Back To Black

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 294

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This album is one of the best album I've ever heard. Best classy production, promising vocals, and honest lyrics brings the best of Amy and the album. No boring songs and every song is a need to hear.
  2. YonkoD.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece!
  3. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    A very good album from the amazingly talented Amy Winehouse. There's not a great deal to say; it has its selection of great songs (the best, in my opinion, being "Addicted" and "Tears Dry On Their Own") but also has some less catchy songs, like all albums. Her uncommon talent makes up for this, and she provides us with a brilliant British jazz album. It sold in its truckloads, and rightlyA very good album from the amazingly talented Amy Winehouse. There's not a great deal to say; it has its selection of great songs (the best, in my opinion, being "Addicted" and "Tears Dry On Their Own") but also has some less catchy songs, like all albums. Her uncommon talent makes up for this, and she provides us with a brilliant British jazz album. It sold in its truckloads, and rightly so; it's a good album. However, I never really gained much from it. It will never be a favourite of mine, as good as it may be.
    8/10. Why? Although an amazing musical album, it failed to touch me or become a favourite.
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    This album is one of the best I've ever heard.
  5. Sep 1, 2015
    10
    One of the best albums of all times delivered by one of the greatest artists to ever walk the earth. Amy sounds emotive and fills the album with such life. Mark Ronson and Salaam Remi are true production geniuses on this record, creating a throwback R&B vibe that has not been matched to this day. And also, Tears Dry on their Own is the best song ever. Listen to this Grammy Award winningOne of the best albums of all times delivered by one of the greatest artists to ever walk the earth. Amy sounds emotive and fills the album with such life. Mark Ronson and Salaam Remi are true production geniuses on this record, creating a throwback R&B vibe that has not been matched to this day. And also, Tears Dry on their Own is the best song ever. Listen to this Grammy Award winning album and be enlightened. Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    It's like Prefix Magazine said... Back to Black stands in testament to the fact that talent and originality still exist. Amy was an amazing singer and songwriter and this album is the prove of the pretty soul that Amy has to give to all listeners.
  7. Bors
    Apr 6, 2007
    8
    It is just good soul/jazz/pop british music.
  8. NormaG
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    I am not ordinarily a fan of doped up, foul-mouthed, self-destructive types, but Amy's music is such a contradictory combination of hard-core, tell-it-like-it-is lyrics wrapped up in danceable 60's style music that it's just surprising. Add to that her edgy soul-filled vocals, and wow! I read one reviewer who said something like: "Who needs love when pain feels this good!" I am not ordinarily a fan of doped up, foul-mouthed, self-destructive types, but Amy's music is such a contradictory combination of hard-core, tell-it-like-it-is lyrics wrapped up in danceable 60's style music that it's just surprising. Add to that her edgy soul-filled vocals, and wow! I read one reviewer who said something like: "Who needs love when pain feels this good!" Come to think of it, maybe that's what's going on between Amy and Blake. Anyway, a few more listens and I'll probably agree! Expand
  9. ZéM.
    Jun 2, 2008
    8
    The music is good as the performer is classy. I'm in love with her voice
  10. Honey
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of last year (and this year in the States); Winehouse delivers a soulful punch in the gut, complete with spot-on vocals and plenty of attitude and intelligence.
  11. lils
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Great, one of the year's bests. Great voice, smart lyrics, which seem hard to sing on the paper, but she pulls it out easily. Very bluesy, very honest, very british, with Rehab as an instant classic. And for all of you who say she's a one hit wonder, she had another great record, Frank, and it's single Stronger than Me won Ivor Novello. I hope we'll be hearing more of her!
  12. jyotirmayad
    Aug 7, 2007
    8
    Amy Winehouse is such a fresh new talent... she does it all in her own trademark style... she is surely one of the most important artists of 2007, and should win many music awards.
  13. NunoEU
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    An amazing album, a masterpiece! One of the best albuns of the century... "Love Is a Losing Game" and "Tears Dry On Their Own" are 5 stars *****!
