• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Aug 15, 2006
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 377 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 377

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this album
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Whoa. This is pop perfection! "Hurt" is an unforgettable ballad, "Candyman" is a jazzy '40s-style swing tune, and "Ain't No Other Man" channels '60s funk. There are many more great, classy songs as well. Christina has had one of the best voices of any Hollywood diva since she started singing. She deserves praise for bringing old-fashioned vocal pop in the style of '20s, '30s, and '40sWhoa. This is pop perfection! "Hurt" is an unforgettable ballad, "Candyman" is a jazzy '40s-style swing tune, and "Ain't No Other Man" channels '60s funk. There are many more great, classy songs as well. Christina has had one of the best voices of any Hollywood diva since she started singing. She deserves praise for bringing old-fashioned vocal pop in the style of '20s, '30s, and '40s songs to mainstream pop music. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Without doubt the best Christina Aguilera, and also one of the riskiest album of the 21st century. What artist in the full year 2006 would have the courage to release an album of Blues and Soul? No one. But Christina did, got the deserved success, and as always, the quality put into it and feeling the tracks. Highlight tracks Hurt Oh Mother, Is not No Other Man, Slow Down Baby, Candyman,Without doubt the best Christina Aguilera, and also one of the riskiest album of the 21st century. What artist in the full year 2006 would have the courage to release an album of Blues and Soul? No one. But Christina did, got the deserved success, and as always, the quality put into it and feeling the tracks. Highlight tracks Hurt Oh Mother, Is not No Other Man, Slow Down Baby, Candyman, Save Me From Myself and Mercy On Me. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Christina Aguilera's best album so far. One of the best album of 2006. Ain't No Other Man, Hurt, Candyman, Welcome and Mercy on Me are just amazing !!!
  5. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Christina takes us "Back In The Day" in her oldschool R&B oriented, fully grown up, amazing, breathtaking, best album in her career. First disc mainly contains of joyfull, full of life songs like "Makes Me Wanna Prey", "Ain't No Other Man", "Back In The Day", "Slow Down Baby" and "Still Dirrty" and light but not shallow ballads like "Oh Mother" and "Without You" with every one of themChristina takes us "Back In The Day" in her oldschool R&B oriented, fully grown up, amazing, breathtaking, best album in her career. First disc mainly contains of joyfull, full of life songs like "Makes Me Wanna Prey", "Ain't No Other Man", "Back In The Day", "Slow Down Baby" and "Still Dirrty" and light but not shallow ballads like "Oh Mother" and "Without You" with every one of them sampling one of Xtina's favouite songs. Second disc partially foreshadows what will happen in 2010 on "Burlesque" soundtrack. Even if "Enter The Circus" is a mess the rest of the CD is flawless. It conatins both sexy songs like "Candyman", "Nasty Naughty Boy" and "I Got Trouble" vulnerable, beauiful ballads like "Welcome", "Save Me From Myself", "The Right Man" and finally Christina's best song ever done "Hurt.

    10 out of 10
    Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Now, that's is what they call music. It's an amazing pop album flavored with 40's, 50's, 60's Jazz and Blues materials. The lyrics are amazing same th the beats and the vocal performance. A true masterpiece.
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This is the album that Beyoncé always wanted to do, sophisticated, well crafted and extremely tasteful, Back to Basics itself as a masterpiece of Christina Aguilera.
  8. DaveH
    Sep 12, 2006
    3
    It's NOT a little crass and self-centred, it's EXTREMELY crass and self-centred, just like the boring bimbo who released it.
  9. charlottef
    Oct 1, 2006
    0
    shes so boring and just because you have a powerful voice doesn't mean it's any good
  10. MandyD
    Aug 14, 2006
    0
    Isn't even worthy of being released. She's so fake.
  11. moolalotsa
    Aug 15, 2006
    0
    Hideous music from the most delusional and empty-headed pop star ... EVER. Someone deflate her bloated head and charge her for making such awful music. Truly the worst pop star of all time.
  12. gilm
    Aug 20, 2006
    4
    "Ain't no other man". Billy Hollyday!? Jazzy!!?? Michael Jackson all over, that's what it has... Double unoriginal: in genre an in interpretation!
  13. LanieL
    Aug 14, 2006
    3
    Only like a few songs, but even among those I can only listen to half the song. I really cannot take her screaming. A lot of this album is very boring to me. I love Understand, Save me from myself, Without You. Don't like F.U.S.S. Wtf is Enter the Circus? Back in the Day is BORING! Thank you is annoyingly egotistical. Lyrics are decent except for the hypocrisy of Here to Stay and Only like a few songs, but even among those I can only listen to half the song. I really cannot take her screaming. A lot of this album is very boring to me. I love Understand, Save me from myself, Without You. Don't like F.U.S.S. Wtf is Enter the Circus? Back in the Day is BORING! Thank you is annoyingly egotistical. Lyrics are decent except for the hypocrisy of Here to Stay and FUSS (assuming its about Mr. Storch) In Here to Stay she says she doesn't pay attention to the negative kind, yet she has FUSS on the album. Good job not paying attention! Expand
  14. mikes.
    Aug 16, 2006
    4
    AMG overrated this album and this album is in my opinion worse than stripped. The main reason is that this album is simply not pop. The production is awful, old sounding, and the genre she's singing seems to be something one would hear on broadway during the 50's. That is why other critics praise this album just because it sounds different. But this type of different is bad, and AMG overrated this album and this album is in my opinion worse than stripped. The main reason is that this album is simply not pop. The production is awful, old sounding, and the genre she's singing seems to be something one would hear on broadway during the 50's. That is why other critics praise this album just because it sounds different. But this type of different is bad, and just plain whack. The only reason this type of album will have success is because its coming from a main stream artist. If an indie artist released this crap it would absolutely go unrecognized and be critically served a cold dish as well. Expand
  15. ChrisW
    Aug 23, 2006
    5
    She really missed on this one. If you're going to make a CD that has influences of early Blues and Jazz, why not go the full route? Just by saying the names of former Music Legends does not put you in that catagory. Far from it in fact. She got an amazing voice, but poor songwriting and weak productions fail these CD's.
