Back To Basics

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Back To Basics Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 416 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 'Basics' in the title of this double-disc set are the jazzy blues and soul sounds of the 1920s, 30s and 40s, which Aguilera tackles with the help of Linda Perry and DJ Premier.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. It may be all about style, it may be a little crass and self-centered, but it's also catchy, exciting, and unique.
  2. She's found herself artistically.
  3. Ultimately, Aguilera's the only one of her peers with the vocal prowess to pull it off.
  4. Rolling Stone
    60
    At one disc, this would have been nothing short of masterful. [24 Aug 2006, p.96]
  5. Paste Magazine
    60
    The album carries a slight-but-distinct theatrical odor. [Apr 2007, p.56]
  6. This rather bloated record should be regarded as a disappointment - an interesting one, but a disappointment none the less.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 167
  1. JohnnyA
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best pop albums I've ever heard from such a young vocalist. She's really a great songwriter and DJ Premier has This is one of the best pop albums I've ever heard from such a young vocalist. She's really a great songwriter and DJ Premier has brought out the best in her. 15 years from now we will have yet another legend among us. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    II Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this album Expand
  3. AH
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    An instant classic from an artist that continues to improve with age, this girl adds an 'x factor' to every track that lifts them An instant classic from an artist that continues to improve with age, this girl adds an 'x factor' to every track that lifts them to another level. Christina is the greatest talent of her generation, and though others such as Kelly Clarkson are worthy successors, she remains THE best pop vocalist of our time. Expand
  4. despor
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    I love this cd, i love the fact that it is different to what other people are releasing, she deserves all the sucess with this. Amazing.
  5. chelsb
    May 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing album, if your thinking of purchasing- you most def. should. Slow Down Baby, Still Dirrty and Save me from myself would have to be my Amazing album, if your thinking of purchasing- you most def. should. Slow Down Baby, Still Dirrty and Save me from myself would have to be my favorite out of the songs on Back to Basics! Expand
  6. Tiar
    Sep 6, 2006
    9
    Aguilera shows her vocal prowess once again in an original, funky mix of heart wrenching ballads, sassy 40's bar room swingers, and Aguilera shows her vocal prowess once again in an original, funky mix of heart wrenching ballads, sassy 40's bar room swingers, and soulful tributes to the legends of the first half of the twentieth century. The chameleon-like Aguilera has shed her skin from a bubblegum teen pop princess to a dirrty chaps wearing rebel to a subtely sensual traditional soul/pop/r'n'b queen. And for that, I applaud her. Expand
  7. MandyD
    Aug 14, 2006
    0
    Isn't even worthy of being released. She's so fake.

See all 167 User Reviews