  14. Keithk.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    You know, I typically trust Rolling Stone as the deciding vote. The one that settles the debate. But I look at the review here and wonder how did this mensch get it so wrong? I listen to all kinds of music. No boundaries here. And I can tell you, this album is the best of the year through October 18th. When has a singer been this original, even when scouring decades past? Sure, she's You know, I typically trust Rolling Stone as the deciding vote. The one that settles the debate. But I look at the review here and wonder how did this mensch get it so wrong? I listen to all kinds of music. No boundaries here. And I can tell you, this album is the best of the year through October 18th. When has a singer been this original, even when scouring decades past? Sure, she's a wreck. And thank god the wreck actually WRITES songs and has REAL vocal talent. I love Radiohead. Iron and Wine. All of em. THIS is the best of the year. It's got guts. It earns it. It's not just posing. Kudos. Kudos. Kudos. Expand
  15. SeanP.
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Wow, i was pleasantly surprised. Even in this year of Arcade Fire, Bjorn, !!!, The Shins, and Explosions in the Sky, this is one of the best of the year so far. I'm a big fan of 60s and 70s soul, so i guess i would be one to enjoy this album. But what that also means, is i know what good soul music sounds like, and Winehouse is the real deal. The arrangements may be retroactively Wow, i was pleasantly surprised. Even in this year of Arcade Fire, Bjorn, !!!, The Shins, and Explosions in the Sky, this is one of the best of the year so far. I'm a big fan of 60s and 70s soul, so i guess i would be one to enjoy this album. But what that also means, is i know what good soul music sounds like, and Winehouse is the real deal. The arrangements may be retroactively influenced, but they're still modern all the way. Expand
  16. stevec
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    immense, she can now walk the walk not just talk the talk. modern beats and classic staxx sass make this a must have classic
  17. MichaelB
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    An instant classic - the soundtrack from rainy Saturday afternoons to Sunday morning - she deserves the world
  18. maxim04xtina
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    This album sounds so fresh.So different from all those rubbish you've heard on the radio. Great vocals, great style, great album
  19. mikeyf
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    t&a with soul. cool use of rugburn references throughout. bless her heart. bothers me she apprximates / appoaches f'n xtina once or twice, note to aw: don't let it happen again, your miles ahead of the pack, stay there.
  20. ixata
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    this album is gonna win the big 4 at the next grammys.. im betting my whole cd collection on it!!!
  21. danw
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    truly original mixing girl group and soul with modern bad girl lyrics thereby passing contemporary r&b boringness and passing the "neosoul" scene.
  22. DeboA
    May 15, 2007
    8
    The album is not perfect but every song manages to grab and keep you. I just can't help but fall in love with this girl's musick. She is brutally honest and has a voice to be compared with the likes of Ella Fitzgerald&Etta James. You won't be disappointed.
  23. Sid1983
    May 2, 2007
    8
    The kind you listen to on a grey NYC morning on the way to work or sitting and watching the rain. But whatever pithy you use, it's an album you can feel
  24. petel
    Jun 2, 2007
    7
    the album peaks & dips in places, but when it peaks, it really peaks. You also can't deny that her voice is amazing and can make anything sound powerful. Best Songs: Rehab, You Know I'm No Good, Back To Black, Tears Dry On Their Own, Wake Up Alone, Addicted (odd, but good) And even the less good songs arent tragic.
  25. JosephF.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    Simply amazing voice. Not that original when you compare it to a long time ago, but nobody is doing the stuff she is right now. Great way to change things up.
  26. Chris
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing lyrics, true soul, great voice and incredible sound. This is the perfect example of a classic album and her career seems to be just starting!
  27. ArieB
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Haven't been so enthusiastic for a singer since D'Angelo. The guy disappeared...and so did hopes for old school soul. But Amy, wow, it's another dimension. Everything about this album is amazing. I only wish she takes care of herself, learns to be low key and keeps on blessing us with her talent for a very long time.
  28. JarrenS.
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    Amy's voice is fantastic. The song writing is decent; could be a little more exciting and a little less biographical, and I would have given it a 10. I'm shocked by how many people gave this a 0. Kind of silly.
  29. ab
    Jan 24, 2009
    7
    Her voice is beautiful, as are some of the songs ("Wake Up Alone" was on repeat for awhile), but some of the material was weak (the sample for "Tears Dry On Their Own" was obvious and made the song seem pale and kitschy in comparison to the original). Hopefully her next album will be filled with stronger, more original material.
  30. IceL
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    One of the best soul albums ever, period!
  31. GeorgeB
    Mar 13, 2007
    9
    Great stuff! Soulful and provocative.
  32. ChrisS
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    It's refreshing, soulful and emotional... She puts everyone in the game right now to shame... You can hear jazz, motown and real soul on this record and still getting a modern day satisfaction...
