User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 231

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Yudi
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    This album is a completely different style for Avenged Sevenfold, but in a good way. Still hard enough to rock to, but also full of comprehensible lyrics, this quintet from Huntington Beach really surprises me with the passion that they put behind some of the songs. Along my favorites are Afterlife, which I just love as more of like a soft rock ballad, A Little Piece of Heaven (amazing This album is a completely different style for Avenged Sevenfold, but in a good way. Still hard enough to rock to, but also full of comprehensible lyrics, this quintet from Huntington Beach really surprises me with the passion that they put behind some of the songs. Along my favorites are Afterlife, which I just love as more of like a soft rock ballad, A Little Piece of Heaven (amazing song as well as music video), and Almost Easy (the guitar solo is one of my favorites). Expand
  2. Elsa
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    This album fucking rocks!!!!I love them, they have so much talent, those who don't agree are just f*cking jealous.
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Jesus Christ!!! what the hell is up with all the haters and the **** score??? you people must be more interested in queer ass music like tao cruiz or justin beiber. man screw all of you who gave this a bad review!! this band and album must be too badass for you!
  4. DanielJ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    i think this album is sick as hell. i think that if you can distinguish every song on an album from the others, then that album was successful and showed fans that a7x can do whatever genre they feel like doing and can be so insane at each one. who cares if they dont sound exactly how they did in 2001 or 2003 with their first 2 albums, because what band ever does sound the same? im glad i think this album is sick as hell. i think that if you can distinguish every song on an album from the others, then that album was successful and showed fans that a7x can do whatever genre they feel like doing and can be so insane at each one. who cares if they dont sound exactly how they did in 2001 or 2003 with their first 2 albums, because what band ever does sound the same? im glad theyve changed because it gives me more variety of music to listen to by one of my favorite bands. also, every review i have read of 'a little piece of heaven' has said it is a huge mess of music, but i think it's one of the coolest things ive ever heard. when the rev sings the chorus i get chills because i find it so unique and different than anything out there Expand
  5. RachelH.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    AMAZING!
  6. TomW.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Their best album to date. I said I would give it at least 10 full listens before posting a review and, despite initial apprehensiveness on my part, this album has really grown on me. Any moron who reviews this album before giving it about 10 listens couldn't possibly take in the subtle genius hidden within it. Its a slow grower, but it's definitely worth your time.
  7. ColinB
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    This is the greatest album I have ever listened to. I feel guilty if I skip a song. I mean, every song on it is a masterpiece. It is a variety of different genres that blend together into the signature Avenged sound. To me, this is like The Beatles White Album. It is that damn good.
  8. joer
    Apr 16, 2009
    10
    ok f*ck everyone who is critizing a7x they are the best heavy metal band out right now! They sound better than they ever did just because their not screaming like they used to dont make them worse. Their new self titled cd is the shit the best cd out now. Their lyrics are f*ckn great very original and the one of the best i heard.So kiss my ass to anyone who is cutting them down calling ok f*ck everyone who is critizing a7x they are the best heavy metal band out right now! They sound better than they ever did just because their not screaming like they used to dont make them worse. Their new self titled cd is the shit the best cd out now. Their lyrics are f*ckn great very original and the one of the best i heard.So kiss my ass to anyone who is cutting them down calling them soft and shit f*ck u their makn the money u are not doin shit b*tches! Expand
  9. BebelG.
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    The signature dueling guitars are in full force. The most ambitious, most melodic, and greatest Avenged Sevenfold album to date.
  10. lexib
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Best Album Ever!!!
  11. TeresaH
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Alright...I've heard quite enough of all the critics! for F.UK. sakes...honestly...could you play, or write the music....didn't think so....just because you're jealous...sorry but the truth is..you suck...and a7x doesn't.
  12. ScottH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    0
    Despite my understanding of the general public's stupidity, I still can't believe there's a market for this kind of 'music.' This may be a form of head banging entertainment for some, but it has no critical appeal whatsoever. Those interested in 'hard & heavy' should be directed to those bands who've already covered the territory 20-35 years ago.
  13. MarkK
    Nov 15, 2008
    5
    This is the kind of album that's easy to love but also easy to hate. It really isn't a terrible album. It's just far too ambitious and it's hardly up to scale with their other albums. A real shame.
  14. SteveW.
    Jan 2, 2008
    3
