• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. For Cave fans who have been patiently and exhaustively compiling this stuff in all sorts of dodgy ways, this set is a righteous archivist's gift.
  2. It's a seldom-heard rendition of the familiar.
  3. Proves a better retrospective than the equally matter-of-factly titled The Best of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds.
  4. Uncut
    70
    A fascinating document of exactly how far he's travelled. [May 2005, p.117]
  5. Mojo
    70
    An aptly schizophrenic alternative history. [May 2005, p.114]
  6. If... you’re already a fan, this is definitely worth a listen, not only for the interest value, but for the multiple songs which are simply brilliant Bad Seeds moments.
  7. Under The Radar
    80
    Despite its problems, B-Sides... is still a satisfying collection of Nick Cave's work over the years. [#9]
  8. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    Even their B-sides are full of dark magic. [2 Apr 2005, p.50]
  9. With phenomenal sound quality and scarcely a weak track in the lot, B-Sides & Rarities ought to satisfy Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds fans with its fascinating, if fairly familiar, tale.
  10. Blender
    60
    When Cave is bad he's unbeatable, but when he's good he's darn near awful. [Apr 2005, p.133]
  11. The Wire
    70
    There are, unsurprisingly, great contrasts in material and quality. [#254, p.54]
  12. As with most such collections you're going to get good, bad and extremely ugly, and this is no exception. The fact it spans three CDs seems a bit indulgent considering some of the material should be consigned to an incinerator never to be heard again.
  13. This will definitely please the archivist fan of Cave and the Bad Seeds and intrigue everyone else. [Avg of grades of 7, 8, and 9 for the three discs.]
  14. While two discs might have been more effective, the sheer overkill of this collection is par for the course for Cave and his supporting players.
  15. Although there are a couple tracks that are a bit more padding than needed, but overall this is a career compilation that's definitely worth having.
  16. Newcomers may want to start investigating with something less daunting, but even the casual fan of Cave's work will find this collection indispensable.
  17. If this collection weren't intended as a nearly comprehensive catch-all, it could have benefited from being pared down to two discs. Nevertheless, it offers a convincing alternative overview of Cave's work, covering all the stylistic points and diversions on his epic journey.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Feb 3, 2016
    10
    I find the tracks on this three disc set are essential additions to my Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds collection. Well-recorded and performedI find the tracks on this three disc set are essential additions to my Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds collection. Well-recorded and performed nearly all the songs are deserving of A listing and placement on an otherwise ordinary studio release without the B moniker. I wish all performers/groups would release this type of material. For example Radiohead includes a lot of extra material on their re-issues and likewise I find true first rate gems in their extra material as well. Full Review »
  2. SallyR
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I howled in delight at the thought of absorbing the three discs in this whomping box of love, pain, death and dark humor I laughed, I cried, I howled in delight at the thought of absorbing the three discs in this whomping box of love, pain, death and dark humor over the coming several months. I am planning special road trips to dark and wild environments just so I can howl along with Nick and the Bad Seeds as industrial landscapes, stark deserts and majestic abysses roll past my eyes! Brace yourselves, and buy it now... Full Review »
  3. JoseR
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    "eis aqui o bardo das trevas em toda a sua glória". Obrigatório