Atlas - Parkway Drive
Atlas Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the Australian metal band was produced by Matt Hyde in Los Angeles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    Cohesive and engaging throughout, this is the sound of a band at their most fearless. [Nov 2012, p.92]
  2. Lyrically and musically (guitarists Luke Kilpatrick and Jeff Ling showcase impressive tapping and riffing throughout), this is Parkway Drive at its best--combining the best elements from its previous albums and expanding on them to create an album that encompasses all your senses.
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    80
    The album's depth and openness to straying away from typical devices of the genre make Atlas one of the more engaging and thought-provoking metalcore releases amid a sea of the interchangeable riffs and howls of other bands.
  4. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    Atlas is a perfect return to form for Parkway Drive.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    Another dicey sell for the moshers probably happier to indulge in the record's belligerent breakdowns and build-ups. [Dec 2012, p.109]
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    50
    Too bad that, even at its best, this Atlas maps well-trodden ground.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best metalcore bands brings out the best of them. An engaging album from the first track to the last. A must listen for anyOne of the best metalcore bands brings out the best of them. An engaging album from the first track to the last. A must listen for any metalhead. My personal favourites being 'Dark Days', 'The River', 'Atlas' and 'Swing'. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    Extremely diverse and perfectly well-crafted work of art. Parkway Drive has taken a very different turn, but still has their classic metalcoreExtremely diverse and perfectly well-crafted work of art. Parkway Drive has taken a very different turn, but still has their classic metalcore spin. Breakdowns are still brĂ¼tal as **** and melodies are extremely catchy. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Parkway Drive are one of my favourite bands, and being an Aussie myself, i can't help but feel some pride. Their latest release Atlas in myParkway Drive are one of my favourite bands, and being an Aussie myself, i can't help but feel some pride. Their latest release Atlas in my opinion was quite good, it took what made Deep Blue great and made it better, but also taking from Horizons to keep older fans happy. The result was a great album, to which all the songs are above average. Without going into to much detail fans of the band will greatly enjoy this album, essentially being more Parkway Drive, while casual listeners may find this more of the same, which isn't necessarily bad thing. Standout tracks include "Wild eyes", "Dark Days", "The River", and "The Blue and the Grey". The instrumentation is still great, and overall this is my favourite parkway album, because in my opinion it took what i loved most from Deep Blue and Horizons. Definitely give this album a go. Collapse
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    There are some minor additions to the band's sound like some symphonic elements, female vocals and scratches in one song, but mostly this isThere are some minor additions to the band's sound like some symphonic elements, female vocals and scratches in one song, but mostly this is the typical Parkway Drive melodic metalcore sound. So this could be a huge plus for the fans, because the band keeps their style, but also It can be a minus for the others, because the band do not evolve much from album to album. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    Felt rather disappointing by this album, need a lot more verification between tracks, Every track felt like a copy from the album Deep Blue,Felt rather disappointing by this album, need a lot more verification between tracks, Every track felt like a copy from the album Deep Blue, probably the worst album from parkway drive, but still a fun album with a few great songs, Meh is the final verdict Expand