Backwoods Barbie

  • Record Label: Dolly
  • Release Date: Feb 26, 2008
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TerrellT.
    Mar 1, 2008
    Excellent comeback to mainstream and traditional country! A perfect blend of her crossover hits of the 80's and traditional Dolly from the 70's.
  2. Joey
    Jun 22, 2008
    Absolutely amazing CD. Dolly never disappoints.
  3. MikeMusicguy
    Feb 7, 2009
    If you like her you've got her. Hey if anyone's got a right to visit Carrie Underwood territory its her. She's working 9-5 again, about half of this I really liked. Oddball covers of Fine Young Cannibals and Smokey Robinson I liked the stuff that harkened back to pure country like Somebodys everything but I did take Jesus and Gravity to the mp3 player.
  4. christ
    Mar 3, 2008
    Love Dolly sometimes wonder if she knows what current country radio is playing, she can deliver a song like no other!
  5. jasonbradle
    Mar 11, 2008
    Pure Dolly! What else is there to say!
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    It sucks so hard that it is so bad it was horrible music to my ears!!! I've fallen into a state of deep depression becuz of dis evil, evil, evil album. Do not buy!!!!!!!
  7. May 1, 2014
    Barbie movies , tv shows are just sick but music producers are actually selling this to american and china its bad enough asians like this . Grade F. Why would anyone listen to this

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Backwoods Barbie might not break the bank out there, and it would take a good deal of marketing and luck for any of these tracks to hit the top of the new country charts, but it shows that Parton can still deliver the package in fine style and only the fools among us would ever count her down and out, no matter how many bluegrass albums she does.
  2. Her first mainstream country album in years is an important reminder of the breadth of her singing and songwriting talents.
  3. Backwoods neatly plays to her storyteller strengths, even as she openly hungers for hits.