  33. LouisJ.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    21st century Ronnie Spector attitude with Dinah Washington pipes. This is amazing stuff.
  34. VukK
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    AMAZING voice. amazing music, original, simply brilliant, is all I have to say.
  35. VincentVdB.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Amy Winehouse has such a wonderfull voice... I've never heard such sweet soul...
  36. NormanS
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    one of the best albums ive heard ina few years. it's gonna end up one of this classic albums that people will love forever. a true UK talent.
  37. jennifer
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Fantastic piece or work. Classic tunes reminiscent of long ago infused with lyrics of the current day. Her voice is amazing! Make sure you pick this one up and add it to your collection.
  38. yeahisaidit!
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums i've heard in a long time. Her voice is amazing combined with cool lyrics & great rhythm. This girl is gonna rack up the Grammy's next year.
  39. BenK
    May 11, 2007
    10
    How anyone can dislike this album is seriously beyond me. Her vocals are strong and unique, her lyrics are to die for, and the music is insanely catchy in an innovative way. Amy is love.
  40. Adam
    May 21, 2007
    9
    A classic, Ronson / Winehouse have produced something special...
  41. AlfredoM
    May 25, 2007
    10
    Her unique voice and daring lyrics makes this album one of the year's best!!! The song "Back To Black" is just outstanding.
  42. CaseyRD.
    May 29, 2007
    8
    The only reason I'd give this record a bad review is cuz a certain blogger name Perez Hilton "claims" to have discovered her before everyone else. She had nothing to do with that and she is beyond gifted and I can't take that away from her
  43. AlexS.
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Amy Winehouse's voice alone is very impressive. She sings her songs in a way that is a throwback to (but not entirely derivative of) the Motown sound. It's refreshing to hear a modern take on Motown R&B. Her sound fuses this with a little bit of hip-hop and techniques used in R&B music today. This is an excellent record. It's old meets new. SImultaneously traditional and Amy Winehouse's voice alone is very impressive. She sings her songs in a way that is a throwback to (but not entirely derivative of) the Motown sound. It's refreshing to hear a modern take on Motown R&B. Her sound fuses this with a little bit of hip-hop and techniques used in R&B music today. This is an excellent record. It's old meets new. SImultaneously traditional and contemporary. The only downside is that there are a couple of filler tracks, but the best tracks more than make up for it. Expand
  44. kevind.
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    brilliant, a refreshing relief from the crap music around these days. as usual, Rolling Stone misses the mark yet again by only giving it 3 stars. no surprise there...
  45. christopehrf
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    She and James Hunter have done a masterful job of reviving soul/r&b while adding their own uniquely contemporary twist.
  46. ChrisC
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    It's better tracks are some of the best singles of the year so far, easy. I can't believe this kind of record is actually selling to mainstream audiences.
  47. [Anonymous]
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    this is great . no questions about it. every track is a killer , a bit short ... but i suppose that just makes you want to play it again
  48. JCT.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This album, in my opinion, is the best R&B album to be released since 1998's "The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill." Though the cd only contains 10 tracks, each one is a winner; there are NO fillers. She's definitely solidified her Best New Artist nomination -- and a win isn't an insurmountable feat for her at this point. Pure genius.
  49. KhalidB
    Aug 12, 2007
    9
    As a whole, the album is a peice of shit, but if u listen to the songs, 1 by 1, at different occasions, they sounds soo amazing, her voice is exceptional on this album, a highlight in this song is Addicted, shows that she has some humor that Artists such as Kate nash and Lily Allen have (tell your boyfriend, when he comes around, to buy his own weed and dont ware my shit down). Bravo Amy
  50. Steve
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Classic material, Can soul music be saved? How long will have to listen to simplicity! thank you Amy for bringing back the songswriting craft with a voice far beyond your years, melody's to die for and music rich in history however with a modern day twist. A record that transcends alot of genres seamlessly that will be imitated by the wagoneers. Best Soul record since Classic material, Can soul music be saved? How long will have to listen to simplicity! thank you Amy for bringing back the songswriting craft with a voice far beyond your years, melody's to die for and music rich in history however with a modern day twist. A record that transcends alot of genres seamlessly that will be imitated by the wagoneers. Best Soul record since D'Angelo's debut and the beginning of a movement! Record Of The Year, Whatttt! Expand
  51. Oligami
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    One fine soul album.
  52. Pedro
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    This girl is a genius.
