User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 232

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkK
    Nov 15, 2008
    5
    This is the kind of album that's easy to love but also easy to hate. It really isn't a terrible album. It's just far too ambitious and it's hardly up to scale with their other albums. A real shame.
  2. SteveC.
    Nov 10, 2007
    4
    The Sputnikmusic (score of 30) review says it perfectly. The musicianship is just not there this time. The guitars are buried in overproduction and the songs just aren't that good. Maybe novel, but not good. The high point for me, "Unbound (The Wild Ride)", even falls victim to their "forcing" new ideas into a good song where they just don't need them. The songs that are less The Sputnikmusic (score of 30) review says it perfectly. The musicianship is just not there this time. The guitars are buried in overproduction and the songs just aren't that good. Maybe novel, but not good. The high point for me, "Unbound (The Wild Ride)", even falls victim to their "forcing" new ideas into a good song where they just don't need them. The songs that are less "innovative" don't feature the technical execution that other A7X albums were great for. This album is lose/lose. Expand
  3. JoanthanS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    6
    Well first off, I'd like to agree with Johnny 5 on the Iron Maiden part, along with basically all 80s metal bands. And I'd also like to say that the reason A7X doesn't sound like other metal bands is because they're NOT METAL!! They're last two albums were hard rock, and Waking the Fallen and Sounding the Seventh Trumpet were metalcore and metal (which most likely Well first off, I'd like to agree with Johnny 5 on the Iron Maiden part, along with basically all 80s metal bands. And I'd also like to say that the reason A7X doesn't sound like other metal bands is because they're NOT METAL!! They're last two albums were hard rock, and Waking the Fallen and Sounding the Seventh Trumpet were metalcore and metal (which most likely most of these "fans" never listened to, or never did until they heard City of Evil.) People who call this album metal are people who have never listened to real metal, and are also likely poseur/band-wagon A7X fans who just jumped on at City of Evil. But on with my actual review, which is not as biased against like my view of the fans: A7X, I trusted you when you said this album would be a return to your old ways. I honestly was looking forward to some demented screaming and guitar solos, and instead I just got the guitar solos. This is CD is no heavier than City of Evil whatsoever, and is certainly not like their first two albums or EP. While I am not bashing the songs in any way, since I still like them, I just can't repress my disappointment in listening to these songs. And while I understand well that it is incredibly hard to try to please both old fans and still keep the ones they gained from COE, as an originally metalcore band that started underground, I would think that A7X would hold its original fans in higher regard and priority than those mainstream fans who actually thought City of Evil was heavy metal. A7X, do you really want those people as your main base of fans? While I still appreciate what great artists each member of the band is-- and the band as a whole-- I just want some heavier songs to remind me of the good old days. Now when I want metalcore with good solos and lots of screaming that is reminiscent of Iron Maiden and the such, I turn first to Bullet for My Valentine, rather than A7X. Kudos on achieving success Avenged, that's what a real fan wants in the end, and I'm glad you've finally reached a larger audience-- I just wish we could get a piece of your old self back. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2010
    5
    Like most A7X albums, it starts out strong then loses my attention five tracks in. This is definitely not an album I can put in and listen to all the way through without yawning. That said, there are some very catch tracks (Scream, Almost Easy) that'll be stuck in your head all day. Not strong throughout though.
  5. Ikarus14
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    Admirable effort, but it trys to do far too much outside of City of Evil. As a result, it's hit-and-miss at best and retains very little from their previous album. City of Evil is much better, but buy these two albums together if you're getting into Avenged Sevenfold.
  6. JohannaH
    Oct 31, 2007
    6
    not their best. too much metal dere trying tooo hard more like country 2
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    It's hard to hate Avenged Sevenfold but also hard to love it as well. The album deffinatly has its highlights and merits, including quality tunes such as Almost Easy, Afterlife and even the guilty pleasure A Little Piece of Heaven. But unfortunatly some tunes also feature some stagnant mediocrity with very little innovation. And anybody that isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that thisIt's hard to hate Avenged Sevenfold but also hard to love it as well. The album deffinatly has its highlights and merits, including quality tunes such as Almost Easy, Afterlife and even the guilty pleasure A Little Piece of Heaven. But unfortunatly some tunes also feature some stagnant mediocrity with very little innovation. And anybody that isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that this is just another run-of-the-mill and mainstream rock album. Enjoyable no the less. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. 60
    While straying from metal's path, they uphold its legacy of conservative politics. [Nov 2007, p.148]
  2. 50
    With tighter, mercifully shorter songs, like the Slayer-meets-slash trasher 'Almost Easy,' they're now defiling America's youth with more substance than style. [Nov 2007, p.114]
  3. Their anthem-filled fourth album's brazen swagger may prove irresistible. [Nov 2007, p.137]