• Record Label: Zoe
  • Release Date: Mar 1, 2005
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    Offers up the same taut honky-tonk, high-lonesome balladry and electric-rock snarls as Failer. But the production is more direct, and her songs are more rueful. [4 Mar 2005, p.71]
  2. An album’s worth of excellent songs performed with gusto.
  3. Edwards has a suggestively melancholy voice, a gift for well-turned phrases, and an uncanny knack for making uptempo tracks like "In State" sound as intimate and raw as her ballads.
  4. Uncut
    80
    [An] eloquent set of songs about absence and change. [Apr 2005, p.108]
  5. A gorgeous collection that is equal parts country and rock, joy and (more often than not) pain.
  6. Q Magazine
    80
    Impressively reconfirms why she's alt-country's brightest rising star. [May 2005, p.111]
  7. Back to Me is a powerful and affecting album from an artist who is quickly establishing herself as a major talent.
  8. Back to Me is a bolder album [than Failer], with Edwards figuring more prominently and actively in the more personal songs.
  9. It's not that Back to Me is an unsatisfying listen; quite to the contrary, there are some smashingly rewarding moments on this release. It's just that if you have heard Failer, you're basically heard Back to Me already.
  10. Back to Me is a solid successor to Failer, though at some point Edwards is going to have to toss aside the sour-relationship crutch if she truly wants to distinguish herself from the rest of the country-rock crowd.
  11. Mojo
    70
    For all the band's rich resonance, she shines brightest when [producer Colin] Cripps holds the kilowatts. [May 2005, p.98]
  12. Los Angeles Times
    63
    Too many of the songs feel more obvious and slight than bold and revealing -- as if Edwards' true muse is really Sheryl Crow. [6 Mar 2005]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Brian
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I very much enjoyed the music on this album - "Back to Me" gets me going!
  2. SamD
    Mar 20, 2006
    8
    good, but there's something missing... it reminds me too much of fiona apple's "tidal", which seems great at first, but wans very good, but there's something missing... it reminds me too much of fiona apple's "tidal", which seems great at first, but wans very suddenly for some unknown reason. Full Review »
  3. ChadS
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    "In State" is the best battered woman narrative set to music that I've ever heard. You buy the cd and turn the page on the booklet and "In State" is the best battered woman narrative set to music that I've ever heard. You buy the cd and turn the page on the booklet and you think, "Oh, the prom queen writes songs, too." Edwards is very beautiful. The rest of "Back to Me" is solid, but nothing that's transcending like the opening track, which is right up there with the best of Aimee Mann and Dar Williams. Full Review »