fun. "Rio" was a heartfelt European-flavoured phenomenon which managed to simultaneously be bright and dark or excited and cooly bored. The debut record was sleek, tight, emotive, and....really quite perfect. But alas. The 2004 album "Astronaut" is yawn-inspiring; it has a been there-done that, let's-make-some-money-and pretend-to-be-excited by our boring melodies feel. Sorry, "Sunrise" is catchy but that doesn't make it good. I'll take Arcadia's "So Red the Rose" over this, 100 times over. Expand
  27. BobM
    Jan 17, 2005
    9
    High energy with a hint of the 80's magic. New Duran Duran for those who missed them the first time. Like all their other best albums, you have to let it grow on you. Damn, it is so much better than what's on the airwaves these days.
  28. juliesroomxxx
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    I love this albumthe bass is fantastic and Simon's voice has seemed to improve over the years.
  29. CecM
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    I find this CD gets better and better the more I listen to it. The boys are back!!
  30. arielb
    Feb 8, 2005
    8
    I love the cd...to think this is the first cd after so many years of not writing together they still have the juice left to put a good album. Its baffling they are still pigeonholed in the 80's by critics. I rated them this much because I know the best is yet to come...funny there are a lot less talented band/singers out there who gets good reviews just because they have the "cool I love the cd...to think this is the first cd after so many years of not writing together they still have the juice left to put a good album. Its baffling they are still pigeonholed in the 80's by critics. I rated them this much because I know the best is yet to come...funny there are a lot less talented band/singers out there who gets good reviews just because they have the "cool band" factor... Expand
  31. EWang
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    I've been listening to this album for the last 5 months...continuously in my car. How can it not be the best album yet!
  32. StephanieF
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    What a wonderful, energetic CD. After albums like "Pop Trash" this is upbeat and optimistic. Flawless, no disappointments. What a set of pipes that sexy Simon Le Bon has ^_-
  33. AndyM
    Apr 7, 2005
    8
    The CD starts strong, but ends fairly poorly. The songs after "Finest Hour" (in my opinion the best track on the CD) are forgettable. One wonders why they chose to offer songs like "One of the These Days," "Point of No Return," "Chains," and the absolutely dreadful "Taste the Summer" over something like "Virus" (which they debuted on stage a few years ago). "Bedroom Toys" initially seemed The CD starts strong, but ends fairly poorly. The songs after "Finest Hour" (in my opinion the best track on the CD) are forgettable. One wonders why they chose to offer songs like "One of the These Days," "Point of No Return," "Chains," and the absolutely dreadful "Taste the Summer" over something like "Virus" (which they debuted on stage a few years ago). "Bedroom Toys" initially seemed unlikeable, but it sounded great on their recent tour. Basically, half the CD is excellent, the other half is mediocre (save Taste the Summer, which is one of the worst songs Duran has ever done - a decent groove with flat out embarrasingly bad lyrics). Still, the overall effect is better than virtually any CD out there today. Expand
  34. LoneB
    Jul 27, 2005
    7
    In the beginning I was dissapointed. I thought it was a boring and easy forgotten album. After having listened to the CD several times songs like "Chains", "Nice" and "Want you more" stand out. Simon's vocal in "Chains" relaxes me, the sound of his voice floats inside like honey. It soothes me. The drums, the bass and the guitar work their way and make "Nice" and "Want you more" good In the beginning I was dissapointed. I thought it was a boring and easy forgotten album. After having listened to the CD several times songs like "Chains", "Nice" and "Want you more" stand out. Simon's vocal in "Chains" relaxes me, the sound of his voice floats inside like honey. It soothes me. The drums, the bass and the guitar work their way and make "Nice" and "Want you more" good songs. The lyrics in the choruses are generally weak. Parts of the songs are fantastic, energetic and great, but it is as if Duran Duran can't make it through a whole song. The song "Astronaut" gets cut in the middle by something that should never have been there. I hope the next album will have genuine and whole songs and not just be the left-overs of what didn't make it to the CD "Astronaut". However I borrowed the album from a friend and had to deliver it back yesterday. Today I simply have to buy the CD, because I miss it allready. Expand
  35. MarianG
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Its the best Duran Duran after end of the 80s.
