User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 49
  2. Negative: 5 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    Justice's new album follows suit of Daft Punk's own chronology, switching from harder house music to more disco (as the title points out) influence and lighter tracks. Justice actually went as far as to call their first album "night" and this one "day". This isn't always true, especially as we delve into the album with a riveting, gothic track "Horsepower" with hard hitting melodies guaranteed to induce a big session of head banging. It's an addictive opening track that creates a tone that is sure to fascinate listeners. "Civilization" is a great single off the album, too, with more rhythms and melodies that really create a dynamic sound. The album settles into more of its calmer tracks following this, "Ohio" is kind of boring, but still a good sound that keeps it listenable. Cannon and its primo work well together, making a medieval type of noise that brings image of camelot and knights in shining armor. Following this is the third single off the album, "On'n'On". Morgan Phalen sings out original vocals with a catchy and dynamic set of melodies behind it." Brianvision" and "Parade" are the largest problems with the album. Both have lost a focus on the lighter sound, more by augmenting it so much it's practically annoying. Luckily, though "New Lands" brings the album right back where it was with On'n'On with exciting and fast sounds that really create a sense of thrill. This is the same for penultimate tune "Helix". The titular track closes the album with the same style of "Horsepower" is just a captivating and original way that really brings the album full circle.
    While it's certainly not Cross Part 2, it's still a fun, interesting album.
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    It is intriguing how people can not understand the new Justice album. The French duo did exactly what it should have done, made â
  3. Jan 16, 2012
    5
    Audio, Video, Disco feels really forced. A few tracks standout but the album ultimately feels really rushed. It's also extremely repetitive. Justice's first album really showed what this french duo were trying to say, but their sophomore album just doesn't really, well, give them any justice. C
  4. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This album is better than their first. Their first was a dance electronic album to use for making parties more fun. This one expresses some more subtlety, expands on their range, and really allows you to put the brand "band" on them (as opposed to DJ). I'm supremely pleased with this album (I was pretty pumped about their first one too) and have officially labeled them one of my favorite "bands" out there right now. If you like music, buy this album! Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    The problem with the album is really the fans and critics. They expected AVD is be along the lines of "Cross, Part 2." I can tell you right now, if you expected AVD is be a follow up to and sound like "Cross", YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. AVD is completely different from "Cross", as it more retro-rock instead of the dark opera-disco sound of "Cross." Is this bad? No, because it's always nice to have a change of sound. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Finally! After years of waiting for more work from Justice, we finally receive. Except for one thing... What happened to Justice?? First of all, I don't understand why Justice vanished for a few years to work on this album... After cross, they were the most anticipated electronic duo on the planet, and we were all waiting for the next big thing to hit the dance music scene. I'm going to be honest, I was moderately disappointed in this new album. After blasting Genesis and Phantom to the three digit count on my iTunes number of plays, I couldn't wait to see what Gaspard and and Xavier had in store. I'm not saying this album was terrible, but my expectations were far from being met. The truth is, their new album is SLOW. When Justice came out on stage, wearing their leather jackets and the signature messy long hair, bad ass was the only way to describe it. To top it off by coming out hard and making every venue shake for days was the icing on the cake, and what made Justice idols for electronic artists out there. To conclude, I think Justice has more potential then this. They have to put down the acoustic guitar and start making some unreal music again. We all know they got it in them. Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2011
    0
    This album has nothing to do with jusice. It might be ok if this is the first time you've heard from them and your likes are a little rock or something like that, but if you like dance/ electronic music it is awful.Im putting a zero because I'm a justice and Dance/Electronic/Indie music fan
  8. Oct 31, 2011
    0
    I signed up just to give this album a 0. If you like Justice, STAY AWAY FROM THIS ALBUM!
    It is a disappointment at least, and a failure at best. There is a reason that Justice never made there own music before. They are not musicians.

    RIP Justice. 2003-2011.
  9. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Justice are freakin amazing! and this album proves it! i enjoyed listening to every second of it! it's so fun to listen to! and so modern!

    http://www.squidoo.com/nirvana-s-best-songs
  10. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    It is very likely that two things will stay the same for Justice (Gaspard Augé and Xavier de Rosnay as their mums know them): the cross as their symbol and comparisons to Daft Punk, another French gods of house music. Canon of their latest album Audio, Video, Disco. (or I Hear, I See, I Learn) could be easily mistaken for Daft Punkâ
  11. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Justice has progressed the whole genre of electronic jam with Audio, Video, Disco. Redifining how to put out an album to get the fans grooving, this album gains momentum the whole ride. With a foreshadowing finish, it will leave you rediscovering the 'Album Repeat' option.
  12. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    Critics probably don't like this album simply because they don't like prog. To claim it's not a strong enough commitment to using a prog formula is ridiculous. Prog is used like any other style they draw from; for its sound as an addition to their overall pallet to be used in a DANCE music format. I happen to like prog, especially Yes, but as much as I like Closer To The Edge I wouldn't dance to it. Expand
  13. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Even though I usually like reviews from Tiny Mix Tapes, they are COMPLETELY wrong! This is one of the best albums of 2011! It combines rock and electronic music to an amazing extent. It fuses together great beats and awesome vocals to create an immaculate album. The best tracks are: "Civilization", "Ohio", "Canon", "Parade", "New Lands", and "Audio, Video, Disco". Get it now!!!
  14. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    When an album like this comes along, critics go insane because it is not what they expected, and they pan it because it isn't reminiscent of the artist's/group's previous album. Justice deserves the benefit of the doubt on this album: yes, it is different, but they are still tackling a focused idea - a synthesis of two genres (despite what Tiny Mix Tapes would like you to believe). Instead of tackling the extremely epic disco/dance sound again, they decided to go for a more alternative electro/rock style. Was the transition that bad? Any worse than Daft Punk's transition from Homework to Discovery? I don't think so, but, then again, I am not one of the published metacontrarians on this site. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    A bold step forward. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    This is dense and metallic and gorgeous. [#82, p.57]
  3. 60
    The second album from Franco-techno duo Xavier de Rosnay and Gaspard Augé is decidedly less pop-tabulous than their career highlights to date.