Asylum

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Aug 31, 2010
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 69
  2. Negative: 2 out of 69
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    Disturbed is my favorite band of all time. I picked this album up day 1 and was looking really forward to it, but was skeptical because "another way to die" is not their best work by a long shot. The album is better than I expected but out of their 5 studio albums, I rate this one 4 out of 5. This album is not bad in any way, just not as memorable as others. All opinions are differentDisturbed is my favorite band of all time. I picked this album up day 1 and was looking really forward to it, but was skeptical because "another way to die" is not their best work by a long shot. The album is better than I expected but out of their 5 studio albums, I rate this one 4 out of 5. This album is not bad in any way, just not as memorable as others. All opinions are different so I'll show my order of favorite albums.
    1. The Sickness, 2. Indestructible, 3. 10,000 Fists, 4. Asylum, 5. Believe.
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    This album by far is one of their best albums. I loved it, the song THE INFECTION is my favorites. My overall favorite on this album is Innocence. I still liked Sickness more but this one is up in my top 5's
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq
  4. DME
    Jun 20, 2012
    10
    A fantastic hard rock album with only 1 weak track, and even that is still listenable.
  5. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    "Asylum" might be the best Disturbed album. There is a lot of variety between the tracks but it still contains the core sound of the band. Fantastic musicianship (particularly in the vocals and guitar work) all around. Listen to this and go nuts.
  6. May 8, 2011
    8
    Just Disturbed doing what they do best, as usual. Nothing much new here compared to all their other albums and it suffers the same lack of diversity throughout but still a very good album.
  7. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    I got this album as soon as it came out. I was not disapointed in it. The only one song I felt wasn't strong but the others were awesome. You will not be disapointed if you get it. It is a must for any Disturbed fans and a good bet to get for Non-Disturbed fans who love rock and metal.
  8. Aug 31, 2010
    7
    Disturbed is absolutely my favorite band of all time, so of course I got this the first day it came out. In all, it's not their best work, honestly, 10,000 fists and Indestructible were better. HOWEVER, it is still a GREAT album. If you are any kind of disturbed fan, you'll like this album and you should definitely pick it up.
  9. Sep 1, 2010
    9
    My biggest fear with Asylum was that it was going to have songs that all sounded very similar. However I was extremely pleased with the variety of songs. For example "Leave it alone" and "Innocence" sounded quite different from each other and compared to songs like "Warrior" and "Asylum" it was very different. Basically almost every song has a uniqueness to it and for that reason aloneMy biggest fear with Asylum was that it was going to have songs that all sounded very similar. However I was extremely pleased with the variety of songs. For example "Leave it alone" and "Innocence" sounded quite different from each other and compared to songs like "Warrior" and "Asylum" it was very different. Basically almost every song has a uniqueness to it and for that reason alone Asylum should be bought by any disturbed fan.

    Overall if you even think disturbed is pretty good to listen to really consider purchasing it. Although if you are a true disturbed fan you won't be disappointed and should buy this album without thinking.
    Expand
  10. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    The best disturbed album to date, creating fresh and imaginative songs while sticking to their own formula using brilliant vocals and great guitar play. Asylum makes Disturbed one of the best rock bands out there and one of the finest rock albums released this year.
  11. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    The sound of disturbed has definitely changed every album forward, and this is the best yet. Thats saying allot when my favorite album of all time was Ten Thousand Fists. This one was better than Indestructible, which is a sign of progress in the band that already sounds perfect. The song variety in this one was great, and they all had their own sound. The "I still haven't found what I'mThe sound of disturbed has definitely changed every album forward, and this is the best yet. Thats saying allot when my favorite album of all time was Ten Thousand Fists. This one was better than Indestructible, which is a sign of progress in the band that already sounds perfect. The song variety in this one was great, and they all had their own sound. The "I still haven't found what I'm looking for", extra song is great, and really describes what disturbed obviously feels about their music, but not me ;) Expand
  12. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    outstanding a great album recommended for any disturbed fan and a must have for any heavy metal fan there is a lot of variety between heavy and alternative metal
  13. Sep 2, 2011
    7
    Nothing particuarly new or innovative here. It's just basically Disturbed doing their thing.
    It's still hard rocking, catchy and pleasing to any metal fan. But anybody with an expansive record collection can see that Disturbed is just another conventional rock band if nothing spectacular.
  14. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    I enjoy the majority of the songs on this album and Disturbed is my favorite band. These songs (particularly "Animal" and "Warrior") are filled with power and energy that will get anyone's blood flowing. Furthermore, these lyrics contain a depth and meaning behind them, a refreshing relief from most pop songs.
  15. Oct 1, 2012
    7
    Disturbed has always been better than the usual screamo-metal rubbish. They ignore screamo but make rememberable and headbang-choruses. That's what I expect from a heavy metal album, so in this respect they made everything right. Although 5 of the 13 songs are only mean, it's a pretty good album!
  16. Jan 27, 2016
    8
    A truly brilliant album I have heard so many times, I am actually listening to it as I write this review and every time I listen to it, it seems to get better and that is what I believe makes an excellent album.
  17. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Asylum won't set the world alight, but it's certainly not monotonous enough to send anyone to the madhouse.
  2. Kerrang!
    60
    If you never liked them, this album probably won't change your mind. But, for anyone already "down with the sickness" Asylum is quite possibly their best record to date. [21 Aug 2010, p.50]
  3. Asylum is undoubtedly one of the strongest albums in Disturbed's storied career.