    It's easily the most unoriginal, uninteresting and lazy album Avenged Sevenfold have put together yet. I didn't have high hopes for this album after watching the video for "Almost easy", which made me want to cry from stupidly out of context guitar solo, terrible lyrical content (I'm not insane, I'm not insane), and irritating vocal melody in the chorus. I didn't It's easily the most unoriginal, uninteresting and lazy album Avenged Sevenfold have put together yet. I didn't have high hopes for this album after watching the video for "Almost easy", which made me want to cry from stupidly out of context guitar solo, terrible lyrical content (I'm not insane, I'm not insane), and irritating vocal melody in the chorus. I didn't mind Critical Acclaim too much, even though I did think that Avenged Sevenfold political motives didn't make much sense and were just a grasp for lyrics. But then comes the album and I can honestly say I've never been so disappointed since I first saw Iron Maiden "bring me your daughter"(which was pretty terrible). My main complaint, being a guitarist, are the God awful solos thrown in about the album. It seems that vengence and Gates only have two preprogrammed modes for solos now, mind blowingly fast and slow harmonies. There was no sign of emotion, originality, natural progression, or a musical orgasm present throughout any of their solos in that album. On a whole, every song was as formulaic and uninteresting as the last, and i know they can do a lot better. Expand
  15. MarkK.
    May 4, 2008
    7
    It's nothing truly special, but some great tunes makes it worth while despite the over-used style.
  16. ChrisSR
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    This is easily one of the worst bands to have ever graced the false labeling of being called "metal", besides bands like Linkin Park, Korn, and Limp Bizkit, They have no real technique, just scatter-brained attempts at creativity. If you want real metal, listen to Megadeth or Ozzy, not A7X.
  17. SteveC.
    Nov 10, 2007
    4
    The Sputnikmusic (score of 30) review says it perfectly. The musicianship is just not there this time. The guitars are buried in overproduction and the songs just aren't that good. Maybe novel, but not good. The high point for me, "Unbound (The Wild Ride)", even falls victim to their "forcing" new ideas into a good song where they just don't need them. The songs that are less The Sputnikmusic (score of 30) review says it perfectly. The musicianship is just not there this time. The guitars are buried in overproduction and the songs just aren't that good. Maybe novel, but not good. The high point for me, "Unbound (The Wild Ride)", even falls victim to their "forcing" new ideas into a good song where they just don't need them. The songs that are less "innovative" don't feature the technical execution that other A7X albums were great for. This album is lose/lose. Expand
  18. OldA7X...
    Nov 2, 2007
    0
    A7X Is s.it now... the sound is emo and poser... A7X have the money idea now...the metal of the band is losted WTF 4ever.
  19. JoanthanS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    6
    Well first off, I'd like to agree with Johnny 5 on the Iron Maiden part, along with basically all 80s metal bands. And I'd also like to say that the reason A7X doesn't sound like other metal bands is because they're NOT METAL!! They're last two albums were hard rock, and Waking the Fallen and Sounding the Seventh Trumpet were metalcore and metal (which most likely Well first off, I'd like to agree with Johnny 5 on the Iron Maiden part, along with basically all 80s metal bands. And I'd also like to say that the reason A7X doesn't sound like other metal bands is because they're NOT METAL!! They're last two albums were hard rock, and Waking the Fallen and Sounding the Seventh Trumpet were metalcore and metal (which most likely most of these "fans" never listened to, or never did until they heard City of Evil.) People who call this album metal are people who have never listened to real metal, and are also likely poseur/band-wagon A7X fans who just jumped on at City of Evil. But on with my actual review, which is not as biased against like my view of the fans: A7X, I trusted you when you said this album would be a return to your old ways. I honestly was looking forward to some demented screaming and guitar solos, and instead I just got the guitar solos. This is CD is no heavier than City of Evil whatsoever, and is certainly not like their first two albums or EP. While I am not bashing the songs in any way, since I still like them, I just can't repress my disappointment in listening to these songs. And while I understand well that it is incredibly hard to try to please both old fans and still keep the ones they gained from COE, as an originally metalcore band that started underground, I would think that A7X would hold its original fans in higher regard and priority than those mainstream fans who actually thought City of Evil was heavy metal. A7X, do you really want those people as your main base of fans? While I still appreciate what great artists each member of the band is-- and the band as a whole-- I just want some heavier songs to remind me of the good old days. Now when I want metalcore with good solos and lots of screaming that is reminiscent of Iron Maiden and the such, I turn first to Bullet for My Valentine, rather than A7X. Kudos on achieving success Avenged, that's what a real fan wants in the end, and I'm glad you've finally reached a larger audience-- I just wish we could get a piece of your old self back. Expand
  20. [Anonymous]
    Nov 5, 2007
    0
    Whomever said that this has great guitar work obviously doesn't listen to that much metal or is in denial because of how much this cd fails on all sides. Most of the guitars in each song tend to follow the same riff as the song before it and just continue to repeat until the chorus then do it all over again. BORING
  21. Chris