  53. MichaelV.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    Such a great and husky voice that brings me back to the old days, even though I am not old. Great lyrics as well!
  54. ShazzyK.
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    The users ratings here are just testament to the fact that where music is concerned you gotta make your own decision. Loved NOT just the voice but songs as well.
  55. AlexW
    Oct 14, 2007
    8
    Definitely not as good as her debut, but the better songs on there can still hold their own. Hope the girl gets better so she can work on her third album!
  56. StevebC.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    I bought this album because I liked the song "rehab". After listening to the whole album a couple of times, I got hooked and realized she's a great artist.
  57. TashaE
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    Love Love Love her. Gets better with every listen. She is one of a kind.
  58. Evan
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    She's bringing all the Motown feeling back in her own way, she is dealing with many different sounds and she's always a winner. Listen to her first album Frank
  59. NathanL
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    This CD is so good! Amy Winehouse has such a distinctive voice, and sound. It's so nice to finally hear something this fresh & new!
  60. LukeM
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Unholy War is the only weak track...everything else is amazing. Best album of 2006.
  61. aprild
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    This is the best album I've heard since Fiona Apple's "Tidal," which is saying a lot. Winehouse is an original in a room filled with copycat blonde babes who have nothing better to sing about than how hot they are. I can guarantee you won't ever be hearing "Winehouse-licious." She actually has something to say... and I love every word.
  62. RSkelly
    Mar 13, 2007
    9
    its musically outstanding and emotionally poignant because its so honest and autobiographical. i'm a convert.
  63. TimothyF
    Mar 14, 2007
    8
    Production is wonderful; her voice is divine; wish the songwriting were crisper, though.
  64. matt
    Mar 14, 2007
    8
    This album should make her too cool for metacritic in the states.
  65. TR
    Mar 14, 2007
    9
    great voice....great album
  66. drewp
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    One of the best US releases of the year! A cohesive album of great vocals, cracker-jack production, and lyrics which keep it all from veering into retro re-tread territory. How a white British woman with the name of "Amy Winehouse" came to sound like the love-child of Etta James and Lauryn Hill is beyond me, but the results are hard to argue with.
  67. Rich
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    So good it hurts....her, me, and anyone with a heart who knows how to listen. She makes pain sound like velvet, no mean trick. I love this CD.
  68. MattD.
    Mar 16, 2007
    7
    She has a good voice (the ruggedness of Billie Holiday combined with the soul of LaKisha from American Idol,) but unfortunately, the arrangements too often sound uninspired. The single "Rehab" is an exception. A good CD, but she deserves better.
  69. MaryB
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    I get lost in her voice.
  70. CameronS
    Apr 23, 2007
    8
    Smooth, sassy, and, catchy, and unique. Pretty good.
  71. JONR
    May 15, 2007
    10
    This album is perfect. Amy writes about pain, yet manages to capture an uplifting element among it. This is one of the best album in the past 10 years. This is a classic sure to be in my listening collection in my 60's.
  72. AndrewB
    May 26, 2007
    9
    How anyone with a computer can buy an album and give it a 0 is completely beyond me. Listen morons, don't buy an album until you've heard a song or two. Buying an album and giving it a 0 is more a reflection on your unwise spending than it is on the quality of the album.
  73. JamesK
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt, one of the best pop albums in years if not one of the best albums released this decade. The honesty, pain, heartbreak, and emotion as expressed not only by Amy's lyrics, but also through her voice are undeniable, which makes this record simply exceptional. A stellar achievement and a career high few artists will ever reach. Instant classic.
  74. PedroP.
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    Best artist of the century, she has the most beautiful voice ever, and she ain't another pretty face like someone (Mariah Carey, Rihanna, Beyonce...) she's is god! enough said!
  75. ipsed.
    Aug 26, 2009
    8
    If you liked Jazz before the Coltranes and Dolphys, and if you are into Blues and 70s R&B this is album will be a favourite. If you aren't a fan of this, you probably aren't a fan of most American genres.
  76. TharS.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    WOW! by far one of th ebest albums of 2007. I love how she infused that funk-r&B-and soul genres together to produce astring of hits. Recommended tracks, 'Rehab', 'You Know I'm No Good' 'Love is a Losing Games' 'Back to Black' and 'Tears dry on their own'. i give a ten for her fresh sound, talent in song writing and originality.
  77. Jul 18, 2015
    9
    This is a great record. This is a motion capture of a disturbed artist at her peak. She was a girl when she made this. A young girl. Her voice and phrasing is astonishing for her age. What a great record. Amy's lyrics are a telling portrait of her life.
