Baby 81

  • Record Label: Red Ink
  • Release Date: May 1, 2007
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanE
    May 1, 2007
    5
    I think this is by far BRMC's weakest effort. They sound like they're treading water here. The Under the Radar review sums it up best "it
  2. Dave
    May 22, 2007
    6
    I've listened to this now about half a dozen times, and have to say I am disappointed, especially following up the brilliant "Howl". I didn't expect them to make another one like Howl, but I also didn't expect them to pretty much abandon the blues/rock/gospel styling of Howl altogether. There are some good songs here, but overall they pretty much all sound the same (unlike I've listened to this now about half a dozen times, and have to say I am disappointed, especially following up the brilliant "Howl". I didn't expect them to make another one like Howl, but I also didn't expect them to pretty much abandon the blues/rock/gospel styling of Howl altogether. There are some good songs here, but overall they pretty much all sound the same (unlike the debut CD). Unfortunately, I have to agree with Under the Radar and AMG here. Still plan on seeing them live next month though. Maybe the newer songs will sound better live. Expand
  3. J
    May 31, 2007
    5
    This is the BRMC album I wanted before they were even a band. Nevermind the anachronism, this album is kind of embarassing. It feels flat like "Take Them On..." was. That was the sound I always wanted from them and they failed to provide then. Now we are stuck with this uninspired release. 666 Conducer?! What did you expect from a fake British accent? Check it out for the slow bits, a few This is the BRMC album I wanted before they were even a band. Nevermind the anachronism, this album is kind of embarassing. It feels flat like "Take Them On..." was. That was the sound I always wanted from them and they failed to provide then. Now we are stuck with this uninspired release. 666 Conducer?! What did you expect from a fake British accent? Check it out for the slow bits, a few good songs in that respect. Expand
  4. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    4
    I have to say the All Music Guide review is pretty much correct. They seem to have gone the way of Kings Of Leon with worse results.
  5. ThomasB.
    Jun 8, 2007
    4
    A step back for BRMC, like they were going through the motions. Lacks the disarming emotion of Howl. Bland effort.
  6. tonyc
    May 3, 2007
    6
    A solid rock band who has established themselves as being "cool". This album has a great sound but has no substance. Peter Hayes struggles to write compelling lyrics. Luckily the guitar, bass, and drums still sound good enough not to turn the album off.
  7. JacobS
    May 4, 2007
    5
    It's a tolerable album. Easily better than most of the stuff released on major labels, but that still doesn't justify giving it anything higher than a five. Their weakest effort. After Howl and Howl Sessions, I expect more out of this band.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Under The Radar
    60
    Baby 81 still contains a decent collection of songs, it’s just that not only do most of them not stand out from the band’s previous work, they also pale in comparison. [#17, p.82]
  2. Uncut
    80
    BRMC seem invincible; or back to their searing best, at any rate. [May 2007, p.87]
  3. The songwriting isn’t BRMC’s most memorable, but Baby 81’s noise-roots fumes are pretty thick.