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    First and foremost, this score is for the reviews, particularly Blender and Spin. I don't know what ass blender has crawled up and died in, but last time I checked, metal wasn't very conservative at all. This album hardly fits that bill, except with "Critical Acclaim". I'm still trying to rack my brain to figure out what they mean. Both magazines that I read (Decibel and First and foremost, this score is for the reviews, particularly Blender and Spin. I don't know what ass blender has crawled up and died in, but last time I checked, metal wasn't very conservative at all. This album hardly fits that bill, except with "Critical Acclaim". I'm still trying to rack my brain to figure out what they mean. Both magazines that I read (Decibel and Terrorizer) are definitely more left-leaning, as are most real metal bands I know of. And what the hell is a "slash trasher", Spin? Secondly, the score is for metacritic, who keeps presenting reviews for bands 99% of the world hasn't heard of, then to make up for their lack of metal, presents shit like Avenged Sevenfold as a barometer for the state of metal. Yes, I know they have good guitarists, but half of the male population in America can play guitar so that doesn't make you a good band by any stretch of the imagination. If I see another mallcore moron wearing another ridiculous skull bat, I think I'll go insane. Avenged Sevenfold was a terrible metalcore band that decided to change their style to faux-metal, a la "Guns n' Roses", and is now cashing in on the results. Way to go, you are the kings of Hot Topic. Expand
  22. DominicC.
    Jun 26, 2008
    1
    The most unoriginal band who thinks they're all metal because they had one hit. So they think they can produce their own album? Haha yeah right. A7X's self titled album is basically the Jonas Brothers plus the make-up.
  23. john
    Dec 6, 2007
    0
    Sorry, i just don't understand how anyone can like this crap.....waste of money.
  24. J.K.
    Oct 31, 2007
    3
    A7X said before this album's release that they were not interested in creating a followup to either City of Evil or Waking the Fallen. They intended to delve into new territory. Somewhere along the line, they lost their way, fell back into the City of Evil mold and just threw a few pop, country, and various other influences scatter shot, into the album without any real purpose. The A7X said before this album's release that they were not interested in creating a followup to either City of Evil or Waking the Fallen. They intended to delve into new territory. Somewhere along the line, they lost their way, fell back into the City of Evil mold and just threw a few pop, country, and various other influences scatter shot, into the album without any real purpose. The skillful instrumentation is wasted on rehashes and it all plays out long enough to reveal that nothing was worth repeating in the first place. Those annoyed by Shadows' whining vocals from the previous album will be absolutely horrified with what they find here. Expand
  25. VinnieV
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    Avenged Sevenfold may be one of the worst bands that I have heard in the past decade. Don't buy this or anything else from them.
  26. Johnny5
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    My younger brother put this record on for me recently. Completely ball-less rock for kids who haven't heard Iron Maiden yet. Avoid this disc at all costs.
  27. BrennanL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    0
    Holy awful albums, Batman! I've always hated Avenged Sevenfold, but this is an amazingly bad step down. Its so corny and terrible, Critical Acclaim is one of the worst songs I've heard since I listened to the last ICP album. It seems to be a trend for bad bands to get even worse in 2007 (here's to you Atreyu).
  28. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    0
    I tried to chew my own ears off. Pure Garbage.
  29. Sep 19, 2010
    5
    Like most A7X albums, it starts out strong then loses my attention five tracks in. This is definitely not an album I can put in and listen to all the way through without yawning. That said, there are some very catch tracks (Scream, Almost Easy) that'll be stuck in your head all day. Not strong throughout though.
  30. HazelR
    Feb 21, 2008
    8
    Its GOOD...But kinda sound's like something Guns n Roses would of done.
  31. Kristen
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing. I love Avenged Sevenfold and even though this is a different sound for them, i love it. A little Peace of Heaven and Scream are the best songs on here. I admire M. Shadows' writing style and I'd LOVE to meet him one day.
  32. VincentC.
    Jul 2, 2008
    8
    This is a good album with many good songs and a few great ones. I like how they change their style with every album, it makes it less boring and predictable. I agree with Adrien with it not being nearly on the same level as City of Evil but it is still good. Their new album is coming out in August which will have music that supposedly is not like this album, and knowing them, it should be This is a good album with many good songs and a few great ones. I like how they change their style with every album, it makes it less boring and predictable. I agree with Adrien with it not being nearly on the same level as City of Evil but it is still good. Their new album is coming out in August which will have music that supposedly is not like this album, and knowing them, it should be a great album. Expand
  33. calyc
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    The people who wrote that a7x is as good as the beatles white album ,well i say wrong a7x is better than that i mean who would live in a yellow submarine.
  34. BobN.
    Aug 30, 2008
    9
    This was a great album filled with intense solos and insane drumming. It gets a 9 because I thought it could have been a bit heavier.
  35. Ikarus14
    Aug 3, 2009
    6
    Admirable effort, but it trys to do far too much outside of City of Evil. As a result, it's hit-and-miss at best and retains very little from their previous album. City of Evil is much better, but buy these two albums together if you're getting into Avenged Sevenfold.
