Back To Basics - Christina Aguilera
Back To Basics Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 'Basics' in the title of this double-disc set are the jazzy blues and soul sounds of the 1920s, 30s and 40s, which Aguilera tackles with the help of Linda Perry and DJ Premier.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. It may be all about style, it may be a little crass and self-centered, but it's also catchy, exciting, and unique.
  2. She's found herself artistically.
  3. Ultimately, Aguilera's the only one of her peers with the vocal prowess to pull it off.
  4. At one disc, this would have been nothing short of masterful. [24 Aug 2006, p.96]
  5. The album carries a slight-but-distinct theatrical odor. [Apr 2007, p.56]
  6. This rather bloated record should be regarded as a disappointment - an interesting one, but a disappointment none the less.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 164
  1. tenzingd
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    christina´s versatile voice is a strength she uses to idolise the great singers of blues and jazz of the past. I have already listened christina´s versatile voice is a strength she uses to idolise the great singers of blues and jazz of the past. I have already listened the album, back to basic. She is getter better and better. she blows you out. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    II Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this album Expand
  3. ChristianA
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    first listen, immediately fell for some songs and felt like i wanted more from others. second listen, i loved most songs and understood the first listen, immediately fell for some songs and felt like i wanted more from others. second listen, i loved most songs and understood the rest. now, i can't stop listening to the album. critics will be critics, and in the end it's all politics. i admire her risk-taking and in the end, like other risk-takers, it will pay off. christina is an artist, undeniably, and an inspiration. Expand
  4. Isabelg
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    is just like this album, she has great vocals....she has inspired a lot of people...and on Back to Basics...she just have demonstrated...that is just like this album, she has great vocals....she has inspired a lot of people...and on Back to Basics...she just have demonstrated...that She IS HERE TO STAY Expand
  5. sweetlikesugax0xsweetlikesugax0xx
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    christina is my favorite artist i lov her i lover every song on the hole album it is soooo inspiring fo young singers luv ya grl
  6. JamesB
    Aug 24, 2006
    9
    one of the most original albums of the year...well done Aguilera!
  7. MandyD
    Aug 14, 2006
    0
    Isn't even worthy of being released. She's so fake.

See all 164 User Reviews