Atlas - Real Estate
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    The things is with this album is, Real Estate has changed, a lot, but in very subtle ways. One of the most obvious being production. In my opinion the production on this album is amazing. This is exactly how a guitar should sound. The interplay between the two guitars, and even the bass and synth/organ on some of these songs are great. The lyrics are also more mature and surprisingly clever and smart. This is an album that requires (for me) a few listen through but then at one point, it clicks and you realize how brilliant this album is. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    6
    Atlas SOUNDS nice, but the production and style overshadow simple, uninteresting songs that are too understated, too apathetic to catch and hold my attention. Fans of the genre will undoubtedly find something here - and that is not a bad thing. Real Estate remains at least competent in putting together a worthwhile listen. For me, however, the instrumentals blend together too often, the songs don't differentiate themselves from one another, and the album takes too few risks, dulling the overall atmosphere. Album flow does not always have to be a direct result of similar songwriting and production; it is possible to switch styles and vary dynamic diversity and still have a cohesive effort. Real Estate, in my opinion, has fallen short in that aspect. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    It has a somewhat different style from their previous work, but the change is welcome. The music, along with the lyrics and vocals, work together beautifully, resulting in a mesmerizing album. An album that should be listened to numerous times, because every time you'll appreciate it more.
  4. Apr 23, 2014
    4
    Not really getting the all the moderate love this thing is receiving. By far their worst record, even if their previous two haven't been all that standout either. The only really solid track here is April's Song. Breezy and forgettable, a very jangle pop affair that isn't very deep.
  5. Aug 27, 2014
    6
    lolololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololo
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Great album. It features some of the best songs Real Estate has ever written in 'Talking Backwards', 'Crime', and my personal favorite 'Had to Hear'; the riff that starts off that song (which also happens to start the album) may be most emotionally impacting bit of music the band has written to date. Atlas is more slow moving and perhaps not as easy to listen to as Real Estate's previous albums, and could be said to drag bit at times, but this will likely go down as one of the best albums of 2014. Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This went from being my least favorite Real Estate album to my favorite Real Estate album in two days. Atlas will keep drawing you in for more while it grows on you with each listen.
  8. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    pretty sexy. i like this album just because it reminds of like the beatles or some shiit. not even the beatles, maybe the... i dunno. not a bad album anyway.
  9. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    I had never gotten into Real Estate before, but the simple yet captivating melodies really did me in (fun songs to learn on guitar!). The songs on this album do start to bleed into each other at a certain point and the lyrics are a bit sobering and bleak for my tastes, but still a great album.
  10. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    I did heard a change from Days to Atlas, but its subtle and sincerely is only for a good cause. The result is a great production with melodies that are greater than any other Real Estate song. Each instrument sounds like it should, the vocals sound better than ever and the mood of the album, in general, is more fun and transmits much more (specifically joy). Since 'Had to Hear', the band shows what you're in for, and by the time you reach 'Crime' the only thing you want is for the album to last longer. With easy but seductive songs like 'Primitive' and 'Navigator', you end up with a smile on your face, for sure. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Oct 30, 2014
    89
    Real Estate already evaded the sophomore slump on 2011's impressive Days, now Atlas furthers the catalog.
  2. Oct 28, 2014
    60
    If anything, Atlas sounds like a fully formed album from another era, complete with woozy harmonies, an assured shimmer and a constant jangle.
  3. May 7, 2014
    80
    The music Real Estate make is so melodic and plentiful that it could capture any feeling it wanted to--Atlas just transposes their sound into the evening.