  36. AlexN.
    Nov 13, 2007
    7
    This album contains some great tracks like critical acclaim, the second half of the album needs time from you to appreciate. Don't compare it to COE this album was just PERFECT
  37. ZiqA
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Its a good CD, however, this CD will divide fans. Some fans will LOVE it (like i do), but many Will hate it. I feel its they're best album yet, its really good. but again, not everyone will love it, many will probably hate it.
  38. Ryans
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    Incredibly impressive, this album shows that a7x is actually creative unlike most bands, if you always play the same way you die out. For those that only liked their old stuff go listen to it instead of this, problem solved
  39. Chris
    Nov 2, 2007
    8
    Unique for A7X but still really City Of Evil and Waking The Fallen are better but this CD is still really good.
  40. WillD.
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    Some people would say that this would appeal to Waking the Fallen fans, but not fans of City of Evil. I don't agree with them. This sounds nothing like their metalcore past. This was a great album though. The lead single "Almost Easy" was my favorite. I must comment on the reviewer that wondered what a slash trasher was, I'm pretty sure they were talking about the musician Slash,
  41. AJN
    Nov 4, 2007
    8
    I don't understand why all of you people giving this cd 0's have to be such big haters. I would expect you kind of people to give this cd a 0 because you don't understand that bands like A7X try to revolutionize their sound. They are growing in their music just as metallica did from the 80's to the 90's. Also im sure most of you aren't musically enclinded I don't understand why all of you people giving this cd 0's have to be such big haters. I would expect you kind of people to give this cd a 0 because you don't understand that bands like A7X try to revolutionize their sound. They are growing in their music just as metallica did from the 80's to the 90's. Also im sure most of you aren't musically enclinded enough to look past vocals or actually appreciate great musical talent that there is from band member to band member. A7X are an amazing group of musicians.....just because they didn't stay the same from City of Evil or even Waking the Fallen doesn't mean they lost musical talent. So stop hating and just understand that they are growing in their music. If you don't like it deal with it. If you like their old stuff better just listen to that. No one is making you listen to new music. Its your choice if you choose not to broaden your musical spectrum. Expand
  42. Anon
    Nov 9, 2007
    7
    Avenged have clearly tried to experiment with their new album and at times it has worked to great affect. (Scream, Critical Acclaim) But at times they have tried things that simply don't work (A little piece of Heaven). The beauty of City of Evil was the energy that could be felt from each song, the thing that kept you listening again and again. The first half of the new album Avenged have clearly tried to experiment with their new album and at times it has worked to great affect. (Scream, Critical Acclaim) But at times they have tried things that simply don't work (A little piece of Heaven). The beauty of City of Evil was the energy that could be felt from each song, the thing that kept you listening again and again. The first half of the new album retains this but with songs towards the end you'll find yourself moving on long before the song ends. Expand
  43. CheyenneS.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    They Are The Best band Ever!!!!!!
  44. JeanaH
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Everyone is saying they are being very unoriginal, but I disagree. I have yet to see a band that made music or albums similar to this. It's like a new age heavy metal meeting punk rock. The solos are wicked, the vocals are better than what any of you dickwads could ever try, and the drums are very intense. They pulled it off, so get over it. I'd like to see any of you who are Everyone is saying they are being very unoriginal, but I disagree. I have yet to see a band that made music or albums similar to this. It's like a new age heavy metal meeting punk rock. The solos are wicked, the vocals are better than what any of you dickwads could ever try, and the drums are very intense. They pulled it off, so get over it. I'd like to see any of you who are being total idiots about it try and attempt this. Expand
  45. DavieB.
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    I think these guys are amazing. This album? Not so much... its ok though. Some good songs. And omg..Joanthan S - What a little whiner! CITY OF EVIL is an AWESOME ALBUM. They got more fans from that album.. so what?
  46. JoE.
    Mar 20, 2008
    7
    It is admitabely their worst album, but I still get a kick out of listening to it. It has some shit on it but a few songs on it are just amazing. Little piece of heaven, afterlife, almost easy. It's be worth a listen to but I wouldnt buy it, just borrow it from a friend or something.
  47. JimW.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I read a preview of the album from A7X's own M. Shadows and he mentioned that he feels the self-titled album will have the same effect on his band as Metallica's self-titled had for them. And after giving the album a good listen for the 6 months it's been out, I second that statement 110%. I cannot get enough of this album. I listen to it everyday, and it is my favorite I read a preview of the album from A7X's own M. Shadows and he mentioned that he feels the self-titled album will have the same effect on his band as Metallica's self-titled had for them. And after giving the album a good listen for the 6 months it's been out, I second that statement 110%. I cannot get enough of this album. I listen to it everyday, and it is my favorite Avenged Sevenfold album. Expand
