Atlas

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2014
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Oct 28, 2014
    60
    If anything, Atlas sounds like a fully formed album from another era, complete with woozy harmonies, an assured shimmer and a constant jangle.
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    60
    Atlas sees a further distillation of their sound; where once appealingly fuzzy, guitars now chime with crystalline clarity.
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    60
    It's a pity they remain slavishly committed to a successful template and too often Atlas feels like a memory of a memory.
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    58
    The Real Estate of Days was eager to take the listener off guard, to show off its ample musicianship through tunefully off-kilter songs. In contrast, the band that made Atlas seems to be hesitatingly wondering what to do next. Here’s hoping it’s something surprising.
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    40
    Though the record cleans up some with the drifting “How Might I Live” and a quick hit of sadness from closer “Navigator”, these are but mild highpoints in a waste of still-milder mediocrity
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    6
    Atlas SOUNDS nice, but the production and style overshadow simple, uninteresting songs that are too understated, too apathetic to catch andAtlas SOUNDS nice, but the production and style overshadow simple, uninteresting songs that are too understated, too apathetic to catch and hold my attention. Fans of the genre will undoubtedly find something here - and that is not a bad thing. Real Estate remains at least competent in putting together a worthwhile listen. For me, however, the instrumentals blend together too often, the songs don't differentiate themselves from one another, and the album takes too few risks, dulling the overall atmosphere. Album flow does not always have to be a direct result of similar songwriting and production; it is possible to switch styles and vary dynamic diversity and still have a cohesive effort. Real Estate, in my opinion, has fallen short in that aspect. Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This went from being my least favorite Real Estate album to my favorite Real Estate album in two days. Atlas will keep drawing you in for moreThis went from being my least favorite Real Estate album to my favorite Real Estate album in two days. Atlas will keep drawing you in for more while it grows on you with each listen. Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    The things is with this album is, Real Estate has changed, a lot, but in very subtle ways. One of the most obvious being production. In myThe things is with this album is, Real Estate has changed, a lot, but in very subtle ways. One of the most obvious being production. In my opinion the production on this album is amazing. This is exactly how a guitar should sound. The interplay between the two guitars, and even the bass and synth/organ on some of these songs are great. The lyrics are also more mature and surprisingly clever and smart. This is an album that requires (for me) a few listen through but then at one point, it clicks and you realize how brilliant this album is. Full Review »