• Record Label: New West
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2005
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanC
    May 21, 2005
    7
    So, they play Sleepy Jackson on the radio but not You? Eh? Post-post modern anti-irony? Plug? Time will tell I suppose; a pretty solid pop album nonetheless. Pleasing to the ears without being patronising or emotionally cold, which is saying something in today's music climate.
  2. JarrahJ
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    What do you think - is "Dan C" actually Marc Hogan from PitchFork !!?? (see above review) I guess thats what they call a "scathing!" review!? What a tosser, I'd snap im' one to the head 4 sure. Onya Ben Lee. I think you've come a LONG way since New Sth Hd rd. Keep it up tiger.
  3. Kim
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Brilliant! One of my top five favorite albums! This is the kind of album that makes you feel good about everything when you listen to it. It's sweet and charming with a twist. I just adore it!
  4. Eric
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    Don't listen to the reviewer from Rolling Stone. This is a magazine that gave the most recent Mick Jagger solo record five stars, so I think there's a credibility problem. This is a great record, probably his best. It's a breakup record, but it's not melancholy. One misstep (the noisy 10 minute dirge "Light") doesn't sink a record loaded with alternatively twangy Don't listen to the reviewer from Rolling Stone. This is a magazine that gave the most recent Mick Jagger solo record five stars, so I think there's a credibility problem. This is a great record, probably his best. It's a breakup record, but it's not melancholy. One misstep (the noisy 10 minute dirge "Light") doesn't sink a record loaded with alternatively twangy and poppy songs. Really, really good stuff. Expand
  5. 8yearsold
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    How many times does Ben Lee have to say this isn't a break up record? If you follow his career, and him as a person you can see that his evolution as a person (beliefs etc) has evolved into this album. He wants to give people hope, to do what they want to do. It is not as melancholic as his former albums, and if you see him live, this comes across that he is a much a happier person. How many times does Ben Lee have to say this isn't a break up record? If you follow his career, and him as a person you can see that his evolution as a person (beliefs etc) has evolved into this album. He wants to give people hope, to do what they want to do. It is not as melancholic as his former albums, and if you see him live, this comes across that he is a much a happier person. Great work Ben! Expand
  6. AnaA
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    It's very positive. Helps you get your day started. It's great when you just want to listen to an upbeat album.
  7. paulb
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Just a beautiful and very spiritual record. I don't understand the infantile comments - this is a very grown-up album - I'm 43 and this music really engages me - it is bright, intelligent, and makes you feel the world isn't such a bad place after all. Recommended.
  8. David
    Feb 25, 2005
    8
    Seriously that Rolling Stone reviewer in coming months will reasses for sure. This is a very honest light melodic catchy disc.
  9. DavidD
    Feb 27, 2005
    8
    Im a Ben Lee Fan. This is a solid disk. Not amazing for Lee, but it's good. It lacks the composition and strength of "Breathing Tornadoes", and seems to be a bit of a cross between "Hey You, Yes You" and "Something To Remember me by". It lacks a fullness I was hoping for, but has it's catchy parts.
  10. AubrieJ
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing. I haven't stopped listening to it since I got it a week ago! I love Ben Lee!
  11. JustinM
    Mar 8, 2005
    9
    Wow, I've just discovered Ben. Now I want his back catalogue. So what if he's a "precocious little c**t" (not my words) - his music is great. A very positive vibe to this album
  12. MelissaP
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    This is a great album. It is good to relax to, sing along to or dance to. Ben Lee has done a brilliant job in creating an album that is origional and very enjoyable.
  13. KristyW
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    This album never ceases to make me happy. Despite what others claim, this is NOT a breakup album. Sure bits and pieces of an artist's personal life are going to wind up in their work, but this album is so much more than that. It has a spirituality that is neither cloying nor preachy...something this Agnostic can digest without annoyance. Love it! Ben's the man.
  14. AmeliaE
    Aug 31, 2006
    8
    beautiful! ben lee has made a stunning album to sing to
  15. Brendan
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    He's tapping into something much bigger than everyone thinks. He's not living in the past as some might say. This sounds crazy, but just keep listening and check out where he is in five years or so. Oh yea, and the music is good too!
  16. AdrianaM
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    Ben Lee has made a winner!
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    He's never sounded more confident. [Mar 2005, p.134]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    [A] pleasant Sunday drive of an album. [18 Feb 2005, p.78]
  3. The songs, engaging as they are, sound cursory, as though Lee wrote them while riding the bus on his way to the studio, staring at his watch and an empty notebook.