Autumn of the Seraphs

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenM
    Oct 30, 2007
    3
    I've liked some older Pinback tracks quite a lot, but I really can't find anything to like there. It's all so noodly, and smooth - even when they try to turn up the rock a little bit, it all sounds the same to me.
  2. DylanP.
    Sep 30, 2007
    5
    not awful. as good as any other pinback record. their sound needs to take some new chances before it gets old though.
  3. BrianG
    Oct 18, 2007
    8
    While not the best Pinback album, Autumns of the Seraphs is a better than average pop record by 2 extraordinary musicians. It has such a positive, So-Cal vibe you can't help but tap your toe! Good to Sea is the stand out track on the album.
  4. Jo
    Oct 8, 2007
    6
    Pretty ok, and although this is a more varied album of Pinback their formula is still too omni-present. Some very good tracks (Walters lyrically and musically being my favourite) but not as good as Blue Screen Life or This is a Pinback CD.
  5. KhrisS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    Its pretty straight.
  6. Felix
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Another great album from Pinback, although not as good as Summer in Abaddon.
  7. SeanT.
    Oct 3, 2007
    8
    A number of the songs don't sit particularly well with the rest of the album (in particular, Off by 50 seems out of place). The band has been asked for variety, which is all well and good, but it seems illogical to put tracks like Devil You Know and Good to Sea side-by-side. I enjoy the rolling, dreaming feel of Pinback; it's mellow, and it irks me when they try to be something A number of the songs don't sit particularly well with the rest of the album (in particular, Off by 50 seems out of place). The band has been asked for variety, which is all well and good, but it seems illogical to put tracks like Devil You Know and Good to Sea side-by-side. I enjoy the rolling, dreaming feel of Pinback; it's mellow, and it irks me when they try to be something else. It's a wonderful album, but it isn't their best by a long shot, and they can do a lot better (Blue Screen Life and Summer in Abaddon are evidence of that). Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Pinback don't disappoint with their fourth record, Autumn of the Seraphs.
  2. Alternative Press
    80
    Autumn represents Pinback's strongest album to date. [Oct 2007, p.162]
  3. This album is not only the band’s most solid and consummate release to date, not merely one of the most veritable albums 2007 has delivered to us--but also, truly, one of the top albums in the past five years of indie rock history.