  48. DerekM.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    This album is fantastic. Sure it may not be all screamo like they were with Sounding the Seventh Trumpet, but it shows that sometimes you need to grow up. I still like to listen to bands like Mychildren Mybride but after a while the constant yelling is a headache. Oh yeah Brian Gilmour, get your facts straight. Matt is not singing about hating war, but trying to see it from the This album is fantastic. Sure it may not be all screamo like they were with Sounding the Seventh Trumpet, but it shows that sometimes you need to grow up. I still like to listen to bands like Mychildren Mybride but after a while the constant yelling is a headache. Oh yeah Brian Gilmour, get your facts straight. Matt is not singing about hating war, but trying to see it from the perspective of the people who fight for your ignorance. Being in the military myself, I appreciate people like Matt who give a damn about us, unlike bands like Green Day and Sum 41 or SOAD who are communists. If they don't like our country, leave! Nobody is stopping them. Quit biting the hand that feeds and leave you hippies. A7X rules! Expand
  49. AdrienB.
    Jun 3, 2008
    9
    It may not be on the same level as City of Evil, but Avenged Sevenfold has done something very few bands do, and that's to actually experiment with their music. Some of it doesn't hit the mark as much as they would want to, but overall, this is an album that grows on you. I admit at first, it was an O.K. album, barely comparable to their previous effort. Then slowly but surely It may not be on the same level as City of Evil, but Avenged Sevenfold has done something very few bands do, and that's to actually experiment with their music. Some of it doesn't hit the mark as much as they would want to, but overall, this is an album that grows on you. I admit at first, it was an O.K. album, barely comparable to their previous effort. Then slowly but surely the songs got more and more into my head, until I found myself likely almost all of them. It may be different, but Avenged Sevenfold still delivers the rockin' sound and innovation that music is craving these days. Expand
  50. Netsky
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    Not as cool as COE, but still a great album, The first half is fantastic, the second half initially disoriented me, but in the end i was enthusiastic because of the geniality behind some of the song (like a little piece of heaven).
  51. TraceyR.
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    This is dramatically different from other A7X albums but still has their unique signature style - full of riffs, verses, and melodies. Their artistic musicianship shines.
  52. BrandenS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This, granted is not as good as City of Evil, was still very good. Every song on that cd is amazing. Saying that they don't sound like the other metal bands don't realize that A7X is in a league of their own. It is obviously better than any rap cd
  53. KarsonH
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    This is an excellent album from an excellent band. The cd still has song similar to their last albums and also has new song with more of a ballad type feel (think Seize the Day). Don't listen to the people giving this a zero sying it's "ball-less" or "pure garbage" listen to the tracks online or somewhere else and make your own decision.
  54. AhmadR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    8
    This cd took a few listens to grow on me. It has great guitar work, and shadows singing has drastically improved. Overall it is a good album from a great band and i can't wait to see what their next album will sound like. download: almost easy- scream- gunslinger-a little piece of heaven.
  55. IsaacG.
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    This album takes dynamic elements that are new to the band and expands on old, familiar elements in a way that is new and refreshing. Really these guys owe a lot of thanks to the sound engineer; it is a technological masterpiece! The guitar FX and modeling is done masterfully, and the vocal are tight. The entire band seems to have put much more depth and thought into this album than This album takes dynamic elements that are new to the band and expands on old, familiar elements in a way that is new and refreshing. Really these guys owe a lot of thanks to the sound engineer; it is a technological masterpiece! The guitar FX and modeling is done masterfully, and the vocal are tight. The entire band seems to have put much more depth and thought into this album than previous installments. A7X does a wonderful job of creating a captivating piece of work that is at times thought provoking and at times a real toe-tapper. A7X's self-titled album gets an eight out of ten. Expand
  56. GeofW.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    No 'City Of Evil', but still pretty damn awesome. Everyone who dislikes this album for it's uniqueness is purely stupid. Sevenfold themselves said that they try to make each album different and not sound like the last, and I think they achieved that. Well done, boys.
  57. GordonM
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    pretty good, they're a great band people need to stop comparing them to metal they are no longer metalcore leave it be if you don't like their music, don't bash them just say you don't like their music.
  58. MislavF
    Oct 31, 2007
    7
    Not great but good. Lots of fun guitar work, but the silliness is sometimes a bit too much.
  59. JoelC
    Oct 31, 2007
    7
