Back To Basics - Christina Aguilera
Back To Basics Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 'Basics' in the title of this double-disc set are the jazzy blues and soul sounds of the 1920s, 30s and 40s, which Aguilera tackles with the help of Linda Perry and DJ Premier.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. It may be all about style, it may be a little crass and self-centered, but it's also catchy, exciting, and unique.
  2. Ultimately, Aguilera's the only one of her peers with the vocal prowess to pull it off.
  3. No doubt the album of her career.
  4. At one disc, this would have been nothing short of masterful. [24 Aug 2006, p.96]
  5. The first disc contains all the major American radio hits, but at no small price. It's all craft and very little heart. Disc two, then, comes as welcome respite.
  6. This rather bloated record should be regarded as a disappointment - an interesting one, but a disappointment none the less.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 159
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    Beautifully written and produced. The masterpiece of one of the best singers of all time. Christina pours her heart in the lyrics and her geniality in the evoking of the basic sound. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2012
    Amazing Album, greatest songs and a really wonderful voice, she's a very wonderful artist. Definitely her best album so far. I don't understand the bad critics. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    I Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove this album Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    Christina takes us "Back In The Day" in her oldschool R&B oriented, fully grown up, amazing, breathtaking, best album in her career. First disc mainly contains of joyfull, full of life songs like "Makes Me Wanna Prey", "Ain't No Other Man", "Back In The Day", "Slow Down Baby" and "Still Dirrty" and light but not shallow ballads like "Oh Mother" and "Without You" with every one of them sampling one of Xtina's favouite songs. Second disc partially foreshadows what will happen in 2010 on "Burlesque" soundtrack. Even if "Enter The Circus" is a mess the rest of the CD is flawless. It conatins both sexy songs like "Candyman", "Nasty Naughty Boy" and "I Got Trouble" vulnerable, beauiful ballads like "Welcome", "Save Me From Myself", "The Right Man" and finally Christina's best song ever done "Hurt.

    10 out of 10
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    Now, that's is what they call music. It's an amazing pop album flavored with 40's, 50's, 60's Jazz and Blues materials. The lyrics are amazing same th the beats and the vocal performance. A true masterpiece. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    This is the album that Beyoncé always wanted to do, sophisticated, well crafted and extremely tasteful, Back to Basics itself as a masterpiece of Christina Aguilera. Expand

See all 159 User Reviews