Avenged Sevenfold

Avenged Sevenfold Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Southern California group's self titled is their fourth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    Their anthem-filled fourth album's brazen swagger may prove irresistible. [Nov 2007, p.137]
  2. Such tracks as 'Critical Acclaim,' 'Almost Easy' and 'Lost' keep the crank factor high--but as part of a bolder, broader and more engaging soundscape.
  3. The catchy Stone Temple Pilots vibe of 'Scream' is enough to put the band back on the charts, but that could happen with more than half of this album…And it probably will.
  4. The tunes--or at least whatever M. Shadows feels like bellowing--sound like the kind of lame, nu-metal angst-mongering that dominated the radio in the late Nineties.
  5. Spin
    50
    With tighter, mercifully shorter songs, like the Slayer-meets-slash trasher 'Almost Easy,' they're now defiling America's youth with more substance than style. [Nov 2007, p.114]
  6. Alternative Press
    50
    Avenged Sevenfold is so all over the map musically and lyrically, it's difficult to decipher whether it's pure genius or the most convoluted mess of music you'll hear all year. [Dec 2007, p.178]
  7. Avenged Sevenfold suffers two-fold from a dearth of genuinely good musical ideas- the infectious vocal melodies which underpin ‘Bat Country’ and ‘Sidewinder’ or the dynamic interlocking guitar lines of the latter and ‘Beast of the Harlot’- and a total absence of the critical faculties which should have allowed a small orchestral ensemble go hungry rather than become party to the madness of ‘A Little Piece of Heaven.’

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 85
  2. Negative: 13 out of 85
  1. JimW.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I read a preview of the album from A7X's own M. Shadows and he mentioned that he feels the self-titled album will have the same effect I read a preview of the album from A7X's own M. Shadows and he mentioned that he feels the self-titled album will have the same effect on his band as Metallica's self-titled had for them. And after giving the album a good listen for the 6 months it's been out, I second that statement 110%. I cannot get enough of this album. I listen to it everyday, and it is my favorite Avenged Sevenfold album. Expand
  2. lexib
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Best Album Ever!!!
  3. Yudi
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    This album is a completely different style for Avenged Sevenfold, but in a good way. Still hard enough to rock to, but also full of This album is a completely different style for Avenged Sevenfold, but in a good way. Still hard enough to rock to, but also full of comprehensible lyrics, this quintet from Huntington Beach really surprises me with the passion that they put behind some of the songs. Along my favorites are Afterlife, which I just love as more of like a soft rock ballad, A Little Piece of Heaven (amazing song as well as music video), and Almost Easy (the guitar solo is one of my favorites). Collapse
  4. ZiqA
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Its a good CD, however, this CD will divide fans. Some fans will LOVE it (like i do), but many Will hate it. I feel its they're best Its a good CD, however, this CD will divide fans. Some fans will LOVE it (like i do), but many Will hate it. I feel its they're best album yet, its really good. but again, not everyone will love it, many will probably hate it. Expand
  5. KevinC
    Nov 18, 2007
    8
    wish I could say I hate this band, but unfortunately I can't. I love the album right now, but unfortunately, i know I'll get bored wish I could say I hate this band, but unfortunately I can't. I love the album right now, but unfortunately, i know I'll get bored of it pretty soon. it's got those hooks that are memorable but lose their awesomeness pretty fast. i just find iron maiden kind of boring. they've got some good stuff, but it's too classic rock. not the same genre of metal. Expand
  6. Anon
    Nov 9, 2007
    7
    Avenged have clearly tried to experiment with their new album and at times it has worked to great affect. (Scream, Critical Acclaim) But at Avenged have clearly tried to experiment with their new album and at times it has worked to great affect. (Scream, Critical Acclaim) But at times they have tried things that simply don't work (A little piece of Heaven). The beauty of City of Evil was the energy that could be felt from each song, the thing that kept you listening again and again. The first half of the new album retains this but with songs towards the end you'll find yourself moving on long before the song ends. Expand
  7. VinnieV
    Oct 31, 2007
    0
    Avenged Sevenfold may be one of the worst bands that I have heard in the past decade. Don't buy this or anything else from them.

See all 85 User Reviews