    I have only listened to this CD once so this review is not reflective of how I am going to end up feeling about this album as Avenged Sevenfold needs to sink after repeated listens to truly appreciate their intricate music, but so far I feel a little let down. Not that it's bad by any means but Waking the Fallen and City of Evil set my standards so high that unfortunately (upon first I have only listened to this CD once so this review is not reflective of how I am going to end up feeling about this album as Avenged Sevenfold needs to sink after repeated listens to truly appreciate their intricate music, but so far I feel a little let down. Not that it's bad by any means but Waking the Fallen and City of Evil set my standards so high that unfortunately (upon first listen anyway) the album doesn't seem to carve out a niche for itself like the last albums, in fact it almost feels generic, which to me is everything Avenged usually is not. More listens will change my opinion I'm sure, but as of one spin I am beginning to think Avenged plateaued last album and have stopped innovating as much as they used to. Expand
  60. JohannaH
    Oct 31, 2007
    6
    not their best. too much metal dere trying tooo hard more like country 2
  61. MIstyM
    Dec 26, 2008
    9
    I give this album 2 thumbs up! I can't believe how many people hate this cd. Just because this cd isn't as "metal" as the last album, doesn't mean that it's not as good.
  62. MarikaM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    This album shows how avenged sevenfold is a great band that is evolving and becoming better. with this album they have evolved their music and become better musicians.
  63. Shadows
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    Ok, This Goes Out To (Sputnikmusic), Learn The Song Name Before You Think You Know What Your Talking About, It's Beast And The Harlot, Duuhh, Secondly, City Of Evil, Was One Of There Best Selling CD's, So You Can Minus Your Two Sence And Just Stop Talking, Because You Know Nothing Of Avenged Sevenfold, (The Prove Is IOn The Pudding) And Popmatters, Who Cares If It Was Released Ok, This Goes Out To (Sputnikmusic), Learn The Song Name Before You Think You Know What Your Talking About, It's Beast And The Harlot, Duuhh, Secondly, City Of Evil, Was One Of There Best Selling CD's, So You Can Minus Your Two Sence And Just Stop Talking, Because You Know Nothing Of Avenged Sevenfold, (The Prove Is IOn The Pudding) And Popmatters, Who Cares If It Was Released One Day Before Halloween, We Have Movies That Come Out One Day Before Christmas, It Really Doesn't Matter And Then You Saying Saying It's Unoriginal, How Is It Unorginal, The Band Created All The Songs Themselves Now Magazine, Get You Fucking Head Out Of Your Ass, THEN ARE NOT METALLICA -LITE OR SILLY, The Are AVENGED SEVENFOLD, Bitch They Are The Greatest Band In The World, So Fuck All You Critics And People Thinking Then Know What There Talking About ~Shadows~. Expand
  64. BrunoP.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    I think this is a fantastic album. They for me are gods and this last album are perfect and I hope they continue like that.
  65. LissaG
    Apr 25, 2009
    9
    Even though the album was way different than the previous ones it still has good songs that make you want to hear over and over again. I personally think that A7X gets better with every album they put out.
  66. anonymmc
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Great music.
  67. KevinC
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    wish I could say I hate this band, but unfortunately I can't. I love the album right now, but unfortunately, i know I'll get bored of it pretty soon. it's got those hooks that are memorable but lose their awesomeness pretty fast. i just find iron maiden kind of boring. they've got some good stuff, but it's too classic rock. not the same genre of metal.
  68. HugoP
    Dec 23, 2008
    7
    Great album! I prefer City of evil tough. Only gave it a 7 because i believe there are greater albuns and bands to fill the higher values. Although not that heavy, it`s a fantastic album!!
  69. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    While not a terrible album it certainly could have been a lot stronger. But these fanboys getting butt-hurt over the critics are just simply deluded.
  70. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Definitely a different feel then there last album, Avenged has fully turned over the leaf they started with waking the fallen. With every album following Sounding the Seventh trumpet, Shadows has incorporated more and more melodic singing. Where Waking the Fallen was 50/50 and City of Evil was 75/25 this album has just about completely done away with the heavy screaming of songs past.Definitely a different feel then there last album, Avenged has fully turned over the leaf they started with waking the fallen. With every album following Sounding the Seventh trumpet, Shadows has incorporated more and more melodic singing. Where Waking the Fallen was 50/50 and City of Evil was 75/25 this album has just about completely done away with the heavy screaming of songs past. Not that that's a bad thing its just a different sound to hardcore fans. Many have trashed them for it but I see it as a brilliant career choice. Death Metal is a dying genre. You can call it selling out if you want but I actually think this gives them much more potential creativity and fan base. You cant fault them for enjoying playing in front of 10,000 fans compared to 200. Bands evolve over times and this album is proof A7X has as well. And the crazy solos and rediculous drumming is still there. Listen to the Afterlife solo and tell me thats not epic. Hate if you want but by incorporating a more catchy style to their still insanely talented skill probably added at least 3-4 chart topping albums to their future. Expand
  71. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    It's not like the metal albums that came before. It's definitely still Avenged Sevenfold, but this time they experiment with their sound by including elements of orchestras, country music, and... Autotune? Eh, they make it work.

