Audio, Video, Disco

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Audio, Video, Disco Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Xavier De Rosnay, Gaspard Augé
  • Summary: The second full-length studio album for the French electronic duo features guest appearances by Ali Love, Morgan Phalen, and Vincent Vendetta.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    91
    What Audio, Video, Disco does best is show off what a pair of good producers can really do-namely, simplifying technical musicianship into head-throbbing dance music.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    Audio, Video, Disco might just be the quintessential example of pop music in the Internet world where everything is available, and available to shuffle, but the main point is good times, great record.
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    80
    Sure enough, this record brings to mind airbrushed vans flying through Day-Glo galaxies firing lasers at dragons, with no interest in any notions of good taste. Having said that, it fucking rocks.
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    63
    That push-pull creates a tension that makes Audio, Video, Disco feel like an exciting exercise on the way to something more developed but not a cohesive or particularly welcoming album.
  5. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    A game-changing debut like Cross is nearly impossible to follow up, but Audio, Video, Disco is about as self-assured as a second album gets.
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    60
    Audio, Video, Disco teeters on the edge of self-mockery, not an unfamiliar position for Justice.
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    20
    It would appear that Justice's schtick on Audio, Video, Disco largely involved soullessly regurgitating the sounds of rock and roll's past into faux dance music.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Justice are freakin amazing! and this album proves it! i enjoyed listening to every second of it! it's so fun to listen to! and so modern!Justice are freakin amazing! and this album proves it! i enjoyed listening to every second of it! it's so fun to listen to! and so modern!

    http://www.squidoo.com/nirvana-s-best-songs
    Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This album is better than their first. Their first was a dance electronic album to use for making parties more fun. This one expresses someThis album is better than their first. Their first was a dance electronic album to use for making parties more fun. This one expresses some more subtlety, expands on their range, and really allows you to put the brand "band" on them (as opposed to DJ). I'm supremely pleased with this album (I was pretty pumped about their first one too) and have officially labeled them one of my favorite "bands" out there right now. If you like music, buy this album! Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Even though I usually like reviews from Tiny Mix Tapes, they are COMPLETELY wrong! This is one of the best albums of 2011! It combines rockEven though I usually like reviews from Tiny Mix Tapes, they are COMPLETELY wrong! This is one of the best albums of 2011! It combines rock and electronic music to an amazing extent. It fuses together great beats and awesome vocals to create an immaculate album. The best tracks are: "Civilization", "Ohio", "Canon", "Parade", "New Lands", and "Audio, Video, Disco". Get it now!!! Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    When an album like this comes along, critics go insane because it is not what they expected, and they pan it because it isn't reminiscent ofWhen an album like this comes along, critics go insane because it is not what they expected, and they pan it because it isn't reminiscent of the artist's/group's previous album. Justice deserves the benefit of the doubt on this album: yes, it is different, but they are still tackling a focused idea - a synthesis of two genres (despite what Tiny Mix Tapes would like you to believe). Instead of tackling the extremely epic disco/dance sound again, they decided to go for a more alternative electro/rock style. Was the transition that bad? Any worse than Daft Punk's transition from Homework to Discovery? I don't think so, but, then again, I am not one of the published metacontrarians on this site. Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2016
    7
    7.57.5
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    It is very likely that two things will stay the same for Justice (Gaspard Augé and Xavier de Rosnay as their mums know them): theIt is very likely that two things will stay the same for Justice (Gaspard Augé and Xavier de Rosnay as their mums know them): the cross as their symbol and comparisons to Daft Punk, another French gods of house music. Canon of their latest album Audio, Video, Disco. (or I Hear, I See, I Learn) could be easily mistaken for Daft Punkâ Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2011
    0
    This album has nothing to do with jusice. It might be ok if this is the first time you've heard from them and your likes are a little rock orThis album has nothing to do with jusice. It might be ok if this is the first time you've heard from them and your likes are a little rock or something like that, but if you like dance/ electronic music it is awful.Im putting a zero because I'm a justice and Dance/Electronic/Indie music fan Expand

See all 17 User Reviews