Audioslave

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Audioslave Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After frontman Zack de la Rocha left Rage Against the Machine in 2000, the remaining members of that Los Angeles band enlisted former Soundgarden leader Chris Cornell, and together they formed Audioslave. This is their debut release.

Top Track

Like A Stone
[MusixMatch] ... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. The result isn't a faux Rage album; rather, it's the true follow-up to Soundgarden's ''Superunknown'' that neither that band nor a solo Cornell ever managed.
  2. One of the most important rock bands ever meets one of the best, and guess what, they've only gone and knocked out a bonafide masterpiece. It's 1993 all over again, but it's also 1970 and 2002 and beyond, because an album this classic transcends any pigeonholing.
  3. Audioslave is the best of both bands.
  4. In their past lives, the members of this band were enraged. Now, fierce as they might sound, Audioslave just seem sorta engorged.
  5. Blender
    60
    This is feel-good stuff, the sound of a rejuvenating artistic vacation. [#12, p.136]
  6. Alternative Press
    50
    Bad news for fans of either party who'd expected the union to generate something revolutionary. [Dec 2002, p.85]
  7. At its worst, this project is just plain retarded.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 82
  2. Negative: 6 out of 82
  1. Mar 26, 2017
    10
    This album is GREAT, awesome lyrics and sounds. Can't understand why so many critics disliked it. Whatever!

    Best tracks: Exploder, Shadow
    This album is GREAT, awesome lyrics and sounds. Can't understand why so many critics disliked it. Whatever!

    Best tracks: Exploder, Shadow on the Sun, I Am the Highway, What You Are, Like A Stone, Getaway Car, The Last Remaining Light.
    Expand
  2. Jesse
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    Cornell has the best voice in rock, and Tom Morrello does things with the guitar others can only dream about
  3. daveG
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    The best album I've heard in 10 years. Cornell's social commentary along with some powerful, angry licks from Morello and Co. The best album I've heard in 10 years. Cornell's social commentary along with some powerful, angry licks from Morello and Co. provide a veritable masterpiece. Unlike most albums, which feature a radio-friendly song and little else, Audioslave has no throwaway songs. In fact, the album doesn't even hit its peak until track 10, the brooding, ``Hypnotize.'' Talk about a reality check for the wealthy powerstructure and corporate elite!!! While many people think that Superunknown was Soundgarden's best album, I always preferred Badmotorfinger. Superunknown contained four or five of radio hits, but little else. To really gather the flavor of what Soundgarden (and indeed the entire grunge movement) stood for, you need to back up to the 1991 masterpiece which features ``Rusty Cage'' and ``Outshined'' along with obscure, yet important tracks such as ``Somewhere,'' ``Mind Riot'' and ``Drawing Flies.'' I'm recommending it to all my friends, and to all my family young enough to understand... Dave Grumbois Expand
  4. RobJ
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    An amazing album! Songs like Cochise and Show Me How To Live just blew my mind away!
  5. Aj
    May 25, 2005
    9
    If you don't like hard rock - then you won't like this. However, I LOVE hard rock and this is on3e of my favorite albums.
  6. NseE
    Nov 5, 2003
    8
    Great cd full of great songs like the razor sharp 'Like a stone', 'What you are', 'I am a highway', Great cd full of great songs like the razor sharp 'Like a stone', 'What you are', 'I am a highway', 'Hypnotize' (Which does just that), and the epic 'Getaway car' with Chris Cornell's forlorn voice bleeding throughout. Downside, a couple of ok tracks and songs tend to go on for too long and you feel it. Expand
  7. sds
    Feb 8, 2003
    0
    nah

See all 82 User Reviews