Back To Basics

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Back To Basics Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 477 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 'Basics' in the title of this double-disc set are the jazzy blues and soul sounds of the 1920s, 30s and 40s, which Aguilera tackles with the help of Linda Perry and DJ Premier.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. It may be all about style, it may be a little crass and self-centered, but it's also catchy, exciting, and unique.
  2. She's found herself artistically.
  3. Ultimately, Aguilera's the only one of her peers with the vocal prowess to pull it off.
  4. Rolling Stone
    60
    At one disc, this would have been nothing short of masterful. [24 Aug 2006, p.96]
  5. Paste Magazine
    60
    The album carries a slight-but-distinct theatrical odor. [Apr 2007, p.56]
  6. This rather bloated record should be regarded as a disappointment - an interesting one, but a disappointment none the less.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 177
  1. JohnnyA
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best pop albums I've ever heard from such a young vocalist. She's really a great songwriter and DJ Premier has This is one of the best pop albums I've ever heard from such a young vocalist. She's really a great songwriter and DJ Premier has brought out the best in her. 15 years from now we will have yet another legend among us. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    II Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this album Expand
  3. MO'Kane
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Excellent
  4. JoseT
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    I think this album is her best album yet....vocally and in what concerns of songwriting. This is a great effort from her and she has proven I think this album is her best album yet....vocally and in what concerns of songwriting. This is a great effort from her and she has proven that she can still be popular and take her music to another album, I defenitly love this album and I think this should be nominated for the GRAMMYS 2007 Expand
  5. DevonS
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Excellent album. She sounds like a woman in control of her career and you can't get any better than "Mercy on Me," "Hurt," "On Our Way," Excellent album. She sounds like a woman in control of her career and you can't get any better than "Mercy on Me," "Hurt," "On Our Way," and "Ain't No Other Man." She is amazing and has the best voice of this generation. Expand
  6. Albert
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    It's one of the best pop/hip hop albums of the season, it's new beats when all is the same, it's glad to hear it. Ido really It's one of the best pop/hip hop albums of the season, it's new beats when all is the same, it's glad to hear it. Ido really think this one's the best of her carrer up to now Expand
  7. MandyD
    Aug 14, 2006
    0
    Isn't even worthy of being released. She's so fake.

See all 177 User Reviews