• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2004
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mozmonk
    Feb 6, 2005
    9
    Would have been a 10 , but for the naffness of Bedroom Toys.
  2. NomNam
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Excluding Bedroom Toys, Astrounaut was excelent.
  3. ZeljkoS
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    The wild boys back on the planet earth! They save the prayer! They have new pop religion! astronauti is youngest brother of planeth earth, still breathing is boyfriend of save a prayer.point of no return is new religion part two.bedroom toys is the best friend of notorious.Sunrise is music genetic enginering of rio and girls on film.Nice is the reflex and echoes from rio and ...tiger. The wild boys back on the planet earth! They save the prayer! They have new pop religion! astronauti is youngest brother of planeth earth, still breathing is boyfriend of save a prayer.point of no return is new religion part two.bedroom toys is the best friend of notorious.Sunrise is music genetic enginering of rio and girls on film.Nice is the reflex and echoes from rio and ...tiger. WANT YOU MORE! REGARDS FROM BELGRADE,SERBIA! Expand
  4. DavidC
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    Loved the return to style
  5. FrankS
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Truly an amazing album!
  6. mairec
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    Quite funky in parts, catchy tunes. A good effort.
  7. FerdinandL
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    An album full of beautiful collisions of groove, beat, rythym and melody. A masterpiece. Although this album is possibly made with a purpose of reminding its audience about the unique sound of Duran Duran, it is nevertheless very fresh and contemporary. This band deserve a lot more credits than they got.
  8. MichaelM
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    I felt the album was everything I remember from my childhood (I had a mid-20s Mother). Its upbeat, catchy, a musical. They use their fair share of syth, but its not the kind of produce you'd get from Likin Park or Brittney Spears. They seemed to have really put thought into the lyrics and the guitar rifs really getting back to their roots and proving they are not dead. I hope their I felt the album was everything I remember from my childhood (I had a mid-20s Mother). Its upbeat, catchy, a musical. They use their fair share of syth, but its not the kind of produce you'd get from Likin Park or Brittney Spears. They seemed to have really put thought into the lyrics and the guitar rifs really getting back to their roots and proving they are not dead. I hope their next album is more ground breaking though. Expand
  9. TraceyM
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    When I first listened to Astronaut it felt shivers it was so good. After repeated playing I now appreciate how much they have matured musically. It was truly fantastic.
  10. MelG
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Great to have these guys back. Stylish, edgy and fun.
  11. missblossmmm
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    higly anticipated was this cd! on first listen i found tracks 4-7 stood out immediately. then after a few more listens the latter part of the cd came alive... every listen and every mood unleashes another song! the track 'nice' is the stand out single.
  12. AdamD
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    I love this CD, it's about time Duran Duran got back down to business and put all the past crap behind them and make some great music. My favorits on this CD are Sunrise, Want you more! Bedroom toys,nice and the best of them all Finest hour.I am and always will be Duranie.
  13. chickflick
    Oct 13, 2004
    10
    brilliant..........superb!
  14. bugsbunny
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    duran at it's best...
  15. FrankO
    Oct 15, 2004
    9
    A fine return to form for the original "Wild Boys" of the 80s!
  16. SBx
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    excellent. the 80s lives again.
  17. TobT
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    laughing
  18. charlieh
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    It's wonderful! TASTE THE SUMMER is my favorite, it grows on you. I'm very excited for the band. Good job guys!
  19. BobM
    Jan 17, 2005
    9
    High energy with a hint of the 80's magic. New Duran Duran for those who missed them the first time. Like all their other best albums, you have to let it grow on you. Damn, it is so much better than what's on the airwaves these days.
  20. juliesroomxxx
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    I love this albumthe bass is fantastic and Simon's voice has seemed to improve over the years.
  21. CecM
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    I find this CD gets better and better the more I listen to it. The boys are back!!
  22. EWang
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    I've been listening to this album for the last 5 months...continuously in my car. How can it not be the best album yet!
  23. StephanieF
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    What a wonderful, energetic CD. After albums like "Pop Trash" this is upbeat and optimistic. Flawless, no disappointments. What a set of pipes that sexy Simon Le Bon has ^_-
  24. MarianG
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Its the best Duran Duran after end of the 80s.
  25. luisd
    Sep 23, 2005
    9
    excelente
  26. ArnoldM
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    After listening and reading the lyrics, it is clear that the band has been down the road of life. The melodies remind one of the great 80's syntho-pop, but the lyrics are from older, wiser, and harder men. Bravo!
  27. csiagian
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    Fun listen all the way through. Bedroom Toys and Chains stand out. They've still got it.
  28. TLattanzio
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    The best Duran has sounded since Seven and the Ragged Tiger. The magic is back!
  29. TravisJ
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    I was never a big DD fan although I am a wild child of the 80's. This album was nostalgic yet irresitably fresh. DD is back baby!
  30. Swirley
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    I absolutely love it. It's 80's with a modern twist. Definitely a great car cd for that long drive to work, surely you will be in a great mood once you reach your destination. Rock on!
  31. gus
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    This is the second best cd these guys have done (after Rio). MUCH better than 7! I have followed the band since the beginning and this is a well crafted musical adventure. Can't wait to hear these songs performed live.
  32. TaniaC
    Mar 19, 2005
    9
    The sweet melodies of Duran Duran are still there- it's a very distinctive style, noone sounds like them, they are in a league of their own, the use of all the different instruments blend in quite well together, the chemistry is still there with the original members. However, I wasn't very fond of Can you taste the summer.
  33. Christian
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    "Medazzaland" was the album I waited for Duran Duran to make. "Astronaut" is the album I've waited for the original Fab 5 to make. This album surpasses the genius of the first two. I say "Bedroom Toys" and "Point of No Return" make great b-sides. This album is stylish, glossy and confident. It would have been perfect in my view if not for the "b-sides" I mentioned. A classic.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. 60
    It's sleek, groomed and genetically engineered to within an inch of sonic perfection, but there's very little that's memorable. [Nov 2004, p.120]
  2. Awesomely anodyne, breathtakingly boring and crushingly clichéd, â??Astronautâ? singularly fails to take flight.
  3. At a time when newer acts, from fringe to mainstream, are moving the band's old ideas forward, Duran Duran needs to do more than just mix in the blips and bleeps of contemporary dance music to prove it has something to contribute. [31 Oct 2004]