  78. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This album surprized me. Im not a paticular "Jazz" fan, but this album was god. plain and simple, no one can deny that. While listening to "Rehab" i actually got chills. That's how well Winehouse can paint a picture with her voice.
  79. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    The reason I love Amy Winehouse is because she's brutally honest, and she doesn't shy away from her honesty in Back To Black. Tracks like "Rehab" and "Addiction" completely show what Amy Winehouse is about. This is a great album from start to finish. Her vocals are beautiful, her lyrics are honest, and the production is amazing. Amy Winehouse was a wonderful singer and her legacy will live on. A-
  80. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    R.I.P Amy Winehouse. She's one of my favorite artist and I will miss her. She is my favorite live performer. I love her unique, soulful soul. In this album, she sings about love and drugs. The album won 5 Grammys in 2008. Back to Black is one of my favorite album of all time. Miss you Amy.
  81. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Back to Black has really broken the typical pop borders that exist at the moment. Soul rebirth is reflected in the powerful contralto Amy voice. Amy's style has brought us the inspirational music of the golden 60 's today with a special mix of different styles, which makes it appropriated. From the masterpiece of "Rehab" to "Addicted", Amy secures an incredible autobiographical touch inBack to Black has really broken the typical pop borders that exist at the moment. Soul rebirth is reflected in the powerful contralto Amy voice. Amy's style has brought us the inspirational music of the golden 60 's today with a special mix of different styles, which makes it appropriated. From the masterpiece of "Rehab" to "Addicted", Amy secures an incredible autobiographical touch in her lyrics, with a considerable variety of subjects. Absolutely, one of the best albums of the decade. Expand
  82. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    While Frank was a decent shot at reviving the jazz-soul genre from the '40s, Back to Black loosens the jazz elements in order to explore a "vintage R&B-soul" sound, and Winehouse's powerful deep contralto vocals and sassy songwriting are a perfect fit. However, the talent really derives from her originality. The album's standout tracks are its singles: "Rehab" is the unforgettable firstWhile Frank was a decent shot at reviving the jazz-soul genre from the '40s, Back to Black loosens the jazz elements in order to explore a "vintage R&B-soul" sound, and Winehouse's powerful deep contralto vocals and sassy songwriting are a perfect fit. However, the talent really derives from her originality. The album's standout tracks are its singles: "Rehab" is the unforgettable first single that borrows heavily from R&B-pop and makes references to her daddy as well as Ray Charles. It could even be considered Winehouse's 'signature' track. The album's title track, "Back to Black", is beautifully written and composed and is as soothing as silk whilst "You Know I'm No Good" is remenesent of her previous "jazz-soul" studio album Frank and dances to a cliché, but classy jukebox beat. And last but not least, "Love Is a Losing Game" is Ronson's undeniable shout-out to the classic "Ain't No Mountain High Enough". Expand
  83. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    This album turns out to be very beautiful. Her voice is extraordinary. But what carries this album are Winehouse's lyrics. They do it all on their own. The lyrics are very deep and completely emotional. You can't help but want to cry during some songs. For example, the sentimental Love Is A Losing Game and the breezy and weepy Wake Up Alone. Although, the album does get a littleThis album turns out to be very beautiful. Her voice is extraordinary. But what carries this album are Winehouse's lyrics. They do it all on their own. The lyrics are very deep and completely emotional. You can't help but want to cry during some songs. For example, the sentimental Love Is A Losing Game and the breezy and weepy Wake Up Alone. Although, the album does get a little repetitive. With the songs Some Unholy War and He Can Only Hold Her, the songs sound so similar it's as if you are listening to the same song over again. Some songs get a bit woozy at times, like the breakdown in Back to Black. But the songs are sang in such an emotive manner, that you feel like she is truly being sincere and is not faking the emotion. 'Back to Black' is an album that satisfies the listener and brings tears to the eyes at times. It is a beautiful lyrical masterpiece. HIGHLIGHTS: Rehab, Love Is A Losing Game, Me & Mr. Jones, Tears Dry On Their Own, Addicted. Expand
  84. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    One of the great albums of the 00's - full of top class songs showing off Amy's brand of R&B motown type soul. It's one of those albums where you feel like you've known all the songs long before you've heard them. It's got that timeless flavour to it and could have come from any decade from the past 50 years. What a voice, what a talent, what a waste, what a shame there won't be a properOne of the great albums of the 00's - full of top class songs showing off Amy's brand of R&B motown type soul. It's one of those albums where you feel like you've known all the songs long before you've heard them. It's got that timeless flavour to it and could have come from any decade from the past 50 years. What a voice, what a talent, what a waste, what a shame there won't be a proper follow up now with her untimely passing. This record will be up there with Jeff Buckley's Grace in another 10 years as one of the great untimely swansongs. Expand
  85. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Just As The Debut Really Good Album..