    The singles on this album are some of the band's best. "Almost Easy" and "Critical Acclaim" are the heaviest songs on the album and the ones that stick closest
    It's not like the metal albums that came before. It's definitely still Avenged Sevenfold, but this time they experiment with their sound by including elements of orchestras, country music, and... Autotune? Eh, they make it work.

    The singles on this album are some of the band's best. "Almost Easy" and "Critical Acclaim" are the heaviest songs on the album and the ones that stick closest to the band's metal sound from the previous albums. Although the former is definitely a hard-rock song. "Afterlife" manages to stick with you thanks to it's haunting orchestral music and pretty-deep meaning. "Scream" is solid but didn't really do much for me. It will appeal to those who like their music with a creepy tinge though. "Dear God" is one of their slow songs. I've never really been a fan of their slower songs, but it's far from their worst.

    It along with "Gunslinger" experiment with the country music in their instrumentals. I am not a country music fan in any way, but I have to say the songs aren't bad. They thankfully don't go fully into the genre so they still manage to stay at the very least listenable.

    For the songs that aren't singles the lyrics can get a bit banal. The themes they carry are presented in a slightly juvenile ways. They still sound great, but they aren't going to be mistaken for high-art.

    The exception to this is the song "A Little Piece of Heaven." It's another track that uses the orchestral sound and it tells a twisted story that is delightfully dark-humored. It's filled with wild imagination and creativity. It's hilarious in all the right ways. The track is a masterpiece and my personal favorite Avenged Sevenfold song.

    The experimentation here mostly pays off. Outside of a few issues and inconsistencies Avenged Sevenfold crafted a great hard-rock album. Some of the band's most memorable songs are here, although they are among a few forgettable ones. It might not be the sound that caused people to fall in live with the band before, but it can still satisfy fans. The album has brought new fans to them and can continue to do so.

    My total score for this self-titled album is an 8.7/10.
    Expand
  72. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    While not as good as the excellent City of Evil it's a great album in it's own right. the best songs on show here are "A Little Piece Of Heaven" "Scream" & "Afterlife" Not that the albums inconsistent. Definitely worth a listen
  73. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    The best band ever!There music must be heard by eveyone.A7X never dissapoints when they release there music.If you like rock or metal youll love A7X.Their guitar solos are really amazing.
  74. Jun 21, 2011
    6
    It's hard to hate Avenged Sevenfold but also hard to love it as well. The album deffinatly has its highlights and merits, including quality tunes such as Almost Easy, Afterlife and even the guilty pleasure A Little Piece of Heaven. But unfortunatly some tunes also feature some stagnant mediocrity with very little innovation. And anybody that isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that thisIt's hard to hate Avenged Sevenfold but also hard to love it as well. The album deffinatly has its highlights and merits, including quality tunes such as Almost Easy, Afterlife and even the guilty pleasure A Little Piece of Heaven. But unfortunatly some tunes also feature some stagnant mediocrity with very little innovation. And anybody that isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that this is just another run-of-the-mill and mainstream rock album. Enjoyable no the less. Expand
  75. Mar 26, 2015
    8
    Don't listen to the haters, this is a great metal album and a great band! This album has great vocals along with great guitar and drum work. Also, this band is amazing live they put on a show full of energy!
  76. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    This Self Titled album is an explosion of everything Avenged Sevenfold with Awesome Tracks Like Gunslinger Critical Acclaim Scream and Afterlife this is an album that Is worth Checking out for fans of the Hard Rock/Heavy Metal music. Amd in a Comment Unrelated to the music this album is somewhat overshadowed by The Newer Avenged Songs its Underrated but its defintalty worth listing to
  77. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    I honestly do not understand how anyone can rate this under 10! If you didn't enjoy this you have no soul!
    A little piece of heaven is definitely the best song of the century!
  78. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    These guys are, and always will be, very good. This album definitely did have a different style, but it was still very good. I can't see why you wouldn't like it. Avenged Sevenfold rocks.
  79. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    Yes, this album may suffer from some themes of corny unoriginality, such as religious and hellish overtones, but it is a rather good listen, with many emotional songs that are good to listen to, especially if you are going through some awful times. I also like the fact that Avenged Sevenfold are actually brave enough to experiment with so many of their songs. This one has many gems,Yes, this album may suffer from some themes of corny unoriginality, such as religious and hellish overtones, but it is a rather good listen, with many emotional songs that are good to listen to, especially if you are going through some awful times. I also like the fact that Avenged Sevenfold are actually brave enough to experiment with so many of their songs. This one has many gems, "Critical Acclaim" is a good song about the many different faults of America in politics, "Almost Easy" is a good song for grieving over loved ones, or over anything in general. "Scream" isn't particularly that good of song, but it does have a nice guitar solo in it; "Afterlife" and "Gunslinger" are two very emotional songs that are my album favorites on this album. "Unbound (The Wild Ride)" is a nice ballad that involves shrieking piano rifts mixed in with guitar solos. "Brompton Cocktail" and "Lost" are not really my most appreciated, but are okay listens. "A Little Piece Of Heaven" has a very absolutely stupid and pointless meaning, but you can appreciate it for M. Shadows' nice vocal work, and the Broadway instruments nicely mixed within, but it is a rather ugly and perverted listen. Finally, "Dear God" is a country style ballad that is actually a nice emotional song, because it is not a country song, it only has country elements in it. Overall, this album is a good one, because of Avenged Sevenfold's will to experiment. They do however stray from their own genre a little bit too much, which is the album's main flaw. Expand
  80. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    I don't understand the hate from the critics, this album is amazing. Yes it's a different sound from City of Evil, but it's a cleaner sound (City of Evil is a mess, I'm sorry but it's true. Just listen to Beast and the Harlot closely). Melodically, it's great and Synyster Gates/Zacky Vengeance's dueling guitars sound great. M. Shadows' vocals are better than ever and The Rev'sI don't understand the hate from the critics, this album is amazing. Yes it's a different sound from City of Evil, but it's a cleaner sound (City of Evil is a mess, I'm sorry but it's true. Just listen to Beast and the Harlot closely). Melodically, it's great and Synyster Gates/Zacky Vengeance's dueling guitars sound great. M. Shadows' vocals are better than ever and The Rev's passion-filled voice adds a new dimension to a7x's sound. Highlights of the album are anything the Rev sings on and the underrated song "Lost". Expand
  81. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This may not be a good review if you're looking to see the ups and downs about this band, because I only have GREAT things to say about this band! I love this band so much, great lyrics, awesome instrumental and lovable guys! I love their older stuff, like the Sounding the Seventh Trumpet and Waking the Fallen album! I love Avenged Sevenfold!
  82. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Dear God, Almost Easy, A Little Piece of Heaven, Critical Acclaim, Scream. My favorite Avenged Sevenfold songs are all there! The other albums are very good, but none beats this one.
  83. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Not the best A7X album, but still good. A bit less powerful then the previous albums though.
    Let's analize every track.

