User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Frankie4Fingers
    Dec 6, 2005
    3
    Bought it knowing that he's been on the decline for years. Listened to first couple tracks. Baby noises as music? How precious. Tossed it in the trash.
  2. Ros
    Nov 12, 2005
    3
    Have loved Eric Claptons work for most of my life. Bought the CD, listened to it once and haven't took it out of its case since. Sorry Eric!
  3. ScottF
    Sep 19, 2005
    3
    Clapton has shown in his Robert Johnson efforts that his guitar play and voice are still up there with the best. However when listening to this album (which was started before Me and Mr Johnson), you realise that he didn't learn anything from the previous album. He has once again reverted to his cheezy, reggae, lyrically self-rooted Journeyman days from the late 80's. The only Clapton has shown in his Robert Johnson efforts that his guitar play and voice are still up there with the best. However when listening to this album (which was started before Me and Mr Johnson), you realise that he didn't learn anything from the previous album. He has once again reverted to his cheezy, reggae, lyrically self-rooted Journeyman days from the late 80's. The only bright spots on this cringe-worthy album are the two songs penned by Claptons understudy, Doyle Bramhall II. Both 'Lost and Found' and 'Piece of My Heart' produce rare points of passion guitar play which are notably missing from this album. Come on Eric we know you can do better than this! Expand
  4. MorganK
    Sep 4, 2005
    2
    Well - Clapton's sucked for all 25 of my years, and, guess what!, he still sucks. Is anyone surprised? Oh? You love Clapton and just discovered SRV last yhear? Yeah, that means your opinion is irrelevant!! bah!
  5. roberts
    Sep 10, 2005
    1
    I am a huge clapton fan.This c.d.is horrible.Elton John has taken over eric's body. Eric is tainting his stellar reputation with this crap. Simon Climie;Who?and Why?
  6. FlowerChild
    Sep 7, 2005
    1
    Horrible! He should of included the theme from "little House On The Prairie". Predictable & boring. The Clapton I once new as a young girl is GONE. No longer does he exhibit uniqueness. In addition...why all the pics of the wife that on a scale of 1 to 10 is a 3. Who cares! Sorry I bought it! Already sold it back to the used CD store!
  7. wangl
    Sep 1, 2005
    0
    Clapton=Crap Tonne
  8. XmanBlues
    Sep 4, 2005
    0
    I'm selling my CD back to the used CD store and I know nobody will want to buy after. What a waste of money and time. I'm still wondering what happened??
  9. ThomasH
    Sep 5, 2005
    0
    Eric, please retire. These songs of yours they get me nowhere.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. [An] overblown and underwhelming batch of MOR gruel. [2 Sep 2005, p.81]
  2. Yet heartfelt as his sentiments may be, the songs are a letdown: there's neither angst nor exaltation, just tidiness. [29 Aug 2005]
  3. A couple of indiscretions taint the disc, but hey, nobody's perfect.