Babel Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the folk band was produced by Markus Dravs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 91
    The band has mastered the emotional gut-punch of quiet/loud dynamics, exploding from low-murmured harmonies into full Appalachian freak-outs.
  2. 80
    It's not perfect, but it's perfectly Mumford & Sons.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    67
    There are images of walls and towers in nearly every song, but they don't serve as a unifying theme--a missed opportunity for an album named after a famous tower.
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    60
    This is ultimately comfortable listening, befitting folk sounds of a resolutely un-freak variety. [Oct 2012, p.96]
  5. Sep 24, 2012
    60
    Two albums in and Mumford & Sons still sound like a talented outfit fused to the starting block, paralyzed by the thought of having to truly race for their lives.
  6. Sep 24, 2012
    50
    While the quartet may be perfectly competent musicians, though, their fundamental conservatism plays against them on Babel, making for an album that's entirely too familiar and safe.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I'll admit, the songs on Babel wouldn't be so painful if it weren't for the god-awful "deep" lyricism of Marcus Mumford.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    DaGuruDette knows little about the sheer brilliance of music. The songs a catchy with heartfelt feeling and the lyrics sublime. This isDaGuruDette knows little about the sheer brilliance of music. The songs a catchy with heartfelt feeling and the lyrics sublime. This is /Mumford & Sons at their very best. Sigh No More was the intro. This is the main story. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Mumford continues to reunite society with a lost sound of music. Instead of the annoying and irritating hip hop and pop, and artists such asMumford continues to reunite society with a lost sound of music. Instead of the annoying and irritating hip hop and pop, and artists such as Lil Wayne and Maroon 5. Mumford and Sons bring folk music storming back with one of the best albums in the 2010's Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Mumford & Sons are back and better than ever! This is an excellent sophomore album from this wonderful back band from England. It is betterMumford & Sons are back and better than ever! This is an excellent sophomore album from this wonderful back band from England. It is better than Sigh No More? Probably not better, but just as good. I am currently on my 5th listen and I absolutely love it. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    This album was wonderful! Surprising, happy, sad, large-scale, sometimes all in the same song! The melodies from the vocals and theThis album was wonderful! Surprising, happy, sad, large-scale, sometimes all in the same song! The melodies from the vocals and the instruments and the harmonies are a definite plus in this album. The songwriting was wonderful, every song was a joy to listen to...from a music standpoint. My only problem here are the lyrics. Especially in the title track the lyrics were repetitive and un-entertaining. Other than that, the album was a fun and exhilarating ride. This was a very worthy follow up to the wonderful "Sigh No More" which was also great fun. Great stuff, thanks to Mumford & Sons! 8/10. Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    I loved "Sigh No More". It was a great album with some great music. That's why I was looking forward to listen to their next studio effort,I loved "Sigh No More". It was a great album with some great music. That's why I was looking forward to listen to their next studio effort, "Babel". Honestly, it sounds just like their previous album. It's just that this one has more songs. There just isn't much difference in the instrumentals. (That obviously means that they're consistent with their music, which is very good.) If I had heard of Mumford & Sons for the first time because of THIS album, I would have definitely liked it more. The fact is, I've heard all this before, on their debut, "Sigh No More".
    The reason I'm giving this a 7 is because I like this genre of music, and it's a good album on its own.
    Congratulations on winning "Album of the Year" for this, M&S!
    Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    The Sophomore Slump. Mumford and Sons have produced an album that sounds truly lazy compared to their debut, Sigh No More. Better luck nextThe Sophomore Slump. Mumford and Sons have produced an album that sounds truly lazy compared to their debut, Sigh No More. Better luck next time, I suppose. Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    I was trying not to give this album a 0 however, it has literally no redeeming values. Even if I were to like one of their songs, would I likeI was trying not to give this album a 0 however, it has literally no redeeming values. Even if I were to like one of their songs, would I like it enough to hear the same song repeated for the length of an entire album? The answer is simply no. However, that would be potentially tolerable if the one song itself was acceptable yet it isn't. Each song is increasingly predictable with repetitive banjo riffs and weak vocals. This is only compounded with lyrics that seem like they came out of a 14 year old who just finished reading his first Shakespeare play. Do yourself a favour. Listen to one of their songs (which will essentially be like listening to the entire album). Realize how terrible it is and then never speak of it again. Collapse

See all 38 User Reviews