Back To Black

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Back To Black Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mark Ronson and Salaam Remi produced the British soul singer's second album, which was released to great acclaim in the UK in 2006.

Top Track

Back to Black
He left no time to regret Kept his dick wet With his same old safe bet Me and my head high And my tears dry Get on without my guy You went back to... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's precisely Winehouse's lyrics... that raise this expertly crafted set into the realm of true, of-the-minute originality. [16 Mar 2007, p.67]
  2. Mojo
    90
    Winehouse remains one of modern music's most original voices and is now emerging as arguably the finest soul singer of her generation. [Nov 2006, p.116]
  3. A guileless, brutal breakup album that can sit with the best of them, set to the sounds of music's finest early rock moments. [17 Mar 2007]
  4. Urb
    80
    Back to Black is overflowing with the '60s Supremes warmth that has been fully absent from the "standards" of today's R&B. [Apr 2007, p.108]
  5. Back To Black is by far the best popular soul album I’ve heard this year.
  6. Blender
    70
    [It] sounds fantastic--partly because the production nails sample-ready '60s soul right down to the drum sound' and partly because Winehouse is one hell of an impressive singer. [Apr 2007, p.121]
  7. Disappointing, then, that the eight-track ‘bonus disc’ opens with a cover of a cover: a lo-fi version of ‘Valerie’. [Review of Deluxe Edition]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 112
  2. Negative: 9 out of 112
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This album is one of the best album I've ever heard. Best classy production, promising vocals, and honest lyrics brings the best of Amy andThis album is one of the best album I've ever heard. Best classy production, promising vocals, and honest lyrics brings the best of Amy and the album. No boring songs and every song is a need to hear. Expand
  2. JONR
    May 15, 2007
    10
    This album is perfect. Amy writes about pain, yet manages to capture an uplifting element among it. This is one of the best album in the past This album is perfect. Amy writes about pain, yet manages to capture an uplifting element among it. This is one of the best album in the past 10 years. This is a classic sure to be in my listening collection in my 60's. Expand
  3. Chris
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing lyrics, true soul, great voice and incredible sound. This is the perfect example of a classic album and her career seems to be just starting!
  4. TR
    Mar 14, 2007
    9
    great voice....great album
  5. JarrenS.
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    Amy's voice is fantastic. The song writing is decent; could be a little more exciting and a little less biographical, and I would have Amy's voice is fantastic. The song writing is decent; could be a little more exciting and a little less biographical, and I would have given it a 10. I'm shocked by how many people gave this a 0. Kind of silly. Expand
  6. jyotirmayad
    Aug 7, 2007
    8
    Amy Winehouse is such a fresh new talent... she does it all in her own trademark style... she is surely one of the most important artists of Amy Winehouse is such a fresh new talent... she does it all in her own trademark style... she is surely one of the most important artists of 2007, and should win many music awards. Expand
  7. KatieP
    May 9, 2007
    0
    She is AWFUL. i cannot comprehend how ANYONE can like her?! she makes me want to rip my ears off.

See all 112 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.