Back To Me

  • Record Label: Zoe
  • Release Date: Mar 1, 2005
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DeanS.
    Jul 1, 2005
    9
    Comparing Kathleen Edwards to Sheryl Crow is like calling Gram Parsons a poor man's Don Henley. I think the fact that the critic's scores range from 100 points all the way down to 40 is very telling -- this stuff resonates with some people like a steel guitar at a sound check, others apparently pan it because it doesn't have a good beat and they can't dance to it. I Comparing Kathleen Edwards to Sheryl Crow is like calling Gram Parsons a poor man's Don Henley. I think the fact that the critic's scores range from 100 points all the way down to 40 is very telling -- this stuff resonates with some people like a steel guitar at a sound check, others apparently pan it because it doesn't have a good beat and they can't dance to it. I think a lot of the finer points of this great album are simply going over the heads of shallow listeners. From the stellar opening duo of "In State" and the title track, this disc quite simply blows its excellent predecessor out of the water. It's really less of an album than it is a compelling collection of short stories. Edwards is fast becoming the Neil Young of the new century. Expand
  2. ChadS
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    "In State" is the best battered woman narrative set to music that I've ever heard. You buy the cd and turn the page on the booklet and you think, "Oh, the prom queen writes songs, too." Edwards is very beautiful. The rest of "Back to Me" is solid, but nothing that's transcending like the opening track, which is right up there with the best of Aimee Mann and Dar Williams.
  3. LawrenceP
    Mar 7, 2005
    8
    I think her first LP is better, though this has some very good songs and some that sound like the new sheryl crow record (this is not a good thing.)
  4. RussellR
    Mar 8, 2005
    9
    Pungent rockers and sad-pretty ballads make this memorable collection even better than her debut.
  5. SamD
    Mar 20, 2006
    8
    good, but there's something missing... it reminds me too much of fiona apple's "tidal", which seems great at first, but wans very suddenly for some unknown reason.
  6. Brian
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I very much enjoyed the music on this album - "Back to Me" gets me going!
  7. RonC
    Mar 13, 2005
    7
    Some interesting songs, but it's not "Failer".
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Los Angeles Times
    63
    Too many of the songs feel more obvious and slight than bold and revealing -- as if Edwards' true muse is really Sheryl Crow. [6 Mar 2005]
  2. Over the course of the album, too much of the midtempo material sounds too much the same, more inspired lyrically than musically, failing to sustain the momentum of the opening tracks.
  3. Marred by Edwards' rather unremarkable voice.