  36. luisd
    Sep 23, 2005
    9
    excelente
  37. djMerky
    Nov 15, 2004
    8
    Very nice album. 2 songs wich I don't like but most of them R wonderfull... Have too listen more then once to explore the quality, it's worth it!
  38. ArnoldM
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    After listening and reading the lyrics, it is clear that the band has been down the road of life. The melodies remind one of the great 80's syntho-pop, but the lyrics are from older, wiser, and harder men. Bravo!
  39. csiagian
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    Fun listen all the way through. Bedroom Toys and Chains stand out. They've still got it.
  40. TLattanzio
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    The best Duran has sounded since Seven and the Ragged Tiger. The magic is back!
  41. TravisJ
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    I was never a big DD fan although I am a wild child of the 80's. This album was nostalgic yet irresitably fresh. DD is back baby!
  42. Swirley
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    I absolutely love it. It's 80's with a modern twist. Definitely a great car cd for that long drive to work, surely you will be in a great mood once you reach your destination. Rock on!
  43. gus
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    This is the second best cd these guys have done (after Rio). MUCH better than 7! I have followed the band since the beginning and this is a well crafted musical adventure. Can't wait to hear these songs performed live.
  44. TaniaC
    Mar 19, 2005
    9
    The sweet melodies of Duran Duran are still there- it's a very distinctive style, noone sounds like them, they are in a league of their own, the use of all the different instruments blend in quite well together, the chemistry is still there with the original members. However, I wasn't very fond of Can you taste the summer.
  45. FredricsonD.
    Jul 17, 2007
    6
    Not a bad album, but not really a great album either. I think the novelty of the original line up reuniting to work together, beat out the substance of the album. I know they took a few years to complete the album. I think this may have contributed to the lack of luster for most of the songs. I mean, the songs don't seem to have any real energy or excitement, and are too polished, Not a bad album, but not really a great album either. I think the novelty of the original line up reuniting to work together, beat out the substance of the album. I know they took a few years to complete the album. I think this may have contributed to the lack of luster for most of the songs. I mean, the songs don't seem to have any real energy or excitement, and are too polished, and over-produced. I hope their next album is more fresh. Expand
  46. dales
    Sep 19, 2009
    5
    Half the songs are very catchy with groovin hooks thatll make you dance in true duran fashion. while the other half is just awful. a reunion album that should've been more impressive.
  47. Christian
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    "Medazzaland" was the album I waited for Duran Duran to make. "Astronaut" is the album I've waited for the original Fab 5 to make. This album surpasses the genius of the first two. I say "Bedroom Toys" and "Point of No Return" make great b-sides. This album is stylish, glossy and confident. It would have been perfect in my view if not for the "b-sides" I mentioned. A classic.
  48. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    I was not as excited about the reunion as many fans were, as I was never really a huge fan of Andy Taylor's guitar style. However, I was pleased with the album. It was classic Duran Duran bright synthpop goodness. Some songs were weaker than others such as "Still Breathing" and "Bedroom Toys", but it was not skip worthy. This album seemed to be more cohesive than some other albums, andI was not as excited about the reunion as many fans were, as I was never really a huge fan of Andy Taylor's guitar style. However, I was pleased with the album. It was classic Duran Duran bright synthpop goodness. Some songs were weaker than others such as "Still Breathing" and "Bedroom Toys", but it was not skip worthy. This album seemed to be more cohesive than some other albums, and did not go crazy with experimentation. This is an album worth listening to, but did not seem to give the band the much needed boost it needed album sales wise, but did extremely well gig wise. Why? The live shows seemed to be a lot better than the studio cuts. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Uncut
    60
    It's sleek, groomed and genetically engineered to within an inch of sonic perfection, but there's very little that's memorable. [Nov 2004, p.120]
  2. Awesomely anodyne, breathtakingly boring and crushingly clichéd, â??Astronautâ? singularly fails to take flight.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    50
    At a time when newer acts, from fringe to mainstream, are moving the band's old ideas forward, Duran Duran needs to do more than just mix in the blips and bleeps of contemporary dance music to prove it has something to contribute. [31 Oct 2004]