  16. MattS
    Aug 29, 2006
    4
    Honestly, the ablum sucked to me. Becuase i mean seriously, she shifter from waering a whorey dress in that "Dirty" video and now, "Im trying to be serious"? Please, leave that to rock bands. Too much Pop music has flooded Teens , and that gives groups like 'Backstreet boys' 'Panic at the disco' and 'Beyonce' to make teeny music that will be xpected to be a Honestly, the ablum sucked to me. Becuase i mean seriously, she shifter from waering a whorey dress in that "Dirty" video and now, "Im trying to be serious"? Please, leave that to rock bands. Too much Pop music has flooded Teens , and that gives groups like 'Backstreet boys' 'Panic at the disco' and 'Beyonce' to make teeny music that will be xpected to be a big hit even though it's pontless, but they think they're GODS, so it's that what blinds people from PASSIONATE music. Believe me, I at first like Christina's music with that song "Beatiful' because she sounds more serious and more powerful with melodi songs, but now, what? "Ain't No Other Man'? Come on people, we hear that tune off MTV everyday! We neeed something new today! Music is rotting day by day! The same rap beat in everysong, the same dance beat in every song! Please get real and make sometihng unique. It's honestly annoying. Expand
  17. MyraP.
    Sep 6, 2006
    2
    The album is too overdone, and Christina never really embodies the music she's so desperately trying to emulate.
  18. DaveW
    Aug 15, 2006
    2
    I'm sorry, but overall this CD is a mess. It's like Christina is trying to hard. The production, her vocals, everything. Too over the top. "Makes Me Wanna Pray" is like faux gospel and it comes off really fake. "Ain't No Other Man" suffers from her oversinging the song. Most of disc one is a piece of garbage. The only good songs come from disc 2, and there aren't many. I'm sorry, but overall this CD is a mess. It's like Christina is trying to hard. The production, her vocals, everything. Too over the top. "Makes Me Wanna Pray" is like faux gospel and it comes off really fake. "Ain't No Other Man" suffers from her oversinging the song. Most of disc one is a piece of garbage. The only good songs come from disc 2, and there aren't many. In fact, the only spectacular song is "Save Me From Myself," a song that entices chills without Aguilera screaming like a madwoman. It's easily her best song to date. Too bad most of the record is nothing like that song. Less is more, Christina. You may say you went back to basics, but really you went as over the top as possible on this one. Better luck next time. Expand
  19. BrianK
    Aug 16, 2006
    2
    A misfire on so many levels. It would probably take several pages to fully flesh out everything that is wrong with the album. To start off with, Christina comparing herself to the great singers of our time (Ella, Etta, Nina, among others) is preposterous. Yes, she is a phenomenal singer, easily the strongest one on the radio right now, but peeling away the shine of her vocal acrobatics A misfire on so many levels. It would probably take several pages to fully flesh out everything that is wrong with the album. To start off with, Christina comparing herself to the great singers of our time (Ella, Etta, Nina, among others) is preposterous. Yes, she is a phenomenal singer, easily the strongest one on the radio right now, but peeling away the shine of her vocal acrobatics reveals a staggering immaturity and lack of emotion in her voice 95% of the time. She lacks the timelessness and artistic generosity that is required of greatness -- it is and always will be about Xtina. And this is a huge thing on the whole record; her pride is beaten into your skull over and over again. Where to start on other things that are wrong... too broad a vision leads to lack of focus; too much belting and riffs deaden their effect; attempts at jazz come off as loungy and second-rate. But the real killer, the biggest unforgivable sin, is the track "Thank You." It is, in my opinion, the absolute worst kind of music that can be made -- music that not only makes the rest of the album worse, but also makes you feel bad for both the artist and the artist's fans. A handful of tunes that work (the most notable being "Candyman") redeem the album from a 0 or a 1. Expand
  20. VictorG
    Dec 22, 2007
    0
    GREAT ALBUM!
  21. ntukziem
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    xtina bridges the gap with her best work yet... awesome album!!!
  22. JamesT
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    Phenomenal.... one word says it all... excellent work girl!
  23. R.M.Bronson
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Stellar. Excellent. A must buy. Definitely a frontrunner for Album of the Year.
  24. dgfgdgffdg
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    sexy
  25. FrankN
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    The best female voice out there!
  26. MohammedS
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    Brilliant, brilliant album. She has more authentic hiphop beats than the NY rappers. She put them all to shame, and I can't believe I just said that.
  27. KennyH
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    It's an AMAZING album!.. it's very different, compared to stripped. but I think this cd is more 'happy':).. it's superb! Personally I like the second cd little bit more:)
  28. StephenN
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    I think this is Christina's Best Album So Far.I particularly like Disc 2 Better than Disc 1.and her vocal talent comes out strong on this Album so close to what she really loves.
  29. MarkW
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    It shows through the music that she really put time into making this album. This album isn't for everybody, but for those people out there that are looking for QUALITY pop music, this is the CD for you.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Beyond the retro instrumentation, however, it's unclear what Aguilera has really learned from her idols.
  2. Aguilera doesn't have the gravitas of her heroes, and her forays into bluesy torch singing and '40s-style swing are stiff and mannered. But she needn't genuflect before the past -- she can make her own glorious kind of 21st-century noise.
  3. This rather bloated record should be regarded as a disappointment - an interesting one, but a disappointment none the less.