    Not A 10.. But A 9...
    I Feel A Little Nice Giving A 9.. But I Feel Like Amy Has The Voice To Be Somthing Better..
    Still A Very Good Album..
  86. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Amazing tracks! Bring old styles back, with elements of blues, soul and jazz. Say that we need to go back to black, back to antique music times, and never forget them.
  87. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This is by far my favourite album made by a British female artist. It is a true testament to the artist she was and it's such a shame she did not get to create a third tremendous effort.
  88. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    Amy Winehouse siempre sera recordada, aunque hoy hace parte del poco glorioso "Club de los 27", ella en si es gloriosa, un álbum maduro y bastante completo, con bastante sentimiento y con letras profundas, donde resalta la voz de Amy, que es en si un paraíso vocal.
  89. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    I am so sad that Amy died, because now she can't make amazing albums like "Back To Black". "You Know I'm No Good" is a hit, but "Tears Dry On Their Own" is a home run.
  90. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    A very solid sophomore release by Amy Winehouse. I love these songs, they're more mature than Frank's, the only problem is that every song talks about relationships and sadness. Behind that, I understand why this has sold 20 million copies.
  91. May 21, 2014
    10
    Back To Black's ultimate perfection gives viability to the fact that Winehouse's raw talent and flawless originality give the music industry the light at the end of the tunnel it so desperately needed.
  92. Apr 8, 2015
    10
    This album is an icon of music. the lyrics are sincere, showing feelings you can feel as you hear the songs. It is not just an album any, will be very rare to have other albums in the future as this. Since 2007 remains beloved unlike many around.
  93. Aug 7, 2015
    8
    Granted, I am a little positively biased toward this album, as I listened to it for the first time in it's entirety after seeing the "Amy" documentary (because I apparently I am live in a back to black hole), but holy moly... this album wins for best "dramatic singing in traffic jam" award.... the people who were stuck around me were the real victims, sorry guys. "Back To Black" might oneGranted, I am a little positively biased toward this album, as I listened to it for the first time in it's entirety after seeing the "Amy" documentary (because I apparently I am live in a back to black hole), but holy moly... this album wins for best "dramatic singing in traffic jam" award.... the people who were stuck around me were the real victims, sorry guys. "Back To Black" might one of my new favorite songs of all time. Expand
  94. Jul 2, 2017
    10
    Uno de los mejores discos que haya escuchado en mi vida. Las líricas honestas y crudas de una interprete dolida y que lucha ante una vida que cae al precipicio. Su honestidad y la manera en que desnuda su alma en cada canción me dejaron sin palabras y con mas de una lagrima derramada, Amy una de las mejores artistas de la historia le basto dos discos para ganarse mi respeto. RIP Angel
  95. Dec 3, 2016
    9
    This album is a symbol of a decade and one of best albums of my generation. It was met with mixed reviews upon release but now as the album becomes ten years old, it just gets better--better than ever. With powerful vocals, unique style and unrivaled techniques, it is one of the albums that will definitely stand the test of time.
    Back to Black was the last album to be released during
    This album is a symbol of a decade and one of best albums of my generation. It was met with mixed reviews upon release but now as the album becomes ten years old, it just gets better--better than ever. With powerful vocals, unique style and unrivaled techniques, it is one of the albums that will definitely stand the test of time.
    Back to Black was the last album to be released during Amy's lifetime, Amy Winehouse died of Alcohol Poisoning in 2011, at age 27. Black to Black is often being considered as her magnum opus.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Back to Black stands in testament to the fact that talent and originality still exist.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's precisely Winehouse's lyrics... that raise this expertly crafted set into the realm of true, of-the-minute originality. [16 Mar 2007, p.67]
  3. Blender
    70
    [It] sounds fantastic--partly because the production nails sample-ready '60s soul right down to the drum sound' and partly because Winehouse is one hell of an impressive singer. [Apr 2007, p.121]