    Critical Acclaim
  84. Apr 6, 2015
    8
    The production isn't the best for a metal band, or even A7x, but the greatness of the songs make up for that, I guess. And the lyrics definitely aren't the best or most original, either, but it's still enjoyable nonetheless.

    Track Reviews: 1. "Critical Acclaim"-Overall, a great track, but the whispering in the beginning of each verse still kind of bothers me. 2. "Almost Easy"-sick
    The production isn't the best for a metal band, or even A7x, but the greatness of the songs make up for that, I guess. And the lyrics definitely aren't the best or most original, either, but it's still enjoyable nonetheless.

    Track Reviews:

    1. "Critical Acclaim"-Overall, a great track, but the whispering in the beginning of each verse still kind of bothers me.

    2. "Almost Easy"-sick instrumentation, but not the greatest lyrically-but A7x never were lyrical masters, now were they

    3. "Scream"-probably the worst one so far, sounds a lot like Stone Temple Pilots, and a bit like **** 2000s radio-rock. But it's not all bad, just not a first choice favorite for me. The guitars save the song.

    4. "Afterlife"-kind of generic, but that's not to say it's bad. It's a good song, in fact the second half of the song may have just made it my favorite song on this album.

    5. "Gunslinger"-Not a bad song, but I feel like they did the same thing Metallica did on 1996's "Load"-they experimented with a country-esque sound mixed with hard rock...And neither of them did very well at it. Just as bad as "Scream", not terrible, but definitely not a classic song by any means. And again, the guitar solo saves the song.

    6. "Unbound (The Wild Ride)"-one of the better songs on the record. Truly epic.

    7. "Brompton Cocktail"-another really good song. not great, but still really good.

    8. "Lost"-the best one so far. wait, never mind...the auto tune....that was...eh...the song's still good, but why, the auto tune

    9. "A Little Piece of Heaven"-I am so confused! This is just so damn weird, it sounds like a mixture of 2000s emo and broadway. I'm not sure whether to love it or hate it. I literally can't rate this song at all, it's so weird. it's like broadway goes **** metal. But, I've decided...and I think I love it.

    10. "Dear God"-possibly the worst song this band has ever made. It's not god-awful, but it's not very good either. The solo towards the end saves it. This song is an example of when experimenting doesn't work. The last song before this, it worked, but no. not this time. No.

    If I were to count the ratings of the songs and find the percentage, it'd be about 8 and a half, but because the lyrics aren't so great, and certain elements are also relatively bland, I have to bring it down to an 8, not up to a nine.
    Expand
  85. May 25, 2015
    9
    Did they even get fans of rock/metal, specifically A7X to review this album? You have to wonder given this is arguably one of the most famous modern rock band's best albums and it's reviewed as 'meh.' Personally, I love this album. Not every song is fantastic, but all are at least pretty good, with some hihgly aggressive songs and other soft rock songs. I'm not a "fanboy" or anything; IDid they even get fans of rock/metal, specifically A7X to review this album? You have to wonder given this is arguably one of the most famous modern rock band's best albums and it's reviewed as 'meh.' Personally, I love this album. Not every song is fantastic, but all are at least pretty good, with some hihgly aggressive songs and other soft rock songs. I'm not a "fanboy" or anything; I just really like this album. Iit has meaningful lyrics and awesome melodies, like in Gunslinger, for example as well as some just plain catchy songs, like A Little Piece of Heaven. Well, if you like this style of music, you like it, and if you don't, you don't (meaning I'm not going to convince you to change your taste in music). Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. 60
    While straying from metal's path, they uphold its legacy of conservative politics. [Nov 2007, p.148]
  2. 50
    With tighter, mercifully shorter songs, like the Slayer-meets-slash trasher 'Almost Easy,' they're now defiling America's youth with more substance than style. [Nov 2007, p.114]
  3. Their anthem-filled fourth album's brazen swagger may prove irresistible. [Nov 2007, p.137]